Quinn found guilty of contempt of court

Knowing this country he'll get a night or two before some token "efforts" are made to undo what they did and that'll be that. As I said on another thread he and the rest should be kept in custody until everything has been accounted for and returned and then maybe 30 days on top of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

I can't help but grin and roll my eyes to heaven at the same time when a teacher in my primary school used to laud him as a mathematical and business minded genius, making it out as if we should've all strived to be like Mr. Quinn. :rolleyes: And that same teacher was the one teaching us extra maths, there's surely a hint of irony in there somewhere. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

He'll get a very short term (weeks rather than months) if at all, and it will be in a minimum security facility, with protection from other inmates, a nice room to himself and 3 meals a day, a warm shower and probably a telly with the bogger channels.

Probably a lot more comfortably than some families out there who couldn't afford dinner this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Waste of money housing him and feeding him. Tag him and let him off up the mountains to fend for himself for a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Mountjoy is full

He'll likely go to Loughan House

Up in his part of the country in Cavan and it's minimum security

Wikipedia tells me
    The Centre has an operational capacity of 160 adult male inmates who have been deemed suitable for residency in an open centre. It has a mix of single and shared rooms. All rooms are equipped with televisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

I think that if the government/Nama hadn't tried to go behind his back and went to such underhand tricks they would have got a lot of the money very quickly.
    Nonsense - Sean would have even more time to hide the goodies, and the Govt would have got even less. But your naivety is quite touching - sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Nonsense - Sean would have even more time to hide the goodies, and the Govt would have got even less. But your naivety is quite touching - sweet!

Perhaps but I think both sides were very much in the wrong here! Its like the bank taking your house because you're a few weeks late on the mortgage. Even if you never intended on paying there is still a procedure to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Perhaps but I think both sides were very much in the wrong here! Its like the bank taking your house because you're a few weeks late on the mortgage. Even if you never intended on paying there is still a procedure to follow.

NAMA followed every legal procedure in the book

I believe that calling Sean Quinn to a meeting in Dublin so that he was away from his offices for Nama to take control was pretty underhand! This happened at a time when Sean Quinn had ticked all the boxes and has not resisted repayment in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

johnr1 wrote: »
    It's ironic that if all the people who want to burn Quinn made the laws of other countries, we'd never have had Ford, Macy's, Sony, Wollworths, Honda or KFC.

In some countries, failure is a badge of honour and they jail the likes of Madoff for natural life.
    Here we let Seanie Fitz off and punish business people who fail.

Quinn made bad business decisions, he deserves to be left with nothing, but put the blame for us carrying his losses where it belongs, - with a bank who were out of control, and a government who guaranteed all the losses.

This is about contempt of court. He deliberately disobeyed a court order. This case has really nothing to do with bankruptcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

What on earth us the atory with the Quinn apologists that keep popping up when he gets in the news? He did illegal things for selfish reasons and saddled everyone else with a nine-figure bill, and then he illegally transferred assets out of the reach of the creditors.

And what on earth does a meeting in Dublin have to do with anything? Nama were legally entitled to do what they did no matter where Quinn was. It's not as if he'd have been at the head of three hundred bloody Spartans fighting Nama off except for this meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

will anything actually happen?

Nope. Its Ireland. In Ireland, we dont jail our corrupt businessmen, bankers or politicians, we just give them a little talking to and then its back to business the next day, or, to keep the lawyers in the money, we set up a twenty year tribunal to investigate and then release a whitewash whilst the crooks in question are living it up off their golden handshake cash. Im ashamed to be Irish at times when I see how the Government act and what they allow happen.

Only in Ireland could Mick Wallace admit on live tv he broke the law, and then read a bleeding heart 10minute statement and go back to work no questions asked. Also, all this business with Quinn is deflecting from the 2 other scumbags Sean Fitzpatrick and Fingers Fingleton, no sign of them getting hauled away from their decades of corruption, its a sickener :rolleyes:

What on earth us the atory with the Quinn apologists that keep popping up when he gets in the news? He did illegal things for selfish reasons and saddled everyone else with a nine-figure bill, and then he illegally transferred assets out of the reach of the creditors.

And what on earth does a meeting in Dublin have to do with anything? Nama were legally entitled to do what they did no matter where Quinn was. It's not as if he'd have been at the head of three hundred bloody Spartans fighting Nama off except for this meeting.

My issue is that both sides were in the wrong but before Sean Quinn could be given a chance to pay up he was sneekily stripped of his business. What he did afterwards was wrong too an I have no problem if he is sentenced to jail time for that. Its a shame that the bankers and politicians will never get the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

He wasn't sneakily stripped of his business, it was seized because he owed a gargantuan sum of money and there was zero realistic prospect of repayment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

I believe that calling Sean Quinn to a meeting in Dublin so that he was away from his offices for Nama to take control was pretty underhand! This happened at a time when Sean Quinn had ticked all the boxes and has not resisted repayment in anyway.

