Have you ever nearly accidently killed yourself?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

nearly killed myself driving overtaking on a bend in the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I see white knighting is still as prevalent as always in AH.

Fuck me,someone got out of the wrong side of the bed this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

Fuck me,someone got out of the wrong side of the bed this morning.
    really?!

Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

really?!

Who?

Me. I did. :rolleyes:

Happy now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Everytime I see this post I misread it as

'Have you ever accidently killed yourself?'

/hijack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Jumped into the deep end of a pool at Mosney with a friend who could swim. I couldn't. I remember noticing the ladder while I was thrashing around in a mad panic underwater and luckily grabbing it in time. When I hauled my self up to the top of it, there was a very bored looking spotty teenage "lifeguard" sitting in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

I'm not even sure I follow, are you talking about booze or what? White Lightening?

You contrary little pedant.

I'm not even sure I follow, are you talking about booze or what? White Lightening?

I think he is suggesting that I am a poor fair maiden and you are my white knight on a steed ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Back in secondary school me and my friends were messing around, being the weirdo's we were/(still are? :confused:).
    Well I wont tell you what we were making fun of, but I decided to jump head first out the window (thinking id land on my knees grand and walk away laughing).

But no, my shins clipped the window-sill and I dropped down head first towards the ground.

I landed on my face, with my body vertically up in the air. My legs then proceed to continue falling dragged my body down in turn wrenching my neck back with it too. Eventually I was laying on my back.

I could feel how much force was on my neck and at the time Im surprised I didnt actually break my neck. I only ended up with a muddy face and a nose-bleed. Me and my friends laughed so hard after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Walking up the queys years ago, earphones in, plodding along when I cross the road without looking.

In the middle of the road when I look right.

Cars that had been sitting traffic lights and could see me had taken off as if the start of an F1 race.

Leaped on to the far curb, feeling the car brush my leg.

Feeling :o I made my way to Housten, only after did I realize the ****ing ***** tried to mow me down just because!!!!:mad:

Walking to a friends house when I was about 12, spot my uncles lorry taken off and decide to jump up on the back to get a lift.

When he got up to about 10 to 20 miles an hour I almost crapped my self and jumped off, dropping, rolling!!

:o

Went cycling with my brothers about 8 to a local quarry.

Went right up to the top and then trying to be cool like them race down the path which curved sharply and ended in a cliff.

Not realizing my front brakes couldn't handle the speed was literally a meter from the edge when my neighbor rugby me and the bike to save my life.

When I was 3, I followed my father out the front door to work.

When I lost him, I figured the best thing to do was to sit down in the middle of the main road of Portlaoise town.

Ok maybe its not such a mysterious why I have panic disorder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Crossed 2 mains phases with my screw driver at work once. (not on purpose).

415 volts shock.

It hurt every part of me, burned my fingers to a scar and I bashed my head from the contraction. My teeth continued to hurt for a month after for some strange reason.

Im lucky to be typing I guess.

gsxr1 wrote: »

Im lucky to be typing I guess.

just aswell you weren't electrocuted eh!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭gerryo777

I was trying to put a light over a pool table in my shed so I got a load of cable and ran it from my bedroom to the shed.
    I went back inside and put a plug on one end and then plugged it in.
    Then I went out to the shed to put the light fitting on, touched the live and the neutral together and launched myself across the pool table.
    I'll never forget the pain shooting up my arm. I was 10.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I crashed a motorbike at about 60mph on a hairpin bend walked away with some nasty bruises , got hit by a car while on a motorbike. fell asleep driving a car on a motorway, walked away with ****ty pants. Drove through 5 stop junctions in a city for the craic in a car without stopping. Numerous electrical shocks- benefits of the job. Puked in my sleep twice while on my own at music festival's. Nearly died from mugging and assault by 5 knackers-week in hospital. Probably should have died overdoing drugs in my 20's a couple of times. Had toxic gas poisoning....:eek: ........I can't believe l'm still here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Doom wrote: »
    I crashed a motorbike at about 60mph on a hairpin bend walked away with some nasty bruises , got hit by a car while on a motorbike. fell asleep driving a car on a motorway, walked away with ****ty pants. Drove through 5 stop junctions in a city for the craic in a car without stopping. Numerous electrical shocks- benefits of the job. Puked in my sleep twice while on my own at music festival's. Nearly died from mugging and assault by 5 knackers-week in hospital. Probably should have died overdoing drugs in my 20's a couple of times. Had toxic gas poisoning....:eek: ........I can't believe l'm still here

