Operation slow down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Thats feckin fantastic figures there. A detection every 10 minutes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

You don't say.

They'd get a detection every ten seconds on the 50 km/h streets in my neighbourhood.

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    You don't say.

They'd get a detection every ten seconds on the 50 km/h streets in my neighbourhood.

And how would they process them? How long do you think a detection takes?

Ten minutes, on a good day, reportedly.

Can you define "detection"?

A detection is an offence detected, and the culprits details processed for prosecution.

Ten minutes is fine if its all no tax, but s49 or no insurance will take a bit longer than 10 minutes per detection.

A detection is an offence detected, and the culprits details processed for prosecution.

Ten minutes is fine if its all no tax, but s49 or no insurance will take a bit longer than 10 minutes per detection.

Operation Slow Down was targeted at speeding.

How long does it take to detect a speeding offence?

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Operation Slow Down was targeted at speeding.

How long does it take to detect a speeding offence?

Depends on if the culprit is caught by a mobile unit, or a stationery one. (Not including the Mobile camera vans).

If a Garda on an operation concentrating on speeding offences detects a S49, or any other road traffic offence is he supposed to ignore it?

Depends on if the culprit is caught by a mobile unit, or a stationery one. (Not including the Mobile camera vans).

If a Garda on an operation concentrating on speeding offences detects a S49, or any other road traffic offence is he supposed to ignore it?

I have no idea.

OSD was targeted at speeding. If the Garda officers detailed to carry out that 24-hour operation were also tasked to detect other offences such as drink driving, Motor Tax, insurance, NCT, seatbelts, vehicle defects and so on, that would presumably reduce the potential number of speeding detections, simply due to pressure of time.

In which case, it is misleading for AGS to claim that the total of "only 45" speeding detections indicates "a significant reduction in speed across the road network during the operation".

The clear implication of that statement is that speeding detections would have been higher if more motorists had been speeding, whereas you seem to be suggesting that the number of speeding detections is strongly influenced by workload (ie detecting other offences also).

Come to think of it, having considered what you have to say....

go blow a goat.
    I don't care what your agenda is. I'm not feeding you any more.
    Troll.

go blow a goat.

I don't care what your agenda is. I'm not feeding you any more.

Troll.

I reckon the toys-thrown-out-of-pram (TTOP) quotient in the Emergency Services forum must be one of the highest on Boards.

Even higher than Motors perhaps.

And you're not even a colleague...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Harry Bosch.

You have to way up the amount of members on regular duty compared to those assigned to OSD or any other operation. If and how many extra members were brought in just for OSD and for no other purpose. I will say that whilst setting up a check point and whilst conducting a checkpoint that calls still come in and some calls are far more serious than a checkpoint. If regular beats and cars are not tied up they can be tasked to assist / be the checkpoint, but calls still come in and members on checkpoint duty no matter what the operation they are on will respond. Would you want the station/ 999 control to say that no one is available because cars are busy conducting a checkpoint? I would not. There is no money for extra Guards, overtime, cars and funding for specialized operations is low, but in this climate members are having to do frontline duties along with these operations, and they do it quite well..

In which case, is the total of "only 45" speeding detections due to "a significant reduction in speed across the road network during the operation" or due to AGS officers having to do multiple duties simultaneously with diminished resources that are inadequate because of cutbacks?

I originally thought that Operation Slow Down was a 24-hour escalation of current levels of speed surveillance:
    The Garda Commissioner continued that the feedback from members of the Garda Traffic Corps across the country would indicate a significant reduction in speed accross the road network during the operation.
    However, unless I'm reading this latest News Release incorrectly, it turns out that the surveillance was done by GoSafe safety camera vans:
    It is much to early to have the full picture on the operation however a preliminary review indicates the following.

From 7am on Friday 6th July to 7am on Saturday 7th July, a change in the driving habits of the public was obvious to those carrying out the operation.

This was borne out by analysis of the data gathered throughout the period.

Over 75,000 vehicles were monitored by the GoSafe safety camera vans over the 24 hour period. Out of this number, 154 motorists were detected speeding. This figure is significantly less than would be expected for a similar period, typically where there would be in the region of 300 detections. There have been changes in driver behaviour in safety camera zones and this has resulted in the percentage of road fatalities in zones dropping from an average of 31% during the years prior to the project commencing, to a figure of 18% in 2011.

More than half of the two to three hour monitoring periods ended with no speeding detections. (Typically 5 to 6 detections are encountered during each session).
    Or is that just separate GoSafe data, used as an example of reduced detections?