Irish-born reporter interrupts Obama speech

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭SMASH THE UNIONS

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I do beleive I condemned both of them.

Then we are in agreement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

It's not about the questions she asked, it's how she asked them. She litterally would not let Bush get a word in. The White House even complained to the Irish Embassy about the interview. An Irish government spokesman commented that "within Government, there was an acknowledgment that the interview lacked respect."

So even our own Governmant admitted Coleman was out of order. How do you square that one? Her career is in the gutter these days anyway. She only has herself to blame.

You're very good at quoting Irish government spokesmen talking about respect, yet you called her a bitch. Everyone is entitled to respect, period. Also, it is not the role of our government or any other government to tell a journalist how to do their job so what our government thinks is irrelevant, frankly. She left RTE in 2005,and since then has freelance in the US and has written two books.

Seems Coleman is thug to boot. You may rememeber her "I wanted to slap him" outburst during a Sunday Times interview regarding Bush. Rude and violent - what a catch!

Here's a funny opinion piece from the Independent on Coleman Lol
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/why-i-want-to-slap-carole-coleman-473294.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/why-i-want-to-slap-carole-coleman-473294.html

Yeah, hilarious, and written by Gwen Halley, a woman with so much class and self-respect she married that mentally unstable ranter, Ahern apologist and sycophant on the Irish taxpayer, Eoghan Harris.

You choose well. Indeed. Carole Coleman, on the other hand, gets her place in journalism for her talent not for lying down in bed with Eoghan Harris, the biggest media hoor in the chief brothel of the Irish media that is Independent Newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Tourists come to Ireland expecting to interact with Irish people, hear the Irish accent, have the famous craic etc and instead they are faced with Nigerian taxi drivers, Pakistani shop assistants, Polish bar maids, Chinese waitresses etc etc. It's very possible to take a week long holiday and not interact with one Irish person at all. Anybody who thinks this isn't negatively affecting our tourist numbers is DELUDED.

/heckle
    Ohh my there is always one clown in each thread.
    Take this scenario that Polish barmaid could very well be a naturalised Irish citizen as are many of my Polish friends.
    The Chinese waitress could be the spouse of an Irish citizen working to pay her way in Ireland.
    The Pakistani shop assistant did not walk into Ireland of a flight but instead paid massive fees for tuition and is working to survive here.
    Are you honestly telling me just because a person does not originally come from Ireland they can never call it there home and represent themselves as a member of this society.
    Ireland is not only for freckled red heads with twead caps and pipe smoking natives,thankfully the tourists who come here are not as thick skinned and narrow minded to think like you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Reminds me of this other rude Irish bitch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fze2J2Ve9is who constantly interrupted the President during an interview. It really highlights what a terrible culture of discourse we have in this country, where whoever can shout the loudest wins. The Americans have a more formal Q&A approach where both parties listen to each other and then repsond rather than talk over each other.
    I was with you up to here. She didn't constantly interrupt him, she put questions to him that he clearly wanted to avoid. I'm not sure at what point the Yanks thought their chief executive became some sort of king, but he's certainly not our king.

I don't understand - do you or do you not condemn Neil Munro for his rude outburst? Obama was visibly angry and that reporter will probably be banned from the White House for life. It doesn't matter how much you disagree with the President - you do not interrupt him in the middle of a formal speech in the Rose Garden. It breaks decades of decorum.
    So you compare someone interrupting a 'formal speech' with someone trying to obtain answers from someone who is clearly avoiding them in an interview? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

I don't understand - do you or do you not condemn Neil Munro for his rude outburst? Obama was visibly angry and that reporter will probably be banned from the White House for life. It doesn't matter how much you disagree with the President - you do not interrupt him in the middle of a formal speech in the Rose Garden. It breaks decades of decorum.
    So you compare someone interrupting a 'formal speech' with someone trying to obtain answers from someone who is clearly avoiding them in an interview? :rolleyes:
    The OP clearly has no idea about unbiased reporting and channelling questions set by a network with a political interest as is nearly the case with every major network.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Really don't get how his being Irish has any bearing on his behaviour.

And Independent Newspapers was obligated to push a pro Bush, pro Israel agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Onixx wrote: »
    Really don't get how his being Irish has any bearing on his behaviour.

And Independent Newspapers was obligated to push a pro Bush, pro Israel agenda.

Because he is a foreigner himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Because he is a foreigner himself.

Technically he is not. He has US citizenship and he has every right to comment on and question policies he is opposed to. I understand why people might find it strange from an Irish perspective but in some countries, when you become a citizen, you are basically entitled to act as such.

It is quite funny though that he opposes this policy when it would potentially benefit his fellow Irish citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Where's the problem here? A right-wing, probably racist jackass is born in Ireland, but emigrates to America. Good riddance! Wouldn't it be great if they all left?:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

KINGVictor wrote: »
    Technically he is not. He has US citizenship and he has every right to comment on and question policies he is opposed to. I understand why people might find it strange from an Irish perspective but in some countries, when you become a citizen, you are basically entitled to act as such.

It is quite funny though that he opposes this policy when it would potentially benefit his fellow Irish citizens.

