Regards from Poland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

MatMc wrote: »
    I have no acces to soccer forum
    so I decided to post it here
    I actually got access to the soccer forum ages ago, then thought better of it and never used it. Never looked back. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

MatMc wrote: »
    Have somebody tried "Zurek" soup? ;-)

Ohh yes...

That and the Zywiec! I really need to visit again soon.

Thanks for checking in, I'm glad the Irish fans were as good a group of guests as the citizens of Poznan and Gdank were hosts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 141 ✭✭Patrick Cleburne

Fair play to you OP. I have to say the Irish support was the best thing about the Irish set up in general as the team was dreadful and got pumped 3 times. But yeah, good fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

The thread was a nice gesture from a Polish person who enjoyed the company of Irish men and women in his country. Don't be such a buzz killer

My response was showing the reality of the situation, expressing the full story, making the OP aware of the facts that the vast majority ignore.

In fairness to the OP they may not care a damn about who follows what here, just letting them know the lack of support for these fans local clubs.

Please point out any of my post that was incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Ye cheers for that. We get some praise from abroad for once and you try and ruin it. Fair play. Very patriotic! You're obviously a "true fan".

Is it not a nice thing to see all our fans having a good time, making friends with locals, and strengthening ties far afield, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

*mumble, mumble* ...coming over here, startin' our threads... *mumble, mumble*

That's very nice of you to say.

A good few of my friends are staying in Sopot/Poznan and the welcome they have received was incredible. So good on yourself for that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 141 ✭✭Patrick Cleburne

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Ye cheers for that. We get some praise from abroad for once and you try and ruin it. Fair play. Very patriotic! You're obviously a "true fan".

Is it not a nice thing to see all our fans having a good time, making friends with locals, and strengthening ties far afield, no?
    What other choice did they have though? The Irish national team is awful and negative. Roy Keane was right. Only turning up for the craic, no serious mentality among the fans or the players.

The_B_Man wrote: »

Feckin' right it is.

It's about the only positive we can take from this-that as a nation, we can collectively go somewhere and conduct ourselves with humour and dignity. At least we still have that.

Roy Keane and his considered negativity, as well as people pissing on the parade of someone who logged on here to thank us, can get stuffed IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Johro wrote: »
    I actually got access to the soccer forum ages ago, then thought better of it and never used it. Never looked back. :p
    I also joined up to use the football forum.
    But I found a home here instead:D

Anybody else REALLY like Poland right now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

My response was showing the reality of the situation, expressing the full story, making the OP aware of the facts that the vast majority ignore.

The only people to blame for Mons demise is the people that run the club. Not a lad from Kerry who went to the EURO's to support his country.

Jesus.

Why you introduced this topic into a relatively harmless and friendly discussion, I dunno. Here's a lad who was impressed by our fans behaviour, had a few beers with them, thought they were sound people and even looked into a bit of our history due to the songs the fans sung.

Time and place, man. And this was neither.

Explained the "Why" already. Again please point out the inaccuracies in my post.

As I said already just letting the OP know the story, they can decide the relavence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

OP I've had the honour of serving with your countrymen on United Nations duty in Lebanon.. I've also had the great pleasure of training with Polish Judo fighters and team mates.

And one of my closest, dearest friends and one hell of a tough dude to have my back and coach me for almost three year's had to (sadly) return to Poland last year.

Regards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Channel Zero

Aquila wrote: »
    Dziękuję Mateusz!
    Naprzód Polsko!

That's easy for you to say.

OP I've had the honour of serving with your countrymen on United Nations duty in Lebanon.. I've also had the great pleasure of training with Polish Judo fighters and team mates.

And one of my closest, dearest friends and one hell of a tough dude to have my back and coach me for almost three year's had to (sadly) return to Poland last year.

Regards.
    What was Lebanon like?
    I know someone who suffers with post traumatic stress disorder because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

The people who thanked yer mans post are like the ones singing out in Poland.

Ones who are like "I'm so proud to be Irish, some foreigners think we're great"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

What do you think of The Fields Of Athenry now, Mateusz...That should be enough to put you off the song for life..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Randy Anders

In fairness to the OP they may not care a damn about who follows what here, just letting them know the lack of support for these fans local clubs.

Please point out any of my post that was incorrect.

