Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour De Burren

• 21-06-2012 7:45am
    Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭

Is there many here planning on doing Tour De Burren in North Clare on saturday 23 rd ,tough route this year from what I am told especially the first 60 kms of the longer spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I'll be doing it as a prelude to a drunken night out in the wesht.
    I believe it may be a bit hilly in places?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭QueensGael

Planning on the 160km, my morbid dislike of the rain notwithstanding ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭Seweryn

dafman wrote: »
    Is there many here planning on doing Tour De Burren in North Clare on saturday 23 rd ,tough route this year from what I am told especially the first 60 kms of the longer spin.
    I may be there as well, if the weather is any.

Where is the start point / place of arrival?

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭ciaeim

i going to do it depending on weather, not sure which route yet as have no idea how difficult it may be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭ArraMusha

The weather will be the big unknown this year (again) until Friday evening after the news when Joan Blackburn or Jean Byrne will do some crystal ball-gazing.

I'll be doing the 160 and this years route is challenging. I did most of the route a few months ago and the climbs are short but high gradient. Overall gain is about 1,500m.

The first will be 'Slieve Elva' near Fanore, this will be at the first turn left and up a 3-4km stretch that is at 5-6%, the drop is rough surface and the road is narrow, so expect a lot of close overtaking on the up and down.

The next climb is out of Doolin toward the cliffs. This is an out of the seat 2km climb that starts at 5% and kicks to 15% near the top. The wheel will spinin if wet or on patches of dung.

The corkscrew itself is grand its the slow 3-4% up to it that saps energy and especially as its at 120km approx.

Plenty pasta Friday!:pac::pac:

Jean+Byrne.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ratracer

Two nice warm fronts coming in there from the left.. :) I'm registered for the big day out, but if the weather is crap I'm gonna do the 108 km instead. Decide which on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

im lookin forward to this rain or not ill give it a lash was out today in the rain its only rain lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Will do the 108km in prep. For ROK, hate those Clare hills tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

I am looking forward to it, a new route for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I hopefully will do it... Depends on whether I can swing tomorrow off !

I will be on the Vitus 979 Peugeot or better known as "Puggy4sex" with all the older gear on... Do come and say hello

Im not relishing the hills as my lowest gear is 39/21 and I only have 12 well 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Doing the 108k regardless of weather. Is anyone heading down from Dublin? There are 3 of us, but we only have a commercial 4x4 as transport so one will be bussing it if we can't source a lift. I can take a bike for someone though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Doing the 160km - well, certainly planning on it. Is the new 160 route much tougher than the old one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I can't make this one but enjoy the Corkscrew anyone who is heading down.

Mr Velo wrote: »
    Doing the 160km - well, certainly planning on it. Is the new 160 route much tougher than the old one?

Certainly is....! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Certainly is....! :eek:

God DAMMIT! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭skerry

Mr Velo wrote: »

Not able to do it myself this year but done some of the new climbs last week and there's a few doozies in there. There's one about 10km into proceedings, a left turn at Fanore, about 4km climb I think, I reckon anyone giving it socks on that one will be paying for it later, a lot of cycling to go after it. There's also one up by Doolin, not long but rises to something like 18% (so I'm told), it's bordering on vertical. All perfectly doable though and you'll enjoy the ice-cream all the more after it :)

Reckon it'll be a great day all the same, sickened I can't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

its windy here just now .may be they can turn it down a bit by mornin :-)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

ArraMusha wrote: »

Plenty pasta Friday!:pac::pac:

I had my pre-sportive vindaloo tonight :)

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Gipo3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

That's terrible news. Hope he's going to be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ratracer

Most miserable day I've had on the bike in quite a while. Hope the injured cyclist will be ok, makes my bad day pale into insignificance.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭GKiraly

Hadnt done this one before but im glad I did, not a bad route, well, at least the second half was generous. Done the 66km. THAT climb was a killer, managed to stay on the bike all the way up to the fruity pit-stop, it was those walkin it that nearly had me off the bike, and I dont blame them for walking it!! A welcome food stop a while later and then a good spin downhill home. Yummy ice cream too. Nice bag and jersey.
    Could give out about the weather but whats a bit of rain when you hear the terrible news about a fellow participant having a serious accident, hope hes ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

I wasn't in the Tour but I'm down in Fanore on my holidays.Fair play to anyone who did any degree of the race.It was an awful windy,wet day.I don't know how ye survived. That hill in Fanore must have claimed a few victims.Its a killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,206 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Chavways wrote: »
    I wasn't in the race but I'm down in Fanore on my holidays.Fair play to anyone who did any degree of the race.

