Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Looking for proper tactical Airsoft games

• 23-07-2012 11:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

don't know if I'm in the right forum here or not but I'm looking to get involved with a site or a group of people who like to get tactical when it comes to gaming and airsoft.

So far myself and a small group of other who frequent my usual site have been discussing tryin to set something up that is alitle bit more serious with a bit more thought gone into our offense/defense/objectives instead of just running out and spraying everywhere until everyone is dead.

does anyone know any sites, teams or groups that might share an interest in this idea?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Where do ya play? Myself and my two buds have thrown together a little team with that same ideal, but we've yet to gather players. So far it's just three men in a (metaphorical) boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Leeroy!

Ok well I'm south Dublin based so it's very handy to get to hilltop Airsoft in NewtownMountKennedy - love the site and there's a great crowd up there but just kinda want to get a bit more tactical.
    I've never been to RedBarn maybe that's a small problem :/

Maybe we can set something up. I'm in South Dublin too, as is my team (Knocklyon, to be exact) with access to Hilltop, Redbarn, The Office Block, Vacant and our personal favourite, Fingal Airsoft in Stenmullen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭War Machine 539

Lads would I be able to throw my name in? I would love to have an excuse to go regurlarly but my sh1thead friends wont get off their arse! And I prefer the more tactical stuff myself!

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Maybe we can set something up. I'm in South Dublin too, as is my team (Knocklyon, to be exact) with access to Hilltop, Redbarn, The Office Block, Vacant and our personal favourite, Fingal Airsoft in Stenmullen.

That sounds good, there's mainly 2 of us who always game together as we work well together and from there it ranges up to about 8 people that I game with regularly who all share the same thinking. So it could be great to make some contacts and try organise something soon.
    I suppose radios are a key to this being successful also? The two of us have radios but are working on getting a decent throat mic setup - we've got single pin radios. I found maplins are doing a double to single pin adapter, happy days!
    Yeah was up at Fingal twice about 2 years ago - loved it, I'm sure it's changed from last time I was there.
    What's your teams name and roughly how many members would game regularly? Oh and we usually prefer to get out a Sunday, what's your general preference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Best of luck with it!

Airsoft is its own animal, its not paintball.

Being tactical and working in teams is part of the game, more people that do it the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Leeroy! wrote: »
    Ok well I'm south Dublin based so it's very handy to get to hilltop Airsoft in NewtownMountKennedy - love the site and there's a great crowd up there but just kinda want to get a bit more tactical.
    I've never been to RedBarn maybe that's a small problem :/

Keep an eye on Red Barn's facebook, they run events that'll be lot less skirmishy every so often. There's one coming up on 4th August.

That sounds good, there's mainly 2 of us who always game together as we work well together and from there it ranges up to about 8 people that I game with regularly who all share the same thinking. So it could be great to make some contacts and try organise something soon.
    I suppose radios are a key to this being successful also? The two of us have radios but are working on getting a decent throat mic setup - we've got single pin radios. I found maplins are doing a double to single pin adapter, happy days!
    Yeah was up at Fingal twice about 2 years ago - loved it, I'm sure it's changed from last time I was there.
    What's your teams name and roughly how many members would game regularly? Oh and we usually prefer to get out a Sunday, what's your general preference?

Currently there's just the three of us regularly playing, The team is Viking Company (The name can be explained as it was forged in the heat of battle! :P) The two other players have ninjutsu on the weekend, so whatever day that falls on (It alternates between Sat/Sun) then we play on the other but mostly it's Saturday. We game as much as possible, but working part-time in retail, there are weekends when I just can't get out. We've kept our team numbers down because we've yet to find people that we get along with, have the right craic with and who want to play the damn game right but I think it's time we just moved a head with it. There's only so much three people can get done against a team of 15/20 others!

We're currently 2/3 for comms ourselves, and have a lovely headset/push-to-talk system incoming from ebairsoft in the coming days/weeks. We all use STANAG magazine fed AEGs too so we can interchange magazines if needed but that's more a coincidence that's proved handy then a "rule"

We operate in a simple Olive Drab/Black uniform with bits of woodland and even tan mixed in on the other lads.

And War, Join in man, feel free. Add me on Facebook if you've got it - https://www.facebook.com/ste.buggy (Although I've probably broken some ancient unknown boards rule now!)

