Finding a wallet scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The thread reminds me of something I saw when I was a kid in City Centre.

Some guy was walking down the street and something fell out of his pocket. Immediately the woman behind him bent down, picked it up, put it in her pocket and carried on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I never lose my money, I use a bumbag. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

marknjb wrote: »
    not a wallet but i handed in a bank card plus 300 euro the other day at my local bank the machine was slow and the woman in front off me thought it wasnt working and went in to the bank to get help
    when i came to the machine the card plus money were sitting there
    she was in the bank when i handed it in

That's a classic with the financially distressed suburban housewife. Withdraw cash at ATM go into bank before cash has dispensed and have your "friend" grab the money while your inside. Its all on CCTV so you are in the clear, so you get your cash refunded into your account and then share the cash with your "friend".

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

HOS 1997 wrote: »
    What happens to the wallet and its contents if it is handed in and never claimed?

If no one claims it after one year you get to keep the money.

I would hand it into the guards and If I lost my purse I would ask at the station if it was handed in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭celticcrash

If someone justs keeps the money or wallet, than they are the same as a pick pocket, thief or robber. You cant justify keeping it. Saying that we found a wallet out in the street with no id or any kind of paper work, just £80 in it. 40 bucks each.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

In the bank a few days ago queuing up to buy foreign currency. When the women ahead of me finished her transaction, she was flustered putting her wad of dollars into her bag and dropped a fifty bill right by my feet. I could easily have put my foot on it, dragged it forward, carried out my transaction, went down with my cash in hand after and scooped it up rather easily. But decided to pick it up and run after her.

I must admit, I did mull it over for a split second before going after her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

When I was younger I'd have kept it but now I'd give it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Fupping Grasshole

I've never been lucky enough to find a wallet full of cash. Ergo, I must be one to take the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭fergalr

I found a wallet in the city centre, when I was a first year college student, about 10 years ago now (that makes me feel old).

It had about 350 euro in cash in it, plus credit cards, receipts etc.

There was nothing in it that I could use to directly contact the owner. I handed all of it in to Pearse street Garda station, and got them to give me a receipt for handing it in. I also asked them to ask the owner to give me a call when she received the wallet. (As it'd be easy for the Gardai to find the owner from the credit cards).

Owner called me up a day or two later; called me pretty early in the morning when I was still sleeping; she said thanks. As I had just woken up, I didn't think to ask if she had received all the cash, but I presume she did.

I would not have a problem with keeping (untraceable) cash found on a city centre street; but as the owner of the wallet was going to be traceable, from the credit cards, I handed it in.

Possibly the owner really needed the money, and was going to be in a tight spot without it. Probably not, but possibly.

Its what I'd want someone to do for me. I've benefited from the kindness of strangers; had a phone returned to me, that I lost on Dublin bus once; chipped an elbow in a cycling accident (involving a bad driver who drove on) and had a stranger do a lot for me, bring me home, etc.

I've read some economics. I know its locally irrational, to hand in the cash in the wallet. The most locally self-regardingly rational thing to do is probably to tell stories like this on the Internet, so everyone else hands in wallets, but while really secretly keeping the money when you get the chance. I understand that argument.

I didn't hand the wallet in because I believe in some religious system of ethics, or fear of divine punishment, either.

Theres a level at which I believe we are all in this together, basically.
    You've got to start from somewhere. Its just a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I'd stick an extra 200 euro in it and return it to the owner just to confuse them. I'm ****ing minted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I'd hand in the cash and keep the wallet, my own one is in bits!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Give your honest answer.

If you found a wallet with a lot of money in it, would you hand it in to the Garda station or put the money in your pocket yourself?

I would hand it in - no matter how much was in the wallet as the guilt would get to me. However, while talking about this scenario at work today, I was surprised how many said they would keep the dosh.

What would you do?

Found a Purse with a sum of money on a bus last week. Handed it in. Told the driver, Got the owners name, and Sent a message out on twitter with some of the details

Still getting tortured with retweets :pac:

I believe in karma. its not yours, so give it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭fergalr

I've heard some stories about handing it into the gardai and they be looking at you with two-heads thinking you stole it :rolleyes:

Honestly, I find that very hard to believe. I didn't get the merest suggestion of that, and really, do the Gardai get a lot of thieves coming in to the station to hand things in?

I'd presume that thieves try to avoid spending time in Garda stations, and I'd be surprised if the Gardai thought otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

I dont sit around all day worrying about matters of conscience. Unless it actually happened, I dont know what Id do. If it was money on the street, Id probably keep it, if it was someones wallet with their name on it, id probably hand it in.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I lost my Wallet before, the most annoying thing is getting credit cards / ID's / Cards replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I have twice found wallets thats contained cash and cards and on both occasions i returned them to the owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

found a wallet with a photo of a serious, serious babe in it.

made a date for the handover, her dad turned up instead. babe was 'unable to come'.

b'astard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

If it had an I.D in it, yeah sure, I'd fnd him/her on facebook and give it back, but if it was just cash, why would I hand over cash to a Gardai station? The owner is never gonna get it back.

