Best place to live in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Alpha Man

Rathmines? Really? Sure its alright but top 4? Invalid poll is invalid.

Yeah I agree but only because i think Ranelagh is much better has all the benefits of rathmines (proximity to city) has the green luas right through it and I love the pubs and restaurants there.

Yea I'd fully agree Ranelagh is a much nicer place to live than Rathmines. Great restaurants and pubs, don't have to leave the main st for a good night out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Alpha Man wrote: »
    Yea I'd fully agree Ranelagh is a much nicer place to live than Rathmines. Great restaurants and pubs, don't have to leave the main st for a good night out

and the hill has to be one of the greatest little pubs in dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Ballymun....poor mans Darndale really.

Ballymun is just Darndale stacked vertically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Ballymun is just Darndale stacked vertically.

I wish I could thank that twice....genuinely made me laugh.:D

Ballymun is just Darndale stacked vertically. :pac:

No seriously though I have lived in both, Ballymun's nicer, nicer tracksuits and everything. Plus it has 5 pubs. How many does Darndale have? none. Although Darndale can claim a genuine gateway to hell.

no thats dolphins barn. and darndale has the newtown house pub or 'the belcamp' as the locals call it

Thats in Coolock industrial estate. I should know, I grew up in that pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

A house with no mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Belcamp pub is down by the graveyard, no?

Thats in Coolock industrial estate. I should know, I grew up in that pub.

its in the newtown industrial estate, i used to work there and its opposite darndale

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Belcamp pub is down by the graveyard, no?

thats campions

We used to sneek off school for a cheeky pint there. Sometimes a teacher or two would join us. School uniform didn't seem to deter them from serving us.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Were the people really celebrating this? If they were, I don't want to live there

They've not much else for doing tbh.

Was a nice town during the boom when the money flowed through from locals and tourists alike. The summers were great craic.

Changed big time since.

You have to leave Westport for a while before you can appreciate it properly.

Look Ballymun beats Weshtport hands down.

* We have 5 pubs (stab proof vests advised).
    * 2 hotels (just leave your diamond briefcases at home).
    * 6 community welfare officers, one for each estate (Clontarf and Killester has none, beat that ya posh twats).
    * The Main Motor tax office
    * A huge Garda station within shouting distance (Comes in handy)
    * A bronze tracksuited lady on a bronze horse (In case you forget what they looked like)
    * Lots of schools
    * Good bus routes, direct train from bikini bottom See Here
    * One of the best University's in Éire (Well its off Ballymun road)
    * Never boring (It's like Halloween every night!)
    * If you like kids on motorbikes , you're in for a treat!
    * IKEA - Like lego land, only bigger!
    * Aldi - and Blackrock has M&S, losers
    * Loads of public parks and the very nice Northwood adjacent
    * Great place for people interested in amateur chemistry.

How to find Ballymun

Take the M50 until you see a giant blue box in a field. Take that exit and continue to Shopping centre. If you see someone in a suit, you've gone to far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭crapmanjoe

LimGal wrote: »
    Load of Boll*cks if you ask me.

Everbody knows that Galway City is the best place to live in Ireland.

Look at all the kick ass festivals the city gets,hell the volvo ocean race festival starts today!!

I have been to Westport several times and could not wait to get out of there!
    I was bored out of my mind up there!

True but it's nearly always to wet to enjoy any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Yeah I agree but only because i think Ranelagh is much better has all the benefits of rathmines (proximity to city) has the green luas right through it and I love the pubs and restaurants there.

I'm not even from Ranelagh and I think it would probably be a great place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

South County Dublin by Irish standards is awesome, only thing is, nothing goes on in these places. Dalkey/Killiney,Donnybrook, Ballsbridge etc. all great though, some of the houses up around Carrickmines/Cabinteely are are unreal.

EdenHazard wrote: »
    South County Dublin by Irish standards is awesome, only thing is, nothing goes on in these places. Dalkey/Killiney,Donnybrook, Ballsbridge etc. all great though, some of the houses up around Carrickmines/Cabinteely are are unreal.

Nothing goes on there because they are all away in Switzerland laughing at us, and hiding from the taxman.

EdenHazard wrote: »

some of the houses in malahide, portmarnock, howth and castlenock in north county dublin are some of the nicest in the country, especially howth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

some of the houses in malahide, portmarnock, howth and castlenock in north county dublin are some of the nicest in the country, especially howth

Many paid for by RTE licence payers.

Google map streetview the Georgian village castlenock to see some stunning houses.

I personally think Clontarf is lovely.

mikom wrote: »
    Many paid for by RTE licence payers.

?

like killiney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

connemara but miles to get the milk and sugar thats the only problem!

why don't you skip the milk and sugar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

?

like killiney?

Does he work there as well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Its obviously Southill in Limerick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/battle-for-gorse-hill-to-cost-kennys-up-to

If you can't trick your way into owning it then you have to buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

connemara but miles to get the milk and sugar thats the only problem!

There are ways and means to live most places. Sugar is pure crap so you can do without it. You could invest in a few bee hives if you've a sweet tooth. If you don't own any land you can rent some, get a herd no. and buy a couple of small milk cows, like dexter, for milk. A vegetable garden and poly tunnel, an acre of spuds, a few hens and you won't do much stopping at the shop any more. Stock up month by month with what you can't grow or make yourself and you're sorted.

But all in all, Connemara is an absolutely terrible place to live, so I'd strongly advise anyone thinking of it not too.

(We're all full up :p )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

If you like rocks and being miles from civilization, you'll just love Lettermullen, Connemara! Nothing beats being back the arseways of Galway than this place!

4c2d8c514c7d8d5df4576fccd72a3e7faaa01d1e

Come on, can I sell it or what? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Alpha Man

and the hill has to be one of the greatest little pubs in dublin

Lived in Ranelagh for two years and never made it to the hill, moving back that way shortly must give it a try instead of smyth's some night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Google map streetview the Georgian village castlenock to see some stunning houses.

I personally think Clontarf is lovely.

Castleknock has some nice houses but crime is high. I lived around in Castlecurragh for a while and was constantly hearing stories about burglaries and cars being stolen in Castleknock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Castleknock has some nice houses but crime is high. I lived around in Castlecurragh for a while and was constantly hearing stories about burglaries and cars being stolen in Castleknock.

Yes - my car was one of them.:mad: Castleknock is grand but has quite a few pretentious false eejits. Having the Phoenix Park and the Liffey Valley on your doorstep is a plus.

Ranelagh is miles nicer than Rathmines. Westport is lovely. Galway city, Clifden, Clonakilty, Kenmare and Sligo would also be top of my list.