Sounds good dude - we operate an olive / tan mix. Always tempted to go the full woodland but just hasn't warranted it yet. We rock M4, Shotgun, pistol loadout. No idea what a stanan mag is but we use standard high caps, where I prefer Pmag 120rs (just bought some) prefer them for the silent attack, I'm a bit of a sneaky Airsofter!
    Anyway I'll mention it to my buddies (mainly the closest) and see about maybe getting together for a game and see how it goes etc.

Cheers dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

No idea what a stanan mag is

STANAG magazines are the ones used by the M-series and some other guns.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTfR2X2t4BhlAfWUyoNtpfJ7khrscdrG8o3JXxqH2YxIU7_hnGocQ

i will look them up now, but just wondering whats the difference?

Cheers Magic sent you a friend request!

Well myself and the two others are heading out to Fingal for their Dark Mist event on August 4th if you wanna' join up then? It's a great little night game/zombie game.

Not sure if we'll get a game in before then as the lads need the cash for the 4th. And cheers for explaining the Stanag magazine, Zomg!

i will look them up now, but just wondering whats the difference?

It's just the standard M4 magazine, used in all your M4s and the SCAR, too. As far as I'm aware, it's used in anything using the 5.56mm NATO. (including the TAR-21 etc)

The PMAG is just a fancy Stanag mag, and a pretty one at that, too!

Lads would I be able to throw my name in? I would love to have an excuse to go regurlarly but my sh1thead friends wont get off their arse! And I prefer the more tactical stuff myself!

Hey War Machine,
    Glad to know that your interested, hopefully at the end of this in the next while we can get a good decent group together and get some seriously good games going.
    I used to game at HollowCreek - not the most established site but it was MASSIVE!!! and the only way to work it there was to get tactical. It was so rewarding when it worked!

if this works out we should start a clan and give it a name. it can be an amalgamation of our existing teams but falling under one name when we do battle together - could be cool. what do u reakon guys?

Sounds good! Would love to get some games in first, though, although I don't seeing that being a problem!

Are ya's up for that night game in Fingal? If not I'm sure we can just do a regular skirmish on the weekends following that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

Highly interested in this as well although whether or not I could get down to Dublin often is uncertain. I live up in Cavan so not sure if this would be feasible for me. :(

Well myself and the two others are heading out to Fingal for their Dark Mist event on August 4th if you wanna' join up then? It's a great little night game/zombie game.

Not sure if we'll get a game in before then as the lads need the cash for the 4th. And cheers for explaining the Stanag magazine, Zomg!

yeah will definitely consider that one. just did my first night game in Hilltop about 2/3 weeks ago - it was epic!
    little hard to adjust to the different gaming plus i really would love a tracer unit. But i found that for certain games having a pretty bright torch can really be useful to light up the way even if just for a second. lots of falling over rocks though - good thing nobody could see :D

The nightgame tends to be slower paced and I've found it to be really enjoyable when played in small fireteams, especially the Dark Mist (as it's my only night event I've attended, but I've been to three of them!)

that's a shame 422, smelly ol' Cavan keeping you from the fun! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Unsinnig

I'm down D16 side, and pretty much play Bellurgan exclusively (although petrol costs should have me copping on to all the games a little closer to home). I'm always for a bit more of a serious take on the game. Anyone can spray and pray :D

Unsinnig wrote: »
    I'm down D16 side, and pretty much play Bellurgan exclusively (although petrol costs should have me copping on to all the games a little closer to home). I'm always for a bit more of a serious take on the game. Anyone can spray and pray :D

not me with my high speed setup and new 120rd PMAG's :cool:

im glad to see such interest. I reason we could get quite a little crew together soon.

D16 myself. haven't been to Bellurgan but would love to get out for an event when I can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Unsinnig

D16 myself. haven't been to Bellurgan but would love to get out for an event when I can!

Rionegro Initiative is next month, and will be massive! Last years was epic, and this year promises to be too. Why not go up for that?

It's the date it falls on, having just taken 3 weeks off from work I can't get the days off for it! :mad: Fuming doesn't even cover it!

Rionegro Initiative is next month, and will be massive! Last years was epic, and this year promises to be too. Why not go up for that?

just read the first post about the last one sounds amazing but i know nothing about it - could you fill me in on how it goes down and if there are any requirements i.e.: weapon type / camp type / load out etc...

