Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bike Station in The Liberties?

• 20-03-2012 10:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭

Hi all,

I'm a journalism student in DIT and I'm writing a story about the Dublin Bike service for The Liberty newspaper.

I noticed that there are no bike stations in the heart of the Liberties such as Thomas ST/Meath ST/Cork ST/Francis ST.

I was wondering what people who live/work in the liberties think about this?

Would you like to see more bike stations in the area or are you satisfied with the stations that are available?

Any feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Claire

Comments

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Dublin City Council have plans prepared to extend the scheme, and included are many stations in the heart of the Liberties and the Heuston area But like every other scheme, you have to get the basic system off the ground and up and running before your expand.

Theres no DB stations in Finglas either, but im not complaining :D

IIRC, the nearest station to the Liberties area is at the Cornmarket junction.

The docking stations will be expanded first to the Docklands and the Heuston areas, covering Islandbridge, and as far as Kilmainham. Following this, it is planned to be rolled out to a total of 14 zones – which will cover:

[3] Dolphin’s Barn and the Liberties;
    [4A] Fairview, East Wall, and Croke Park;
    [4B] Phibsborogh, Cabra, and Stoneybatter;
    [5] Ballsbridge, Ranelagh, Rathmines;
    [6] Drumcondra, Marino, and parts of Glasnevin;
    [7] Harold’s Cross;
    [8] Ringsend, Irishtown, and Sandymount;