Unpopular Opinions.

Fried eggs haven't been fertilized though.
    So not the same thing.
    That show was on telly the other day - "An Idiot Abroad" and I don't know where he was, Asia somewhere, and there were people eating chicken fetuses - was gross - but anyway, that would be a better comparison.

Never seen the show but it's probably fertilized duck eggs and they're absolutely delicious.. I love them and my girlfriend eats them all the time.

Anyways, nice to see that someone who saw something on TV say that one of the main diets of young Vietnamese and Filipinos is gross.. Lovely and understanding people us Irish. Just shltting on other people's cultures cause it's slightly different.

http://images.mylot.com/userImages/images/postphotos/2441982.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Never seen the show but it's probably fertilized duck eggs and they're absolutely delicious.. I love them and my girlfriend eats them all the time.

Anyways, nice to see that someone who saw something on TV say that one of the main diets of young Vietnamese and Filipinos is gross.. Lovely and understanding people us Irish. Just shltting on other people's cultures cause it's slightly different.

In all fairness, that looks pretty gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I think prawns are gross!
    I think lots of things are gross - doesn't say a damn thing about what I think about the diets of other cultures!!
    Way to find an insult where there isn't one!
    Typical Irish! :rolleyes::D

Anyway - that duck foetus or whatever it is is GROSS looking!!!
    I don't care where it comes from - the outcome is the same - it is gross!
    Bleugh...... :)

• Site Banned Posts: 222 ✭✭bee_keeper

packie bonner was not a good goalkeeper , he saved that penalty and a legend was created but less is remembered about how he cost us qualification for euro 1992 when we had our best ever team in many peoples view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,996 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

bee_keeper wrote: »
    packie bonner was not a good goalkeeper , he saved that penalty and a legend was created but less is remembered about how he cost us qualification for euro 1992 when we had our best ever team in many peoples view

I'd agree with that to a certain extent. I think he was a good keeper but very overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I think milk is disgusting and never drink it save for in coffee and hot chocolate- that doesn't mean I'm hating on Irish culture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I think milk is disgusting and never drink it save for in coffee and hot chocolate- that doesn't mean I'm hating on Irish culture!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

What about UHT milk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,996 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

mikemac1 wrote: »
    What about UHT milk?

There's no demand for that because it's ****e

O'Herlihy, Giles, Brady & Dunphy are the best pundits on TV, period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Shepherds make crap meteorologists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Fair City is a great soap and the actors on it are better than the ones on any of the English soaps.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,336 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Also, there are still a lot of places in the world where women are killed, oppressed, mutilated, tortured, raped, disenfranchised, and all because they're women. Overall, women have it a hell of a lot harder than men. You just can't argue against that.

You certainly could argue against that by pointing out the relative numbers of men and women who are forced into armed combat and suffer all of the above as a matter of course.

RVP 11 wrote: »
    O'Herlihy, Giles, Brady & Dunphy are the best pundits on TV, period.

i dont agree but since when it the above an unpopular opinion

Unpopular = people don't agree.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭garysully1986

cloptrop wrote: »
    Had a thread in music a while back using Bob Dylan lyrics as a bar to compare with . I asked people to show me the art in hip hop rythme. There honestly was very little substance , I think Nas used a metaphor once . But honestly if you know anything about poetry very little about this genre is anything close to lyrical genius . It does however rythme which fair play to them , they can manage that what with being from the hood and slanging crack and banging bitches and pimping hoes and so forth . Oh some of them are poor too , they are the ones that people say are artists but basically they are just rythmeing words with other words.

You have to admit this wouldnt sound out of place in most rap songs. And before you speak of my lack of knowledge about hip hop , I was there for Dre when people forgot about him .

Lol love the quote about dre.

I can agree that some rhymes can sound very similar and especially some of todays rappers can rhyme like that just to make money.

but if you look at some of the game changing artists like Nas, 2pac, Jay-z, Their lyrics are more than putting two words together that sound the same.