It sounds amazing to be honest.:D

Would love to get to the night game but I have no way of getting back! I dont drive so its pubic transport all the way for me! :P Getting there isn't an issue its getting back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

just read the first post about the last one sounds amazing but i know nothing about it - could you fill me in on how it goes down and if there are any requirements i.e.: weapon type / camp type / load out etc...

It sounds amazing to be honest.:D
    The Rionegro game is MilSim in style - mission driven, continuous play over 27 hours, with rules to move things closer to real life than your usual weekend skirmish.

Players sign up for distinct units on one of 3 different factions. Each unit will be given missions which go towards achieving their overall faction's objectives e.g. a recon unit identifies strong points like bunkers or machine gun nests along a line of advance. They don't engage these, but pass information on locations to the infantry unit coming up behind who are responsible for assaulting each one. Or a faction has to get supplies to their base. One unit will have to sweep the road looking for hostiles while the other escorts the vehicles (yes we have vehicles) from the edge of the game area through enemy territory.

In terms of restrictions, the only real one is that players are only allowed carry 600bbs on them in the field at any time, and HiCaps are banned (you can have 1500bb box mags on proper support guns). Units are identified by headgear.

From what you were saying earlier about wanting a more tactical type of play then I think MilSim or just the themed/mission games that sites run is what you are looking for. It tends to be paced differently, and rewards a very different style of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭cathal_flynn

Would love to get to the night game but I have no way of getting back! I dont drive so its pubic transport all the way for me! :P Getting there isn't an issue its getting back!
    Camp over!!! Like the rest of us :P

Ah I will see! :P

As ste would say...."man the f*ck up!!!"

Sure if camping is allowed I might have a look! Do these things end up as a pissup though?

Yeah camping allowed :) nope they don't

Alcohol and AEGs don't go well together!

Sounds incredible! Exactly what I'm looking for. And what about gear - I've a full array of weapons etc but I only rock a tac vest and olive drop combats with olive drag top - do you need a certain type of camo or would that suffice? Are there requirements etc...

troops-in-contact.com has all the info, it's based off hat you wear, which you can pick up for half nothing. The OD cacks and vest will be grand aside from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

I've a full array of weapons

Please don't call them weapons. A weapon is something designed or used deliberately to cause injury or death. Airsoft guns are not weapons - they're specifically designed to not cause injury.

See also, STANAG for a list of the NATO Standardisation Agreements and here for a discussion of the magazines.

Enjoy Rionegro. I can't handle the headgear rule :) but it's a great event.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 decoi

is vacant site closed now??.. the guy from SG airsoft told me they closed that site and that Office in Tallagh is back up...?
    havent done airsoft in a about a year or two.

was really set on going to vacant and inviting mates from the Reserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Alcohol and AEGs don't go well together!

Me and Dar would disagree with you on that one!

decoi wrote: »
    is vacant site closed now??.. the guy from SG airsoft told me they closed that site and that Office in Tallagh is back up...?

I've heard from various sources that Vacant is dead yes. I assume that if it wasn't the fanboys would be on here denying it.

decoi wrote: »

According to the owners themselves;
    Hey lads.

Just to address what's happening with the site. Nama have not taken over the site. We are awaiting a report from the fire brigade with regards to the unused area at the back of the building. Once we know what they want us to do we will be reopening.

So I assume it'll re-open eventually.

tallaght CQB - is open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

It's nice to see different elements of airsoft gaining more popularity.

I feel like an oddity when it comes to airsoft. I am very specific (and very picky) about what I like, and what I don't, especially when it comes to airsoft. I am not what I would classify as a 'Serious' player, in that I do not take the game itself seriously. There are some out there who play like winning the game is life or death, and that's fine, but it's not me. I will play, and try to achieve objectives (note: not win, but rather achieve objectives) and aid whatever side I'm on. I'm all for having tactics, and people following them if they so wish...but I play airsoft as a hobby, and so I'm not really for a draconian way of doing things. Suggestions = fine, orders = not fine.

MilSim is a different kettle of fish, and wouldn't be my exact fortay, though it is probably closer than Sunday Skirmish. I like scenario play, and clear cut objectives along with basic rules that enhance and improve upon the Monday Morning Quarterback nature of Sunday Skirmish, but sadly that is not something that is currently being actively explored by the majority of sites (there are ones who are constantly striving to do this, but most are not :().