And some people saying that if they found notes on the street they would hand it into a gardai station, are you mad? Yes its nice but why, the owner will never get it but i'm guessing the gardai will get a slice....Theres a difference between being nice and just idiotic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

Give your honest answer.

If you found a wallet with a lot of money in it, would you hand it in to the Garda station or put the money in your pocket yourself?

I would hand it in - no matter how much was in the wallet as the guilt would get to me. However, while talking about this scenario at work today, I was surprised how many said they would keep the dosh.

What would you do?

i had a wallet handed back in Melbourne by a decent lad, (he called up a number in a jewelers tag inside).

so next wallet i find i will hand it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Found a handbag when checking my tyre pressure last year. It had an American passport in it, and loads of dollars. I handed it into the gardaí and they got it back to the panicking tourist. I felt good. If I had taken it I'd have felt bad. So that's the moral of my story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I found a wallet which contained about €2,000 a few years ago. I tracked down the owner; an old man. He gave me a reward for my trouble. A euro. One friggng euro :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Keep the cash and return the wallet.

It saves you handing back the wallet and the owner giving it the awkward "here's €10 for your troubles" No need to put them in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

I'd hand in the purse as my friend lost hers and two wks later it was returned the garda station rang her as her contact details were in the purse& she got her money back too :D now if i found money on the street I might pick that up as id see it as a sign of good luck for me for once!! Lol!!

I found a wallet which contained about €2,000 a few years ago. I tracked down the owner; an old man. He gave me a reward for my trouble. A euro. One friggng euro :mad:

He's probably still telling that story down the pub.
    "She returned 2 grand to me and expected a reward, ya should have seen her face when I gave her the euro.."

fergalr wrote: »
    Honestly, I find that very hard to believe. I didn't get the merest suggestion of that, and really, do the Gardai get a lot of thieves coming in to the station to hand things in?

I'd presume that thieves try to avoid spending time in Garda stations, and I'd be surprised if the Gardai thought otherwise?

Its happens. But depends on the gardai in question.
    Sometimes you can get hit with the 20 questions rountine to suss you out. If they dont like the looks of you.

(1) where did you find the wallet?
    (2) did you inspect the wallet?
    (3) how did you come by the wallet?
    (4) whats your name?
    (5) whats your address?

[They can proceed to ask the same questions again to see if you stumble on your answers:]

(6) where was the wallet found again?

[If they plain ol' dont like the look of you:]

(7) was there any cash in the wallet? Thats an offense if ye took it out ya know.

(etc)

Gardai are thought to be sussing out everyone at every moment. If they dont think you stole it, they'll do their best suss you out at least. But of course, as I say depends on the gardai. Some will take it and asks the bare questions ending with "cheers for that" ... just certain people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Bassboxxx

Social welfare card...everything gets handed back...

Brown Thomas loyalty card....cash in pocket, rest in the bin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭purplepapillon

If I found a wallet, I'd try to contact the person, or go to the Gardaí. I'd be racked with guilt if I kept anything in it.
    TheStook wrote: »
    And some people saying that if they found notes on the street they would hand it into a gardai station, are you mad? Yes its nice but why, the owner will never get it but i'm guessing the gardai will get a slice....Theres a difference between being nice and just idiotic

My mam found a fifty euro note on the street a few years ago. She took it to the guards, and the guy at the desk was so surprised that money was handed in, he called out some of the lads from the back to tell them! It wasn't claimed, they called her (after about a year I guess?!) and she gave it to charity.

Bassboxxx wrote: »
    Social welfare card...everything gets handed back...

Brown Thomas loyalty card....cash in pocket, rest in the bin....

Tax payer gets shafted again :mad:

If I found a wallet, I'd try to contact the person, or go to the Gardaí. I'd be racked with guilt if I kept anything in it.

My mam found a fifty euro note on the street a few years ago. She took it to the guards, and the guy at the desk was so surprised that money was handed in, he called out some of the lads from the back to tell them! It wasn't claimed, they called her (after about a year I guess?!) and she gave it to charity.

I'm honestly suprised the gardai didnt keep it for themselves. Sure how is handed-in money meant to be claimed anyways? :pac: we could all say we lost a 50 euro note :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Its happens. But depends on the gardai in question.
    Sometimes you can get hit with the 20 questions rountine to suss you out. If they dont like the looks of you.

(1) where did you find the wallet?
    (2) did you inspect the wallet?
    (3) how did you come by the wallet?
    (4) whats your name?
    (5) whats your address?

[They can proceed to ask the same questions again to see if you stumble on your answers:]

(6) where was the wallet found again?

[If they plain ol' dont like the look of you:]

(7) was there any cash in the wallet? Thats an offense if ye took it out ya know.

(etc)

Gardai are thought to be sussing out everyone at every moment. If they dont think you stole it, they'll do their best suss you out at least. But of course, as I say depends on the gardai. Some will take it and asks the bare questions ending with "cheers for that" ... just certain people.

I'm sure you are making up some of that.

If someone goes into a garda station reporting they lost their wallet the guard will want to know where they lost it, how much was in it, etc to see if it matches up with what was handed in.
    They are not just going to hand out the wallet to the first person in reporting one stolen.