It's not a race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

Lumen wrote: »
    It's not a race.

Would you prefer if I called it a Tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,206 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Chavways wrote: »
    Would you prefer if I called it a Tour?

Yes, thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭daludo

yeah the conditions were terrible,it wasnt too bad for the spin home by the coast though,the food stop in lisdoonvarna was worth it all!have to say it does all pale into insignificance when i think about seeing that poor man lying on the ground in fanore,hope all is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

A great day out in the Burren, we did the 108 (111 on my Garmin). Weather was chronic but really enjoyed the new course. Those 2 hills really tested a lot of legs, i struggled to the top of fanore hill but most walked.The Corkscrew isn't so bad but is pretty long. The foodstop at Lisdoonvara was savage, cakes were divine and hot cuppa was badly needed given the weather. I saw that ambulance leaving the burren and it's sad to hear there was a casualty, hopefully he'll be ok asap.Thanks to all the organizers and volunteers for their efforts, pat on the back for you all.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭kavanagh_h

We did this tour today and really enjoyed it. Despite the rain and wind it went really well. Very upset that there was a casualty -it could have been anyone in those conditions. Hope the gentleman recovers quickly.

I have never been to an event were so many cyclists had to walk up a hill. It was incredible my bike came to absolute standstill on that hill outside doolin. The food stop was incredible. So much variety. I noticed that there were cars everywhere asking people if they needed help. Hats off to the organisers for a great day. Love the bag!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,380 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

kavanagh_h wrote: »
    . Does anyone know what happened?
    Can posters avoid discussing cause or possible fault. In addition, please do not speculate over the condition of the cyclist at this time or provide any information that may be used to identify the individual involved

At this stage I think we should simply keep it to mentioning any further public reports on the matter

Beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Tickencor

tough day which the weather made more difficult and took away from the great burren scenery. 164km (inclusive of a wrong turn) in 6hrs 15 rolling time, happy considering ploughing a lone furrow for majority. I realise why now the scarcity of food on the WW200; it's all in the enterprise centre in Lisdoonvarna. Thoughts/prayers are with the cylist who came down outside Fanore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

News article

http://www.newstalk.ie/2012/news/cyclist-injured-in-clare-race/

You tube video of Fanore from the Tour de Burren site

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVbYzHw4fiI

This might explain why people are incorrectly calling it a race and not a Sportive.

Without wanting to sound trite, I hope he recovers.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

the group with Sean Kelly in it bombed home the coast road, went passed people like they were stopped altogether

I hopefully will do it... Depends on whether I can swing tomorrow off !

I will be on the Vitus 979 Peugeot or better known as "Puggy4sex" with all the older gear on... Do come and say hello

Im not relishing the hills as my lowest gear is 39/21 and I only have 12 well 10

I had a ruff enough day :D I was chatting to Sean before the start and he reckoned I was well over geared for the day. He loved the 979 but ... ! I should have taken the 501 which has a 39/28T.

First hilll and I had to bull into it, so much for energy preservation...! I got loads of compliments from boys who thought that Robert Millar was in town (before he became a woman that is :eek: ). Boys were shouting about this forum as well which was nice.

I came on the accident the boy had, enough help so just tipped on.. Hope hes ok now .. Didnt hear much after

I came to Doolin and didnt feel too bad so said to myself its "doo dog" so I tightened the toe-straps to the max only to break the left strap. I had to try and stay in the pedal and bull at the same time .. Not easy....! I came to the main road where I got a cable tie and headed on ... !

I just headed on back to Ballyvaughan as the rain closed in.. ! I'll have to sort the gearing now for the next day out.... :D

And I got no pictures .... Anybody.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

meh! underwhelmed.

Thought it was one of the weakest An Post events I've ever done - which would still make it better than about 75% of all sportives.

Good points:
    - organisation around the start / finish, registration was very quick even though it was busy
    - the food stop - plenty of good food, excellent organisation - one of the best operations I've seen
    - the climbs - pity the weather spoiled the views
    - the Fr Ted Parochial House!

Not-so-good points:
    - marshalling - out on the course it was sparse and scarce, and on one occasion when we did find a marshall they gave us the all clear on to a road that wasn't! No marshalling coming into Lisdoonvarna for the second time meant a bunch of us got lost.

