Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Travelling Myth

12345679»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

leggo wrote: »
    @Duggys Housemate

No, I do. But you seem particularly obsessed with me, so I'm illustrating a point.

Not in the least "obsessed" by you, it is your thread and you are the only person making your point, so I need to reply to you since nobody else is on your side.
    Let's put it this way: I remember before making a topic on here asking was it hypocritical for overweight people to lecture smokers about damaging their health.

There were a bunch of replies from people saying that some weight problems were caused by genuine reasons etc and so on. It was pointed out that that's a negligible minority and none of the people arguing this could admit that they themselves were suffering from these problems. The reality? They wanted to use this small minority because the topic obviously touched a nerve and they didn't want it discussed, at all, period, even though it was a valid topic about a growing problem that's worthy of discussion.

I don't see the reasoning here. My guess is the vast majority of people who travel from Ireland benefit from it, rather than the reverse as you imply. Your argument is the opposite to here, you point to a minority - a relatively small minority - who travel in groups abroad and tar everybody else.
    Here, I'm acknowledging from the OP that travel can be massively beneficial, but pointing to the times it may not be and asking "what's the line?" And you're using only the positive examples as an excuse to validate ALL examples of travel, while being extremely elusive of your own circumstances* (and yet demanding more and more personal info from me).

I never asked for any info from you. Thats the weird thing about this thread, you make up the opposing arguments nobody makes. I already said in this thread that I have lived in the US and the UK, where I now live. Sum total of eight years abroad, most of my working life. In the interim I was in Ireland for a while, I left for a job and for a romance. Happy?

And most Irish people I know, and I don't hang around with Irish groups since I emigrated on my own, are sober hard workers. In London you meet an Irish nurse, a doctor, an accountant, an IT worker as you work around, or go to meetings, and none of them seem drunk, or unhappy, or running away from problems.
    So perhaps this is your way of trying to shut down a discussion that is a little too close to home for your liking, that might make you realise truths you'd be better off not realising. One troll has accused me so far of making a 'personal attack' in the OP. Interesting that...

Nobody is closing down an argument, nor do I have an "truths" worth realising. I earn more money and have got more experience from travel, and seen more of the world. That a pretty obvious thing to happen if you leave a small nation, just as it would be if you left a village to go to a city.
    If you understood debate yourself, you'd realise that we don't need to make our points again and again. We'd say our piece, respect our right to a difference of opinion, and allow others a say.

Say you making your point again. What you mean by your statement is that nobody should dare reply to you.
    But I can see that I'm proving a distraction now in my own thread, dragging the trolls from under their bridges repeatedly. So I'll bow out and leave it for others to discuss constructively. I think my stance has been made abundantly clear by now.

Nobody is trolling here, as far as I can see.
    *I should note that I also respect the likes of Eve, who have been fully accountable and given plenty of real experience, even if they're arguing on the opposing side to me.

Thats nice of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭SMASH THE UNIONS

@Duggy';s Housemate
    I think you hit the nail on the head. Leggo probably comes from a rural background and has a very parochial outlook on the world. Anybody who leaves the village to proactively better their lives and gain some wordly knowledge is seen as a "traitor" by the bar-flies left behind.

Life is short and time passes quicker than you realise. Before you know it, you are forty years old with a mortgage and kids, with only one week's holiday a year in the Costa del Sol to look forward to. To anybody on the fence, drop everything and travel the world NOW! You will come back a different person. There is nothing worse than living with regrets and wondering "what if". Nobody wishes on their deathbed that they worked more.

I see bitterness got the better of the OP and he cowardly left the thread rather than take on board constructive criticism and advice. Unfortunately, people like him are a hopeless case. Wrestling is fake btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I think we're also mixing up emigration and travelling as well.

I live in Spain and I've built a life for myself here. I don't really see this as travelling anymore tbh. I've done some travelling from here but is living in a different country the same as travelling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

books4sale wrote: »
    An opinion on anything dosen't have any credibility unless you have experienced or taken part in that thing for yourself, then one is entitled to an opinion.

Having an opinion based on other people's experiences is just living in a bubble basing all ones own thoughts and experiences on those of others.

Its not living life, its living a second hand life.

What an absolutely ridiculous and fundamentally flawed concept -by your reasoning (and I'm reticent to even refer to it as that) Christopher Hitchens' thoughts on religion are completely invalid because he's never been a Muslim -he's never been or experienced being Muslim yet his opinions are some of the most highly-esteemed in the world.

