The *ONLY* After Hours thread about the European Championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭EDudder

Latchy wrote: »
    Indeed .

I was thinking that the Irish football team (before the Roy Keane /Stephen Ireland era ) was dominated in the main by players from Dublin and the ( 2nd /3rd generation Anglos Saxons ...my granny was born in Athlone )

Like I can't recall a player from Kerry ever playing soccer for Ireland ( yes, I know in the main it's a foreign sport to people from that region ) which tells you how diverse our country is in sport of course but I've often imagined that talent been harnessed for the greater good of 'Ireland ' as a whole ,across all the sporting divide to include soccer to .

As I've said before, it's because GAA and soccer are competing for the same pool of potential players. The 5-10 year olds that have the skills and potential to be great soccer players, have the same skills and potential to become great GAA players.

This is why IMO, traditionally in more urban areas like Dublin and Derry City, where GAA isn't traditionally as popular the soccer talent is a lot more obvious. Whereas in Kerry, where GAA is huge they appear to be weak on the soccer side.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

god i now wish ireland had a large army and launch pre-emtive strikes on croatia and spain (italy we'll see),

the fcuking cheeck of them beating us like that,bastards!!!!

we need VENGANCE.
    You know that Specsavers add where the old couple in the car end up on the flight deck of an aircraft carrier ?
    It's one of the Spanish aircraft carriers.

As for Croatia are you suggesting we invade the Balkans ?
    Here's a clue, if you think the lads up North going on about 1590 are crazy, the Roman empire split into East and West in AD 284 and they are still squabbling about the same border out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

ascanbe wrote: »
    The players that took the field tonight deserve no criticism: they gave everything they had.

They did in their holes.. the only player who made any decent effort to get stuck in in the first half was Keith Andrews. The likes of McGeady spent the first 30 minutes ball watching. By the time the team got going, it was far too late.

The Croatia game wasn't much better - Robbie Keane didn't touch the ball once in the first 20 minutes. Not once.

Hardly what you'd call 'giving it everything you've got'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

I've often imagined that talent been harnessed for the greater good of 'Ireland ' as a whole ,across all the sporting divide to include soccer to .

Up until very recently(early 00s in my case), once a player reached his mid teens, he was forced to choose between GAA and soccer.

It still goes on with some GAA clubs and its bollix of the highest order. A young lad should be encouraged to play the sports he enjoys, not forced to pick and choose.

The GAA and the FAI have will gain an awful lot more by working with each other, instead of the current scenario of trying to one up and score petty victories against one another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Didnt realise we are the first team out of the tournament. Kinda sad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

EDudder;
    As I've said before, it's because GAA and soccer are competing for the same pool of potential players. The 5-10 year olds that have the skills and potential to be great soccer players, have the same skills and potential to become great GAA players.

This is why IMO, traditionally in more urban areas like Dublin and Derry City, where GAA isn't traditionally as popular the soccer talent is a lot more obvious. Whereas in Kerry, where GAA is huge they appear to be weak on the soccer side.[/

Yes , that was my point to

When you see how fit some of those GAA players are (like their soccer counterparts in citys like Dublin ) ...it can compensate for any technical shortcomings they may have in the soccer game but would allow them to compete and go the whole 9 yards against the worlds best . Kevin Moran as mentioned in previous post was somebody who adapted and adjusted to soccer from GAA very well and had what was required to play at top level .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

hondasam wrote: »
    I think Holland still have a chance.
    A slim one. They'll have to play a whole lot better, I'm not sure they're good enough. We have players with great individual skills but no team spirit and no heart.
    Btw, Fields of Athenry was the best I've experienced so far in this tournament. Moving stuff even to a 'forner'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Didnt realise we are the first team out of the tournament. Kinda sad :(

Aye, but we still can have a huge impact on the outcome of the group. I wonder how motivated Trap is to take his home country out.
    I am disappointed with how we preformed so far, I think players played well below their capabilities overall. Be good to see them get something out of the tournament.....we need something going into the WC qualifiers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

When you see how fit some of those GAA players are (like their soccer counterparts in citys like Dublin ).

