The *ONLY* After Hours thread about the European Championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Opticom wrote: »
    Johro wrote: »
    Bollocks. But getting them to pass the ball around a bit shouldn't be too much too ask, and if that's beyond their capabilities they should get the hell out of the competion tbh. Nobody said they should turn into stars overnight. But hoofing the ball up the pitch in hope is not football.

Ireland tried that for about 60 years and never qualified for a major tournament. Then the 'hoof it up the field' got us into Euro '88 to the quater finals of the world cup in '90, the world cup in 2002 and to Euro 2012. The talent is not there, face facts.
    The team of 2002 was one of the most creative teams we've ever had. Mick McCarthy had us playing great stuff.

As for the previous 60 years a combination of gross FAI mismanagement and very dodgy referreeing robbed us in the 70s and early 80s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

QUOTE BY Johro

I got ''Emmbedding Disabled By Request ''

But anyhows , my post was more a pun on all those AH threads on the merits of good/bad looking Irish women v '' dem forren wans ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Grand, but if they played your brand of football, it would have been nice to watch for 5 mins, and then it would have been a 6 - 1 defeat. You're not facing facts.
    They can't hold on to the ball and put together some low passes for more than five minutes? Don't tell me I'm not facing facts. Endlessly. I'm relaying what happened on the pitch today.
    I've faced the fact it doesn't work.

I have to hand it to the TV producers in EURO 2012, the hot chick in the crowd shots are a very welcome development.
    Yep ,very pleasant distraction and much more to come .

Latchy wrote: »
    I got ''Embedding Disabled By Request ''

But anyhows , my post was more a pun on all those AH threads on the merits of good/bad looking Irish women v '' dem forren wans ''
    You'll have to click on 'watch on youtube' then. :p It's worth it. Yeah I never got the 'Irish Wimminz Are Ugly' thing. It's just crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

oxo_ wrote: »
    I actually think *some* players are on the take, involved in match fixing, whatever you want to call it.
    Whether it's "silly accidents", "losing concentration" (in the first half ffs), defenders ball watching in their own box while their own striker is the only one to take it upon himself and get the ball to clear it or the "wow really, you pass the ball slowly across your own fking goal wtf" moments. Sorry but, stinks of match fixing. Same with Cech the other night, professional "oh I forgot to fully extend my arms" moment for the third goal. Fk off !

I see.
    How you can get to such a high level of professional football and have the above and other such obvious crap happen as if they were just "honest mistakes guv" is beyond me. It stinks.

Ooookay...
    So with that in mind, I felt the game was intentionally thrown against Croatia as betting wise, they were the one team of the three we have to play that were considered the weakest, and by all accounts the vast majority of punters in Ireland laid down bets for an Irish win.
    Smart money will be put now on Ireland beating both Spain and Italy and qualifying out of the group along with Croatia.

Right.

You'll have to click on 'watch on youtube' then. :p It's worth it. Yeah I never got the 'Irish Wimminz Are Ugly' thing. It's just crap.
    Strangly enough ,my sister is married to a Dutchman to :p

Latchy wrote: »
    Strangly enough ,my sister is married to a Dutchman to :p
    Yeah we only come here for the women :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

Don't know if this was already here but....
    Any have a link to a clip of the start? When the teams were coming out of the tunnel, there were lads carrying a huge Irish flag over the crowd in the stand. The flag said "Sharon Curleys' pregnant". It was funny as fcuk!

Yeah we only come here for the women :pac:
    Actually ,my sister lives in Hollond which is were she met her husband :pac:( she's still lives there now to )
    neaideabh wrote: »
    Don't know if this was already here but....
    Any have a link to a clip of the start? When the teams were coming out of the tunnel, there were lads carrying a huge Irish flag over the crowd in the stand. The flag said "Sharon Curleys' pregnant". It was funny as fcuk!
    Again ? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

"De Gaffah" - aka Steve Staunton - was one of the pundits on MOTD tonight.

Watched the Spain v Italy highlights. Seemed like a decent game - odd set-ups from both teams though. No strikers for Spain & a back three for Italy made up of two centre backs and a midfielder.

Italy played the sweeper system where you have a player who plays between the gk and the centre backs. It was like watching Germany in the seventies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Feel physically sick, not sure if it's the dodgy booze or the result:rolleyes:

Just so devastated, although as I said before, on paper, we shouldn't be expected to get a point in the group...:(

Feel physically sick, not sure if it's the dodgy booze or the result:rolleyes:

Just so devastated, although as I said before, on paper, we shouldn't be expected to get a point in the group...:(
    The players will look back on tonights match and think ,**** we could have gave a better account of ourselfs and might just up the ante in the next games because yes ,we don't match the others teams for skill pace and passing and we didn't get our share of luck in tonights game but fook it ,lets try get in among their defence and let them know they are in a game, rather than just handing it to them on a plate .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Personally never expected too much from Ireland so not really too disappointed.

Reckon this tournament experience will be good for the younger lads in the world cup qualifiers as we'll lose a few of the older crew after this.

