Legnum vr4 commercial (topic split)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭BeerSteakBirds

tonycombat wrote: »
    Spotted this yesterday

Awesome car, low tax
    Killer insurance & fuel bills no doubt
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3522381

I'm confused about why isn't the tax higher ? I was looking at a Fiesta half it's engine size and the tax for that is slightly higher !

*edit* something to do with being converted to commercial ? Can you still do that but use it as a private car ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I'm confused about why isn't the tax higher ?

Commrcial tax :)
    I was looking at a Fiesta half it's engine size and the tax for that is slightly higher !

Assuming you mean a 1242, tax would be indeed €333 a year...
    Can you still do that but use it as a private car ???

You're not supposed to use a commercial for private use...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

4k? crazy price

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

dgt wrote: »
    You're not supposed to use a commercial for private use...

..and why not? its a free country....or at least it used to be:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭BeerSteakBirds

MidlandsM wrote: »

You can be caught and penalized somehow would be my best reason. Dont u have to register it to a business or do something clever requiring an accountant to take advantage of commercial tax ?

...ahhh now you're guessing.......and not informed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/anger-grows-over-crazy-ban-2310258.html
    If caught using the commercial vehicle on family journeys, an individual runs the risk of a fine, as it is an offence to make a false declaration to gardai.

fl4pj4ck wrote: »

ahhhh yeah, old news.........that never happens ........look at the amount of crewcabs on the road with baby/childseats in the back.......go figure......lol;)

ohhh, and any chance of a banger or 2 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭Top Dog

If a commercial vehicle is taxed privately then it doesn't make a blind bit of difference what its used for (well, aside from ram-raiding).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

MidlandsM wrote: »

It's what's on the declaration. But damned difficult to proove. Nothing to stop me driving into Dublin in the Daily, parking up on the street and having lunch with a friend. But there's tools in the back, I could be doing a job for my friend and we are negotiating etc etc etc... I could bullshít my way around it. See what I mean?

I tax my own van privately, I don't want to be caught bent over with my pants down, it's only a few extra quid over commercial tax so won't break the bank. Its for small jobs like carrying a few wheels, tools, coal etc with the speed and handling of a car but I need it for going to college, picking up people etc. I even use it to go on night's out when not drinking and once brought it to a wedding (oh the looks I got that day :pac:) Those aren't commercial purposes now are they...

Bigger jobs require the other van, commercially taxed for such jobs :)

That's how the system is supposed to work but of course, too many arseholes fecked it up for the genuine users :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

could you all move this banter into a sepperate thread, im here to admire a possible next purchase lads...

mods can delete this post and move theirs should they wish to as its gone a bit far off topic imho

Pdfile wrote: »
    could you all move this banter into a sepperate thread, im here to admire a possible next purchase lads...

mods can delete this post and move theirs should they wish to as its gone a bit far off topic imho

i got to agree, the amonut of off topic chit chat here is getting out of hand......I think if you post in this thread without a link to a cheap banger, you should get a slap on the wrist?