Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

pretty sure i had one of them before
    they're decent alright.
    not.. amazingly comfortable but your arse won't fall off or anything if you sit in it for long periods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I have a Thomas Montgomery something-or-other in work, it's lovely. No leather or anything, but the adjustability and comfort is top-class. Shame about my crappy IKEA yoke at home :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

pretty sure i had one of them before
    they're decent alright.
    not.. amazingly comfortable but your arse won't fall off or anything if you sit in it for long periods

with vat and delivery it comes to 50eu... hmmm... i doubt i will get anything better for 50eu then that...

question is.... do i bite the bullet ? :D

i wanted maybe this, but it will be about 250eu... is it worth it thought... i can get 5xberlins for that :D

http://www.vikingdirect.ie/a/pb/Rome-Executive-Office-Chair/pr=QD6&id=3267168/

yeah i was looking at that one too when i was getting mine, but I think mine worked out cheaper in the end so i went with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭N64

I think with the amazon, the blue LED are built into the fan?

The a-data psu seems to be great value on komplett. All of the capacitors in the power supply are Japanese, where only the primary caps on the super flower amazon are Japanese. The secondary caps aren't the best :o

http://www.kitguru.net/components/power-supplies/zardon/adata-hm-series-650w-power-supply-review/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Eboggles

This looks to be my next buy, what a card :D. It should be good for 1440p on most games when I overclock the crap out of it :cool:.

http://www.techpowerup.com/168399/ASUS-Readies-HD-7850-DirectCu-II-Dragon-Edition-Graphics-Card.html
    ASUS is reportedly working on a new custom-design Radeon HD 7850 graphics card, to capture a key price-point in the performance market segment. The card uses the company's in-house DirectCu II dual-slot cooling solution, and is labeled "Dragon Edition" (model: DRAGON HD7850-DC2O-2GD5). The card ships with clock speeds lower than those of the HD 7850 DirectCu II TOP, with 910 MHz GPU and 5.00 GHz memory (vs. reference clock speeds of 870/4.84 GHz; and DCU2 TOP clock speeds of 975/5.00 GHz).

Interestingly, the HD 7850 DirectCu II Dragon Edition features a metal back-plate, something even the TOP model lacks. The PCB, too, differs from the that is found in other HD 7850 DCU2 graphics cards, featuring a 6+3 phase Digi+ VRM, which draws power from two 6-pin PCIe power connectors. The main heatsink bears a slightly different design to that of the other DCU2 models based on the GPU. ASUS is likely to price the card somewhere between the stock HD 7850 DirectCu II and the HD 7850 DirectCu II TOP.

7467559804_00c61d1454_b.jpg

7467564562_728697019f_b.jpg

7467567418_f65be9ae74_b.jpg

It has two PCI-Express 6-pin power connectors, which means it should be better for overclocking. And it has a backplate! Not that it makes a performance difference.

^^ Pfft! I laugh at your pitiful card, and raise you:

efp4F.jpg

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭lukasbolander

Wow, DPD have some utterly incompetent couriers. I had a package due to arrive today between 2-5. So I stayed home to make sure I was there to collect it. I had my phone with me at all times. By 5 nothing had arrived but I just thought it could be delayed. Wrong, the package was returned to the depot by the idiot courier for no reason. Now I won't have a keyboard or mouse this weekend to use with my new PC. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭N64

Pixmania customer service sure is great.

Unfortunately, my new graphics card seems a bit faulty due to a bad fan bearing on the card. I called them up earlier and told them why I wanted to return it. The guy on the phone was helpful enough and he told me I would have to include a return docket (which I would later receive through email)

I got the email and attached with it was the return docket. In the return docket it says the reason for the return is because "it does not turn on"

http://gyazo.com/bcfd37f03738065e76868b6f02147508

I bet its going to be fun getting a refund off these guys judging from all the topics in the consumer issues forum about them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Hmmm, I've wondered about this a few times, but I'd like to be sure for once and for all now. Very #noob but how in ever...

I thought I ordered a 5770 Hawk.

Afterburner says "MSI R5770 HAWK".

Box is PMDIG

Label on box is PMDIG

Invoice Says PMDIG.

