Your most impressive co-incidence...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

As a kid I was walking along this road on the outskirts of the town with a friend and we found a big red flask on the side of the road; it was in a bit of a dip where the grating was. So myself and my friend decided to smash it to pieces, as you do.

So we mischievously smashed the big red flask off the kerb and the resulting mess of brown tea, shattered shiny interior flask and red plastic outer shell was an interesting sight for a couple of small boys to behold.

Anyhoo, I was in my Granny's house that night with my Ma and I heard her giving out that <chuck's uncle> had lost his good expensive flask. On hearing this I went bright purple with guilt knowing that as sure as eggs is eggs I'd smashed my uncle's flask that day for fun.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I was on holiday in Santa Ponsa, and myself and my friend were walking back to our apartment. A girl was shouting at us from an overhead apartment to come up and help, there was a really big weird bug in her apartment. She was clearly Irish and didnt seem mental so we went to help her.

While we were in the apartment, the other two girls came out from the bathroom (they were scared of the bug), and to my shock, I realised one was a close friends sister, and another girl I knew from when I was in secondary school a few years ago.

The weird part was, the girl who called us up to help didn't know us at all. I thought it was good anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

SocSocPol wrote: »
    co-incidence , as you understand it, doesn't really exist , I suggest you read up on Karl Jung and his explanatons of synchronicity.

me bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Met a guy in a mental hospital who kept repeating a set of numbers.
    When I got out I played these numbers in the lotto and won!!
    Since then my luck changed for the worse culminating in my plane crashing on the way back from Australia.
    I landed on an island where we found a hatch which had the numbers stamped on it!
    Stranger still when we got inside the hatch there was a man with a computer which needed a certain list of numbers to entered or the island would be destroyed, only for it to be the same numbers I used to in the lotto!!!

Weird,dude!
    Hmm sounds familiar ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Patchy~ wrote: »
    Samich wrote: »
    I was born on my birthday :eek:
    Without fail, my birthday falls on the same day every year :eek:

Read a bit there on synchronicity but it didn't really make sense to me, probably should have a picked a better time than midnight. :D

Your birthday falls on the same DATE each year, not DAY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭woof im a dog

my neighbour works as a business consultant and he was driving to meet this woman to talk about her business. hes in dublin on the quays sitting at the traffic lights when he sees this man walk up to the barrier at the liffey and jump into the river. he gets out of his car to try and save him and calls the gards. he stays around until they arrive to see if they saved your man. anyway he ends up missing the meeting with the woman and a couple of days later the gards ring him to say that they found the guy who had drowned and that he had a history of depression but thanks for ringing us anyway. about 6 months later he runs into the woman he was supposed to meet that day and was like 'oh im very sorry about missing that meeting something urgent came up' and she says 'ahh its just as well the meeting didnt go ahead that was the day that my son drowned in the liffey' :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

One night my friend picked up a deck of cards, picked one at random from the middle and said "what card have I got".. I said straight away off the top of my head 4 of clubs, her mouth dropped open and she said how did you know! I got it right, what are the odds (that's a hypothetical question smartarses :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I find it an incredible coincidence that guys with cauliflower ears all end up playing the same sport!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Both me and my sister were born on Good Friday. Different dates (and year of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭narfsnonsense

At EP one year we had this HUGE tent with no pictures on the instructions that took us about 2.5 hours to put up. We ended up with the door facing the fencing. Just as we sit down to have a much deserved beer, my next door neighbour sticks his head through a small hole at the bottom of the fencing right by my tent. My brother is on the other side of the fence too. It was the first spot they had chosen to try and bunk in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Im constantly finding that I have the EXACT amount of money in my pocket, and JUST that amount, for whatever Im buying in a shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

My mum got off a bus in Singapore and standing at the bus stop was a woman she did her Leaving Cert with in 1977. They hadn't seen each other in over 20 years.

