Does Anyone Sometimes Wish They Were Born A Women Rather Than A Man??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I've often thought I might be a butch lesbian tomboy with the wrong genital parts. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Not just childbirth, but every month of our child bearing years too.
    I've done child birth with no painkillers twice - ............

Why did you do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

I wish I were Human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Nodin wrote: »
    Why did you do that?

Because by the time the anesthitist (no idea how to spell this) was available, I was too far along to stay still enough to get an injection in my spinal cord.
    Both times! - Same fcuking thing!!!
    Pure bad luck I guess!

I'm 6mths pregnant now again, and if I don't get an epidural this time, I think I might kill someone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Women seem to be able to have never-ending bone shattering orgasms. I wouldn't mind if us blokes could have the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Jogathon wrote: »
    I wish I was a man.

-Never having to hide one night stands

-Within work, never being put down or spoken to like a child.

-I'd love to sit in a pub by myself and have a pint, and not feel obliged to take out my phone to divert unwanted attention.

-At least you have the option of having one night stands.

-Men get put down in work too.

-Why would you need to take out your mobile phone to divert unwanted attention? :confused:

Because by the time the anesthitist (no idea how to spell this) was available, I was too far along to stay still enough to get an injection in my spinal cord.
    Both times! - Same fcuking thing!!!
    Pure bad luck I guess!!!

The curse of a malice filled neighbour more likely. Or one of those cows in the office that bitches about when people take their maternity leave.
    I'm 6mths pregnant now again, and if I don't get an epidural this time, I think I might kill someone!!

Well doing something generally distracts from pain, so a bit of stabbity stabbity might be helpful.

The_Thing wrote: »
    I wish I were Human.

Its overrated.

Just get a langer. They're deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Hell no!

Men are great- I love them!

And the period thing- urgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

[QUOTE=

-Why would you need to take out your mobile phone to divert unwanted attention? :confused:[/QUOTE]

"Ah but seriously, why are you on your own, aren't they desperate to leave you sitting here like this? The cheek of them being late. Sure you can sit down with us so you won't be on your own."

That kind of thing - I'm actally quite enjoying my own company thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Dean09 wrote: »
    Women seem to be able to have never-ending bone shattering orgasms. I wouldn't mind if us blokes could have the same!

You're either unbelievable in the sack, she's faking, or you watch too much porn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Jogathon I would've though make-up was a great reason to be a woman?? There's nothing a man can do to cover up spots or enhance his eye colour!

Also, big fan of heels, they're very flattering to calf muscles. And they're optional, you're not expected to wear them.

I see the positive points of it all too! I wear make-up most days, but end up doing it in 5 mins in the car-park. It's just an extra thing to think of every morning!
    High heels though are saved for pubbing and clubbing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I've often thought I might be a butch lesbian tomboy with the wrong genital parts. :(

Cos you've man boobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

nah, women have to look good; men can pull based on personality no matter what they look like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

syndeyfife wrote: »

You're either unbelievable in the sack, she's faking, or you watch too much porn...
    The first one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I think I read somewhere that both Susan Boyle and Mary harney both wish they were born as women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

I have some older sisters and comparing the difficulties they have had in proving & establishing themselves in a professional capacity compared to the boys in my family, I see that as a good enough reason in itself to be grateful I was not born a woman.

And that's before you even begin to take on what I would see as 'stealth sexism' that exists in many aspects of a woman's personal life within the family and in relation to her spouse (if heterosexual): things like inheritance issues, control over the family finances, earnings differential due to childbirth or other employment factors, and so on.

I think it's a shame not to be able to claim indifference to what sex one was born into in the same way that one might say "if I were born with blue eyes, my life would be no different". But as a society, we have still not got beyond gender as an irrelevant biological allocation, and along with (I would imagine) most men, I am quite glad that I was born a man. Comparing my situation to that of my female relatives, I genuinely believe that it's a better situation to find yourself in both on an economic and a personal basis. We have more catching up to do on gender equality than many of us care to accept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

There are advantages and disadvantages to being either gender, it's not a competition. Anyone who genuinely thinks one gender has it way better than the other is probably harbouring resentment because of personal experience. Lol at "It's a woman's world" in the West. It's thankfully neither a woman's nor a man's, but when it comes to specific issues, one gender (varies which one) can have the upper hand unfortunately.
    Jogathon wrote: »
    I wish I was a man.

