Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Here's what I saw today - Part II (Please read the rules before posting)

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

kwalshe wrote: »
    Lads that's 15 posts and 1 pic about a bleedin' BMW 5 series. I think we all get the idea now,

jaysus, I thought it was interesting.. great to see talk of engine swaps and rare cars as opposed to insurance / clamping / tax questions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

conzymaher wrote: »
    jaysus, I thought it was interesting.. great to see talk of engine swaps and rare cars as opposed to insurance / clamping / tax questions

Check out the thread title, while it is kind of interesting the motoring forum is full of of threads for every topic and taste including engine swaps , clamping and an overabundance of BMW threads , I only come to this thread 'cause I love looking at shhexy cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,531 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

kwalshe wrote: »

Check out the thread title, while it is kind of interesting the motoring forum is full of of threads for every topic and taste including engine swaps , clamping and an overabundance of BMW threads , I only come to this thread 'cause I love looking at shhexy cars

If you check the first post, it clearly states that discussion of these cars also is permitted. Only off topic chat is not permitted.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Saw an 88' 635 CSi earlier, looked like an Alpina too but twas dark. Defo alpina wheels. Pretty sweet looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

dahamsta wrote: »
    Nice. Why an M3 motor though? Seems like an odd choice.
    Thats the brilliance of the plan, the bread and butter (and well loved) motor of the E34 was the M50 block, my one (and that 525IX) comes with the M50B25(TU). The E34 never got the M version of that engine, it went into the E36. So Ive got an engine from an E36 Evo (the best half way available version of the engine) which is an S50B32 (322BHP, dual VANOS). It drops right in as an E34 is the proper home of the x50 series motors!
    An actual E34 M5 has the S38 engine which while cool is a far older, not daily driver friendly and much heavier engine block (with different engine and gearbox mating afaik). Arguably my engine choice is more logical than the S38 in a late model E34. Its certainly easier and dare I suggest faster to boot.

My other E34 has the M60 V8 in it, total mental car (for a variety of reasons). Will be interesting to see how they compare, the V8 has power and torque but runs out at 6200rpm, the M3 engine goes past the stock rev limiter to 7400rpm!
    I don't think I've seen a project of yours that I don't like, I'm only jealous of your resources, particularly storage -- I have 2 in the drive at the moment, the poor wife's e39 touring has been forced out onto the street. :)
    Well I have room for 4 at the front and one at the side with minimal shuffling. The "cost" however is the whingy "why do you have weeds on your driveway" comments from boardsies.. eh cos I have 5 cars and only one life.
    Is it wrong for one of your goals in life to be: Barn Ownership?
    Oh Id love a barn or a hanger or something. In the meantime Ill make do with an overhang from the side of the house (to be constructed..).

PS: To keep on topic, I saw this today, in my garden, but here are the sellers photos which in fairness to him are very good. Taken around Canary Wharf I suspect:
    DSC_0045.jpgDSC_0013.jpgKGrHqYOKkQE5VFdmcQjBOdboq2dg60_12.jpgDSC_0003_2.jpg
    Im working away restoring it, photos can be deceptive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

SOMEONE MENTIONED A WEBSITE SHOWING BRISTOLS.... plenty of them around !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Mat that is absolute beauty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Coffee11 wrote: »

Onyx, truly the epitomy of money not being able to buy good taste

Also, from their 'About' section...
    About
    ONYX has been born of the challenge to question conformity, to rewrite the canvas that we have been forced to accept by living with mass-produced automobiles that are beginning to lose their style and appeal.

Mission
    Our passion is to return mass produced vehicles to
    their concept guise, as they were first showcased and
    launched.

Company Overview
    ONYX has been born of the challenge to question
    conformity, to rewrite the canvas that we have been forced
    to accept by living with mass-produced automobiles that
    are beginning to lose their style and appeal.
    Onyx was created by those involved in the key aspects of
    automobile styling, the joining of leading forces in SALES,
    DESIGN and MANUFACTURE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭gebbel

3c34b2ae.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Matt Simis wrote: »
    PS: To keep on topic, I saw this today, in my garden, but here are the sellers photos which in fairness to him are very good. Taken around Canary Wharf I suspect:

Im working away restoring it, photos can be deceptive.

thats a beauty alright, he certainly knows how to sell a car .... anything major wrong with it?

And yes, first photo is taken outside credit suisse at one cabot square in canary wharf.

By the way, the car park under the waitrose in canary wharf can contain cars that would make any petrol-head drool. I am a service engineer and work in canary wharf regularly, mostly evenings and if I am unlucky nights. One morning when I was finishing at about 6:30am and went to that car park and on one side of my car was a Ferrari f430 and the other side was a Bentley continental (supersport I think, all black) and behind it were two 911's (GT3 and I dont know what the other was). My Accord looked a little out of place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

Dead Ed wrote: »
    Herself reckoned it reminded her of this:

209582.jpg

omg, I think of storm troopers every time I see a white evoque (and that Kia 4x4 yoke aswell) - it'll turn out that Sheldon Cooper is a car designer in real life!

Bazinga!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

gebbel wrote: »
    3c34b2ae.jpg

Is it a 140 brake or just a regular TDI :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭el diablo

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Is it a 140 brake or just a regular TDI :confused:

It's an RS5.

Orange pilled.

el diablo wrote: »
    It's an RS5.

Sarcasm detector broken?? :P

He edited his post to add the ":D".

My sarcasm detector is fully functional, thanks. :)

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

el diablo wrote: »

He edited his post to add the ":D".

No i didn't !

Seen 4 new RCZs in the last 2 weeks, and I'm delighted about it too. They're a damn good car from Peugeot and look great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Seen 4 new RCZs in the last 2 weeks, and I'm delighted about it too. They're a damn good car from Peugeot and look great

seen one of those yokes myself. a lovely car to look at for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The RCZ looks class, if only it had some decent engines!

It's a 1.6 turbo pushing out 200bhp, what more do you want from a FWD :D

The best part about the RCZ is the sound membrane they put in. Pottering around at 1-3k RPM you wont hear a thing in the cabin. Put the shoe in and the sound membrane behind the dash opens up, and the sound of the engine floods into the cabin. And it sounds wonderful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

An engine like the Astra OPC would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Looks like I missed the memo:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

The best part about the RCZ is the sound membrane they put in. Pottering around at 1-3k RPM you wont hear a thing in the cabin. Put the shoe in and the sound membrane behind the dash opens up, and the sound of the engine floods into the cabin. And it sounds wonderful!

a modern car that is made to sound sexy and not just to have an AWESOME diesel engine? Lies!

OSI wrote: »
    If only they weren't €38k :eek:

Give it a few years ;)

Saab Ed wrote: »
    No i didn't !

It wasn't there when I quoted you (a quick edit by you, me thinks). ;)

Anyway, doesn't matter. :)

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Dead Ed wrote: »
    Herself reckoned it reminded her of this:

209582.jpg

I dunno, Onyx cars always just remind me of this

I hope Matt Simis doesn't see that post. He'll argue the hole off himself to convince you how wrong that is :D

Saw these babies on Wed evening...

001.jpg

002.jpg

(Peugeot Ion)