Personally what I like to see as far as 'tactical' play on a Sunday skirmish is a myriad of equipment that people use effectively to change the overall dynamic of a game - M203 launchers, riot shields (degradable), grenades, radios, mines, support guns, sniper rifles etc. I feel it just adds different dimensions to the game, and requires tactics for use (and for dealing with their usage), but in a less obtrusive way.

But that is the great debate - what aspect of airsoft is the best and most popular, and what should you build towards. The answer? Of course, there isn't one best - it's multifaceted and as a result you will not please everyone all of the time. Such is life

Great post Inari. Many a time you'll see users post here about the futility of using a Sniper in Ireland, or how ineffective support weapons are but they really can add a new element to a game and frankly, I find them real enjoyable. Anything that mixes up my skirmish gets a thumbs up for me!

Back to the tactical game though- How many of you are going to Troops in Contact? I haven't signed up yet, but if we got a few of us together we could at least try to get into the same squad and give it a bash then?!

Back to the tactical game though- How many of you are going to Troops in Contact?
    With 3 weeks to go, about 130, and bookings are still coming in.

Back to the tactical game though- How many of you are going to Troops in Contact? I haven't signed up yet, but if we got a few of us together we could at least try to get into the same squad and give it a bash then?!

I was considering troops in contact but being based in Cavan, fairly new to airsoft and not knowing anyone else going, I had almost resigned myself from going. But if a boards group is being organized I may be re-tempted. ;)

422nd wrote: »
    I was considering troops in contact but being based in Cavan, fairly new to airsoft and not knowing anyone else going, I had almost resigned myself from going. But if a boards group is being organized I may be re-tempted. ;)

From Cavan? That's practically next door! We have people travelling up from Cork for this event (and if it wasn't for a wedding I'd have a few from Austria over as well).

sliabh wrote: »
    From Cavan? That's practically next door! We have people travelling up from Cork for this event (and if it wasn't for a wedding I'd have a few from Austria over as well).

It's more the transport that's an issue. I don't drive, you see. Don't know why I've left it off this long... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Nuke1973

Great post Inari. Many a time you'll see users post here about the futility of using a Sniper in Ireland, or how ineffective support weapons are but they really can add a new element to a game and frankly, I find them real enjoyable. Anything that mixes up my skirmish gets a thumbs up for me!

Agree with this and Inari's post. The reason most people have issue's with sniper and support roles(especially in objective driven games) is that they don't fully understand the roles and tactics involved in using the equipment to best serve achieving the desired objective.

I occasionally play a support role and when I do I don't get too many kills BUT my team\squad get to move around a lot more freely and complete a fair amount of objective\kills.

I'm looking forward to TIC and hope to see more scenario and objective driven games in Ireland although I do enjoy a typeical Sunday skirmish every now and again as well(when I manage to find the time to play).

So it seems there are a good few of us who would like to get together as a group and game with an emphasis on being tactical and working as a team.

What I suggest is that we should gather the names of everyone who is interested and get in touch and try to organize a day out together. That way we can get acquainted and we can also see if this will work or not, aswell as work out if the group can work well together and so on...

A normal days skirmish could work fine? I was chatting to Dave at Hilltop,he runs some great games at Hilltop, which is my regular site and he agreed that if we want to get something going it would be no problem and that he would facilitate us in any way possible going forward (airsoft related :p ). Thanks Dave :cool:

So what does everyone think? could this work - I suppose it could help if we all had comms, to keep each other updated when were out there etc, but its not a necessity I guess? the most important thing is to have fun and some good games :)

So it seems there are a good few of us who would like to get together as a group and game with an emphasis on being tactical and working as a team.

What I suggest is that we should gather the names of everyone who is interested and get in touch and try to organize a day out together. That way we can get acquainted and we can also see if this will work or not, aswell as work out if the group can work well together and so on...

A normal days skirmish could work fine? I was chatting to Dave at Hilltop,he runs some great games at Hilltop, which is my regular site and he agreed that if we want to get something going it would be no problem and that he would facilitate us in any way possible going forward (airsoft related :p ). Thanks Dave :cool:

So what does everyone think? could this work - I suppose it could help if we all had comms, to keep each other updated when were out there etc, but its not a necessity I guess? the most important thing is to have fun and some good games :)

I would definitely be up for that, problem would be I personally have never been and am restricted to public transport.