On the same trip my mum sat down next to an old fella at a Foster and Allen concert in Sydney and it turned out he went to school with her mother in the 1930s back in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Using the little toolbar available to me in replying to this thread I hereby present my most impressive co-incidence:

Co-incidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,989 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

I have the same birthday as my dad and when meeting my now best friend for the first time we were getting our college ID's and we noticed we each had the same birthday.

I told him I had the same birthday as my dad and his face then drops and he says his mom also has the same birthday! Weird coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Not my co-incidence but my aunt and her son were both born on 1st April.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Maddest thing to ever happen to me was this:

Broke up with an ex and moved home to Dublin. Was very broken hearted. Had money saved and was planning on doing a Masters but went travelling in South America instead, partly because I thought it would be a good way to get over him.

Fast forward 7 months...

On one of my first nights in Argentina, I met an American girl in my hostel and we decided to go an watch this live band that were playing. We were chatting away at the concert about why we were both travelling alone. I explained I was travelling partly to get over a broken heart and told her a bit about the ex.

This American girl was just finishing up her travelling at this stage btw. Then she says, "Oh, by the way, I met an Irish guy in Northern Argentina and he's in Buenos Aires now and he's coming to the concert tonight. You'll like him, he's lovely. Thing is though, he has a new girlfriend but he kissed another girl in the hostel we were staying in. Anyway, he's a nice guy, you'll like him".

Grand.

About 30 minutes later, who walks in towards us and greets the American chica but duh duh DUUUUUH MY EX!!!! I was, "Eh...hi (ex name)"...he turns around and we were both speechless for a good 30 minutes. This was the guy she was talking about.

So the first week of my trip to get over an ex was spent hanging out with my ex and this American girl. Un-fooking-believable. Plus I found out he'd a new girlfriend and cheated on her as well. Last time I saw this guy was in London after a teary goodbye.

People don't believe me when I tell them this story but I swear to god it's true. Actually helped me to get over him though. We talked some stuff through and I felt I could move on from it.

Mad story though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Mossyman

Felt I had to reply as soon as I saw this thread about what happened to me in the last week.

I moved to Canada to begin a new job about a month ago, and was placed in Calgary, Alberta about two/three weeks ago. I was staying in a hostel for a week until the place was booked out because of the Stampede, just a bigger version of the Strawberry Festival in Wexford, except with cowboys and a lot more people. So I met a friend of a friend who gave me a couch to sleep on for a few nights until I found a place to live, as its very hard to get good accommodation here.

The friend of a friend had a friend who had a spare room going. Grand, I thought I'll move into a house with three Irish lads so I won't feel too homesick and make some friends in the process. And the three of them worked together in the same company so they knew each other pretty well at this stage. From where I'm living its about an hours commute to work for me via either two buses or a train and a bus. I didn't mind because I would prefer to be living in a house where I'm happy and have a long commute rather than be close to work and be unhappy where I'm living.

So they asked me where I was working and not knowing the specifics of the city I said out in the direction of the airport. They then said where exactly as they could drop me some or part of the way because they all drove separately to work. I found out the address as the company had moved office approximately three weeks ago just as I started and told one of the lads. He says that sounds very familiar and goes show me on Google Maps. I showed him and he goes that's very near where they work and to go into street view to show him the building.

And here's where to co-incidence lies, the three of them work in the exact same building as me! Just one floor below me in a four story building. Its not like its in a business or industrial area, its in the middle of nowhere out of the city and on its own, so to move to a new country all by myself, take a room from a friend of a friend of a friend and happen to work in the exact same building as them is just so weird! So now instead of an hours commute I have the option of three twenty minute lifts to and from work each day! Everyone I've told just cannot believe it. The term "everything will fall into place" doesn't do me justice!! I think in my lifetime it will be hard to beat that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

In a million to one shot, my brother's mobile number has the same last six digits as mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Blisterman wrote: »
    In a million to one shot, my brother's mobile number has the same last six digits as mine.
    Similarly, my dad and my auntie have the exact same phone numbers except one ends in a 4 and one ends in a 6; my sister and our friend's numbers are the same except for the second last number, and my number, my sister's, the aforementioned friend and another friend who we all share, all have the same first 3 digits (after the 08x of course).

