Things You Do That You Think No One Else Does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I can't have the volume on an even number, only certain odd numbers.

My room mate wrecks my head, always changes it to annoy me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Youse are all weird

As a child I used to stroke my fringe for comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Dub Ste wrote: »
    Only have the volume on the tv on an even number,cos it sounds mad if it's on an odd number !

I do it 5s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If I happened to be sitting around those blinking lights at pedestrian crossings I'd start closing & opening my eyes so that every time I opened them I'd either constantly see the light when it was on or off , depending on how I synchronised myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I used to be a bit of a texting addict when I was a teenager, these were the days before predictive texting and qwerty phones. For years (and I still do this sometimes) when I was having a conversation with someone I'd pick one of the sentences and keep spelling it out in my head as if I was texting. For example, if someone said "How were your holidays?" in my head I'd go "g-h / m-n-o / w space w / d-e / p-q-r / d-e space w-x-y / m-n-o / t-u / p-q-r space g-h / m-n-o / j-k-l / g-h-i / d / a / w-x-y / p-q-r-s" and I'd replay it over and over again. It used to drive me absolutely mad and would happen a few times a day. Doesn't happen me so much anymore!

/twitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Does anyone else count the letters in a sentence you've just heard to see if it's an odd or even amount of letters? Then, if they're odd, make it into two piles, one odd and one even and then say the sentence again making sure to pronounce the gap in between the piles? I also feel very frustrated of its not an even number if letters :rolleyes: I literally do this about 60 times a day and it can get really distracting, especially during exams :L

Am I mental? :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Yes, yes you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

As a kid when in the back of the car at night, I used to squint my eyes and pretend the street lights coming towards us where UFO's and I had to shoot them down with my imaginary lazer beam :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I used to be a bit of a texting addict when I was a teenager, these were the days before predictive texting and qwerty phones. For years (and I still do this sometimes) when I was having a conversation with someone I'd pick one of the sentences and keep spelling it out in my head as if I was texting. For example, if someone said "How were your holidays?" in my head I'd go "g-h / m-n-o / w space w / d-e / p-q-r / d-e space w-x-y / m-n-o / t-u / p-q-r space g-h / m-n-o / j-k-l / g-h-i / d / a / w-x-y / p-q-r-s" and I'd replay it over and over again. It used to drive me absolutely mad and would happen a few times a day. Doesn't happen me so much anymore!

/twitch

You so crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Does anyone else count the letters in a sentence you've just heard to see if it's an odd or even amount of letters? Then, if they're odd, make it into two piles, one odd and one even and then say the sentence again making sure to pronounce the gap in between the piles? I also feel very frustrated of its not an even number if letters :rolleyes: I literally do this about 60 times a day and it can get really distracting, especially during exams :L

Am I mental? :L

Oh I always count the amount of letters in a word and then spell the word in a certain rhythm over and over again depending on how many letters is in it. I dunno... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I did the runner thing too, except I was the ninja and it was another version of myself running along the powerlines. It was awesome. I also used to memorise some random numberplates just so I could test myself later to see if I remembered it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Best username ever

I lick the light bulb in the fridge because it's delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I also repeat the last word of a sentence under my breath like the kid "brick" from the middle :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Started years ago and still do it,if i hear a sentence or am talking I will count the letters in the sentence and see if its divisible by three,if not I try to re-arrange it so it is,starting with changing you're to you are etc to gain an extra letter and vice versa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I used to run like the T1000 from Terminator 2 when I was a kid :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I used to try and get the two sets of numbers to be the same, using addition/subtraction/multiplication/division.
    98 W 1259
    9-8 W 9-5-2-1
    1 W 1
    Smile.

This is prime example of the thread,i thought I was the only one to do this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Jaafa wrote: »
    Also sometimes when I really get into a book, I tend to pick up mannerisms from some of the characters for a while after. Like when I read the Narnia books years ago, for about a week after that, whenever I was thinking in my head, I'd think in that 1940's English way. 'I should think that would be jolly good' and all that lark.

This would be one of my 'things I do' too. I remember being so disappointed how disgusting a Margarita tastes because the character in a book I was reading always drank Margaritas. He also smoked a lot while drinking these Margaritas, unfortunately for me the smoking ban was in at this stage as well as the Margarita being totally undrinkable (which I suspect was down to the foul tasting Tequila).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

My life is a first person perspectove movie. Makes walking with headphones very atmospheric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Wake up. Its 7:51am - "Ah I'll just close my eyes until its 8"

Open eyes, its 8:01am - "Oops, missed it, I'll just close my eyes until its ten past 8"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

shuridunno wrote: »
    So I'm not alone then.....