Perfect username

Also, just have to say "Drove through 5 stop junctions in a city for the craic in a car without stopping" unbelievably dickish thing to do, you could have killed someone else, never mind yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

I think he is suggesting that I am a poor fair maiden and you are my white knight on a steed ;)

Ah yes!!
    Well I've seen your posts, I think you can handle yourself there.

Sure for all he knows I'm a chick.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I was in Lanzarote and I saw a piece of metal sticking out of a plug socket. I thought it was a button. It wasn't. I was standing in a small amount of water and had a damp towel around me. Felt like my heart was going to jump out of my chest. Was kinda awesome.

My OH was in two car crashes. First time the car rolled 3 times, she walked away from it. 2nd time, doing 100mph crashed, took two lamp posts out of it. There was no front or back left on the car. All windows were smashed, the chassis was ripped in two from the force of her hurtling forward with the seatbelt. All she got was a broken collar bone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

Electrocution is fatal, if you had electrocuted yourself you wouldn't be able to make that post.

Fúck that shít i've lost count how many times i took a belt its not fatal only tickles now :D

your attitude however one day might prove to be...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

sparks24 wrote: »
    Fúck that shít i've lost count how many times i took a belt its not fatal only tickles now :D

your attitude however one day might prove to be...
    same as, get shocked about once a week at work, but not by 415V - that I try v. hard not to mess with. Drove to and back from dublin to Cork twice in one day once, on the last leg home I drifted off coming up to a junction and crossed a busy main road fast asleep - passed between trucks and cars apparently and ended up jammed into the verge. A lad stopped and towed me out and I drove on, wide awake. Not my proudest moment, maybe my luckiest. Having said that, I fell off A 7.5m scaffold walkway, backwards, and my toolbelt caught on a stanchion and held me - one of the other lads had dived across to try and catch me from falling and overshot and fell as well - the two of us ended up hanging by my belt. A third lad pulled us up by my trouser legs - adrenalin is a great thing. Another time I threw a huge lump of concrete off a scaffold onto a pile, it hit a piece of timber which snapped and came back up at warp speed - I put up my arm and it broke my wrist like a match - it would have smashed my skull otherwise..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Cycled full speed into a stopped tractor, downhill, on a footpath in October. Was out for 10+ mins, when I woke up there was an ambulance crew giving me a glucose shot and loading into a stretcher. Great craic :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭paul4green

One of my friends when we were kids ( 9 or 10) decided to get a "scut" off the back of our local ice cream van.

As it pulled off he was hanging on, the van picked up speed and he comes flying off the back of it, landing on his head.

Hospitalised for 4 weeks, had a neck brace and had to learn to walk again! scary stuff...

Needless to say, he's now a retard( as in an idiot, not mentally retarded) and I'm not friends with him :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Gneez

Several times, electrocuted myself, drank weed killer, had a 120kph headbutting match with a deer on the dual carriageway while driving a motorbike, adjusting my spotlights with my feet while driving at 100kph at night (some acrobatics involved), stuck my hand in an iron flywheel, put a circular drillbit through my arm etc. etc.

It's amazing I'm still alive actually.

Gneez wrote: »
    electrocuted myself, .

Electrocution is fatal, if you had electrocuted yourself you wouldn't be able to make that post.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Gneez

Lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

:P
    He did and he's dead. He's posting through a keyboard medium - they're like normal mediums but they make a clakkety sound:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Yes. I once tried to carry two roof boxes down a set of stone stair and I fell off when they slipped

Pottler wrote: »
    He did and he's dead. He's posting through a keyboard medium - they're like normal mediums but they make a clakkety sound:)

Cool :cool: