How do they get away with it?

• 18-06-2012 08:41PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭

First time poster here, so please be nice.

I live in town city centre, everyday I see people selling fake LV, Gucci bags near Ilac centre. And today I saw a big stand full of fake LV bags opposite of the Trinity college main entrance and right beside the tourist office.

How do the sellers get away with it? Even in China nowadays, LV is taking legal actions.

PS. LV = LOUIS VUITTON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Canonfan wrote: »

I live in town, everyday I see people selling fake LV, Gucci bags near Ilac centre. And today I saw a big stand full of fake LV bags opposite of the Trinity college main entrance and right beside the tourist office.

How do the sellers get away with it? Even in China nowadays, LV is taking legal actions.

PS. LV = LOUIS VUITTON

Maybe they werent fake? ya never know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

They're probably just within the acceptable limits for copies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Maybe no-one in the Guards really cares that Louis Vuitton might lose a little money from people not buying his stupendously overpriced bags.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

eh probly just cos people know everyon is strugling at the minute with the recesion so people just let them off so they have work and people can get a cheap bag if they want to look good and feel abit happier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I doubt people who buy fake designer stuff would buy real designer stuff as its just out of the price range, or that those who buy the real gear would buy a knock off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Maybe no-one in the Guards really cares that Louis Vuitton might lose a little money from people not buying his stupendously overpriced bags.

But they're made from REALLY soft leather. They're TOTALLY worth €1500. Totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

I blame the plastic bag tax, makes shopping too expensive these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I saw some fake Gardai in town today too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Canonfan wrote: »

I live in town, everyday I see people selling fake LV, Gucci bags near Ilac centre. And today I saw a big stand full of fake LV bags opposite of the Trinity college main entrance and right beside the tourist office.

PS. LV = LOUIS VUITTON

P.s., TOWN=WHERE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

Them people have Balls of Steel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

mattjack wrote: »

Theres a funny plasticy smell off the fake ones when its warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

mattjack wrote: »

I cant believe it's not bacon...

Nodin wrote: »
    Theres a funny plasticy smell off the fake ones when its warm.

There is , you can't put them in washing machine either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

In all seriousness, would you expect the Gardai to give two shites unless told to do so? If the labels actually cared themselves then they'd do something about it. The few Jacinthas and British grandmothers that buy that tat aren't going to cause space/time to collapse in on itself.

In short, nobody gives a fiddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

As long as they dont have a giant PB in giant red letters emblazoned on their massive oversized velour clad arses, I have no objections to peoples brand piracy related shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Just last week, the guards pulled some fellas up on this in my town

Sauve wrote: »
    But they're made from REALLY soft leather. They're TOTALLY worth €1500. Totally.

I still can't believe those prices. Having said that, I have no understanding of style and fashion, and would probably happily carry my things around in one of those old purple and blue plastic bags if I didn't have my rucksack and laptop bag.

Apparently the only noticeable difference to the untrained eye like mine is that on the fake bags, the LV symbol crosses the stitching, whereas it's always intact on the real bags. Now I don't think most people would notice that if they weren't looking for it, and I don't think it makes the bag look worse.

My ex had a fake one bought on an Italian beach, and I compared it directly with the real thing in Brown Thomas. I couldn't see the difference. While I'm sure a leather connoisseur would see the difference, I can't imagine the difference would be worth €1460, and that someone wouldn't have better things to spend that money on.

*adjusts rope belt*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I used to work for a company who's products were widely counterfeited and still are. We reported those sellers week in and week out to the Garda and only once was a seller prosecuted, and that was only because the counterfeiting charges were part of a larger prosecution. I don't know how many times I reported this but it must have been over 100 incidents. It was worst at Christmas when Henry St was end to end with counterfeit rubbish, but the Garda would only check the stall holders had a license, and didn't bother asking about the fake cr@p on sale. Still annoys me when I see cheap knock offs being openly sold.

I bought a counterfeit fish once, when I put it in water , it changed colour.

I still can't believe those prices. Having said that, I have no understanding of style and fashion, and would probably happily carry my things around in one of those old purple and blue plastic bags

Angelos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

lazygal wrote: »
    I used to work for a company who's products were widely counterfeited and still are. We reported those sellers week in and week out to the Garda and only once was a seller prosecuted, and that was only because the counterfeiting charges were part of a larger prosecution. I don't know how many times I reported this but it must have been over 100 incidents. It was worst at Christmas when Henry St was end to end with counterfeit rubbish, but the Garda would only check the stall holders had a license, and didn't bother asking about the fake cr@p on sale. Still annoys me when I see cheap knock offs being openly sold.

You're easily annoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Another fine example of the Gardai not doing their jobs. The bottom line is they simpy don't care/couldn't be arsed.

Great bunch of lads.

I wish! At least he wears a tie...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

They're not fakes, they're Tribute bags. Louis Vuittonesque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

There is a price we all pay if we buy these goods as the people selling these items are just the last in a very big criminal chain, Behind them are the big criminal and organised gangs who make these goods on a huge scale and of course the profits generated go on towards other major criminal activities.

realies wrote: »
    There is a price we all pay if we buy these goods as the people selling these items are just the last in a very big criminal chain, Behind them are the big criminal and organised gangs who make these goods on a huge scale and of course the profits generated go on towards other major criminal activities.

.. and then there's the counterfeiters =p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

realies wrote: »
    So your calling Louis out as the Godfather of Godfathers? I thought as much, he has my missus well in his grasp -lured her in with his purses he did, only to get her hooked - now she is a street walker selling her soul to get enough for his latest clasp bag..... Jasus no, not street walker, I meant sweet talker, sweet talker love, honest, here, have some cash for some luggage..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:o:o I meant to say the counterfeiters :o:o

Meh, cant remember the last time I've had "real" brand clothing or that.. Met a few Western guys in the business of exporting this stuff out of Vietnam and China and they were sayin that alot of the gear is either made in a sister factory next door or made in the same factory as the real stuff at night.

Theyhave the exports setup so the clothes get sold in real stores. Ya cant trust it's real anywhere. And anyways, the only thing more real than the fakes is the copyright holder getting his cut.

I'd love to get exporting stuff myself if I could and if fake clothing was the opportunity, I'd happily do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Apelles

Another fine example of the Gardai not doing their jobs. The bottom line is they simpy don't care/couldn't be arsed.

Great bunch of lads.

You can't simply blame the gardai, they've got much more important things to be doing . . Like eating & stuff.