I blame the media

• 12-07-2012 04:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭

Thats right, you heard me.

Here it is in a nutshell.

There are a certain percentage of people in the world who are just assholes, always have been, always will be.

These people act anti-socially

The media report on this behaviour and declare standards in society are 'starting to slip'

The people who were acting anti-socially now feel validated and emboldened because they're a part of a group and they can rationalise their behaviour as due to a social phenomenon beyond their control.

People who were on the verge of acting like assholes, (ie: They're assholes some of the time, but they usually restrain themselves due to social pressure to not be an asshole) see the others acting like assholes on the news and think to themselves "why should I bother restraining myself, Other people are getting all the benefit from their assholey behaviour and here I am, restraining myself like a chump!"

So, they start acting like assholes more often, doing whatever assholey things they feel like doing, not giving a damn about what other people might think

Now the media sees that there are more assholes doing more assholey things, so they report "assholes run wild on our streets"

This encourages the assholes even further, Being an asshole is now become more widespread and the people who act like assholes, while still looked upon as assholes by the general public, start to find niches and are even targetted as a market by businesses who can profit from assholish behaviour.

Now the media will report on these events "The vast majority of people are now assholes"

This is where we are now. The media has declared that all young people are now out of control. This encourages the assholes even further, but more than this, it turns people with very few natural assholish tendencies to start acting more assholish just in order to fit in. While fleeting moments of assholish behaviour would before have been suppressed, now they are encouraged.

The media has hyped the lowest common denominator into the new cultural aspiration for the most impressionable people in society.

Social Psychologists such as nobel Prize winning Daniel Kahneman have long known that people can be influenced subconsciously by external triggers that we might not even be aware of. It has been demonstrated through countless experiments, when people are exposed to ideas/social queues and then asked to perform tasks, their performance in those tasks will be affected by the queues they have recently been exposed to (and they will not be aware any effects). Our brains work in a complex way and the short version of this story is that we end up with a herd mentality. People will be encouraged to act (in both positive and negative ways) based on how they percieve their peers expect them to behave.

Normal cultural and social peer pressure has been replaced by Media hysteria. Every time a media outlet makes a statement such as "More and More children are drinking at a younger and younger age" It validates the children who have already started to drink, and it pressurises the rest of the children who feel they are missing out or not conforming to their peer group

When The Media goes looking for drunk kids on St Patricks day so they can show far society has collapsed, all the kids who didn't get drunk on St Patricks day will be sent a signal that it is normal for people their age to act this way and by extention, they are missing out on something by not acting this way.

When the media shows people falling about on the streets and fighting after a saturday night, the people who behave this way feel normal instead of ashamed which is how they should be felt to feel.

When the media states that more and more people are drinking a bottle of wine every night in front of the tv, this becomes normal and acceptable behaviour.

It's all in the Framing.

The way messages are stated, has a huge impact on the effects they will have.

If the media reports negative behaviour by the majority in a different way "Tiny Minority of assholes destroy festival for everyone else" then this will place the social pressure on the assholes to stop being assholes and send the message that their behaviour is not normal or acceptable

Instead of the media reporting stats to exaggerate drug use "60% of all students have taken Drugs" they could report the story as "95% of students don't take drugs regularly".

Don't even get me started on these rubbish tv shows that pretend to be documentaries and just show assholes being assholes abroad, or assholes living in a house with other assholes doing assholey stuff. This is the kind of media output that does the most damage. Its like they're deliberately glamorising the most purile and immature behaviour just for short term advertising profits.

These shows are so damaging, it's not even funny.

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Jorah

TL;DR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Not reading all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Only an asshole would expect people to read something that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Not reading all that

Don't, I just did

It's mostly shite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

i just seen lots of use of the word asshole, anybody want to summarize this for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

davet82 wrote: »
    i just seen lots of use of the word asshole, anybody want to summarize this for me :)

The media and tv studios are assholes, and they cause young people to be assholes..

The way the news is reported causes assholery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Akrasia wrote: »
    Thats right, you heard me.

No this is your OP in a nutshell.

:cool:

The media and tv studios are assholes, and they cause young people to be assholes..