It has the PMDIG Cooler

Oh, found this:
    ED E wrote: »
    OT but not thread worthy:
    The 5770(HAWK it turns out) with MSI cooler that replaced my 8800GTX is idling in my rather cramped box at 40-45* and under load is getting up to high 60s. I have Afterburner monitoring temps(speccy doesnt see this card ;__; ) which allows me to monitor it from my G510 keyboards display.

I havent adjusted anything yet, but I'd be tempted to just for the sake of it, FPS are grand so far, though I havent been playing anything harsh on it. Before I do how hot do I wanna go, I know they can safely operate up to 95/100* but thats the upper limit, I assume its better not to be in spitting distance of that. The fan is on auto at the moment and I dont really care about noise, should I push it and how far do I go?

/rant

Update: When I try to manually set the fan I can adjust as I please but the readout remains at 34%???

So is afterburner just **** or do I have a HAWK? Not that it matters much.

bought today set of these. Plan is to put my pc in to kitchen/dining room. I got my old spare pc and old 22" samsung, so the only thing i was missing was speakers.
    it will be handy to watch something while having dinner :D

f310b4d5.jpg

Feck... I could not find the dvi cable which came in with my 2312hm :( found some old old VGA cable, but I am not sure of its okay :(. It does not display at all.

I wonder if there would be some problem if I just disconnected it from hdmi telly? Drivers should ASAP switch to VGA port as soon as you connect it, right?

Anyway, best way to check would be to get a proper dvi cable, but where the deck will I get it at this hour :(. Would tesco have them?

http://www.tesco.com/direct/tesco-20m-dvi-d-to-dvi-d-monitor-cable/208-4318.prd

20m though, and not guaranteed to be instore. A big one like Clearwater (no idea what's in Cork :pac:) might have em.

Was in tescos just now. Needed to drop off misses at her friends anyway.
    No luck. When I Cs back home I started digging all my electronically graveyard and found another VGA cable fallowed by a DVI cable!!!
    All working grand now, but wireless is not strong enough to pick it up from my office FFs :(. Maybe there's way too much crap in a way... Thought distance would not be thatuch bigger then it was from bedroom to my office...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Monotype wrote: »
    Not bad looking, I think I'd take this over the OCZ Petrol & 3Gbps Octane. It has a JMicron controller, but like any low priced SSD, it seems to be hard to find good reviews (most reviews in a search are about the V+ which is Sandforce).

Earlier comments say that a firmware bug meant very slow writes (~30Mbps) but apparently it's been fixed.

There's a big thread about it on notebookreview.
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/solid-state-drives-ssds-flash-storage/629427-kingston-ssdnow-v200-having-serious-performance-problems.html

I think it could be worthwhile for an old notebook or desktop that only has 3Gbps speeds, but I'd like to see the results after the firmware update.

Review here.
    http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=6488&review=kingston+ssdnow+v200+ssd+7mm

So it's fixed by just firmware. Nice.

I guess it's not bad budget ssd so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

hardwareversand down for anyone else? can't ping it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,657 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    hardwareversand down for anyone else? can't ping it either.

Working fine for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Eboggles

And me.

and me again...

I swear it went offline :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    and me again...

I swear it went offline :o

Down again. Not that it matters with the Ulster Bank cock up. I'm screwed and cant order anyway.

same here :mad:

its annoying cause a friend brought over his PC to get fixed and ended up wanting upgrades (i have that affect on people) and its going to be 3 weeks he's been without his PC by the time I get to install the parts... thats some ****ty turn around time.

im also dying to get my new case.

why dont you just order from somewhere else....?

genuine question like, im not being smart. surely you'll be able to get similar prices and products elsewhere

why dont you just order from somewhere else....?

genuine question like, im not being smart. surely you'll be able to get similar prices and products elsewhere
    not even close :o

I was doing that, but its cheaper by €43 from HWVS, including delivery..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Lads, I'm in the market for 3 120mm case fans. Want to replace the 200mm on the front and add another to exhaust. Preferably something that won't sound like an air hangar but can displace a fair bit of air. Any recommendations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

she has some ideas

She really has some great.. ideas.

im a big fan of her ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

I'm a big fan watching her ideas.