People don't need to take drugs to know they aren't for them, they don't need to eat liver to know they'll hate it and nor do people need to travel the world in order to validate their thoughts on the matter and to think otherwise is just astoundingly arrogant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 327 ✭✭LimGal

[/QUOTE]People don't need to take drugs to know they aren't for them, they don't need to eat liver to know they'll hate it and nor do people need to travel the world in order to validate their thoughts on the matter and to think otherwise is just astoundingly arrogant[/QUOTE]

You seem like great craic.

Can we hang out together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

LimGal wrote: »
    You seem like great craic.Can we hang out together.

You don't. So no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 327 ✭✭LimGal

gara wrote: »
    You don't. So no.

Ah go on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭SMASH THE UNIONS

Gara seems to be an armchair expert on everything, even though he admits he has no experience of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

I lived in two different European countries for a few months, studying the languages and mixing with locals. I really went native in that I wasn't trekking off to Machu Picchu I was doing the mundane things like going to the supermarket, taking the tram, going to bars and realising a bar in Germany is a lot like one in Ireland, dating locals and discovering girls are mental regardless of nationality.

What did I learn? Living somewhere isn't like being on holiday somewhere, sure it is an interesting experience and the weather might be better but ultimately you're living in the suburbs of Madrid or Cologne doing suburban day to day things. It's not much different to Ireland except everything is a little harder with the language and you don't have the "easy" support network of friends and family you do back home.

I'm very glad I did it but it made me realise that I'd probably rather stay in my own country and have nice holidays abroad. It does broaden the horizons-- at least you get to know how other countries work and bust some myths about Germans being ruthlessly efficient and the trains always running on time etc.

I think it might be very different if you go to somewhere like Australia and immeadiately have the "in" of already knowing some people there and don't have any langauge barrier to contend with. Not everyone I know who went to OZ is a scumbag!

I think what I'm saying is there is a big difference between going off backpacking somewhere and actually living somewhere, the former is a glorified holiday, the latter if a glorified being in Ireland!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

mod:

Smash the unions banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Still people coming on to tell us about their holiday then state their point. The amount of empty reading in this thread discribing how people went where before saying their point. Just saying I was away will sufice.

I kayaked around the galapigos islands . I won a poetry competition when I was 12 that was the prize . Now Im thirty and have come home to a very bad job market that wants experience . I told them I had life experience . I heard him mutter hippy under his breath as I left before the door hit me on the way out. Anyway I m gonna try get a job in the local boozer until I save the money to go there again . Ill probably knock some girl up in this time. If so I have the bar job to fall back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

cloptrop wrote: »
    I kayaked around the galapigos islands . I won a poetry competition when I was 12 that was the prize . Now Im thirty and have come home to a very bad job market that wants experience . I told them I had life experience . I heard him mutter hippy under his breath as I left before the door hit me on the way out. Anyway I m gonna try get a job in the local boozer until I save the money to go there again . Ill probably knock some girl up in this time. If so I have the bar job to fall back on.

I can't tell what parts of your post are in jest, but that's an amazing prize.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Ficheall wrote: »
    I can't tell what parts of your post are in jest, but that's an amazing prize.

Please try not to injest my posts they arnt very edible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

I plan on doing my traveling mostly when I retire, I think I'll go on numerous cruises. Of course until then I'll travel a bit, book a week somewhere maybe once a year or so. Don't like going away for more than 10 days in the one spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I plan on doing my traveling mostly when I retire
    sure you will. Assuming you are alive of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

gara wrote: »
    People don't need to take drugs to know they aren't for them, they don't need to eat liver to know they'll hate it and nor do people need to travel the world in order to validate their thoughts on the matter and to think otherwise is just astoundingly arrogant

How does one know unless one takes drugs?

How does one know unless one eats liver?

How does one know unless they travel?

Answer: Through second hand information, from someone who has already tried them, therefore, ones's opinion is based on another's experience resulting in an opinion that lacks credibility.

Thanks for confirming my point old chap, anyway you only get one so enjoy your second hand life.

Don't knock liver. It's delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

So are drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Don't knock liver. It's delicious.
    With rasher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Oh this thread is so what I think. People in this country think they`re so interesting when all they are doing alot of the time is following the well beaten track. I find them boring and they say - "what happened you, you got so boring" and I think yea your sooooo exciting doing the same thing we did as teenagers and copying everyone else.... I`m looking for the road less travelled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Ronomono

I've done some travelling so far in my life (Only 19! - Got some time left!).
    And I gotta say, I do want to do more.
    I'll sound like a proper douche saying it, But I really want an adventure like
    'Into The Wild' except without the dying and stuff....
    At this stage, I don't really see much point in sitting in a chair at a desk everyday for ~50 years, even though I may end up doing that. We live on a huge planet, that holds 7 billion of us, and has so many years worth of history to discover, I don't see why we can't go around and find new places, new knowledge, new people. I don't have a solid arguement for travelling like the OP wanted. I don't see why we 'need' a reason really.
    If I had the money, I would go everywhere I could.

theg81der wrote: »
    Oh this thread is so what I think. People in this country think they`re so interesting when all they are doing alot of the time is following the well beaten track. I find them boring and they say - "what happened you, you got so boring" and I think yea your sooooo exciting doing the same thing we did as teenagers and copying everyone else.... I`m looking for the road less travelled!

