Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

Who was it that killed me south of stary then? There was a few of ye in it that's for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭platinums

PandyAndy wrote: »
    Just got killed in Stary Sobor :(

Had spent ages making my from Electro to Staroye to Shakhovka, through the Bla....

I figure he's not gonna let me live if he sees me and he's probably the same guy that nearly got Platinums....I'm about a couple metres behind him, and suddenly he's gone prone too and vanishes. He disconnected.

I go back towards the tents, about to kill a zombie that spotted me and some douchebag opens up on me with an assault rifle.

Bad luck man, I would love to know who was popping shots at me there earlier, they were pretty awful.

He may qualify for a ripe DC'ing Ban, due to his disconnect, if you can name the time it happened the mods may choose to give him some discipline.

And again, Bad Luck:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭_vti

So many DC'ers this evening...utterly shameful ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Logain

_vti wrote: »

It's disgraceful!

It's supposed to be about survival. These idiots just ruin the atmosphere and the challenge.

Even if I have been working for hours to get somewhere, I won't do it. If someone kills my character, I think fair play and accept my faith.

These people should go play Cod or some other inane FPS where they can re-spawn a zillion times with no consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Smiley_ie

Sorry niki no food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

platinums wrote: »
    Bad luck man, I would love to know who was popping shots at me there earlier, they were pretty awful.

He may qualify for a ripe DC'ing Ban, due to his disconnect, if you can name the time it happened the mods may choose to give him some discipline.

And again, Bad Luck:)

Not too bothered about it really. When I logged back in an hour later to start again I respawned exactly where I was killed outside the military tent with all my gear so that was grand :D

Also it's hard to say if he DCd on purpose, he might not have known I was right behind him and probably just logged off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

_vti wrote: »

Name and shame folks. I'd agree it's ruining the game. I reckon I might move onto another server at this stage.

But add anyone's name up here who disappears during pvp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,959 ✭✭✭✭Villain

quarryman wrote: »
    Name and shame folks. I'd agree it's ruining the game. I reckon I might move onto another server at this stage.

But add anyone's name up here who disappears during pvp.
    Judging by the threads on the official site every server is seeing the problem and the Devs and Admins aren't taking it as a high enough priority.

SERVER UPDATE:
    Just to update people I got an email during the night from the DayZ Admins requesting a server config change to prevent an exploit that has been found, the change does cause an increase in IO so performance may suffer. However IE1 is running from an SSD so should be able to handle it, IE2 on the other hand may suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Who was it that killed me south of stary then? There was a few of ye in it that's for sure

I was one of them. I killed your mate. Not sure who killed you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Stary Sobor sounds like a fairly dangerous place despite its size. Is there any particular reason for this? I assumed it would be dead like most of the smaller towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Stary Sobor sounds like a fairly dangerous place despite its size. Is there any particular reason for this? I assumed it would be dead like most of the smaller towns.

Players seem to gravitate to it.

Not sure why tbh, but all I know is anytime I have ventured in there, it wasn't long before I was looking at the ocean again. :rolleyes:

SgtBob wrote: »
    Players seem to gravitate to it.

Not sure why tbh, but all I know is anytime I have ventured in there, it wasn't long before I was looking at the ocean again. :rolleyes:

I suppose it is fairly central, so you probably would want to pass through there if you were going anywhere in specific. Supermarket probably helps too, and there's something about the name I quite like :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Army Tents in Stary have an almost 100% spawn chance for a Assault Rifle.

Also poor cover from nearly all angles. Its a deathtrap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

It's dangerous to go alone.
    Take this:
    PUSHcf9c5b82063a.jpg

(Random photo off the internet)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Army Tents in Stary have an almost 100% spawn chance for a Assault Rifle.

Yep. About 10 military tents at Stary and a 3 minute visit and you'll almost be assured to come out with at least an AKM but likely something better.

When playing alone I tend to use a night-time server to raid the tents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Komsomolitz

Got a nice barrett sniper rifle from one of those downed helicopters (finally found one) then out of the blue i hear that distinctive *crack crack crack* of someone taking a shot at you.

So many damn people just open up on you, ive yet to actually meet a friendly player. Luckily he has a crap aim and/or my reaction time to danger is pretty decent and legged it out in time.

Now i have this giant flag pole sticking out of my back though. Must pay extra attention to any silhouetting, You'd swear I joined signals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Vikings

Found my first sniper rifle in a barn... CZ 550.

I think i'm a bit special though as I can't get the scope to work? Anyone shed any light on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭_vti

Vikings wrote: »
    Found my first sniper rifle in a barn... CZ 550.

I think i'm a bit special though as I can't get the scope to work? Anyone shed any light on that?

http://youtu.be/oUkGkyG4yrs?t=1m41s

Ive met 4 friendly players so far, only one actually said "friendly" over their mic to me.

I think a lot of players are actually friendly but just dont trust you.it only takes one shot of a rifle and its back to the beginning and people wont take that risk.

I met one player in Cherno, I said "friendly" over my mic, we were both pointing our weapons at each other and walking backwards. If I said "friendly" and got no immediate response from him, and he still had his weapon pointed at me I assumed he was going to blow me away. So literally less than 10 seconds after I said "friendly" I killed him. The risk is too great!

Another time I was in the grass outside the supermarket in Cherno when I hear lots of gun fire. These 2 guys were approaching me rapidly and shooting zombies on the way. Im not sure if they saw me, but I was pinned down and really needed food, they didnt look like the friendliest bunch so I blasted both of them away before it was too late.

