Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Stag party gets pwnd on facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

liamhana wrote: »
    My 2cents worth:
    Hotel decides that it hasnt had much luck attracting stags/hens and the ones it attracts are too much hassle, It has a name for being that sort of a venue, decides to change tact & go after a family market....now how do you get the message out there.....cue marketing genius.

Only fault I find in this is that it names stagit & no marketing guru would risk another company's ire.....

The only fault? Here are some other faults I find in this.

1) The person on Facebook is real. She would have to be paid off.
    2) There would be records of gardai activity that night. So they cant be lying there, probably an offence.
    3) This means they hired 17 guys to trash the place. And then got her to post on Facebook, and then responded. Hoping it would viral.

That would be a risky marketing campaign for a London based advertising agency, so probably not likely for a small provincial hotel in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I dont get the idea that the Hotel cant defend itself. Of course it can.
    Oh absolutely, but IMO saying "We would like to advise this information is incorrect but we would prefer to keep the details private" - pretty much what they first said - would be enough. I think it is unbecoming for a hotel to publicly go into detail with regards to a specific party staying, even if taken to task publicly. I can see their motivation behind it - and having worked in customer service myself I'm not a bit surprised. There's nearly always another side to these types of indignant claims, but I still think it's unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

xzanti wrote: »
    How the hell do you pronounce her last name???

Heh-er or Heh-Her depending on where you are from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

So where's the picture of her tits?
    on her facebook profile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Heh-her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The "He" syllable at the start is pronounced the same as the "He" in "Hell"

The "hir" syllable at the end is pronounced "here" or "her" depending on how thick your country accent is.

Edit: As the poster below notes, if you're sufficiently bog-smelling enough, you'll say it really quickly and merge the two syllables into one and come up with a pronunciation close to "hair".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Avox

Hair :D

Onixx wrote: »
    Oh absolutely, but IMO saying "We would like to advise this information is incorrect but we would prefer to keep the details private" - pretty much what they first said - would be enough. I think it is unbecoming for a hotel to publicly go into detail with regards to a specific party staying, even if taken to task publicly. I can see their motivation behind it - and having worked in customer service myself I'm not a bit surprised. There's nearly always another side to these typed of indignant claims, but I still think it's unprofessional.

I disagree. The only difference here to most internet responses is that they had an embarrassing response to make, but they had to make the response. Let's say the stag had only the minor complaints - no finger food, no shots, and no breakfast. And the hotel had no complaints on noise. Then the Hotel would have said, as it did in it's second post, that the stag were told to go to another pub for the food and drink, and slept in for the breakfast. That response would explain the issue. You see that on tripadvisor all the time. Nobody says, we can explain in private, which sounds suspicious.

To explain the 700 they had to go into more detail, detail which had to embarrass the poster. But they had to respond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Onixx wrote: »
    Oh absolutely, but IMO saying "We would like to advise this information is incorrect but we would prefer to keep the details private" - pretty much what they first said - would be enough. I think it is unbecoming for a hotel to publicly go into detail with regards to a specific party staying, even if taken to task publicly. I can see their motivation behind it - and having worked in customer service myself I'm not a bit surprised. There's nearly always another side to these typed of indignant claims, but I still think it's unprofessional.

There is more posted in the Waterford Forum about this, it shows a bit more of the conversation between the two. I think it reaches a point where the hotel has to defend itself in the face of public criticism like this otherwise they risk losing business over something that a guest did in their hotel.

The hotel is not the one in the wrong here, the stag party were originally but they lost thier deposit and that shouldve been the end of it, then the other one got involved with her facebook comments when she obviously didnt know the full story and this has now backfired on her.

She should have just kept her mouth shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Raiser wrote: »
    Yeah and yelling verbal abuse in front of kids on holidays before jumping the hotel reception counter to attack the poor staff who are out working to pay the bills.

- Why are you so keen to associate/align yourself with this filth stovelid??????

Odd.

Its kinda cool to be contrarian and play the jaded old "been there done that" cynic these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

The hotel just posted this on fb:
    Treacys Hotel Waterford
    We would like to thank everybody for the recent support given to us. We have since removed the comments regarding the stag party instead of letting the matter continue. We felt we needed to state the facts of that night rather than see our name sullied.

We would like to conclude on the matter. We are a family run hotel and cater for families of all ages. As a professional business we are duty bound to provide our guests with a comfortable and safe nights sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

donalg1 wrote: »
    There is more posted in the Waterford Forum about this, it shows a bit more of the conversation between the two. I think it reaches a point where the hotel has to defend itself in the face of public criticism like this otherwise they risk losing business over something that a guest did in their hotel.

The hotel is not the one in the wrong here, the stag party were originally but they lost thier deposit and that shouldve been the end of it, then the other one got involved with her facebook comments when she obviously didnt know the full story and this has now backfired on her.

She should have just kept her mouth shut.
    Wafrd frm s whr s @.

Some of the Facebook comments that Treacys are getting :D
    me and 16 of me friends wanna know if you got the birds number.......for ehhhh........ an interview..... on a couch....... almost like....... a casting couch
    While your post may have been "entertainment" for some people, I found it to be highly unprofessional for you to post that. You could have dealt with that in other ways. You could have deleted her post if her comments were defamatory and telephoned her to inform her of her fiancee's actions. Is this how you normally deal with customer complaints? I personally wont stay in your hotel after that, and I will make sure I wont recommend it after that. You used that girl's complaint as a source of your own amusement.
    Congratulations Treacy's Hotel, I certainly wouldn't like my family subjected to mindless fools on a family break. Although the biggest fool here seems to be the complainant. Think before you speak comes to mind :-)

and then there was this beaut... :D
    I was part of the stag party dat were there, and to be fare treacys summed up parcialy, but tey didnt include that we where well behaved until 7pm and that we where evr so curteus towards there staff.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I was part of the stag party dat were there, and to be fare treacys summed up parcialy, but tey didnt include that we where well behaved until 7pm and that we where evr so curteus towards there staff.