-Never having to hide one night stands - legendary status bestowed instead.

-Naked ambition is expected rather than being looked down upon.

-Having automatic respect given to you within sporting circles instead of "Ah sure, do ye actually play a full 90 minutes?"

-Shaving/waxing/lasering (laser fecking hurts!!!) intimate and not so intimate areas.

-make-up

-high heels

-Within work, never being put down or spoken to like a child.

-When purchasing a car never being told that when I was paying cash, because I had savings that I was a great girl yourself.

-When purchasing said car being told that the car was not silver, definately not silver - it was argento - Latin for silver - what a dick.

-Again within work, being asked "is himself available?" when it's my job and he has feck all to do with it!

- Within sporting circles, having to give up the good pitch for a league game for the Under12 boys.

-In a sports shop, when purchasing runners being told to buy the cheaper pair because it wasn't like I was training for a marathon. Two marathons run to date.

-I'd love to sit in a pub by myself and have a pint, and not feel obliged to take out my phone to divert unwanted attention.

-Being told that I was great cos I called crossing in a rugby game before any of the lads in the pub - strangers coming up to shake my hand cos I spotted why the ref had blown.

-Being told when reffing school games (I'm a primary teacher) that maybe one of the dads should ref it- NO - I'M reffing it.
    Some of those are shyte but some of them are only problems depending on the individual. I've never felt the need to hide one-night stands (and womanisers aren't always considered legends), you don't have to laser or wax (but I do agree it feels like you have to remove body hair - however I don't personally have a problem with that).

I don't have any desire to be a man - not because I think women are better or because it's so much easier, I just like being a woman. And two of the main things I like about being a woman: make-up and having boobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

syndeyfife wrote: »

You mean women can't have endless earth shattering orgasms? Well feck that porn anyway. It seems to be misleading me somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Child birth cant be that mad. loads of woman choose to have a second or third or fourth child. if it's as sore as you make it out to be then why would you want to do it again?

Every girl I've ever met has thought a lot of things are sore that just really aren't. Man the **** up and push the baby out.

and now we must wait for disgruntled baby makers to tell me im wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

If a woman is stupid or does badly in leaving or doesnt go to college etc it doesnt matter as much as she can get married and be supported for the rest of her life by her husband.But what does a man do? Marry a wealthy woman and become a stay at home dad? only if he was very good looking and even then...no if a man doesnt do well in his leaving/go to college or if he doesnt get a good job hell have to live off some low paid job forever.

It also doesnt matter if a woman is quiet shy personality as shell be apporached by men anyway whereas women dont approach men ever really so its difficult for quiet shy men.

Doesnt matter for women if theyre not very good at sports, Well I suppose its not that important for men either but it does help in life, whereas if a woman bad at sports nobodys gives a toss whatsoever.
    Womens lives are much easier...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I dunno ...I'm sure it's crossed most men and womens mind at some stage and Canada apparently is the best place to be a woman ,India the worst

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/canada-best-g20-country-woman-india-worst-075634510--sector.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

bb1234567 wrote: »
    If a woman is stupid or does badly in leaving or doesnt go to college etc it doesnt matter as much as she can get married and be supported for the rest of her life by her husband.But what does a man do?

Maybe in the 1950s hahaha :pac: I wish I had someone support me like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Chant with me:
    Rosie
    Rosie
    Rosie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I wish I were a bird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Child birth cant be that mad. loads of woman choose to have a second or third or fourth child. if it's as sore as you make it out to be then why would you want to do it again?

Every girl I've ever met has thought a lot of things are sore that just really aren't. Man the **** up and push the baby out.

and now we must wait for disgruntled baby makers to tell me im wrong
    I'd imagine the end reward is the reason they do it again. I'd imagine too it's pretty sore for many women, seeing as it killed some women up to 50 years ago and still does around the world.