I think its what would happen in real life. Survival of the fittest. There isnt enough to go around for everyone, and you just cant trust nobody!

Also, I assume pressing v (hop) is the universal sign of being friendly in this game? Its what everyone seems to do/what Ive done when I immediately meet a player to convey Im friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

testicle wrote: »
    I was one of them. I killed your mate. Not sure who killed you.

When my mate went down I booted it outta there! I thought for sure I got away, then bang bang bang from the right, my legs were taken out from under me. Hiding under a tree seemed to work for a minute, but when I got my legs sorted and tried to run again I was quickly taken out.

Good fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

I Lol'd

KTuai.jpg

Not reading greentext. I wish people could form coherent sentences instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Ive met 4 friendly players so far, only one actually said "friendly" over their mic to me.

I think a lot of players are actually friendly but just dont trust you.it only takes one shot of a rifle and its back to the beginning and people wont take that risk.

I met one player in Cherno, I said "friendly" over my mic, we were both pointing our weapons at each other and walking backwards. If I said "friendly" and got no immediate response from him, and he still had his weapon pointed at me I assumed he was going to blow me away. So literally less than 10 seconds after I said "friendly" I killed him. The risk is too great!

Another time I was in the grass outside the supermarket in Cherno when I hear lots of gun fire. These 2 guys were approaching me rapidly and shooting zombies on the way. Im not sure if they saw me, but I was pinned down and really needed food, they didnt look like the friendliest bunch so I blasted both of them away before it was too late.

I think its what would happen in real life. Survival of the fittest. There isnt enough to go around for everyone, and you just cant trust nobody!

Also, I assume pressing v (hop) is the universal sign of being friendly in this game? Its what everyone seems to do/what Ive done when I immediately meet a player to convey Im friendly.

I salute :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

I salute or do the Q & E dance but generally most people are not willing enough to entertain the idea and shoot you instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Was in the airfield last night, pretty dark night.
    My mate was in the firestation and fell through the wall onto the roof while coming down the stairs.
    I climbed up the outside and gave him a transfusion and morphine for the legs.

On the way down he said he couldn't use the ladder, so I went to use it to see what was up. We both appeared on the ladder at the same time. Then I fell all the way to the floor dying instantly.

Ladder protocol engaged.
    Cherno later on today for supplies and an hour or two's run ahead of me again. Wish we had a tent..

Oh and I've never seen a bike, car or anything without legs in all my travels wtf is that about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Kevin you son of a bitch. Spawned in Cherno, walked around for a while, found a coyote backpack straight away lucky me. Heard shooting, and I didn't have any gun so I walked towards the shooting. Saw some guy there standing up, I walked up to him without any gun, and saluted, and started talking to him in direct, he looks at me for around 30seconds and then just starts firing at me. So I ran, and then he killed me.

Spawned in Cherno again, this time I found a shotgun straight away, found the guy who killed me, he had killed another person. He was running away from me, but then I stopped chasing him and he started chasing me. So I legged it to the grocery store, got some more ammo, and a revolver. Found the guy who killed me running from zombies, so I shot him three times and he died.

**** you Kevin, don't kill unarmed people.

PS. He didn't even take my coyote backpack. He just left it there and kept his patrol pack. I got my coyote backpack back.

Was in the airfield last night, pretty dark night.
    My mate was in the firestation and fell through the wall onto the roof while coming down the stairs.
    I climbed up the outside and gave him a transfusion and morphine for the legs.

On the way down he said he couldn't use the ladder, so I went to use it to see what was up. We both appeared on the ladder at the same time. Then I fell all the way to the floor dying instantly.

Ladder protocol engaged.
    Cherno later on today for supplies and an hour or two's run ahead of me again. Wish we had a tent..

Oh and I've never seen a bike, car or anything without legs in all my travels wtf is that about??

There was a car at Balota at some stage yesterday. Seen a few vehicles but not nearly as many as there should be.

'Met' some peeps at Stary and we exchanged bullets, (mostly me shooting, thank you ghillie suit!) but only like 5 people all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I salute :P

I shoot.

I was on a french server last night and two dudes come round a tree in front of me, one has a shottie, the other a hatchet. I tell them I'm not going to shoot at them, mainly because the shottie guy hadn't shot at me.

I back off up the hill and they start coming after me, I stand on top of the hill and they arrive, the shottie guy just stands there, while his mate makes a beeline for me. I stuck 5 MP5 silenced rounds into mr shottie and run off.
    Turn around and here's mister axe zig zagging towards me at a sprint, bloody hard to hit when they do that, I shot the rest of the mag in his direction, killing him (bloody hate wasting sd rounds!!).

Looked at my debug box, 2 bandits killed. Will I ever understand the french? I doubt it.

Kevin you son of a bitch. Spawned in Cherno, walked around for a while, found a coyote backpack straight away lucky me. Heard shooting, and I didn't have any gun so I walked towards the shooting. Saw some guy there standing up, I walked up to him without any gun, and saluted, and started talking to him in direct, he looks at me for around 30seconds and then just starts firing at me. So I ran, and then he killed me.

BKUAR

Will I ever understand the french? I doubt it.

Sig worthy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭platinums

How to Blend in

Cant seem outsmart other bandits? find yourself attracting bullets whilst taking a dump in a bush? Well not anymore,..
    Choose the right bush and see how to blend in then have the best most peaceful sh!t in the world.

http://imgur.com/a/P8Sya#0