Never really thought about how unlikely that is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

A few years back I went on an internet date with a guy. One date only. I was kinda interested but he had no interest at all in seeing me again. As far as I remember I asked him out a second time and was shot down :o

Anyways a few months later I was in a bar in Chicago and I saw his reflection in a mirror over the bar. Took a minute or two to assure myself that it was actually him. I have a bit of a sense of humour so I went over to him (he had his back to me) tapped him on the shoulder and when he turned around I said......"I am following you" in a menacing scary kinda way. I swear the guy went white HA HA HA HA HA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

My two grandmothers died on the same date, 8 years apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Years ago my dog died. We missed him around the house and being a family that loves dogs, we didn't wait too long to get another one (3 months).

Turns out, the the dog we'd picked (well he kinda picked us) was born the day my old dog died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

I wanted to go to a flaming lips concert in vicar street that was sold out a few years back and my housemate had bought a spare ticket, but hadn't found anyone to go with. So the obvious thing happened - she sold them on e-bay (for 70, instead of the face value 40) to my friend on the other side of Dublin who assumed he'd find someone to go with. Then she got pick-pocketed on the way home. I went to the gig with my other friend and it was a few days later when I realised what had happened. I laughed my ass off when I did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

Blisterman wrote: »

I've a similar one - the girl I mentioned in my previous post that I lived with in college had the same credit card number as me except for the last 2 digits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭malarkus

Went out with a plain Irish girl for 2 years and eventually I had enough and had to get out of it. I figured it would be fun to date a girl completely different in way shape and form so I hooked up with a Spanish tourist covered in tattoos and piercings and with very little English. After dating a month I find out her birthday is the exact same date as my ex's..:confused: the universe hath spoken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

quickbeam wrote: »
    Both me and my sister were born on Good Friday. Different dates (and year of course).

Do either of your parents have a birthday or maybe their wedding anniversary 9 months before good Friday??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Franco Begbie

I was at a double stag at the wknd in Carrick on Shannon.

Both stags are called Ronan Mac (McCarthy and Mcnamara).

They didnt know each other but by co-incidence they had their stag on the exact same date and in the exact same town!

And when they invited me last month to go to their stags there was less than a day between each invite.

Weird co-incidence but I had a good laugh bouncing back and forth between the two stag parties:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I once got into a near fight with a group of young lads in Tenerife a good few years ago. Some little english ****e was starting trouble with an Irish lad. the english guy had friends and your man only had his bird, so i stood in for him. Some little guy tried to start on me, only for me to laugh in his face and tell him to **** off or i will break his legs for him. Friends told him to walk away as is was not worth it as i was much bigger than them.

CAme back home to ireland and a few weeks later same guy is on the news as Man UTDs new strikers, a Mr. Wayne Rooney. My misses had said thank god i didn't actually fight him as her whole family love man U. I should have though, broken both legs and arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Franco Begbie

allibastor wrote: »
    I once got into a near fight with a group of young lads in Tenerife a good few years ago. Some little english ****e was starting trouble with an Irish lad. the english guy had friends and your man only had his bird, so i stood in for him. Some little guy tried to start on me, only for me to laugh in his face and tell him to **** off or i will break his legs for him. Friends told him to walk away as is was not worth it as i was much bigger than them.

CAme back home to ireland and a few weeks later same guy is on the news as Man UTDs new strikers, a Mr. Wayne Rooney. My misses had said thank god i didn't actually fight him as her whole family love man U. I should have though, broken both legs and arms.

The waft of sh*te off that post nearly knocked me over:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

While inter railing my friends and I met this group of girls in a bar near our hotel in Zurich who turned out to be staying in our hotel in the room next to ours.

A few days layer we went to Vienna nearly 1000km away and the same girls were again staying in the hotel room next to ours