Broadband Speed & Ping Test Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 278 ✭✭cscook

Posting because this is a good record for me :D. Not sure I've ever seen it over 5 before - last time eircom rang to try to get us to move back to them, they said we could go up to 5, but normally on a good day it's around 3.5 - 4. And the other night it was down to .5 for most of the evening :mad:, when it wasn't down altogether.
    1955949227.png
    D15, Vodafone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 278 ✭✭cscook

More typical of current evening speeds :-(
    1957034038.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭sonyair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PeadarB

1960258853.png

And still no fibre rollout in Letterkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭brijay

1960490889.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

brijay wrote: »
    1960490889.png

Lightning hit the line during your test ? :rolleyes:

Where do I have to go to get that Warp speed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭jay93

Capri wrote: »
    brijay wrote: »
    1960490889.png

Lightning hit the line during your test ? :rolleyes:

Where do I have to go to get that Warp speed ?

That is Eircom fibre to the home you would have to be very lucky to even get it .

Id love it myself sick of 3G intermet even Eircom DSL isnt all that great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

1963105129.png

That is Eircom fibre to the home you would have to be very lucky to even get it

Are you part of a secret trial ? - 'What Ireland could be like if the govt. got the finger out' :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Lame Lantern

UPC peak time in Dublin 2, shiny new router and all.

1964131016.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭jay93

Capri wrote: »
    That is Eircom fibre to the home you would have to be very lucky to even get it

Are you part of a secret trial ? - 'What Ireland could be like if the govt. got the finger out' :cool:

A secret trial as in i have FTTH? Ha i wish i aint ever gonna get fibre where i live 8Mb DSL is the max here or ''upto 12Mb'' With Three's 3G which for me outperforms my DSL at times..

Govt will never invest in BB in IRL they couldnt care less which we all know by now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭funnyname

Airwire business 3/3

Costs a fair bit but given that I work from home and out in the sticks I consider it to be worth it.

63225263.png

1964908373.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

I cant complain, I also live out in the sticks.

1973560444.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭bealtine

hotwhiskey wrote: »
    I cant complain, I also live out in the sticks.

1973560444.png

The problem with mobile is that the speeds can't be guaranteed, you might have good speeds today but tomorrow you might have nothing at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Kid Nothing

1987565835.png

Lads any ideas why am being left with such a terricle speed? i'm on the 24Mb ultimate package!

Any chance that users that can prove such bad speeds could go to

1) Consumer affairs / Telecomms reg :P

2) Get a class action against Eircom for charging for a service it can be proved they're not providing :mad:

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 alasdair606

Hi I live in Coheill near the canal! I have three "broadband" . It's good when it's peak times. So mornings are good and up to maybe 1 or 2 pm. Then it starts to go down hill from there. I have 80% signal . So it's pure congestion problems !
    Your o2 connection looks amazing the best I ever got was 4 meg one night on three. is o2 still good ? I see it's a broadband plus area now?

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

2005223668.png

64521181.png

Donegal Town. Happy enough. It's "Up to 8Mbit" NGB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭livEwirE

Celbridge, Kildare. UPC 100MB with a Cat6 wired connection. VERY happy with the service:D

2010595328.png

64688036.png

UPC Speedtest
    ke6gqw.jpg

2zox62v.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭BrookieD

2012230262.png

Very impressed on the 50mb fiber power in Ashbourne where they have recently arrived... beats 3mb Eircom hands down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭collier

Just been upgraded from 100mb to 120mb by UPC in Dublin 15

2018131885.png

64932501.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Vunderground

After upgrade from 50Mbs to 60Mbs on UPC in Dublin 8.

2018782747.png

64954143.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

2019668079.png
    Upgraded to 120mb this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭jarvis

BrookieD wrote: »
    2012230262.png

Very impressed on the 50mb fiber power in Ashbourne where they have recently arrived... beats 3mb Eircom hands down

I just signed up to UPC in Ashbourne and they could only offer 25MB they said that's the highest available in Ashbourne at the moment. How did you get 50? Where in Ashbourne are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

Nice one UPC.

2020009522.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

2020197979.png

I likey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flaregon

2023107699.png65087505.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 JoshuaH

I recently upgraded from 25mb to 50mb upc pack, UPC sent me out a new modem the 'epc3925'. But the problem I had was that the wifi connection was poor, I rang UPC yesterday and they said they changed the connection line for me, but this only helped to stabalise the connection from jumping from high speeds to very low. The problem now is that the new modem I got has poor wifi range, I'm barley getting 20mb on my laptop upstairs, the last modem i had the epc2425 could get me a full conection on my laptop,I rang UPC today and asked them could i plug in a better router to my modem and they said yes. So what I was wondering Would I still be able to use my phone line from the 'epc3925' modem but use the wifi from the new router. :)

Also:
    I was thinking of buying the 'Belkin 750db' router, would this help in getting a better wifi connection around my house for gaming upstairs .ect.
    Thanks in advance:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Eircom - be glad you have no real competition where I live - had a nice 3-4mb for the past 2-3 weeks but now back to this craic all day today :( :mad:

[URL="[URL=http://www.speedtest.net][IMG]http://www.speedtest.net/result/2024106226.png[/IMG][/URL]"][/url]2024106226.png

guess I may get the phone out again and saying - yes I've tried connecting directly to the socket in the wall... yes I've ran the speed test on the Eircom website and it's the same as the one that speedtest.net gave me... yes I've tried connecting to the router with an Ethernet cable and the speeds are the same as when I'm using WiFi...

gonna be the third time this year I've had to ring up asking to see what the story with my internet is... I envy ye with who have 100mb broadband speeds and can complain when it drops down to 70mbs