Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭God Father

"**** it, I'll park where I like and not pay"?

Maybe it should be in the thread title that only opinions supporting the OP are allowed. :rolleyes:

I am yet to meet or hear of anyone with an attitude like that... :confused:

As you are referring to the original post, can I point out that your recent contributions to this thread have been off topic, in no way helpful to anyone and argumentative.

Your arguments are of pure speculation, even when the course of events have been outlined to you by others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'd be driving, it's a fair walk up to the banks and back.

I was under the impression that the op just wanted to withdraw money. There's an ATM at maxim there, and one across the road beside Ryan's. If there was not enough money in my account to withdraw, I'd be driving up to the bank or just using laser.

Although at half six in the evening, I wouldn't expect the bank to be open.

He posted at half six. You assume, that he posted at the exact time, he was clamped. Not everybody browses boards from their cellphone. I'd say there went considerable time from when he got clamped to his posted.
    I'd move it because I know full well theres clamping in the area and they dotn give 20 mins grace time.

Well, that's a judgement call based on experience. Still doesn't justify the clampers methods, attitude and business practice.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

God Father wrote: »
    I am yet to meet or hear of anyone with an attitude like that... :confused:

There used to be a whole thread that ran to a hundred or more pages dedicated to people abandonign their cars in various places.

Marlow wrote: »

Well, that's a judgement call based on experience. Still doesn't justify the clampers methods, attitude and business practice.

/M

Not really, no. Its based on the signs in the car park. I've driven and parked in hundreds of towns all over Ireland and the UK without being clamped. I see what the lie of the land is in each place before I leave the car. It's not that difficult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Thread deceased

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'd be driving, it's a fair walk up to the banks and back.

I was under the impression that the op just wanted to withdraw money. There's an ATM at maxol there, they also do cashback - and one across the road beside Ryan's. If there was not enough money in my account to withdraw, I'd be driving up to the bank or just using laser.

Although at half six in the evening, I wouldn't expect the bank to be open.

No I had parked and only then realised I had no change.

If you are familiar with Naas then you will know that there is very rarely parking available in front of the Banks.

Also hindsight is a great thing ;). Especially to someone who was not there at the time etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

Would the gards turn up if the shop rings them and says some guy parked in their car park half an hour ago and they want the car towed?

So what if they do or don't? It still doesn't give the shop owner the right to do whatever they want.
    All I am debating is the legality of private carpark owners clamping (and thus immobilising) vehicles. The practice has been deemed illegal in other countries. It is extortion, plain and simple.

cackhanded wrote: »
    All I am debating is the legality of private carpark owners clamping (and thus immobilising) vehicles. The practice has been deemed illegal in other countries. It is extortion, plain and simple.

I disagree and think its the only way they can enforce their rules. How else would you suggest they do it?
    God Father wrote: »
    No.

Also hindsight is a great thing ;). Especially to someone who was not there at the time etc.

Hardly makes a difference if he was there or not. The same situation applies if Colm heads down there on Monday.

I disagree and think its the only way they can enforce their rules. How else would you suggest they do it?

Get a judgement on what they're allowed to do or not. Lobby for a law that backs up what they do (or not) and then stick to that.

Have a appeals process, that is handled by somebody independant.

Until those are in place it's a money making racket and extortion. It has all been discussed in the thread and the relevant legislation that makes their actions questionable has been quoted.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

QUOTE]

A simple barrier entry / exit system would suffice.Pay before you leave for the time you have actually used.

QUOTE]

A simple barrier entry / exit system would suffice.Pay before you leave for the time you have actually used.

So now your in to the shop having to spend loads of money because peopel take the piss with their parking?

Barrier systems arent an option in all circumstances anyway.

Until those are in place it's a money making racket and extortion. It has all been discussed in the thread and the relevant legislation that makes their actions questionable has been quoted.

/M

questionable or illegal? Theres a big difference.

I still dont agree that the exact same practices , but back by a definate law are extortion without the law.

At the end of the day, pay for your parking and abide by the rules of the person that owns the car park and it doesnt matter if the clamping release fee is €10 or €10000

Correct, that would leave you with time to get change and also you'd know exactly what payments methods you have before you come back.

No hassle then. But obviously less income.