- the second food stop - far too close to the end; @ 30 km to go I wouldn't stop for my mother :). I can understand the logic of doing two food stops from the same location but the route should be tweaked to make them better spaced out.

- the descents - esp the Slieve Elva one. Fine for a club spin or for a few mates, but allowing a large group of such varying ability down it was not a good idea in my opinion. Also I thought the descents were very poorly marshalled - on other events I've seen descents like that used, there's been marshals (usu civil defence or other first-aid trained volunteer-type people) ever few hundred metres

- showers - not sure if there were any, no one seemed to know.

Thought the route was fine, although it seemed like it had been contrived to take in the climbs more than anything else.

I'd also query the wisdom of using the Slieve Elva climb, as above, I think it's probably fine for a club spin, but when several hundred cyclists hit it together there was an air of chaos - I saw two tumbles and was involved in one myself on the way up - all low speed, so nothing more than scrapes and damaged pride, but all caused by one rider going over and skittling two or three more as they fell.

Finally, at the end having been on a nodding acquaintance with Mr Hypothermia all day what am I handed? An ice-cream! Which would have been lovely on sunnier day, but coffee and a few oul' hang sangiches would have been better (yesterday anyway!)

The weather was foul, but it did give one the feeling of a complete hard b@st@rd, especially coming over the Cliffs of Moher in the face of that driving rain!

My final time was a 6:53, not helped by getting lost, the weather and a damaged derailleur caused by the fall.

and for all my bellyaching, I'll probably give it another go next year.

On a separate note.....

I came up to the fallen rider just as the paramedics in the landrover were getting to him and it looked pretty bad, hopefully he's ok.

I really enjoyed this one I have to say. The climbs were enjoyable as well. Switchbacks are fun. I came across the accident just after it happened and I hope it looked worse than it was. Finished the 160km in 6 hours.
    Of course the sun is splitting the stones down here at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Horrible day in the saddle but really enjoyed it. Have a nasty chest infection but I figured kill or cure might help it out - while coughing up half a lung at the second food stop I was definitely closer to kill than cure.

We got there a bit late from Dublin and missed the mass roll out (by 35 minutes) for the 100km cycle. This left 2 of us battling the wind on our own all the way to Doolin. We also had to negotiate a lot of walkers and fallers on Castle Hill - one down point would be that there should be more marshalling here to get the walkers into the side of the road - I had to trackstand at one point while I shouted at a group walking 4 abreast to get in to the side of the road.

Nice spin into Lisdoonvarna from there - lots of fun overtaking cars and buses along the way, and the food stop was pretty decent. (Ham sandwich, cup of tea and some smoked salmon on brown bread - definitely a winner). They definitely had plenty of grub, and I reckon there were quite a few no-shows. Signing on half an hour after departure, we were numbers 901 and 902 and there were a lot of empty spaces next to the names in the book.

Long draggy climb from there back towards Ballyvaughan (has a right turn ever looked more inviting), and the descent down is a lovely road. Would have been nicer if there hadn't been a bus that insisted on tryong to overtake at the top - we just moved into the middle of the road over the flat bit at the top and then took off down the descent. Corkscrew hill wasn't as bad as everyone told me, although I had a major wobbly moment when I stood up to put the power down and my rear wheel just spun itself around. The worst part of the climb for me wasn't the steep bit, but the leg sapping approach.

We got into a nice little group (a few guys who passed us on the climb) and belted back into Lisdoonvarna - nice 15 minute blast. Although I normally wouldn't stop that close to home, I was really feeling the cold on my lungs and we pulled in for 15 minutes.

That may have been a mistake in hindsight - I had a bit of the fever shivers leaving Lisdoonvarna and a stiffening knee, which may have contributed to my scary moment. At about the 90k mark we were descending towards the coast road when I lost the rear wheel briefly on the entry to a long left hander. I recovered the slide but the bend kept tightening and I ended up on the wrong side of the road with a car coming the opposite direction. I've since checked the speedo and I was doing 50 at the time and my only option was to dump it in the ditch. In hindsight I was really really lucky - I hit a soft patch of briars and nettles and ended upside down with the bike on top of me and no major injuries. I do have an insane amount of scratches on my right leg and side - including two beauties that put me in mind of Johnny Hoogerland (maybe I'm being a bit dramatic there).