I can't have tv volume on a 3, 7 or 9. Has to be even or 5.

As I'm talking to a really boring, annoying or agressive cuntomer at work, I am secretly working out ways to kill them or just escape myself. All while keeping a placid face.

I found out I can cry underwater, did it while I was swimming and depressed at same time. Got a real laugh from the oddity of it and it cheered me up no end. I can cry while cycling too, which I also found funny enough to cheer me up. :o:o (one has to be careful to do it in secret tho)

As us Irish say...No offence but you are fúcking weird!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Sometimes if I'm cutting slices of cheese for a sandwich and one slice is too big I think "there's too much fat in that slice of cheese". I then eat the cheese and cut a smaller slice to put in the sandwich.

I like to look at my digital watch and see five (sometimes six) similar digits. For instance I like to see it go to 1:11 and 11 seconds. Even better is when it goes to 11:11 and 11 seconds. I'm sure a lot of children like doing this but I'm 36 years old.

If I'm listening to a CD I have to listen to it all the way through without pressing pause or stop. If I need to go to the toilet I wait until the CD is over, unless I need to go really badly in which case I start listening to the CD again from the beginning. I wear headphones and if my ear gets itchy I put up with it until the CD is over rather than removing the headphones and scratching my ear. I don't even like to touch the volume control while the CD is playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Sometimes if I'm cutting slices of cheese for a sandwich and one slice is too big I think "there's too much fat in that slice of cheese". I then eat the cheese and cut a smaller slice to put in the sandwich.

I like to look at my digital watch and see five (sometimes six) similar digits. For instance I like to see it go to 1:11 and 11 seconds. Even better is when it goes to 11:11 and 11 seconds. I'm sure a lot of children like doing this but I'm 36 years old.

If I'm listening to a CD I have to listen to it all the way through without pressing pause or stop. If I need to go to the toilet I wait until the CD is over, unless I need to go really badly in which case I start listening to the CD again from the beginning. I wear headphones and if my ear gets itchy I put up with it until the CD is over rather than removing the headphones and scratching my ear. I don't even like to touch the volume control while the CD is playing.
    Ah jaysus

When i was young and in a car looking out the windows i would imagine myself grabbing onto telegraph poles as we passed them, once the next pole came into sight i'd let go and spring (catapult style) to it.

Perfectly normal i was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I piss in the sink

omahaid wrote: »
    I piss in the sink

Thats no biggy, everyone does that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

yomtea98 wrote: »
    Ah jaysus

Ah jaysus indeed!

I popped back into this thread hoping for more car window runners and laser beam street lights - what I got instead was a load of OCD nutters :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

o1s1n wrote: »
    Ah jaysus indeed!

I popped back into this thread hoping for more car window runners and laser beam street lights - what I got instead was a load of OCD nutters :pac:
    It's not OCD. It's CDO. Very similar, but the letters are in alphabetical order! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

CJC999 wrote: »
    When i was young and in a car looking out the windows i would imagine myself grabbing onto telegraph poles as we passed them, once the next pole came into sight i'd let go and spring (catapult style) to it.

Perfectly normal i was.

You've reminded me of another one of mine (I'm know there are loads but I see them as normal so they're not presenting themselves immediately for posting here), from when I was a child.

To pass the time in mass, especially if I was in a different church to my usual/local church, I used imagine I'd somehow got stuck up in the rafters/beams of the ceiling and would work out my monkey-like escape route up this beam, across another, trapeze swing to a window, hold on tight and then somersault to another beam etc. This worked a lot better in big churches with elaborate beams in the ceiling but there was always plenty of scope in any church.

The other thing I'd do is pretend I had something amazing and interesting in my pocket that I'd forgotten about and had just found again. I used wonder if anyone else, as bored as I was, was thinking "I wonder what she's found in her pocket that's so amazing". I'm sure they weren't...but at the time I thought it possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Easy Rod wrote: »
    When i was younger...If i was walking on the pavement and heard a car coming behind me, i'd create an imaginary race to the next crack in the pavement or streetlamp and would occasionally even dip my head over the line to make sure i won.

I'm 34 years old and I still do that!