Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords CC Club League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Big surprise for me was seeing Longsocks losing form in lasts night race in G4.

To be fair to him, he was sporting a big bandage on his calf. It appears to have even stopped him wearing the eponymous socks. When that happens, you know there's a problem. I'm sure he'll be back stronger than ever soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

To be fair to him, he was sporting a big bandage on his calf. It appears to have even stopped him wearing the eponymous socks. When that happens, you know there's a problem. I'm sure he'll be back stronger than ever soon enough.

Didn't even notice! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

well.........I can't say that I enjoyed that at all.Went with group 4 again last night (not sure if im a capable grp 4 rider this year).I found every turn of the pedals hard from start to finish.On the first lap I contributed fairly well to the up and overs but at times I had to sit on at the back, especially on the long drags before the left turn for the hill.Found it hard first time up the hill and had to push myself to stay in contention with the group, managed it and sat in until after the left turn in the village.Started back in the up and overs and thought that I was starting to come around and started to feel a bit better.Scratch caught us just after the M1 bridge and at that stage I took a drink and jumped on the back.The initial pace was ok to be honest, but the second time up the hill was tough and I lost contact just at the finishing line.I tried in vain on the descent to get back on but I knew there was no hope.Considered throwing in the towl but Eoin from Dr Bike caught me and together we rode our own tempo around the rest of the lap, and did a few up and overs.Have to say it really took it out of me last night.I think if i could have stayed on the second time up the hill I would have been able to last but sure what about it.Gonna give group 4 another crack and see can i get into the groove of it, but it just seems out of reach this year. By the way I haven't had a nights sleep like that in a long long time:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

I went off in group 3 last night for what will probably be the last time if the "moaners" have their way :pac:

Group 3 worked very well together indeed and the up and overs very effective. At some points it got a small bit disrupted with some people coming through too strong and/or the next person in line not being close enough to come through but sure that's just racing.

Mr Clarke made it interesting a number of times and I enjoyed jumping after him to chase him down!

The first time up the hill I rode tempo all the way with the rest of the group lined out behind me. I felt a bit like a climbing domestique! The pace up the hill the first time was quite fast and I think that we lost a few on that occasion.

The run down into Ballyboughal was without event with people generally staying in line due to the chippings. A few may have also been lost here I think.

We passed some people along the way and took over part of group two the second time up the R132.

Onto the climb again and I was at the front of the group just behind the lad in the black gear. The lead bike and car from group 4 and scratch came through just as we got to the crossroads for McNally Joinery. "Please let us get up the hill first" I thought! We did, and at the quarry the lads came through. I jumped on behind them with some others and tucked in. On the run down to Ballyboughal for the second time myself and Dave Wherity were out in front and came past the remaining group 2 just after the turn from Ballyboughal.

At this point the three Stamullen lads, the UCD lads and some other guy in red, white and blue came to the front and ran the show pretty much from then until the end. Myself, manwithaplan, Adam, Dave O'Neill and Dasher from Blanch Wheelies stayed with them and the rest of the group (quite large at this point) were right behind in close quarters.

After the crossroads at McNally Joinery for the last time the pace went up and the group split big time. The Stamullen boys, the UCD lads, the guy in red, white and blue, Adam and Dasher went ahead. Then came myself on my own about 10-20 bike lengths back with a gap of at least that or more back to manwithaplan and the other guys including Dario28. I couldn't see any further back than that cos I'm not an owl!

I passed a few (2 anyway and maybe 3 - I can't quite remember) of the lads up ahead as they had blown up and ended getting 8th spot comfortably by approx 30 seconds and maybe not quite that much down on the lads ahead.

Fair play to Adam on his 5th place, manwithaplan on his 9th and Dario28 on 10th.

A great race and really enjoyed being a big part of driving it along the whole race through. Hopefully I can translate this form into group 4 shortly!

Thanks to the marshals and race organisers. I heard the shouts of encouragement each time up the hill but couldn't respond due to the effort I was putting in!

Thanks manwithaplan for the kind words :D

Stats: 1hr21mins; Ave speed 38.9kph; Cadence 92; Strava Suffer Score 111 - Tough!

buffalo wrote: »
    I've not seen him at any open races since Stamullen I think - maybe he's been off the bike for a while?

I wonder why that was...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

Sound Lusk Doyle. A straight swap it is, You move up and I move down.No point in disrupting the chi of either group;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

This was my 2nd attempt at racing. Went off with group 2 again and the group worked reasonably well, but was not particularly fast. I was a bit worried that I might get dropped on the Nag's Head but needn't have. I found myself drifting towards the front as we crested it. The loose chippings on the road into Ballyboughil were a bit hairy, but allowed a lot of people to get back on after the climb as up and overs weren't really a safe option.

Speaking of up and overs, there was an individual who went along with the group causing a bit of a problem with that. He wasn't registered as far as I know (definitely had no number, possibly no CI licence) and hadn't a clue what he was at. He wasn't moving up the line but sat on the right hand side towards the back. I had to shout at him a couple of times to get him out of the way so I could go up to do a turn. I think someone up front had words with him at one stage as well. I know who he is and intend to have a word. He's a nice enough lad, but can be dangerous without meaning to be. I'm aware of a touring group which had to have a word with him previously after a couple of crashes.