Took us just over an hour (1:02) to get back to Ballyvaughan from Lisdoonvarna with me crawling at times, and I definitely know that I didn't eat enough at all (entire day's food - 1 bagel, 1 ham sandwich, 1 smoked salmon sandwich, 1 nutrigrain bar, 1 500ml carb drink, 1 bag jelly snakes, 1 cheesecake, 1 twix and 2 cups of tea). The spin back was nice though, with that wind behind us and the weather seriously improved. I'd have to echo Jawgap's comments on the finish - while a great event, it's missing a hall at the end with tea/coffee and sandwiches, and definitely showers would be a huge plus. The second food stop would ordinarily be skipped by myself as well, but they may as well offer it when you're going past anyway.

Kudos for the bags instead of (yet another) jersey or t-shirt. Now we just need a sportive to take the plunge and get bib-shorts for everyone. On a similar note - those rain jackets from the tour of connemara looked the business - any sportive organisers reading this should think about offering something unusual - maybe a different item every year so if you do 3 in a row you'd have shorts, jersey and rain jacket.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Arequipa

Hi! Did the 160km in 6hrs 42...really enjoyed the day, but thought it was very tough; the narrow, gravelly climbs, the strong wind & lashing rain all contributed:
    Definitely a real 'character building day!'
    I thought the event was well organised, well marshalled & food & drink stops were good.
    Saw the poor fella on stretcher near Fanore( hope he gets well soon) , another guy on side of road with what looked like a broken arm & a few with nasty road rash...
    It seemed the conditions seemed to add a lot more pain & burn in the legs; started to cramp up at end!
    Burned 6,307 cals yesterday & my garmin warned me as my hr went above 194:
    Defo a tough day in saddle: feel good, but sore backside & quite tired today!

Arequipa

Arequipa wrote: »
    .......another guy on side of road with what looked like a broken arm & a few with nasty road rash...

was that on the drag just past Liscannor - think I got there just after it happened. He was hold his elbow very gingerly and his mates were pulling his bike out of the ditch - I assume given it was a climb he had some sort of wobble or hit something.

By the way - would anyone have the total metres climbed for the day for the 160? My Garmin concluded it was 980m - if it was, I'm even crapper than I thought I was!

Jawgap wrote: »
    By the way - would anyone have the total metres climbed for the day for the 160? My Garmin concluded it was 980m - if it was, I'm even crapper than I thought I was!

989m according to my garmin.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭Soilse

Worst day ever on the bike. I realize the weather didn’t help but I feel as a regular cyclist that the routes were designed to be exclusive rather than inclusive. I did the burren 108km last year and the sligo 100km a few weeks ago so was looking forward to beating my time or even meeting it considering the weather. I completed the 108(112km according to my bike) and felt completely disheartened and deflated, there was no sense of achievement yesterday and still today I feel was put on a route that was well out of my league. I really feel if the aim was to encourage cycling in the general community this objective was not met. Met a few that had a grand time these were all those who had planned to do the 160 and dropped down to the 108 or 66. Also met a lot that planned to do the 108km, dropped to the 66km and were really struggling where is the ‘fun day out’ in that? Honestly I can’t think of anyone that is not a strong cyclist that I could recommend any of yesterdays routes to.

To end on a positive note the local hospitality, food stops, start and end were magic. The backpack was also a nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

Jawgap wrote: »
    was that on the drag just past Liscannor - think I got there just after it happened. He was hold his elbow very gingerly and his mates were pulling his bike out of the ditch - I assume given it was a climb he had some sort of wobble or hit something.

garmins have barometric altimeters, so when the day has low pressure like saturday the garmin does not know whats going on elevation wise. It probably told you you were descending (grade) while climbing the corkscrew.

also my (third replacement) garmin died at 136 km ( screen stuck and all butons would not work ) so on arrving at the finish it said 136km, given the confusion around lisdoonvarna ,the second time , I thought, ****e I have missed 20K somewhere !!

still would not turn off when heading home in the car, and the total mileage zooming up for the burren sportive ( addng on the car journey mileage home !! )

reckon the unit got shook to bits on the bothareens and some watert got in. Eventually the garmin led out a string of beebs then finally turned off after a few hours.

map it out on ride wth GPS or the an post burren website might quote a climb figure.

got to the accident just as jeep arrived also, same time as urself so, Wexford wheeler gear.

a tough circuit alright, I remember checking the time at one stage and at 1 hour 45 minutes only 40 K had been completed, between the wind and rain made it very tough. on my own for a major part of it.

on the home stretch the lead car over took me, then another lead car, so was realy confused as to had I somehow gone wrong and got lost.