Dublin are current All Ireland SF champions. One of the main reasons for that, is the superior fitness of the Dublin team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

They did in their holes.. the only player who made any decent effort to get stuck in in the first half was Keith Andrews. The likes of McGeady spent the first 30 minutes ball watching. By the time the team got going, it was far too late.

The Croatia game wasn't much better - Robbie Keane didn't touch the ball once in the first 20 minutes. Not once.

Hardly what you'd call 'giving it everything you've got'.

McGeady ball watches as a rule: that's just what he does and is a clear flaw in his game.
    Even when he gets on the ball he ball-watches; he doesn't play with his head up, unlike the great players on the Spanish team.
    That's just how he is at this stage of career; maybe he'll learn/improve, maybe he won't.
    That was especially evident and costly, tonight when he was tasked with helping to cover for a left-back like Stephen Ward, who isn't a natural left-back anyway, and, frankly, had no idea what he was doing.
    Ireland were so clearly exposed down that flank from the start that it was comical.
    But it's the job of the manager to not give players jobs that they're incapable of doing.
    The players, in that situation, can't be faulted, because, as far as i could see, they gave full effort.

IrishAm wrote: »
    Dublin are current All Ireland SF champions. One of the main reasons for that, is the superior fitness of the Dublin team.
    As fit if not fitter than some of the English premiership players .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Well done to the Irish fans in the stadium... the way they sung fields of athenry made the hairs on my neck stand on end

ascanbe wrote: »
    But it's the job of the manager to not give players jobs that they're incapable of doing.

The players, in that situation, can't be faulted, because, as far as i could see, they gave full effort.
    That's what has stuck out in the two games as much as anything ,how obious it was to see players play out of position and unsure or undecided as to how to deal with it ,which led to most of the goals and you had Duff playing in defence to because the back four were so out of sorts , from the first goal onwards and most of the game .

So while Trapp can only deal with what players he's got ,he also has to have installed some confidence in his team to carry out their roles and ' that ' more than anything was what's been so lacking in this Irish team in the tournament .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Where does the open top bus parade start from on Tuesday lads? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

Darius.Tr wrote: »
    Wow...the last 7 minutes of the game were amazing....I'have never seen supporters of the loosing team being louder than the winning team. Simply amazing...

Feel sorry for you :-(
    I'm following games of Poland and Ireland. We Polish need your support now on Sat against Czech.
    I hope we get your singers:-)

The last 7 minutes were amazing, awesome, brilliant. How can loosing team sing so loud, that winners cannot be heard at all. Thats only Irish people with huge hearts who can do this.

You are first out, but looking at Polish media and ordinary Poles opinions your fans are the winner. I live here in Dublin 8 years already, so I know you a little bit, but people of Poland are shocked, that you are so easy going, friendly and nice people. Every day in news I could watch and hear Irish wearing Polish symbols, singing Polska - bialooo czeerwoni , All media are showing your green soldiers, you are on first pages of national and local newspapers, people are talking about your green clothes, songs you sing, your great support and the only few complains that were made were about few completely drunk boys in green pissing in public places, so looking at Irish crowd in Poland and compared to behaviour of some polish, russian, croatian fans its very minor thing, that is already forgotten.
    Support winners of euro 2012 =Ireland.

thanks,
    Marcin "Dubliner" from Poland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

My team v Italy

Westwood

Kelly Dunne O'Shea Duff

McLean Andrews Hunt

Cox Keane Long

So you propose playing with a winger at left back, one centre mid, 2 wingers and 3 strikers? I'll have some of whatever you're smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

oh please god no :(

Well I don't know about anybody else but I've got my sleeping bag and primus stove ready for the long haul .:cool:

fryup wrote: »
    oh please god no :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 carvaggio

The idea that we have the greatest football fans is a bit much even though it may appear so in the large tournaments with the world watching. During qualifying games the support is rarely if ever like this, the fact is that these tournaments are treated as a big party (and why not) a lot of the fans are as interested in drinking and singing as the football, the idea that our fans are somehow superior to others is a bit false me.

