Do you have to spell your name to Garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I know the Garda can ask you your name and you have to give it but do you have to spell it?

Why would you have to spell 'it'

I'm sure they are not that stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

It's the like the smart man who insists the Garda deals with you in Irish

Fair enough, that's your right

They'll bring you to the station and leave you waiting for a few hours until they bother to bring a garda to speak to you

Being a smart ass gets you nowhere ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

mikemac1 wrote: »

They'll bring you to the station and leave you waiting for a few hours until they bother to bring a garda to speak to you

Yea but being a dick head of a garda seems to get you every where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭Calibos

Stop slumping in your car seat like a gangsta, dressing like a skanger, take the fcuking xenon bulbs out of your bog standard mirrored headlight housings (Theres a reason Xenons need a projector housing) and maybe, just maybe you won't have a chip on your shoulder because the guards stop you in the car every other week. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

mikemac1 wrote: »

Didn't think they could do that as the Garda has to speak Irish to you not another one back at the station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

They got rid of the Irish exams

They are a good few non nationals recruited too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I have to spell my surname for everybody!

And it ain't a difficult one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Didn't think they could do that as the Garda has to speak Irish to you not another one back at the station.
    If they're going to arrest you, they can just take you back to the station and let anothe Garda do the arrest.

If they're just trying to talk to you at the roadside, they can't take you down the station, however they can leave you standing at the roadside for 30 minutes while they "wait" for an Irish-speaking Garda to turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I have to spell my surname for everybody!

And it ain't a difficult one.
    only after noticing your name ISNT Phere-dykes:eek:

Why would you give your real name? :confused:

Sure, if you got ID on you and the gardai is looking to check your pockets ... you gotta say your real name. But if you are randomly stopped (or there abouts) why say your real name? :confused:
    Because it's an offence to give a false name. Also sometimes guards will ask you your name even if they already know it just to catch you out. I've been asked my name and address dozens, if not hundreds, of times over the years and often by a guard who knows rightly who I am.
    So you are well known to the gardai then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

only after noticing your name ISNT Phere-dykes:eek:

You're not the first. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I always thought you were a dyke too :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭BRAIN FEEDs

Fuinseog wrote: »
    if he mispels ur name it can get thrown out of court
    all the guard will do is seek to have the summons amended.

saw a girl today in the district court,charged under the name cathriona,guard asked it to be amended to Catherine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Spell it out to them, sure i just point ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I really pity any Garda having to deal with a smart arse like the OP. You should be proud of yourself, you really got one over on 'the man'.

Ffs any garda can ask to see ID. No need to be silly if asked to spell your name, you are just being a pr1ck.

I always thought you were a dyke too :confused:

I think I'll change my username to an overtly feminine one after this. :o

Pherekydes was one of the ancient Greek muses, and was thought to be one of western civilization's first philosophers and a teacher of Pythagoras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

I know the Garda can ask you your name and you have to give it but do you have to spell it?

Yes, you absolutely have to spell it out if required.

In certain situations a Garda can demand your name and you are legally obliged to obey and inform him of what your name is. If the Garda is then unable to understand your accent or indeed unable to spell the name himself he is entitled to ask that you spell it for him. The duty lies with you to ensure he comprehends therefore refusing to comply would be the exact same as refusing to give it in the first place.

However you are under no obligation to spell it out unless requested. It doesn't matter much anyway as an incorrectly titled summons is rarely enough to have a case thrown out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Ffs any garda can ask to see ID. No need to be silly if asked to spell your name, you are just being a pr1ck.
    They can ask for ID but you don't have to show it (unless you're driving a car that is). Not everyone has ID anyway.

juan.kerr wrote: »
    I really pity any Garda having to deal with a smart arse like the OP. You should be proud of yourself, you really got one over on 'the man'.
    Did it ever dawn on you that the guard was being a smart arse?
    My offense was cycling in a cycle lane. He thought it was a path and told me to get onto the road. He refused to look at the sign indicating a cycle path. I refused, cycled on he caught up with me and then asked my name. I told him and then he asked me to spell it. As he chased me he would have noticed all the cycle lane signs.
    He most likely let it go because he was wrong. If he had been polite and reasonable no problems entirely his own doing in the first place.

Yes, you absolutely have to spell it out if required.

In certain situations a Garda can demand your name and you are legally obliged to obey and inform him of what your name is. If the Garda is then unable to understand your accent or indeed unable to spell the name himself he is entitled to ask that you spell it for him. The duty lies with you to ensure he comprehends therefore refusing to comply would be the exact same as refusing to give it in the first place.

However you are under no obligation to spell it out unless requested. It doesn't matter much anyway as an incorrectly titled summons is rarely enough to have a case thrown out.
    What's the law and I assume you mean requested not required in your first line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

The Garda was demanding your name and address under the Road Traffic Act 1961 and no, I meant required. It wasn't a polite request but a demand.

108.—A member of the Garda Síochána may demand of a person in charge of a pedal cycle whom the member suspects of having committed any crime or offence or of having been concerned or involved in a collision or other event in a public place causing injury to person or property, the name and address of such person, and if such a person refuses or fails to give his name and address or gives a name or address which the member has reasonable grounds for believing to be false or misleading, the member may take the cycle, by force if necessary, and retain it until such time as he is satisfied as to the identity of such person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My offense was cycling in a cycle lane. He thought it was a path and told me to get onto the road. He refused to look at the sign indicating a cycle path. I refused, cycled on he caught up with me and then asked my name. I told him and then he asked me to spell it. As he chased me he would have noticed all the cycle lane signs.
    Assuming that you were right and the Garda was wrong, you are still under an obligation as a road user to obey directions from a Garda. So while you were well within your rights to debate the point with the Garda, you were not entitled to ignore him and continue cycling on the cycle lane.
    If you had simply cycled on the road like you were directed to do, he wouldn't have chased you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Yes although I do usually spell it backwards first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Fuinseog wrote: »
    if he mispels ur name it can get thrown out of court

100% not true. The judge can amend the summons there and then in the court.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 98,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Yes although I do usually spell it backwards first time.
    I've warned you about that before Bob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

You're quite lucky he didn't arrest you. He may follow up with a prosecution though.

The Garda was demanding your name and address under the Road Traffic Act 1961 and no, I meant required. It wasn't a polite request but a demand.

108.—A member of the Garda Síochána may demand of a person in charge of a pedal cycle whom the member suspects of having committed any crime or offence or of having been concerned or involved in a collision or other event in a public place causing injury to person or property, the name and address of such person, and if such a person refuses or fails to give his name and address or gives a name or address which the member has reasonable grounds for believing to be false or misleading, the member may take the cycle, by force if necessary, and retain it until such time as he is satisfied as to the identity of such person.
    No where does that say I have to spell it!

seamus wrote: »
    Assuming that you were right and the Garda was wrong, you are still under an obligation as a road user to obey directions from a Garda. So while you were well within your rights to debate the point with the Garda, you were not entitled to ignore him and continue cycling on the cycle lane.
    If you had simply cycled on the road like you were directed to do, he wouldn't have chased you.
    You do not have to obey an instruction that puts you danger. The road would have increased the danger to me on that stretch of road. He also has to have a legitimate reason he did not in this circumstance. He didnt have to explain it to me but he was wrong and rude. I was just going to work