Marshalls at junction past the cork screw climb stopped me , and told me i was going wrong, ( towards lisdoon varna) when i asked wheredi i go wrong or was there a turn i had missed , marshlal said he did not know the route ( but knew I was wrong !! ) anyhow up comes the lead car, conversation and yep I was on the right road, as the 160 group began to arrive in droves !!!

Missed the father ted house , what was it anyhow ?? was it the shack with some food out by the road ?

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Hu Deman

Soilse wrote: »
    Worst day ever on the bike. I realize the weather didn’t help but I feel as a regular cyclist that the routes were designed to be exclusive rather than inclusive.
    To end on a positive note the local hospitality, food stops, start and end were magic. The backpack was also a nice touch.
    I'd have to agree , i found yesterday very tough . A lot of people ended up walking up Castle Hill (including myself,only made it halfway up)I think it was the toughest of the An Post series so far. Roll on Tour of Meath

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Arequipa

Here are some stats from my Garmin 610:

Arequipa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭daludo

after reading these comments about the tdb im just wondering where ye guys would rate it against other sportives in the country??would it be in the top 10 as regards difficulty???

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Hu Deman

I am only a leisure cyclist,but have completed the ring of kerry,sean kelly tour and a lot of others without too much difficulty. i found this to be hard,maybe it was the weather??. Fitter cyclists would find this a good challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Dooish

just home from this and i have to say the best and hardest one i have done todate. after this any hill around omagh will seem like a pimple. 101 miles and 7 hrs 40 mins on the saddle is not easy not to mention the wind and the rain but the views where class, the b and b is booked for next year. i managed the 170 route but alot of riders seemed to take the shorter route after the first food stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

In terms of 'being hard', it just depends how fast you go. Although there were a couple of tough climbs were even going very slow might be a challenge for some, but they didnt go on forever.

In response to there being no marshals. I had the opposite view, I have never seen so many in my life, albeit they were not all exactly on the ball when i was passing. In terms of danger, I think the hazards were well flagged, and up to a point you have to take responsibilty for your own cycling. Possibly if they had let the pace go a bit higher before the first climb that would have thinned the numbers on the narrow road ( i rubbed wheels with the guy in front myself and lost my foot off the pedal). After that first climb the pace at the front was quite hot up until the first food stop. After that it was the open road and very few to be seen (except those going in the other direction:D). It was a tad odd to see so many cyclists cycling in the opposite direction.

Only gripe I would have is the same one I have on all sportives, a quick whizz around the course, and to get a brush out to the very few corners that had a bit too much loose gravel would help, however I know this leads into the 'dont sweep the snow away outside your house' argument.

The 160 was a good route and would be very scenic on a nicer day.

Those dishing out the food were very friendly and that was appreciated. Never seen so many sandwiches in my life !

And I loved the ice cream at the end, sat on my wet a**e on the pier wall in the rain....even nabbed a second.:)

On the Garmin stats, just stick up onto Garmin connect, and click the elevation corrections, then download/upload to your tool of choice e.g. Strava !

• Registered Users Posts: 16 nevskin

ashleey wrote: »
    News article

http://www.newstalk.ie/2012/news/cyclist-injured-in-clare-race/

You tube video of Fanore from the Tour de Burren site

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVbYzHw4fiI

This might explain why people are incorrectly calling it a race and not a Sportive.

Without wanting to sound trite, I hope he recovers.

I'll post here so as to give an informed update on yesterday's crash at the Tour De Burren. The cyclist who crashed is a clubmate of mine. Needless to say we have been requesting updates as much as possible. Martin sustained a cracked skull and a broken neck bone. He underwent surgery last night in Cork and the latest we have heard is that he is recovering well from the surgery. However as this was a serious head and neck injury he is being closely monitored. There is no doubt that the presence of a surgeon( also Martin's clubmate and friend) a senior paramedic, and the proximity of the Air Ambulance, had a significant part to play in this terrible accident. Sincere thanks to all who assisted our clubmate.

Brian ( Dolmen CC)

@nevskin - Please pass on sincerest best wishes to him for a full and quick recovery.