The way the news is reported causes assholery

take note OP ^^^^^

never post a block of words like that again please...

asshole! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭luketitz

Although a bit of a long-winded rant, I can neither fault your thought process nor disagree with your sentiments!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Assholes, drink, paddys' day. That the story I think.

hondasam wrote: »
    Arseholes, drink, paddys' day. That the story I think.

so we're all irish assholes...

fcukin racist! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Humanities forum
    >

Meant in a nice way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

so we're all irish assholes...

fcukin racist! :P

In a word yes. I'm not a racist btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Dale Parish

A Ctrl + F and the inserting of the word "asshole" brings up 39 (now 40) hits!

hondasam wrote: »
    I'm not a racist btw.

sure ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,006 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I blame society for being too soft to decide that when Anto hits his 10th criminal charge he's not only entitled to stay alive but also for his life to be paid for by those of us who's lives are actually worth something.

If your only contributions to society are to damage it, you lose the right to live in it imo.

Sleepy wrote: »
    I blame society for being too soft to decide that when Anto hits his 10th criminal charge he's not only entitled to stay alive but also for his life to be paid for by those of us who's lives are actually worth something.

If your only contributions to society are to damage it, you lose the right to live in it imo.

wtf?

we're talkin bout assholes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I blame Fox news myself! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

I'm on the verge of acting like an arsehole. What should I do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Pedant wrote: »

Marry Tom Cruise!
    I hear he's looking again!

Pedant wrote: »

follow it through by doing a really really really long post :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

Jorah wrote: »
    TL;DR
    Not reading all that
    Pushtrak wrote: »
    Only an asshole would expect people to read something that long.

take note OP ^^^^^

never post a block of words like that again please...

asshole! ;)

I fcuking hate assholes who post TLDR.

Fine, You're a lazy bollix, why do we need to know this :D

Its not like it was one giant paragraph without punctuation.

Did you all open up exam papers back in the day and write TLDR on your answer sheet and hand it up to the invigilator? :D

Pure unadulterated irony for a post of mine in another forum where I prefaced the long post with the issue I needed answered, with an explanation that I felt it better to post all the background in one post to help people answer my question than to give very little detail in my opening post, have other posters have to drag the info out of me in a question and answer style where each Q&A takes an hour or two between posts, and the thread drags on for days before the other posters have all the info they need to help me.

I get a stream of TLDR's, people start asking me for detail that I had already posted in the long OP, I answer, they reply with another question 2 hours later, I answer 2 hours later, they reply etc etc

2 days later I finally get the answers I need. If some asshole had have said, "why didn't you post that info in the first place??!!",my head would have exploded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

okay here's the short version. the vast majority of people, young and old don't act anti socially, but media makes it look like most people do.
    Over time, this has reduced the bar of what is considered normal behaviour and resulted in a generalised lowering of standards.
    bad media!

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

*prints out OP*

I'm off for a shite, will give it a read while I'm in there! It's gonna be a biggy, been baking it since this morn, tally ho!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

A Ctrl + F and the inserting of the word "asshole" brings up 39 (now 40) hits!
    if team america can use the word asshole repeatedly to convey the moral of the story then so can i :-)

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,361 ✭✭✭Wompa1

That's a pretty big nutshell. Mistake number 1, don't believe any research psychologist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Calibos wrote: »
    Did you all open up exam papers back in the day and write TLDR on your answer sheet and hand it up to the invigilator? :D

Were the questions not short and concise like

How did Anglo-Irish relations develop during the period, 1949 – 1989?

or

To what extent was the success of the campaign for Catholic Emancipation due to the leadership of Daniel O’Connell?

They are hardly a tl;dr :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

I agree with the OP and was thinking similar thoughts the other day.

If there is one phrase I hate its,"Lovely guy, but a demon/messer with the drink on him"

Drink removes your inhibitions and in many respects, the real you comes out to play. So if drink makes you think its a great laugh to kick off wing mirrors and run over car roofs when you are drunk, but your mates say you are sound when sober, well, I must disagree. You are a fcuking asshole, who manages to keep your assholery under the lid when sober. The real you comes out with drink.

Thats why I could never be mates with someone who acts like this while drunk, no matter how nice they seem sober. Its a red flag/indicator. Do I think the fcuker sober would come to my BBQ and run over my car roof for a laugh when he arrived at my house?? Of course not. Do I think this type of person might be unempathic enough to kick the dog out of the way when no one is looking or to help himself to a valuable he could pocket.? Quite possibly.

I don't become an asshole when drunk because I am not an asshole to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Akrasia wrote: »

I agree with you completely. very enjoyable read and thanks for going through the effort of writing it