/M

Hardly makes a difference if he was there or not. The same situation applies if Colm heads down there on Monday.

Your missing my point, anyone can look at something and after the event and say what they would have done differently. Also what money I had, where I was going, what was on my mind, if something distracted me etc. etc. is different for me when I was there to anyone else.

Your point is noted.

You support clamping and think I should have been clamped.

fine. lets leave it there.

So now your in to the shop having to spend loads of money because peopel take the piss with their parking?

Barrier systems arent an option in all circumstances anyway.

Sorry ? The money for the barrier systems would pay for themselfes quite quickly. The shop could even award customers using their shop by making the parking free the second they pay at the till.

Shops usually opt to paid parking to ensure, that there is primarily parking for their customers (parkings fees being a minor issue). This is the scenario with the problem with park and ride parkers.

Independant parking areas only want to make money from parking fees. This is the case where it wouldn't matter if the person parking was park and ride or shopping.

Parking lets 2 say EUR an hour vs. a 120 EUR release fee (so 60x the hourly parking rate). So the rate for 5 days parking. How can you call that reasonable ?

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

NCPS can go f*ck themselves

I'll pay a paper parking fine if I ever get one but if they clamp me I'm getting the fooking genny and the angle grinder out

At the end of the day, pay for your parking and abide by the rules of the person that owns the car park and it doesnt matter if the clamping release fee is €10 or €10000

Sure. And if you don't need the clamp released, then you pay no release fee. Like in the case of the OP archieved, fair play to those that helped. Hence there's also no comeback by the NCPS. They know it as well.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I would love to see regulation going as far as to say, you can't charge for parking unless you accept responsibility for vehicles parked there. Too many companies making a quick buck without actually providing a service.

Then your introducing extra cost that will only be added to the cost of parking. They would have to either have full , working CCTV that can identify people or have a full time person there all the time the car park is open. They would either need cash set aside to cover costs that cant be recovered or insurance that would cover the cost of every ding and scrape . What if someone in a balaclava takes a dislike to the owners of the car park and throws brake fluid over a car park full of expensive cars? The costs could bankrupt the business. It probably wouldnt pay to bother havign a car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

bigpoppa wrote: »
    Keep your eye on bummer boy would be my advice
    I reckon they're having a celebratory pint, either that or they're bumming each other in the back of the car
    Clamp is off anyhow...................the Guards seemed a bit interested too.
    That was great crack for a tuesday night! Guards turned up all guns blazing and left laughing and the op is in his way hone with his €90 intact! Clamper gets his clamp back tomorrow
    When i called ncps to come get the clamp the lad on the phone said just to let you know the guards have been called, i told him they were already here.. Oh right he said well the fine still has to be paid, i said ah no ya can have the clamp back but we are keepin the fine :) actually the best crack iv had in a long time!
    Yawns wrote: »
    Also for the record, never have drummerboy as a look out ever. Guards were already in the car park and had finished doing a u-turn when he says, guards lads. lol
    Just read the whole thread.

The above quotes had me in stitches :D:D:D

Some very interesting things I didn't know about the laws covering clamping.

Super thread, ye're all famous now. Fair play for helping out and getting a happy ending.

Between this and tbh's "dent 'n run" story the motoring forum has no shortage of drama lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

There is no problem with pay parking. Not even for the OP. There is a problem with clampers and the lack of grace time to get a ticket and their attitude.
    That's not how it looks from reading this thread. The OP arrived with no coins, parked the car, and came back 20 minutes later to a clamp. Putting aside for a moment the idea that if you want to buy a service then you should have payment ready, are you really trying to argue that 20 minutes isn't excessive?

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's not how it looks from reading this thread. The OP arrived with no coins, parked the car, and came back 20 minutes later to a clamp. Putting aside for a moment the idea that if you want to buy a service then you should have payment ready, are you really trying to argue that 20 minutes isn't excessive?

I think I've made my point very clearly above. No need to start that discussion up again.

I consider a 30 minute grace period as also used as free parking period for other car parks in Ireland as adequate. That would cover all eventualities.

Why are you going in circles ? I've answered this question more than once throughout the thread.

/M

I think I've made my point very clearly above. No need to start that discussion up again.