That sounds like a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I was part of the stag party dat were there, and to be fare treacys summed up parcialy, but tey didnt include that we where well behaved until 7pm and that we where evr so curteus towards there staff
    They no take this in to account:pac::pac:

That sounds like a joke.

You'd hope so :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Considering the location of Treacys Hotel - short walk across the bridge from the train station and a short walk from the bus station which is across the road from it - it is probably used quite a lot by stag/hen parties and tourists. Treacys also offer some sort of creche service as part of one of their evening meal packages (there's a big poster up outside the hotel) so they probably cater to quite a few local families. Their main concern would be to get the word out to possible future customers that this is not something that happens regularly and that they deal with it through the appropriate channels, i.e. calling the gardai to deal with some of the behaviour. It is very easy to check if a garda station was contacted at all, nevermind what sort of report was made, so I seriously doubt they are telling porkies about this.

As regards the deposit of €50 paid by each member of the stag party, I assume it actually falls short of what Treacys will have to do to compensate guests effected by the behaviour of the members of that stag party. The following day they may have had to comp guests to a free meal and put additional resources into cleaning the rooms, the €50 deposit paid by each member probably didn't even cover these costs.

Businesses that delete negative posts on facebook get a lot of stick. Storm Cinema in Waterford (now the Odeon) used to delete any negative comments on their facebook page quite a lot and got a lot of stick for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭tricialou

jd007 wrote: »
    I take it the weddings off now so? :pac:

it could of been that the other lads brought a girl back which would nt be unusual for a stag and her partner did nt do anything. I wouldnt like to be in her shoes trying to decide on that one tho!:confused:

tricialou wrote: »
    it could of been that the other lads brought a girl back which would nt be unusual for a stag and her partner did nt do anything. I wouldnt like to be in her shoes trying to decide on that one tho!:confused:

Look, she was a stripper or something. Clearly there were quite a few guys in that room.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Look, she was a stripper or something. Clearly there were quite a few guys in that room.....

Maybe she was a freelancing English teacher giving spelling lessons. ("Lads, tonight as my last honorary night as a single man, I want to IMPROVE myself for my beloved betrothed!)

P.

oceanclub wrote: »
    Maybe she was a freelancing English teacher giving spelling lessons. ("Lads, tonight as my last honorary night as a single man, I want to IMPROVE myself for my beloved betrothed!)

P.

I stand corrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

Can't wait for the movie to come out,it should be epic. It's being made under the working title "dat dere hotel tooks me money".

Jason Statham as the hapless groom
    Kristen Stewart as the outraged woman
    Megan Fox as the "guest/stripper"
    Sir Anthony Hopkins as the hotel manager and a cameo by Mike Tyson as a guest who finds it hard to get a good nights rest before his upcoming title fight against the king of the Knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

housetypeb wrote: »
    Can't wait for the movie to come out,it should be epic. It's being made under the working title "dat dere hotel tooks me money".

Jason Statham as the hapless groom
    Kristen Stewart as the outraged woman
    Megan Fox as the "guest/stripper"
    Sir Anthony Hopkins as the hotel manager and a cameo by Mike Tyson as a guest who finds it hard to get a good nights rest before his upcoming title fight against the king of the Knackers.

Kirsten Stewart can't pull off the outraged fiancee........... Patsy Palmer from Eastenders.... much better choice!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

It's being made under the working title "dat dere hotel tooks me money".

This has just won the thread.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

TV3 will be at them for the next series of Dont Tell The Bride now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Favourite Quotations:

"if you were half the man you use to be ,you'd be twice the man you are now"

u cant change wat u dnt aknowledge..

"as is life"

About:

chilled out positive chick ,positive energy attracts positive vibes and dats wat Im all about ,hate tese ****ers who are always complaining wateva will be will be and sure it cud always be worse .....Trust me,sometimes ur ahead sumtimes behind d race is long,sumthings in life u cant change but it will make u tink twice d nxt time ,tell every1 u love how much u care cos u nvr know wat 2mr holds nd most of all love ur body cos its d greastest instrument u'll eva own...xxxxxxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 dipdipdoo

Baneblade wrote: »
    17 people @ €50 = €850
    so where do we think the missing €150 went?

Maybe her school taught multiplication on the same day as English grammar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

why do people add ya as a friend on facebk nd wnt even aknowledge ya on d street wats d story wit dat??

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Favourite Quotations:

"if you were half the man you use to be ,you'd be twice the man you are now"

u cant change wat u dnt aknowledge..

"as is life"

About:

chilled out positive chick ,positive energy attracts positive vibes and dats wat Im all about ,hate tese ****ers who are always complaining wateva will be will be and sure it cud always be worse .....Trust me,sometimes ur ahead sumtimes behind d race is long,sumthings in life u cant change but it will make u tink twice d nxt time ,tell every1 u love how much u care cos u nvr know wat 2mr holds nd most of all love ur body cos its d greastest instrument u'll eva own...xxxxxxx

All very positive. She is clearly deliberately writing in txt speak. I mean she can spell complaining, sometimes - but only once, the other times it's sumtimes - positive, and instrument.

I dont get that tendency to deliberately misspell.