I'd say that's virtually impossible in this day and age. 7 billion of us knocking about this gaf so very little hasn't been explored on this planet at this stage.

But best of luck with that anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Who says travelling has to be a life-affirming, mind-blowing, eye-opening experience?

People travel for all kinds of reasons and simply hanging out with their friends on a sunnier continent and/or finding work are big reasons for many Irish people. Is the better option to sit at home on the dole, staring out at the rain?

I would never see any form of travel as ever being a 'waste of time' - even if it means coming home ten years later to a dead-end job that you hate, when everyone else is married, mortgaged and about to pop out a third sprog.

Even if you minimise the amount of foreign culture you consume, let's say you go to Oz in a pack of 20 and don't get to know any locals, eat/drink Irish, listen to Irish music and spend your days getting p1ssed on Bondi beach. By proxy of being in a foreign country there are cultural/social norms you will experience that you wouldn't at home - even popping to the supermarket or taking a trip to the bank will ensure that. Having a job there will ensure that.

Don't get me wrong, it wouldn't be my ideal. I live in Toronto and have a fair amount of Irish friends who I treasure, but live a very Canadian life. My boyfriend's Canadian. I work with Canadians six days a week. I do yoga, I go camping. Sometimes I even say 'I know, eh?'

But who am I to judge what the 'best' way of travelling is? What the end goal should be? Who are any of us to judge?

In my view it's a big old planet and there's too much to see and do to stay put on a small island with a crap climate that's crippled with economic devastation for too long.

You need to stretch your sea/plane legs if for nothing else, for your mental health. Living and working in Canada has taught me that I can be successful at home and abroad and there's a better life out there for me than the Irish economy would probably offer if I was back home. That's a lesson I learned without taking in any historical sights or without giving up my old habits of getting pissed with Irish friends just for the hell of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

beks101 wrote: »
    Who says travelling has to be a life-affirming, mind-blowing, eye-opening experience?

It doesn't have to be Beks but I think it's an awful pity if it's not those things. It should open the mind and challenge your thinking and leave you with memories (good ones and thank feck I survived that ones! :p). I think it's such a shame for people to save up, go all the way to somewhere like Australia and then spend day-in-day-out with the rest of the crew from Ballygobackwards having never really truly done anything different bar buy different brand of beer. Shame on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

leggo wrote: »
    Ignoring the obvious troll post. You're not even trying to keep it subtle anymore lads. Glad to see the OP touched a nerve so much you're now going to such lengths of research.

Why is everybody placing so much emphasis on my own opinion? It's just one opinion within the construct of an entire discussion. I mean, jaysus, are people that insecure that they can't stand the fact that there's someone out there who may or may not see them as a bit of a waster? And they must tease out every aspect of his point, research him and try and find one small hole, just to prove to themselves that they're not? Cop on lads!

My own opinion is that I don't just have a year of my life to write off for the sake of 'enjoyment', and there's nothing stopping me from enjoying myself here. But at the same time, I'm always open to review my opinion, which is why I asked the question. So far, no, there have been a couple of decent posts but everything I thought appears to be true. So far, at least...

i hope it keeps fine for you, however life is funny - one day you could wake up and get such a shock at a life event that might happen to you, and you will realize life is for living - you might then take off yourself for a year and "live".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

Am I the only one who wants to travel more when reading this thread? I definitely enjoy peoples travel stories and have never come across the bragging/boasting kind...
    Travelling/living somewhere else can definitely broaden your mind and in some ways change your life, but that doesn't have to be the main purpose of the trip. Having fun and gaining new experiences in different cultures is more than enough reason for me to do it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 169 ✭✭skoomi

OH my god, what a load of bollox! I can't read all 18 pages of this, but I just want to add that I spend over a year backpacking in Africa and it was great. Now I'm somehow an arsehole according to the OP?

Another load of bollox is the OP talking about travelling to "find yourself" or "escape your problems" ... that's cliched hogwash and I never met a person like that while traveling. If I met one I would certainly know, because they sound annoying. Luckily they don't exist, except in the jealous OP's mind.