I consider a 30 minute grace period as also used as free parking period for other car parks in Ireland as adequate. That would cover all eventualities.

/M
    One more question. Why do you think that you, and not the owner of the car park, should get to decide on how they charge for the use of their land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,194 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Whatever helps you sleep at night.

One more question. Why do you think that you, and not the owner of the car park, should get to decide on how they charge for the use of their land?

Also this, I have answered.
    Get a judgement on what they're allowed to do or not. Lobby for a law that backs up what they do (or not) and then stick to that.

Have a appeals process, that is handled by somebody independant.

/M

I'm not saying that I'm to make the judgement. I've stated:
    Marlow wrote:

Sure. And if you don't need the clamp released, then you pay no release fee. Like in the case of the OP archieved, fair play to those that helped. Hence there's also no comeback by the NCPS. They know it as well.

And you can hardly deny, that that isn't the case.

/M

Also this, I have answered.

I'm not saying that I'm to make the judgement. I've stated:

And you can hardly deny, that that isn't the case.

/M
    We're both in favour of regulation and an independent appeals process, so that's not an issue. Where we differ is in your complete disregard for the rights of the landowner. The OP was clamped because, and only because, they parked on private property without paying. No amount of waffle about the legality or otherwise of clamping can obscure this simple fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,194 ✭✭✭✭Stark

And the landowner/clamper decided the punishment with no law whatsoever to back them up. If the landowner slashed the person's tyres in order to cause inconvenience and expense, we'd be singing a different tune. It's only because people are seeing the council guys going around with the yellow boots that it's considered anyway acceptable.

We're both in favour of regulation and an independent appeals process, so that's not an issue. Where we differ is in your complete disregard for the rights of the landowner. The OP was clamped because, and only because, they parked on private property without paying. No amount of waffle about the legality or otherwise of clamping can obscure this simple fact.

Wrong. He paid. It just took him some time to make that payment. And this was only because a) there isn't enough grace period in the case of having to pay in advance with a limited amount of payment types or b) no possibility of paying at exit.

If the machines took debit/credit cards, then this could be avoided. If they took notes, this could most likely also be avoided. If you paid on exit, this could also be avoided.

If the landowner gives limited choices of payment, then an adequate grace period will have be calculated in calculation ALL eventualities in. That includes a walk to the bank and getting money from a teller. The landowner can also calculate how long it takes to get money.

If it takes 20 minutes to get to the bank and back, then 30 minutes is a minimum. The landowner knows the area, too. Lack of foresight.

/M

Stark wrote: »
    And the landowner/clamper decided the punishment with no law whatsoever to back them up. If the landowner slashed the person's tyres in order to cause inconvenience and expense, we'd be singing a different tune. It's only because people are seeing the council guys going around with the yellow boots that it's considered anyway acceptable.
    Let us pretend for a moment that we all agree that every clamper in the country is a complete and utter scumbag with no other aim in life but to make the motorist miserable. Even then, the OP would still have deserved to be clamped, because they parked on private property without paying. It seems to me that you're trying to use your dislike of clampers as a smokescreen to mask the OP's abuse of another man's property.

Even then, the OP would still have deserved to be clamped, because they parked on private property without paying.

Why do you maintain, that he didn't pay? He paid. It just took him 20 minutes to get the money to pay for the ticket.

/M

Wrong. He paid. It just took him some time to make that payment. And this was only because a) there isn't enough grace period in the case of having to pay in advance with a limited amount of payment types or b) no possibility of paying at exit.

If the machines took debit/credit cards, then this could be avoided. If they took notes, this could most likely also be avoided. If you paid on exit, this could also be avoided.

If the landowner gives limited choices of payment, then an adequate grace period will have be calculated in calculation ALL eventualities in. That includes a walk to the bank and getting money from a teller. The landowner can also calculate how long it takes to get money.

If it takes 20 minutes to get to the bank and back, then 30 minutes is a minimum. The landowner knows the area, too. Lack of foresight.

/M
    The OP parked with no coins, and you're accusing the landowner of lack of foresight?
    Why do you maintain, that he didn't pay? He paid. It just took him 20 minutes to get the money to pay for the ticket.

/M
    That's not how it works, hence the clamp.