What annoys you most about boards.ie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I used to think like that, and try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt, and think that every opinion is valid in its own way.

But while I think the majority of people are fine, fairly smart and not bad people, some people are just objectively stupid, ignorant and nasty.

I've wasted enough time here "debating" with people who ignore what you say, constantly misrepresent you, wilfully take nothing on board and refuse to answer difficult questions or face facts which contradict what they say.
    While I strive to maintain a civil air with such people at first and remain within the bounds of the charter, I don't think they're deserving of being treated very respectfully either, if they're not debating in a respectful, intelligent manner.

Some people (a minority) just need to be told that they're wrong.
    You're wrong.:D

You have until tomorrow, after that your name starts wrapping onto the next line :pac:

Actually I was just gonna put a name change request in to get spaces every two syllables but your way is less effort for me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Pottler wrote: »
    You're wrong.:D

*Long-winded, multi-paragraph reply which could easily be replaced by "I'm not because I know I'm not."*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Boards.ie: Danny

Actually I was just gonna put a name change request in to get spaces every two syllables but your way is less effort for me :p

The laziness of your average boards member, that annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Writes lengthy reply

Proof-reads it for grammar, spelling and format.

Hits submit

*Thread is closed*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Cocolola

It bugs me that people have the number of posts displayed in a thread set to 10 or whatever and then complain about a thread being a bajillion pages long. 40 posts per page FTW!

User CP > Edit Options. It's that easy :D Go do it people.

On a serious note the dole bashing threads get to me. Being 25 and unemployed for 20 of the last 24 months is depressing and shitty enough as it is without being made to feel like pond scum for being on welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

I just hope this fixing the whoopsiedaisy-wans name doesn't crash the entire inter web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Writes lengthy reply

Hits submit

*Thread is closed*

Hate that.

The laziness of your average boards member, that annoys me

:p

Request made! g'em better be up early :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Cocolola wrote: »
    It bugs me that people have the number of posts displayed in a thread set to 10 or whatever and then complain about a thread being a bajillion pages long. 40 posts per page FTW!

User CP > Edit Options. It's that easy :D Go do it people.

On a serious note the dole bashing threads get to me. Being 25 and unemployed for 20 of the last 24 months is depressing and shitty enough as it is without being made to feel like pond scum for being on welfare.

Dole bashing threads tend to take off in recessions when it makes no sense. during a boom people on the dole might be lazy, but in a recession probably unlucky.

I just hope this fixing the whoopsiedaisy-wans name doesn't crash the entire inter web.

I hope it does. That'll learn ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Most of the stories or jokes I tell people I saw here. ANd they say Oh where did you hear that?
    Eh, a friend told me? Otherwise they would think I have no life other than boards.....which is my secret :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

syndeyfife wrote: »
    Most of the stories or jokes I tell people I saw here. ANd they say Oh where did you hear that?
    Eh, a friend told me? Otherwise they would think I have no life other than boards.....which is my secret :(

One day, on Boards, you're going to pass off a story you heard on Boards as one your friend told you, and then you'll be screwed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭somegirl2009

i dont like the fact threads can be closed by moderators and that we cant get the last word in once they are closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Wikipedia Posters - Trying to act smart by reading about topics on wikipedia, then trying to post as if they know what they're talking about.

:)http://xkcd.com/903/

I hate the way on the 'My Threads' tab there's no button to go to the first unread post for me on the thread. always have to remember what's the last page I read to & navigate back. The touch site does it though so fair play for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Writes lengthy reply

Hits submit

*Thread is closed*
    Worse still, moved to politics, banking, tLL etc. and you look like a complete tit.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Where To wrote: »
    Writes lengthy reply

Hits submit

*Thread is closed*
    Worse still, moved to politics, banking, tLL etc. and you look like a complete tit.:(

Or FlirTar.. *shudders*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Where To wrote: »

Or when they move it while your writing, then you post and go to click back to the AH forum and you click into the Cukoos nest and get momentarily confused and bewildered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Or FlirTar.. *shudders*
    Yeah I ended up there once. *cowers*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Sorry if this has been said but it wrecks my head when a poster asks for advice/opinions and then they go into attack mode if someone gives a fair opinion that they don't like.

Private jokes in threads wrecks my head too.

Clicks. What's the point in going into an open thread & only ever talking to the same 4/5 people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

Nailz wrote: »
    People who don't use proper grammar in their posts, annoys me to no end.

And in conjunction with that; the rule against ‘Grammar Nazi's’ on After Hours, it is a ridiculous rule, who's going to tell these people to cop on and use proper sentences and words if we ban it? It's just inviting anarchy!

Just thinking about it, text speak is a no-no on here (thank fup says I), but yet the Grammar Nazis are stamped out?

For some people, reading a poorly constructed sentence (syntax, spelling, grammar, etc.) is just as difficult as reading text speak. It might have more vowels in it, but it still makes bugger all sense!

Or FlirTar.. *shudders*

OT but you know there's a guy going around called Bad Panda ? I confused him with you today and said to myself "Jesus I had this panda chap all wrong, cant believe I thought he was alright".

Is he your evil twin ? Isnt it annoying (to bring it back on topic) when you have an evil twin going round ruining your good name ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭EdanHewittt

Dislike anyone who complains about the ADs in the bottom right corner, but hasn't installed Adblock.

Dislike threads created seconds after any major news event in the expectation the thread will become epic.

The thread usually does become epic, but then quickly descends into an off-topic rant about The God Particle, or what really happened on 911.

Or worse, people bring up their favorite childhood sweet, and want it back on the shelves. (This happens in many off-topic situations and it has to stop).

And not forgetting the very common Youtube link post, where the poster has uploaded this video himself (but nobody is the wiser), in the hope of getting more views.

Another subtle, and sly spam tactic that has to stop too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

People who are easily offended and get annoyed with you for expressing an opinion, as if it were a personal insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

People who just have to get the last word in on a topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

The way everyone says that instead of posting in an old thread you should start a new one. Then you get slated for re doing a thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I just don't get thanked enough and my posts are all brilliant.:(:(

Colmustard wrote: »
    I just don't get thanked enough and my posts are all brilliant.:(:(

Try posting shíte and see if that helps. Seems to work for most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

People closing their accounts. Don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

The "unpopular Opinions" thread annoys me most. People don't grasp the fact that you aren't supposed to agree with the opinions and they try and tell you why your opinion is completely wrong.

I also hate the rolleyes emoticon when it's used in certain places. Like when someone quotes your post and all they write underneath is; :rolleyes:
    How annoying.

Also, the "thinly veiled" joke is as funny as kid cancer. I hate it.