Is he a citizen through birth? If that is the case its less ironic but even still, his parents would have been foreigners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Is he a citizen through birth? If that is the case its less ironic but even still, his parents would have been foreigners.

I dont think the route to citizenship matters. He is American, it is immaterial if his parents are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Seanchai wrote: »
    Eoghan Harris, the biggest media hoor in the chief brothel of the Irish media that is Independent Newspapers.

This elicited a hearty guffaw from me, thank you!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Seems Coleman is thug to boot. You may rememeber her "I wanted to slap him" outburst during a Sunday Times interview regarding Bush. Rude and violent - what a catch!

Yes, yes, yes but what is your stance on unions????!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

16 to 30 eh! will citizenship follow, i wonder what they will do with these 800k humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Obama in effect is allowing illegal immigrant to stay in the US. I wouldn't tolerate this in Ireland, especially in this economic climate when thousands of natives are being forced to legally emigrate in search of work, but if the Americans want to hang their own noose...

From the BBC: The interesting part of this story though is how an Irish-born reporter and conservative talk-show host, Neil Munro, broke decorum and rudely interrupted the President mid-speech to heckle him with questions.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWQby2KZwfA&feature=player_embedded

You couldn't make this up! This man, born in Ireland and educated in UCD, emigrates to America and then heckles the President about other immigrants! Stay classy Ireland.

Reminds me of this other rude Irish bitch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fze2J2Ve9is who constantly interrupted the President during an interview. It really highlights what a terrible culture of discourse we have in this country, where whoever can shout the loudest wins. The Americans have a more formal Q&A approach where both parties listen to each other and then repsond rather than talk over each other.
    *rubs eyes*
    An unsurprising idiotic move from one of the most inexperienced Presidents ever. His advisors must have let him off the leash for 2 seconds and then he comes out with this gaffe. Homosexuals already overwhelmingly vote Democrat, so Obama doesn't stand to gain any voters from this move, only lose. He will only alienate traditional Democratic voters who oppose same-sex marriage, such as religious Catholics and Jews and certain sections of the black community.

Future President Romney must be laughing with glee. Congrats to him.
    So lets see, constant posting about immigrants, the odd jab at homosexuals, an almost incessant stream of verbiage about Republicans and Sinn Féin, describing the Irish flag as "dogs pissing to mark their territory"... noddy, right?

Basically what happened was:
    Obama: Give immigrants the right to stay here.
    Reporter: Feck aff, deport them.
    Me: Isn't that reporter Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

..... I wouldn't tolerate this in Ireland........

You're not in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

KINGVictor wrote: »
    I dont think the route to citizenship matters. He is American, it is immaterial if his parents are not.

I think it kinda does matter. I am an American citizen, but wasn't born there, spent only two years there, so wouldn't even vote, never mind interrupt the pres.

He had some cheek. Obama was seriously p*ssed off. Its protocol and common courtesy to let the POTUS speak first, then ask questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Just because we are used to our Taoiseach Enda Kenny being treated with Kitt gloves and refuse to put himself in a position where he can be asked questions, does not mean that a politician of the stature of Obama cant slap down piss ant journalists. The problem is that a journalist like Vincent Browne, madonna that he is, probably has more credibility and gravitas than the leader of our country.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Just because we are used to our Taoiseach Enda Kenny being treated with Kitt gloves and refuse to put himself in a position where he can be asked questions, does not mean that a politician of the stature of Obama cant slap down piss ant journalists. The problem is that a journalist like Vincent Browne, madonna that he is, probably has more credibility and gravitas than the leader of our country.

Its a different culture. Over there you let the person make their point before jumping in with your own opinion or to question them on theirs. You don't interrupt until they have finished speaking.

IrishAm wrote: »
    Its a different culture. Over there you let the person make their point before jumping in with your own opinion or to question them on theirs. You don't interrupt until they have finished speaking.
    So basically they can just filibuster their way through an interview until you run out of time? Great culture that.

Its the way its done. Isn't it better than listening to two red faced gombeens shout each other down?

You can debate with somebody you despise but still grant them the civility to make their point. I've posted the example of Clinton Vs the FOX reporter already. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bx7lj4vHrQk

On the other hand, this is how we do it in backward little Ireland. A closet Communist vs a clueless gombeen shouting over each other in an attempt to "score points"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylrkNjIj4UI
    Notice Rabbite losing control of his emotions and descending into a rant. *Shaking my head*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

is it just me
    or does anyone else not give two fcuks about any of this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

but if the Americans want to hang their own noose...

Are you American? dus wondering:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

IrishAm wrote: »

How much can media culture in different countries be relevent any more in the internet media age. Even people like the US president need to get used to answering questions. Look at the questions that have been publicly asked of Russian president Putin recently and it makes you wonder how docile the "free media" is.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    How much can media culture in different countries be relevent any more in the internet media age. Even people like the US president need to get used to answering questions. Look at the questions that have been publicly asked of Russian president Putin recently and it makes you wonder how docile the "free media" is.

Obama said he would take questions after he was finished speaking. Then the Irish lad started mouthing off again so he finished up and was clearly annoyed. Its not the done thing.

If Kenny gave a press conference and half way through it, some Yank started heckling at him, you would have a 40 page thread on here filled with faux outrage.