Anyway, 2nd time over the Nag's Head was fine again. Nothing too hard about the pace and the group still was quite big and working reasonably well. After Ballyboughil we got caught by the faster groups and became one large group for the remainder, although I think we possibly lost a chunk of group 2 on the main road. I stayed with the group until the last time up the Nag's Head where I let them fight it out while I eased my way up to the finish.
    Overall I was happy. I felt strong enough to keep doing turns as long as G2 stayed together, and strong enough to stay with the race when all the groups came together. A very enjoyable evening indeed.
    A big thanks to the marshal in chief and all his minions! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭buffalo

Lusk Doyle wrote: »

He got second, so I don't think it was because he suffered too much.

If that's what you were getting at, I'm feeling a little slow today.

buffalo wrote: »

He got second, so I don't think it was because he suffered too much.

[SIZE="1"]If that's what you were getting at, I'm feeling a little slow today.[/SIZE]

Nope. I'll pm you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,778 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Anyone have a link to next weeks TT route, would like to go out and have a look ahead of the festivities. Need to get some clip on aero bars for the craic too!

edit. Scratch that, venues been changed I see

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,468 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Inquitus wrote: »
    edit. Scratch that, venues been changed I see
    Yep - it's now 10km rather than 10m, and you do half of it on the Saturday morning spin

I anticipated this may happen and gave it a go the other day (starting at the wrong end mind!) - it's actually a bit tougher than it appears, with the return leg a bit more difficult than the outward one (and more than likely into the wind)

Beasty wrote: »
    Yep - it's now 10km rather than 10m, and you do half of it on the Saturday morning spin

I anticipated this may happen and gave it a go the other day (starting at the wrong end mind!) - it's actually a bit tougher than it appears, with the return leg a bit more difficult than the outward one (and more than likely into the wind)

Aye theres a couple of km of uphill into the Naul, not particularly steep, but defo want to keep something in the legs for it, else you could lose a good bit of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭riparooo

So is next weds still a TT race??

riparooo wrote: »

It is a TT, 10km and on a revised course, and its on Thurs. There's an open A3/A4 race on last nights course (I think) on Weds.

riparooo wrote: »

It is a TT, 10km and on a revised course, and its on Thurs. There's an open A3/A4 race on last nights course (I think) on Weds.

Correct.

Correct.

What sort of pace is A4 pace up the hill? I'd like to give A4 a whirl at some point but I think I am limited to wheelsucking on the flat circuits, defo couldn't do Swords Grp 3/4 pace up Nags head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭riparooo

Great - its short I can only hurt myself if I fall and thursday is my lucky day:)

My debut race..........so excited now!

Riparooo

Correct.

What sort of pace is A4 pace up the hill? I'd like to give A4 a whirl at some point but I think I am limited to wheelsucking on the flat circuits, defo couldn't do Swords Grp 3/4 pace up Nags head.

It would be similar to the pace group 3 went up the hill the first time yesterday. I'm not 100% sure but I'd guess it was in or around 23/24kph bottom to top. You can check my Strava to see if that's right.

Aye you lot went up 40 secs quicker than we did, I had more in the tank, but not 40 secs more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭buffalo

Anyone else read that as:
    Yep - it's now 10 kilometres rather than 10 metres, and you do half of it on the Saturday morning spin

:p

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,468 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

You guys were probably going round the circuit as faster on Wednesday (over 40kph) than the A1s were in last year's GP based on the Strava records, which is pretty impressive given the state of the road. On the hill you were doing around 26kph over 2.5km from when the ascent really starts - the scratch ridxers were around 29kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

You guys were probably going round the circuit as faster on Wednesday (over 40kph) than the A1s were in last year's GP based on the Strava records, which is pretty impressive given the state of the road. On the hill you were doing around 26kph over 2.5km from when the ascent really starts - the scratch ridxers were around 29kph

Impressive alright. Huge difference between a handicap race and a mass start though. No-one is going to be hammering around non-stop on Sunday but when it's on, it's on. ;)

Is there any handicapping in this TT malarkey tonight? or do I just turn up, get drowned by the rain and have the ignominity of being passed by my minute man/woman?

They used to have handicaps for the purpose of handing out league points - a set time based on which group you were in. But they stopped the points a couple of years ago.

Fastest club rider is supposed to become club champion, but as the trophy says 10 miles on it, I think they will need to cut it up ...

Congrats to Beasty on his very first league win :D:D:D

A good gap of 27 seconds back to the next man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

Congrats to Beasty on his very first league win :D:D:D

A good gap of 27 seconds back to the next man.
    Just u and beasty there

RO 06 wrote: »
    Just u and beasty there

14 in total I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

Just u and beasty there

14 in total I think.
    How did u do

I managed to avoid coming last! and avoid getting passed, all in all thats a huge success I feel :p

How did u do

Second with 15:10 on my one and only normal bike. Six seconds ahead of third. There was a gap then from third back to fourth of 48 seconds I think.

I wonder what difference an aero wheel, helmet, etc would have made to my time...

Edit: that was my first ever TT.