Judge appalled at video of Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

Because "they" are all the same. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

And if cops weren't afraid to use physical force to apprehend violent thugs in case they lose their jobs over it, do you think the Swedish House Mafia gig would have gotten out of control?

An unarmed police force will only be as effective as the respect it can gain from all members of society. When the criminal classes have no fear of the police force, what hope have they of protecting the rest of us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I always thought it was illegal to record the gardai doing their job...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Sleepy wrote: »
    And if cops weren't afraid to use physical force to apprehend violent thugs in case they lose their jobs over it, do you think the Swedish House Mafia gig would have gotten out of control?

An unarmed police force will only be as effective as the respect it can gain from all members of society. When the criminal classes have no fear of the police force, what hope have they of protecting the rest of us?
    Your point has feck all to do with a couple of thugs in Garda uniforms assaulting a man, breaking his arm and then giving false evidence to get him convicted.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Sky King wrote: »

I don't think it is, once it's in a public place

you risk p1ssing off the long arm of the law though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

SocSocPol wrote: »
    Your point has feck all to do with a couple of thugs in Garda uniforms assaulting a man, breaking his arm and then giving false evidence to get him convicted.:mad:

I thought the violent thugs he was referring to were the ones wearing the uniform;)

NO, as the judge says its not.
    two other boys in blue were also convicted of assault in dublin for attacking someone who was recording them

http://www.herald.ie/news/gardai-assaulted-man-who-filmed-their-raid-1966471.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Usually they just do it for you...

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0405/corrib.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Why would it be? Sure news reporters do it all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I wouldn't like to be a guard in this country.

If only the judicial system stood behind the law enforcers a lot of this kinda stuff would be wiped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

And how do you propose they gain the respect of society? Certainly not by beating people up. Perhaps it's fear you're thinking of.
    If the gardai want the respect of society maybe they should try showing people some respect as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Apparently it is in some states in the "land of the free" though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

An unarmed police force will only be as effective as the respect it can earn from all members of society.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭croker1

The guy probably deserved it tbh! I'm pretty sure he wasn't as innocent as a lot of people are making him out to be

staker wrote: »
    I wouldn't like to be a guard in this country.

If only the judicial system stood behind the law enforcers a lot of this kinda stuff would be wiped out.

You expect the Judicial system to allow the gardai to break the law when they feel like it, what sort of country do want to live in exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

croker1 wrote: »
    The guy probably deserved it tbh! I'm pretty sure he wasn't as innocent as a lot of people are making him out to be

Ah yeah, sure forget about the video evidence that shows him having no interactions with the Garda. A good 'ol broken arm sorted him right out :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Actions like this by the guards do not inspire respect, they inspire fear. They should not be allowed to ride roughshod over people's rights and freedoms and I'm glad to see that at least one judge agrees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

We are not being told all the facts, from either side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

syklops wrote: »
    We are not being told all the facts, from either side.

I believe the Judge saw the facts, and it swayed him pretty convincingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

i want to see this video...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

They Just can't help themselves can they, and before anyone accuses me of Garda bashing I didn't ask them to assault anyone ,on camera!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0710/1224319721336.html

who cares what a judge thinks? your average judge is usually far removed from reality.
    the guards should asked him to come along nicely and if he reused, give up. they deal with scumbags. four guards lost their jobs cos they got rough with a scumbag who had broken a guards jaw.

Fuinseog wrote: »
    who cares what a judge thinks? your average judge is usually far removed from reality.
    Maybe this is not an average Judge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

i've said it many times before, The current sitting Judges should all be beheaded and replaced by Judges that can hold the position for no more then 7 years.

Who gives a toss what these cancers on society think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

you used to be illegal to film the security forces in the north but here it seems to be entertained.

I am not sure if continually trying to trip up the guards is a good idea. filming them doing their job can be interpreted in a variety of different ways. the more their power is cured the stronger criminals become. we bitch about anti social behaviour yet any action the police take is police brutality.

most of them will not use their asp to defend themselves. Getting their face slashed or boiling oil thrown into their face still means they have a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

who cares what a judge thinks? ............

The legal system.

You expect the Judicial system to allow the gardai to break the law when they feel like it, what sort of country do want to live in exactly?

Not what I said at all, read my post again.Stop putting words in my mouth.

No respect for the Gardai stems from the fact that these thugs know that they can stretch the limits of the Gardai's power in any courtroom.All well for them to go provoking trouble when they were refused entry,yet they play the innocent when it's them that's on the end of their own kind of treatment.

you used to be illegal to film the security forces in the north but here it seems to be entertained.

I am not sure if continually trying to trip up the guards is a good idea. filming them doing their job can be interpreted in a variety of different ways. the more their power is cured the stronger criminals become. we bitch about anti social behaviour yet any action the police take is police brutality.

most of them will not use their asp to defend themselves. Getting their face slashed or boiling oil thrown into their face still means they have a job.
    Breaking an inoccent mans arm and then trying to frame him is Garda Brutality.
    Strange how one so determined to get justice for a Hungarian family in one thread is ardently oppossed to Irish people getting justice in another.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

staker wrote: »
    Not what I said at all, read my post again.Stop putting words in my mouth.

No respect for the Gardai stems from the fact that these thugs know that they can stretch the limits of the Gardai's power in any courtroom.All well for them to go provoking trouble when they were refused entry,yet they play the innocent when it's them that's on the end of their own kind of treatment.

"their own kind of treatment" would entail being filmed by the Gardai, not getting dragged into a car, a broken arm and a court appearance.

Nodin wrote: »
    "their own kind of treatment" would entail being filmed by the Gardai, not getting dragged into a car, a broken arm and a court appearance.

Werethey not creating a "disturbance" having been refused entry?

I could imagine the diturbance which warranted the Gardai being called.