As for Spain on Thursday, there's nothing more dangerous than a wounded animal and as we have nothing to lose now, we should head out with the aim of kicking them off the park. Think Holland in the last world cup.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The more I analyse tonights performance the more depressed I become. :(

There would have been a huge global audience tuning in to the game and I'm embarrassed that they had to witness our brand of Bog ball, people must be thinking how the hell did this crowd manage to qualify. :(

Its just so disappointing because we could have and should have given a better account of ourselves. My only hope now is that they'll approach Thursday's game in a different light and go out and give their all against Spain. Its a funny old game football you just never know, it could be a special night for us. :)

The more I analyse tonights performance the more depressed I become. :(

There would have been a huge global audience tuning in to the game and I'm embarrassed that they had to witness our brand of Bog ball, people must be thinking how the hell did this crowd manage to qualify. :(

Yeah, you're not wrong.

I was watching the match streamed live through the internet as i'm in Asia. You should have seen the comments coming in on the chatroom as the match progressed ....needless to say they weren't very positive about Ireland, many were mystified by our brand of footie and rooting for the slicker Croatia.

Bit embarrassing to say the least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 77 ✭✭Lord Bafford

You'll never beat the Irish? :confused:

Anyway, I for one am mighty chuffed at last night's result. When I discovered Croatia -- a decent team -- were better than even money I plonked 50 yoyos on them.

Easiest money I've ever earned. What were the bookies thinking? Ireland are a team of aging misfits and journeymen not fit for the Conference league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

I was thinking Irelands best chance was against Italy before the matches started. But after seeing their performance against Spain I reckon we're just making up the numbers now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭vgv

What Im most disappointed about is the softness of the goals we gave away,first 2 in particular.Shay Given had a poor game.Croatia were arguably the better team but they never really cut us up in the way that Russia did in the qualifiers.I think they will struggle against Spain and Italy.As for us well we are a poor team at this level and we also didnt show any heart of belief.The whole was not greater than the sum of parts on this occasion.
    Trappatoni needs to be less rigid and give the younger players like McLean and Shane Long a chance.I feel like his team is picked more on name and reputation than form.If he persists with some of our underperforming stalwarts the drubbings will only get worse.
    Coming up are Spain and Italy and we cannot afford to lose to either.It will be almost miraculous if we manage to qualify-but-I remember how we played in the return playoff leg against France in 2009 when the odds were stacked against us.If we can perform like that again weve got a small chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Some are, if you read back though the posts, that's what we're talking about.

You're missing one small item from your sporting education: passing the ball to your teammate is not "fancy" football.

It's absolute basic stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

It's unbelievable some of the posts on this thread.

Ireland were unlucky my arse ...we got beaten by a better team, end of.
    The optimism prior to the game thinking we could qualify was an absolute joke.

The fact that trap has so little skill to work with compared to other countries, the fact we've got Spain and Italy next which is going to be an absolute massacre if we play the same as we did last night, just emphasises the point that we've got about as much chance as qualifying as ... as well... I don't know.....Pffff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    It's unbelievable some of the posts on this thread.

Ireland were unlucky my arse ...we got beaten by a better team, end of.
    The optimism prior to the game thinking we could qualify was an absolute joke.

The fact that trap has so little skill to work with compared to other countries, the fact we've got Spain and Italy next which is going to be an absolute massacre if we play the same as we did last night, just emphasises the point that we've got about as much chance as qualifying as ... as well... I don't know.....Pffff.

But be that as it may........YOULL NEVER BEAT THE IRISH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭BIG BAD JOHN

This result won't help Enda when he next has to eyeball Auntie Angela. I suspect it's also going to add a couple of percentage points to our borrowing costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

You know how you all laugh at the English press, totally over hyping the team and then going into total meltdown when it all goes wrong? Well that is exactly what is going on here.

Ireland are ranked 16th in the world. They put in a solid performance but ultimately were beaten by a better team, one that is ranked 8th.

They were unlucky and should have had a penalty, but Croatia deserved to win. That said, it wasn't the drubbing that it is being made out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

€5 million for Trap, his assistant and his fitness coach per anum. Finn Harps would have done better last night :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Hatred of trap is nonsensical. This team are the worst in the competition, as you would expect from their world and European rankings. Trap got a weak team to the finals, he can't make them play.

Ireland are ranked 16th in the world. They put in a solid performance but ultimately were beaten by a better team, one that is ranked 8th.

19th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Cork24 wrote: »
    We have some hope of beating spain

A good time for a Russian proverb: wish in one hand, $hit in the other, see which fills up first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

CucaFace wrote: »
    We will sneak a win againest Crotia (over rated team IMO who finished behind Greece in their group and failed to qualify for last WC) and then who knows againest an Italian team deviod of any trust worthy strikers.

Two 1 nils victorys to put us through. ;)

I was wrong about the 0 goals but depressing it was.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Just so as you know an auto spammer just showed up on this thread to plug some web hosting.

They take snippets of previous comments to attempt to appear normal. It's deleted now but:

The comment in this case which was randomly chosen was "did you see that ludicrous display last night?"

Hahahahaha.