"Women's lives are much easier" - lol :D
    I guess so if you can cherrypick specifics... and the same system can be used by those adamant life is easier for men.

The stuff implying women face virtually no pressure when it comes to their looks is pure comedy too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No I wouldn't like to be a woman. Wouldn't like to have to put up with periods or loose greater strength that men have generally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

That's mad OP because all (most) women think men have it so much easier.

- Physical strength.
    Not in alot of pain 1-2 weeks out of every month. 2 weeks for me, my breasts hurt so much the week before my period, then my stomach is in agony the week of my period.
    - The whole worry that comes with your period - have I got blood anywhere if in some-one else's house/ bathroom. Can't wear white. Do I smell.
    -Can have sex without being looked down upon, being called a slut.

If you think about it if men stopped calling women a slut for sleeping around, women would then have sex freely, thus men would have sex more, and no-one would give a **** and we'd all be happy! Stupid society the way it is.

-Sexism. Prevalent everywhere.

- Being an old spinster - huge presure not to be left on the shelf.

What I do like about being a woman, is we can be very kind. And there can be a great sisterhood with other women.

-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

This is an interesting thread, I love hearing other people's feelings on which gender they consider to have drawn the short straw.

I used wish I'd been born a man, which probably started when I was a young girl, growing up with my dad and four brothers; being the only girl in the house wasn't always easy, but these days I'm delighted to be a woman.

Some posters have cited childbirth as a negative element for women (and a few have cited it as a positive) but for me it's still one of my most treasured experiences I've ever been fortunate enough to experience. Granted, it was over 20 years ago, and I've no intention of repeating the experience, but I found it absolutely amazing. Painful, yes, but out-of-this-world amazing too.

I don't feel bogged down by convention, so sitting in a pub, enjoying a pint by myself isn't something I'd shy away from (as one poster said she wishes she could do) and I've lost count of the amount of times I've felt grateful to have been born into this century because to be able to live a life free from the restrictions my (female) predecessors had placed upon them. Owning my own house, living alone, being able to enjoy casual sexual encounters, being able to travel alone, not needing a man to support me (financially) etc.

One time, when I was a young girl, my grandmother asked me if I wanted to have children, and when I said "no, I never want to have a baby" she assumed it was the sex that was putting me off (I was still a bit too young to have even considered that aspect) and she said to me "don't worry, you'll get used to it" :eek:

Feck sake, Grandma....now I really am worried :mad:

When I was older, and was of an age to consider the sex aspect, I remembered her words, and felt so sad for her, knowing she never discovered how fantastic sex can be. Once again, I thanked my lucky stars I was born at a time when sex was no longer a secretive scary thing never to be discussed, and women's pleasure was just as viable as a man's.

The only concessions I'd make to the whole 'which gender' debate are (1) periods; they're stupid, painful, intrusive, annoying and far too bloody (no pun intended) regular, and (2) as Sydney said, I quite fancy finding out what it's like to receive a blow job. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

What I do like about being a woman, is we can be very kind. And there can be a great sisterhood with other women.

-

I agree wholeheartedly with you on this one; not that men can't be kind (they can), but most women I know possess a lot of kindness, which I guess is part and parcel of the nurturing aspect of being female. There are crazy bitches, of course, but even the crazies I know have demonstrated kindness at one time or another.

In fact, kindness is one of the things I find most attractive in a person (male or female); knowing when it's not a good time to make a joke or being able to see further than your own view on any given subject and reach out to someone who needs a bit of care and compassion.

I used hate the notion that women were soft, nurturing creatures - something my dad always used mention, except, in his version the soft, nurturing qualities came at the expense of logic, and by time I was old enough to realise I am actually extremely logical, the damage had been done - and it took me a long time to allow myself to be a soft nurturing creature (which, you'd think my healthy capacity for logic would have usurped a lot earlier :rolleyes:) but, happily, I have lived long enough to discover I can be both.