Largest on-land seizure of drugs in the history of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭cristoir

There'll be a surge in shootings as a result of this I'd imagine. The blame game will now begin internally in whatever gang/gangs where involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0626/drugs-dublin-kildare.html

Fair play to the Gardai on this one.

Middle-classs drug users might have to pay a little more for their fix.

Not just the middle class. And it won't effect price so much, demand just won't be met. Also drugs are great fun. Drinking and smoking regularly is worse for you than occasionally taking MDMA or Coke or having the odd spliff. Don't be so innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

I assumed Cocaine lived and died with the "Celtic Tiger"?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Fantastic news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

A 42-year-old Nigerian man was arrested in the Tallaght area

men in custody are very significant people in terms of the criminality they have been involved in.

Should be deported when his sentence is over

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 182 ✭✭Burt Lancaster

Drugs are a scourge, Gardai should be given more resources to tackle the gangsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Shryke wrote: »
    Not just the middle class. And it won't effect price so much, demand just won't be met. Also drugs are great fun. Drinking and smoking regularly is worse for you than occasionally taking MDMA or Coke or having the odd spliff. Don't be so innocent.

Errr.......ok Shryke :P

Oh...supply, demand, basic economics, etc.....don't get me started :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Hehe joint operation.

Cool sunglasses. Coke/pills/whatever that I can get if I want is at the same price it always is. Some guys might try to rip you off but it doesn't waver much. Drugs might get scarce but the price doesn't go up when they do.
    I know what I'm talking about. This isn't The Wire. 99% of people who use drugs are perfectly regular people, not itchy junkies that will pay through the nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

at least it was only the cocaine seized

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

its good that they are seizing such quantaties of drugs,it means their task force is working,but the thing is i dont think these types of seizures are regular,and drugs on the street can be bought regularly so they are not seizing them all from coming in to ireland..

there should be more gards employed,i think the idea from our government to freeze garda recruitment is madness..

there should be loads of gard recruited to tackle all this crime from drugs and whatever else..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Thats probably a small pallet of cocaine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tym

Bril news. I wonder will anybody say it was a decoy?:rolleyes:

Also, I sense the pro-leagalizing drug people will be paying a visit soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭D_D

Cool sunglasses. Coke/pills/whatever that I can get if I want is at the same price it always is. Some guys might try to rip you off but it doesn't waver much. Drugs might get scarce but the price doesn't go up when they do.
    I know what I'm talking about. This isn't The Wire. 99% of people who use drugs are perfectly regular people, not itchy junkies that will pay through the nose.

Wow, you sound cool and with it... Can I be in your gang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

There's a joke here somewhere...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Drugs are a scourge, Gardai should be given more resources to tackle the gangsters.

Gardai will only ever get their hands on a fraction of what passes through, regardless of how well resourced they are.

Doubtless there'll be a press conference and photo's of the haul, but it only serves to highlight the futility of the approach taken by law enforcement agencies for decades now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Lock Up The Ruffians!
    Throw Away The Key!
    We Don't Want Those Brutes Down Our Road!
    Other Empty Slogans That Ignore Reality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 mimsy

Are you a little bit upset about this drug haul?
    You don't seem so happy.
    Personally I'm delighted to read the link, although a fool and his money will always be easily parted so no doubt its not going to do much to reduce demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

It's fairly common knowledge the Nigerian gangs control a massive amount of the cocaine coming into the country,but it's a huge success for the Gardai.

physically we need more gards,theres been recruitment freezes on garda recruitment for some while now,they need to cop on a bit..

think of the amount of drugs getting in undectected that end up on the street,making **** of peoples lives,and those affected by it..junkies everywhere,muggings,and beggings,being hassled,and burglaries..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Hooray for the pointless war on drugs and prohibition !!

Same identical story time and time again. "Gardai have uncovered x million kilos of y drug and have taken the suspects to Clondalkin Garda station". Yet I've still to ever hear about junkies or recreational users not getting their fix due to the bust.

This is barely a temporary dent in supply and demand, never mind the other countless shipments probably coming in right now or have already arrived undetected here as we type. :rolleyes:

I can't wait for some high ranking official on the 6 One, due now any minute, to bull**** the ears off the general public over how it's a huge blow to drugs trade ... how about not really though ?

Legislate and regulate already ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

[QUOTE=D_D;]Wow, you sound cool and with it... Can I be in your gang?[/QUOTE]

Can we be in yours :p DRUG scum Dee Dee O'Driscoll is flooding Dublin city centre with highly addictive sleeping pills that addicts ................................

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=dd%20o%20driscoll&source=web&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CFMQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sundayworld.com%2Fcolumnists%2Fsw-irish-crime.php%3Faid%3D5725&ei=_enpT6b7HJG7hAfZxoCHDQ&usg=AFQjCNErhh20T_3geeKMNdN26et21JiWeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Gardai will only ever get their hands on a fraction of what passes through, regardless of how well resourced they are.

Still, it's nothing to be sniffed at and no doubt they'll be having a party in Garda HQ with it over the find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Fantastic news.

Value of your stash just sky rocket?
    its good that they are seizing such quantaties of drugs,it means their task force is working,but the thing is i dont think these types of seizures are regular,and drugs on the street can be bought regularly so they are not seizing them all from coming in to ireland..

there should be more gards employed,i think the idea from our government to freeze garda recruitment is madness..

there should be loads of gard recruited to tackle all this crime from drugs and whatever else..

Dead right, the government can just sell the seized coke to get the money to pay them.

Max,I think cocaine is too dangeorous to legalise,but i would go about decriminalizing cannabis as its not as harmful or as dangerously addictive,and doesnt make the user aggressive..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

€200 would repay a nice little chunk of the EU/IMF/FF borrowings. The state should open medical despensaries and sell drugs to people with "back pain" for medicinal purposes and keep it a state monopoply allowing the guards to seize private drug traffickers drugs and sell them on to the benefit of the state. People will always get their drugs and there will always be a drug dealer ready to supply, same with prostitution, regulate, legalize and tax and get the money for the state and not criminals.

mimsy wrote: »
    Are you a little bit upset about this drug haul?
    You don't seem so happy.
    Personally I'm delighted to read the link, although a fool and his money will always be easily parted so no doubt its not going to do much to reduce demand.

I couldn't care less. I don't do coke. I know what it and other things besides cost and I wouldn't have a problem getting my hands on something if I really wanted to. I don't think many people would.
    I'm telling you how it is, that's all. Why get bent about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Has anyone told them about the boardway/abbey street area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Sappa wrote: »
    It's fairly common knowledge the Nigerian gangs control a massive amount of the cocaine coming into the country,but it's a huge success for the Gardai.
    The problem with common knowledge is that it's commonly wrong.

When someone starts a post with "it's fairly common knowledge that...", I should think alarm bells ought to start going off in people's heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

later12 wrote: »
    The problem with common knowledge is that it's commonly wrong.

When someone starts a post with "it's fairly common knowledge that...", I should think alarm bells ought to start going off in people's heads.

But my friend told me it's true;)