Nothing incorrect about it, but you'd be better of discussing that in the soccer forum no? The person who signed on just wanted to make a nice friendly gesture about our fans over in Poland and you went off on one about LOI. I doubt he gives two ****s about our league setup, I'd say he's just happy to see lots of nice Irish people having the craic in his country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

What was Lebanon like?
    I know someone who suffers with post traumatic stress disorder because of it.

In fairness that's another discussion/thread.. But I'll leave you with this;

This Irish summer weather we're having reminds me of Lebanon ~ its either sunni or shite :pac:

Nothing incorrect about it, but you'd be better of discussing that in the soccer forum no? The person who signed on just wanted to make a nice friendly gesture about our fans over in Poland and you went off on one about LOI. I doubt he gives two ****s about our league setup, I'd say he's just happy to see lots of nice Irish people having the craic in his country

He said something about great fans.

Mad for cheap drink more like.

Samich wrote: »

I can't decide weather I liked it or not still.

He said something about great fans.

Mad for cheap drink more like.

They were great fans though. Sang their hearts out at every game, thats what supporters do. Would you rather them stand in the crowd being miserable aul shites?

Some people are far too cynical when it comes to supporting the international team

Explained the "Why" already. Again please point out the inaccuracies in my post.

I am a regular at LoI games. Been to a few Ireland games too. Mostly support the national team from a barstool. One thing I know though, is that sniping at non LoI attendees, won't exactly endear them to the league.

Bringing this up on a thread were a lad from a Poland signed up just to express his gratitude for Irish fans, definitely won't.

Soccer/Association Football/Football is the most played sport on this island. Just because someone supports Manchester United over Monaghan United, does not make them less a Soccer/Association Football/Football fan.

This lad signed up to give us a compliment. Lets take it and wish him well.

Why do Irish people consistently need to run each other down at every given opportunity?

Its depressing.

They were great fans though. Sang their hearts out at every game, thats what supporters do. Would you rather them stand in the crowd being miserable aul ****es?

No doubt locked. Ever go to a houseparty, fellas do be roaring singing at the end of the night.

They aren't great fans, why is the Aviva dead on most occasions?

The OP referenced "football fans" therefore the reference to football.

This is exactly why I made my point about the "football fans".

The people that travelled were fantastic ambassadors for Ireland, I'm not doubting that. Perhaps this should be moved to the travel forum.

Because soccer competes with two other mainstream sports (three if you count GAA as two) and the population base cannot support all three.

When you consider that, and the amount of volunteerism and dedication that goes into the local pursuit of hurling, football, soccer, and rugby, across the length and breadth of the country, you can see why the LOI, and soccer in general suffers.

We could try a couple of things-actually get a manager that supports the youths, the local clubs, instead of one that flies in for a couple of weeks a year with Manuela, pockets the couple of million, babbles a few incomprehensible phrases, and disappears again. Get rid of John Delaney, who is a soulless accountant rather than an incisive personality at the head of the FAI.

For now, we could take a welcome compliment with good grace, thank Mateusz for taking the time to come and say hi, and leave the nitpicking to another time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

You say that like there's something wrong with having a positive outlook on life.

The attitude of the fans who sang at the end of our matches is inherently better than the miserable, cynical, scornful attitudes displayed by some people in this country.

Some foreigners do, some foreigners do not. No skin off my nose either way.

I am proud of being Irish and wouldn't want to be born in any other nation.

Being of the same nationality as Mak, who served on difficult peace keeping missions, in warzones none of us can imagine, is one of the reasons. I am proud to be Irish because despite our "strained" history,,with the suffering and heartache, Ireland, through sheer hard work and fortitude picked itself up of its knees and educated itself so that now we can hold our heads up and feel proud of how far we have come and how well educated, both us and our children are. I am proud to be Irish as despite our ancestors being forced out of the country and to scatter to the four corners of the globe, the Irish identity remains strong. I am proud to be Irish as our own national sport is among the best in the world. Nothing beats standing in Hill 16, Croker, during Championship season. Nothing.

Getting sick and tired of the self hatred and anti Irish sentiment on these boards, to be perfectly frank.

No doubt locked. Ever go to a houseparty, fellas do be roaring singing at the end of the night.

Yeah how dare they have a few beers and enjoy themselves while supporting their national team who hadn't qualified for a major tournament in 10 years

I'm not claiming all Irish fans are great, infact I'd go as far to say that a good percentage of the people who went to Poland were ''fair weather'' supporters. But who gives a shit? It doesn't take away from the fact that they were the most vocal supports by a country mile, despite the losses on the pitch