You don't really believe that it'd have made even a small bit of difference whether or not he was there do you? You can be guaranteed that NAMA would have showed up with all the relevant paperwork with all the I's dotted and all the T's crossed.

If anything I'd wish that NAMA was a little bit more underhanded in their dealings with these characters. Unfortunately they have to play by the rules while the likes of Quinn obviously have no problems bending, breaking or sidestepping the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,080 ✭✭✭✭unkel

He'll get a very short term (weeks rather than months) if at all

He hasn't been convicted of a crime and so he hasn't been sentenced. The good thing is he has been found in contempt of court. Which means he will be in prison until he is no longer in contempt of court. If he doesn't cooperate he will stay in jail. Until he dies.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

Not surprised

What's contempt?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Nope. Its Ireland. In Ireland, we dont jail our corrupt businessmen, bankers or politicians, we just give them a little talking to and then its back to business the next day, or, to keep the lawyers in the money, we set up a twenty year tribunal to investigate and then release a whitewash whilst the crooks in question are living it up off their golden handshake cash. Im ashamed to be Irish at times when I see how the Government act and what they allow happen.

Only in Ireland could Mick Wallace admit on live tv he broke the law, and then read a bleeding heart 10minute statement and go back to work no questions asked. Also, all this business with Quinn is deflecting from the 2 other scumbags Sean Fitzpatrick and Fingers Fingleton, no sign of them getting hauled away from their decades of corruption, its a sickener :rolleyes:
    Spot on here poster...these things do take a lot of time and the financial forensics are labour and time intensive.

You can't risk going to court and having the case thrown out on a technicality.

Unlike the previous shower of crooks and gombeen men the present Govt.at least show some signs of wanting to give these gentlemen their just deserts.

They went after the Drummer Boy anyways and did a bit of damage.

These fookoos have necks like the proverbial jockeys tackle and the State need to take off the kid gloves and go after them...especially Fingers who is reportedly a right nasty peice of work.

And the neck of Seanie staying in that 5 star in Poland while the poor unfortunates who have to pay for his actions cannot afford to feed their kids.

These guys should get some chokey time ...and quick..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

unkel wrote: »
    He'll get a very short term (weeks rather than months) if at all

He hasn't been convicted of a crime and so he hasn't been sentenced. The good thing is he has been found in contempt of court. Which means he will be in prison until he is no longer in contempt of court. If he doesn't cooperate he will stay in jail. Until he dies.
    We can only hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭EricPraline

Looks like he's got away with it. But then after all, it's only €500m. And I'm sure he's sorry and he'll give it back :mad:
    Ireland's former richest man was spared a jail sentence on Friday for contempt of court, meaning no major figure has to date been jailed over the collapse of Ireland's economy despite billions of euros in losses.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/06/29/us-ireland-quinn-idUSBRE85S0SH20120629

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Looks like he's got away with it. But then after all, it's only €500m. And I'm sure he's sorry and he'll give it back :mad:

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/06/29/us-ireland-quinn-idUSBRE85S0SH20120629

There will be household charge protesters in jail before any of these slimeballs get put away.
    Balls of a setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

The Garlic Man gets banged up for 1 million.
    Quinn walks for 500 million.

You, me and everyone else who pays tax gets screwed over on both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

previous poster hit the nail on the head.
    there will eventually be household charge protestors held in contempt of court and who will face jail over a measly €200.

how this country actually functions is beyond me.

Take your hand and lead you
    Up a garden path
    Let me stand aside here
    And watch you pass

Striking up a soldier's song
    I know that tune
    It begs too many questions
    And answers too

Banana Republic
    Septic Isle
    Suffer in the screaming sea
    Sounds like dying

Everywhere I go, yeah
    Everywhere I see
    The black and blue uniforms
    Police and priests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

i don't understand it, how the **** these 3 didn't get jail time. i hate this country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

VEN wrote: »
    i don't understand it, how the **** these 3 didn't get jail time. i hate this country

Its called "knowing who else is involved" and using that info to keep your ass out of jail I suspect!

I suspect also this is why a Mr Ahern is still walking free. He, many others and the likes of Quinn know TOO much!
    The last thing the big boys want, is to force the likes of the few that is hauled before a court, to really start opening their mouths in a deal to stay out of prison.

VEN wrote: »

Why are you surprised ?
    None of them go to jail.
    Ask Mick Wallace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Biggins wrote: »
    ...a deal to stay out of prison.

That looks like exactly what has happened tbh. They are going to need his assistance to recover the assets. So it's either get him to work with them with the threat of prison and get back some of the money..

...or sling him in prison and risk the chance that he decides not to cooperate whatsoever. :mad:

It's a rubbish situation and one that should never have been allowed happen in the first place, but would you risk a couple of hundred million, in return for a week in prison. I'd rather get the assets back asap, and send him to prison properly at a later date.