Some of the individuals I know who have traveled to Poland I would very dubiously describe as fans of the Irish football team.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

_Gawd_ wrote: »
    We haven't got the talent for that style of football.

I admit Trap's tactics have a lot to do with things, but you have to understand he is only working with what he is given. I'm not defending him on any level at all. But let's look at the players - they're rubbish. We're diving into the Championship for players ffs.....

It's not encouraged either. Winning football is all that is wanted at FAI level and Irish fan level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

You can't teach GAA players to play soccer. It's too complex. They usually end up eating the ball or riding the corner flags.

Wouldn't mind putting Busquets on a Junior Hurling team, for once he'd have a legitimate reason to hold his leg.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    Feel sorry for you :-(
    I'm following games of Poland and Ireland. We Polish need your support now on Sat against Czech.
    I hope we get your singers:-)

The last 7 minutes were amazing, awesome, brilliant. How can loosing team sing so loud, that winners cannot be heard at all. Thats only Irish people with huge hearts who can do this.

You are first out, but looking at Polish media and ordinary Poles opinions your fans are the winner. I live here in Dublin 8 years already, so I know you a little bit, but people of Poland are shocked, that you are so easy going, friendly and nice people. Every day in news I could watch and hear Irish wearing Polish symbols, singing Polska - bialooo czeerwoni , All media are showing your green soldiers, you are on first pages of national and local newspapers, people are talking about your green clothes, songs you sing, your great support and the only few complains that were made were about few completely drunk boys in green pissing in public places, so looking at Irish crowd in Poland and compared to behaviour of some polish, russian, croatian fans its very minor thing, that is already forgotten.
    Support winners of euro 2012 =Ireland.

thanks,
    Marcin "Dubliner" from Poland
    Great post mate fantastic stuff.

Really hope Poland get through the group, have to say for all the talk about Poland in the media etc, I think Poland is a very similar country to Ireland and I wish them the best of luck in getting through. There has been alot of crap spoken about Poland as a host country so far, I for one think they have done a magnificent job.

On another note **** Roy Keane, and I also find it weird how the Euros are constantly better than the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

DB10 wrote: »
    Great post mate fantastic stuff.

Really hope Poland get through the group, have to say for all the talk about Poland in the media etc, I think Poland is a very similar country to Ireland and I wish them the best of luck in getting through. There has been alot of crap spoken about Poland as a host country so far, I for one think they have done a magnificent job.

On another note **** Roy Keane, and I also find it weird how the Euros are constantly better than the World Cup.

There are more crap teams in the WC. Only the top teams get through to the 16 of the Euro's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Right so Italy now then I suppose.....

Also Paul Green, what the holy mother****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

can robby keen now please go **** off for himself and look for the tap-ins with galaxy, **** off and retire pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee take a few more with you

as an Irishman, I dont know who let me down more this useless team, or the useless tea, led by Enda the teacher from Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Many German fans loved how the Irish fans sang their way out of the competition. You couldn't hear the winners at all and the commentaries on fan websites (e.g. Borussia Dortmund site etc) speaks volumes about their admiration for the attitude of the Irish fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭vgv

We are by far the worst performing team at this championships.Our defensive displays have been appalling.Its a real kick in the teeth to be the first team knocked out at this early stage.I know we are limited but I honestly did not expect us to embarrass ourselves like this.We have saved our worst performances for the biggest stage.Trappatoni was a great manager in the past but the performance of his team in this competition reminds me of Stauntons reign.The fans singing is admirable but scant consolation for me after such an abject display on the pitch where it matters.I fancy Spain to win as they are probably the best team at retaining posession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

what are the irish fans chanting in this news report 25sec in??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

O'Connell Street at 11am. Only €15 for the full tour of the city.