Things you say that are wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

The OP's biggest problem is asking for a top-up for a phone number and not a network!

I don't say anything wrong. I'm wonderful.
    <_<
    >_>

My friend says "how's we can", as in, "let's go to the shop how's we can buy some sweets".

My Nanny says "a chester drawers" rather than "a chest of drawers". She also once told my cousin's friend "your face is very peculiar", she meant familiar :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

"you heading out tonight?"

"I amn't"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

^lol

My Nan's favourite piece of music was "Cabinteely", (Cavantina).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

"I seen him walking down the road 5 mins ago!"

"I'm going out tonight for a few bottles" - and then I proceed to drink pints

And of course the obligatory, "me" instead of "my"......."ah go and ask me hoop!" :p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I like to say brang and I often pluralise hair and pasta.

what's wrong with 0 pronounced oh

bluewolf wrote: »
    what's wrong with 0 pronounced oh

And even that bint on the voicemails says it...."You are connected to the vodafone voicemail service of....Oh 87 blah blah blah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

G'luck instead if good luck

Howiya instead of How are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

My granny calls a singular Chinese person, or anyone else from east Asia - I doubt she has an eye for the subtle appearance differences involved, a Chinee. One Chinee, two Chinese.

I thanked your post but really I am thanking you for your username :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

The Dublin lads I know regularly take the pish for my needless inclusion of "all" in sentences

"Who ALL is going drinking tonight?"

But my whole family does it, and most other Westies I know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Del2005 wrote: »
    My phone number is Oh Eight...........
    I'm not with Zero Two.

Your phone number is zero eight. Your network provider is "o" two... not 0 (zero) two.

Something that got to me one night in the pub during the Euro's when Ireland were playing and an ould lad was calling Ronnie Whelan, "Ronnie Wailin'" and Shay Given, "Shay Givens" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

"Do ye hear that smell"?

I say it, it makes no sense whatsoever........:rolleyes:

GastroBoy wrote: »
    "Do ye hear that smell"?

I say it, it makes no sense whatsoever........:rolleyes:

Did you see what he said.....I have been know to say that at times :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Neil3030 wrote: »
    I'm waiting for the first person to post "i done", so i can track your ip, hunt you down and beat you to death with a junior infant English reader.

I done it.
    Good Luck.

(now awaiting Liam Neeson showing up with a slip of paper and asked how I pronounce it in english) :(
    kfallon wrote: »
    Something that got to me one night in the pub during the Euro's when Ireland were playing and an ould lad was calling Ronnie Whelan, "Ronnie Wailin'" and Shay Given, "Shay Givens" :rolleyes:

That should have been the least of your concerns watching Ireland play eehh take part in the Euros.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

'Standing in a gate'. Said that to a Yank, they nearly wet themselves when I wanted a hand moving cattle.

'Pasgetti' instead of 'spagetti'.

'Are you right?' for 'Are you coming?' again the Yank nearly exploded.

jmayo wrote: »
    That should have been the least of your concerns watching Ireland play eehh take part in the Euros.

When you are already majorly pissed off every little thing adds enormously to your ire! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Krispie

I'm waiting for the first person to post "i done", so i can track your ip, hunt you down and beat you to death with a junior infant English reader.

Jabus, why would anyone who went to school talk like that?
    Sure didn't the teacher learned us well.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 noname123

I use double negatives a lot, only to find half way through the sentence that it isn't right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

Apparently, I always say "coin" instead of "coins", no matter if it's one coin or several.
    "Have you got coin today for the parking machine?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I'm grand is my go to response for any question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

woah extreme grammar nazi'ing could be an olympic sport, "i like" :D;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

'Do you have a scissors ?'
    (dont you mean a pair of goddamn bastad scissors you g!mp)

'We bet Ireland by four goals to nil.'
    (No you beat ireland four nil, plank !)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I say Pacific instead of specific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,902 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Anywho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭whatever99

guitarzero wrote: »
    I would of...

If you know it's wrong, why do you say it? It doesn't even make sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

A close friend of mine up till his early twenties thought it was called and handburger because you eat it with your hands, his reasoning is that it doesnt have ham in it......we got alot of mileage out of that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Ciaran0

I used to say "morning" or "good morning" as a greeting at any point in the day. Strangely, an awful lot of people didn't even pick up on it. And this one is writing but still, I only found out a few months ago that "a lot" isn't all one word. I was shocked. I had alot a shock. It still looks right to me...