I am a huge fan of Bob Dylan, Dont think twice its alright is one of my favourite songs, However there are rappers who can compete while Dylan can mask some of his lyrics most rappers say exactly what they mean;

Look at Nas, his most commercial song he had out in the last few years was probable I can with lyrics like;

"be'fore we came to this country,
    We were kings and queens, never porch monkeys.
    There was empires in Africa called Kush,
    Timbuktu, where every race came to get books
    To learn from black teachers who taught Greeks and Romans,
    Asians, Arabs, and gave them gold; When
    gold was converted to money it all changed,
    Money then became empowerment for Europeans.
    The Persian military invaded,
    They heard about the gold, the teachings and everything sacred
    Africa was almost robbed naked,
    Slavery was money, so they began making slaveships.
    Egypt was the place that Alexander the Great went
    He was in shock that in the mountains were black faces.
    Shot off their nose to impose what basically
    Still goes on today you see."

There are plenty of rappers that can hold their own against Dylan.

I can agree that some rhymes can sound very similar and especially some of todays rappers can rhyme like that just to make money.

but if you look at some of the game changing artists like Nas, 2pac, Jay-z, Their lyrics are more than putting two words together that sound the same.

I am a huge fan of Bob Dylan, Dont think twice its alright is one of my favourite songs, However there are rappers who can compete while Dylan can mask some of his lyrics most rappers say exactly what they mean;

Look at Nas, his most commercial song he had out in the last few years was probable I can with lyrics like;

That's just a rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Spain are boring to watch at football......there I said it!

That's just a rant.

Haha how is that a rant?

by that statement you could also state that blowin in the wind one of the most influential songs of the last 100 years is sayin "ah lads come on now stop your messin!" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

kfallon wrote: »
    The country is being led aimlessly by the government. Enda kenny is also a terrible leader.

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Unpopular = people don't agree.:pac:

most people think giles , dunphy and brady are excellent , therefore your opinion is not unpopular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Haha how is that a rant?

by that statement you could also state that blowin in the wind one of the most influential songs of the last 100 years is sayin "ah lads come on now stop your messin!" :p

Is this English?

kfallon wrote: »

their not boring , its just that were used to watching the premier league where its all about counter attacking and possession control - build up is alien , i find it beautifull to watch , italy were a joy to watch last night aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I'm sure there's good rap lyrics, but that's a bad example imho. It looks like ralph wiggums essay on african history.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I'm sure there's good rap lyrics, but that's a bad example imho. It looks like ralph wiggums essay on african history.

I was thinking of going through it line by line to point out the absurdities, but life is too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

This is kinda harsh but I don't like the gypsies begging for money on the side of the streets.

Ah lads have ya's no love for hip hop at all.

Probably not the best example but its the first lyric that popped into my head.

In fairness for every good rock artist they have an awful lot of crap in their back catalogue, Bob dylan included.

I was thinking of going through it line by line to point out the absurdities, but life is too short.

I'd love to hear your evaluation.

No. They weren't all kings and Queens.

Yes, probably not black though.

This minor city is 12th century, which is 2 millennia after rome was founded.

Nope. not that city. The teachers of Greeks and Romans might have been African but not sub-Saharan African.

This is an unproven assertion. Europe came to power for lots of reasons. The Enlightenment for one.

Timelines flecked up again have to go back in time to the Bronze age for the Persian empire to take over a tiny part of Northern Africa - Eastern Egypt.

Is "they" here the Persians? Or the Europeans? Also slavery was part of Africa for centuries prior to Europeans. Mostly Arabic slavers and black slaves, but sometimes black on black.

Shot with a gun? Alexander might have killed some black Africans but he killed lots of people.

Major issue here is North Africa is not black sub-Saharan Africa, the time lines are all fecked up, the Arab invasions are replaced by Persian invasions, the caricature of European power is nonsense, and on and on. Its about as historically correct as Harry Potter.

most people think giles , dunphy and brady are excellent , therefore your opinion is not unpopular

You're wrong.