The *ONLY* After Hours thread about the European Championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Keane strives for perfection but he has to remember he was far from perfect himself when manager of Ipswich (in fact he was awful) though I will thank him for giving us this from his tenure there.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

winner group C v runner up group D ?
    I would love to see Spain v England in the quarter final to see how England would cope with Spain's possession football. ;)

They wouldn't. Most of their players are shite.

On an unrelated note; Sickened at Roy Keane's comments last night. We were 4-0 down what did he expect us to do, burn the stadium down, start fights or turn on the team when they need us the most? Though that seems to be an area of expertise for Roy. What a gobshite.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Roy Keane turned his back on Ireland in 2002, the only thing that ever kept him relevant was the fact most of the country supports United and he's a United legend. At the same time, I know many United fans who hate him as well.

I hope to ****, he never manages Ireland , but no doubt a minority are already calling for him to come in! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

DB10 wrote: »
    I know many United fans who hate him as well.

They're not United fans then. They are just idiots.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

In fairness Keane has been out in the media taking shots at Ferguson and United since he was forced out of the club, seems to be alot of bad blood there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

DB10 wrote: »
    Roy Keane turned his back on Ireland in 2002, the only thing that ever kept him relevant was the fact most of the country supports United and he's a United legend. At the same time, I know many United fans who hate him as well.

Plus the press hyping him up at every opertunity. I dont hate Roy, I listen to what he has to say, then form my own opinon, usally a different one
    I hope to ****, he never manages Ireland , but no doubt a minority are already calling for him to come in! :pac:

Do you honestly think he would even take the job. I'd safely say he still hates the current FAI administration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Roy Keane understands juveniles though, because he still is one.
    When you can't get your way, stamp your foot and walk out.
    When you do get your way (management) and things aren't going your way, lash out indiscrimately, then stamp your foot some more and walk away.
    Above all, make some money out of the above.
    Of course he'll manage Ireland one day, he is exactly the calibre of surrender monkey the current FAI wants, he'll mask their fundamental, grass roots failures for another few years. :rolleyes:

Anyway, enough about Keane......

So today's games, two draws possibly???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

awec wrote: »
    Every single one of the Spanish subs would start for Ireland.

I don't think there is a single Irish player who would get on the bench for Spain.

Herein lies the difference.

Before the match I asked my mate had we any chance. He said "I'll put it to you this way, the cost of the front three Spanish players would but the entire Irish squad 2 or 3 times"

He then went on to say " it was like the Kilkenny senior team playing the Aran islands junior b team"

Summed it up for me.

Before the match I asked my mate had we any chance. He said "I'll put it to you this way, the cost of the front three Spanish players would but the entire Irish squad 2 or 3 times"

He then went on to say " it was like the Kilkenny senior team playing the Aran islands junior b team"

Summed it up for me.

Barcelona v Wolves was basically what it was like!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Ukraine 1-1 France

Sweden 2-4 England.

I think Sweden are too dodgy at the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

After hours is now adopting Poland as our home nation.

I will be supporting England.

I would like to see Roy Keane manage Ireland, never though I would say that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

Heard Polish Radio reporting that Ireland supporters made up the largest travelling support in Poland(10%), the next nearest was Russia(8.5%). At least we were good at something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Heard reports that the fans stayed in the stadium partying until 4am and had to be escorted out by riot police, there was no trouble however and they went peacefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Heard Polish Radio reporting that Ireland supporters made up the largest travelling support in Poland(10%), the next nearest was Russia(8.5%). At least we were good at something.

They should invade Poland for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I heard that they've rescued 60 kittens and delivered 2 dozen babies.

Heard reports that the fans stayed in the stadium partying until 4am and had to be escorted out by riot police, there was no trouble however and they went peacefully.

All still in tears I would say singing Fields of Athenry.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I have a feeling the match between Italy and ourselves will finish 2-1 to us :)

Well, that's what Balotelli told me to bet ten grand on...

Lets see England knock these Swedes out today. Come on the Brits!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Trouble between English and Swedish fans today.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There are more crap teams in the WC. Only the top teams get through to the 16 of the Euro's.
    13 European teams will qualify for the next world cup.

The 53 national teams will be divided into nine groups, with the group winners qualifying directly to the finals, and the best eight runners-up playing home-and-away ties for the remaining four places

So we should get to the playoffs.

Lets see England knock these Swedes out today. Come on the Brits!!!!
    Super-Rush wrote: »

Sounds like they may have knocked them out already :pac:

Super-Rush wrote: »

At least 20,00 Swedish fans have flooded into the Ukrainian capital compared with just around 5,000 supporters from England.

Trouble ahead you think? England will beat them 2-0

hondasam wrote: »
    Trouble ahead you think? England will beat them 2-0

As an 'FYI' England have never beaten Sweden in 6 previous games in World Cup/Euro finals!

Benzema to score first in the 5pm game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The Irish fans at the match sang their hearts out and take nothing away from them , they were great but it was more a ' happy feel good ' distraction for them and us watching at home on tv from the reality and embarrassment of the Irish teams performance ...we were all hurting after that result last night .

kfallon wrote: »
    As an 'FYI' England have never beaten Sweden in 6 previous games in World Cup/Euro finals!

Benzema to score first in the 5pm game!

I know but I think they can do it this time. Fingers crossed for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 carvaggio

I'm amazed by all the abuse that has been coming McGeadys way from a lot of fans.

In qualifying and the tournament itself McGeady has scored 2 and assisted 4. Duff scored and created 0, however McGeady constantly is cited as lacking end product. I'm not trying to run Duff down, as I believe he has deserved to start too.

Elsewhere it has been pointed out that 5 of our 13 successful tackles made in that game were made by McGeady, and he attempted 30% of our challenges. This being a player who is regarded as an attacking winger.

It is a disgrace that one of our most naturally gifted footballers has been continually used as a scapegoat among certain groups, somewhat like how Robbie Keane has been treated throughout his career.

Can anyone inform me as to what this is actually about? His character or how he is perceived after leaving Celtic for Russia or something?

carvaggio wrote: »
    I'm amazed by all the abuse that has been coming McGeadys way from a lot of fans.

In qualifying and the tournament itself McGeady has scored 2 and assisted 4. Duff scored and created 0, however McGeady constantly is cited as lacking end product. I'm not trying to run Duff down, as I believe he has deserved to start too.

Elsewhere it has been pointed out that 5 of our 13 successful tackles made in that game were made by McGeady, and he attempted 30% of our challenges. This being a player who is regarded as an attacking winger.

It is a disgrace that one of our most naturally gifted footballers has been continually used as a scapegoat among certain groups, somewhat like how Robbie Keane has been treated throughout his career.

Can anyone inform me as to what this is actually about? His character or how he is perceived after leaving Celtic for Russia or something?

I think its because he was hyped to the moon when he first broke out as a young player. Some people feel that he hasn't come through on his early promise and I think thats why he gets scapegoated.

Unfair imo as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

MgGeady like all the Irish team has his fans and those who don't think he gives enough with the final ball but I like him even if at times he drifts out of the game .I know there are issues involved with Stephen Ireland but I wonder what difference him ,Andy Reid and Sheamus Coleman might have made if they had been in the squad and played in the games ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

disgraceful show from the team at the euros but excellent show of support from the fans