Would you risk your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Good man but I dont think Id have bothered, the risk would be too high. Id console my cowardice in Karma.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If someone was getting attacked and they themselves were under threat then I reckon I'd intervene. Not for a purse though.

I've heard of cases where people have had their wallet/phone robbed, given chase to the thief only to find themselves confronted by a larger group in some alley where they're robbed of whatever else they have on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I dunno, it's kinda you gotta be there situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

Not over a handbag. She can live without a few tampons or whatever are kept in those mystery boxes. I was once punched in the face by a complete stranger waiting at the traffic lights on my way to tesco. Did nothing then either. Nothing to be gained from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Memory Of 98

I've heard of cases where people have had their wallet/phone robbed, given chase to the thief only to find themselves confronted by a larger group in some alley where they're robbed of whatever else they have on them.

You know, looking back now and fretting at my stupidity, I didn't even think of that. I was just worried about the dangers of either being hit by a car while I was trying to dodge them, or getting stabbed by the thief.

My Girlfriend had mixed feelings, mostly worried about me getting hurt over something that was not solely consequential to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

When I got back, the victim praised me. But just about everyone else scolded me calling me a fool and an idiot for risking my life for someone that I did not even know.
    Get stabbed over a purse? Not a chance. If she was being physically assaulted I would step in though, and have in the past.
    mikemac1 wrote: »
    Get an actor, dress him up rough and have him collapse outside a train station, people stay walking

And I think I would do the same. Got a punch off a wino in Eyre Sq Galway once and that place was just full of winos.

Then get a smartly dressed actor, hits the ground and gets help swiftly
    Police are trained not to immediately approach or touch someone collapsed on the ground in case they get a jab of a needle, verbal assistance only at first. There's more to these situations than armchair psychology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I wouldn't even think about it tbh. I'd just sprint after the attacker, robber etc, thinking I could make a difference. Hate to see people get robbed or attacked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

depends how hot she was really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

I'd get another beer and pretend to care about what just happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Jaysus this happened to me about 15 yrs ago I was on my way into town on the bus when I caught two scumbags at the corner of my eye attacking a women draging her down a lane trying to get her handbag,I got the bus driver to stop the bus straight away hopped off and ran after the two scumers from memory one of them got a flying kick of me.
    Anyway I called the Gardai on my then brick of a mobile when they arrived I headed of to meet the lads in the pub a few days later the girl called me to thank me for helping her out.
    I'm getting on the wrong side of thirty now but would still do it without a blink but wether I could catch the scumbags would be another thing,I have some mates that would do the same and others who would probely freeze.

Ares wrote: »
    Can anyone remember the case last year, I think it was in Ennis where some lad attacked another lad in some public place stabbing him with about 50 people watching and not one did a single thing.

Pretty sad that its come to this.

Edit; Found it. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1212/clare.html

People in groups are retarded quite simply. Cowards following the herd mentality of someone else will intervene.

Persons are intelliegent, people are incredibly stupid.

The trouble is what do you do in a situation like that? You're only allowed to take "appropriate action" or whatever. Unless you've a chance to kick them in the head you're almost certainly getting stabbed, if you do kick them in the head some arsehole could have you in prison or paying massive compo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

So,

Today I found myself enjoying the lovely weather and eating at a restaurant. Half way through my meal I heard the screams of a woman from across the establishment. Looking over I saw her hanging over her table and a scumbag sprinting away with her purse in hand.

Now, there were many men there, men bigger than me. But, they did nothing, not even bat an eye lid, nor did the staff. For some stupid reason I took off in pursuit, charging down a busy street dodging fast moving traffic and nearly being ran down and killed.

When I got back, the victim praised me. But just about everyone else scolded me calling me a fool and an idiot for risking my life for someone that I did not even know.

I don`t know why I did it, but I did. I am looking back now fretting over how I was nearly killed/seriously wounded.

When did I become foolish in Ireland to be a vigilante, when did it become okay for men to not even bat an eye lid at women being assaulted?

What would anyone else have done?

Fair game if it was a man of course.

Well duh, women don't do anything to deserve violence, men do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I was in this position one time back in '94. Myself and another guy managed to pull three people from a burning car. The driver had fallen asleep and the car went off the road and landed upside down, 20 foot below into a stream. The people were disorientated from the shock, the driver was imobile because of a broken leg. We managed to haul him out of the car, and pulled the other two women up the embankment, but at that stage the flames had engulfed the car, and we couldn't reach the last person, a woman in her late 70's, who appeared unconscious and to this day I think she probably died from the initial impact, perished in the fire. We won an award for this, we were interviewed by Pat Kenny on RTE1, Marty Whelan on the morning show, and presented with holiday vouchers at a function in the Burlington Hotel. You have to make an on-the-spot descision in this cirrcumstance, I can't remember thinking of the danger until we were right beside the car. This thread has brought back many memories, Im off to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Have tried to help out in a good few cases like that before. All but one were for no thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

It's hard to know how you would react, really. I saw a girl on the street crying and trying to get away from this guy who was being really aggressive with her. I ran over with a friend (dressed as Cruella De Vil, not sure who was more scared).

He was surprised enough to let her go and she ran off.

The bystander effect is fascinating, the murder of Kitty Genovese was one of the saddest things I've ever heard about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

So,

Today I found myself enjoying the lovely weather and eating at a restaurant. Half way through my meal I heard the screams of a woman from across the establishment. Looking over I saw her hanging over her table and a scumbag sprinting away with her purse in hand.

Now, there were many men there, men bigger than me. But, they did nothing, not even bat an eye lid, nor did the staff. For some stupid reason I took off in pursuit, charging down a busy street dodging fast moving traffic and nearly being ran down and killed.

I don`t know why I did it, but I did. I am looking back now fretting over how I was nearly killed/seriously wounded.

When did I become foolish in Ireland to be a vigilante, when did it become okay for men to not even bat an eye lid at women being assaulted?

What would anyone else have done?

also if this old lady could foil a jewellery store robbery anything can be done

did u catch the scumbag and get back her handbag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

I would jump in if someone was being assaulted, yes. Would I run down the street in pursuit of some scumbag for a purse? You've got to be fuking kidding me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Reminds me of this scene from the excellent show Black Books

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Half way through my meal I heard the screams of a woman from across the establishment. Looking over I saw her hanging over her table and a scumbag sprinting away with her purse in hand.

Was she hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

I had a friend who intervened when he witnessed a male skanger outside Amiens Street Dart station physically attack a female he was with...
    As he was restraining the male, the female reached into her pocket, produced a nail file & slashed his face requiring over 40 stitches...go figure !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Liam90

Its called the fight or flight reaction and your brain decided to fight. I think thats a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I remember years and years ago, when I would have been about 14 or 15 and walking towards croke park when a scumbag ran up and stole my cousin's novelty hat. I was already running after him without thinking until my older cousin caught my arm and said it'd be a stupid thing to get into a fight for.

Since then I seem to have calmed down but I like to think I'd get involved in something that needed my help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Sure more people will come to help if its a fire then a rape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'd judge it on the size of the scumbag, if i thought i could take him then yes i'd go after him but if he was much bigger than i am i probably wouldnt risk it.

I once was in freebird records at the back of the central bank and a scum bag came in and started arranging t-shirts into a neat pile, i seen what he and walked outside the door and stood partially blocking it, next thing he came running out and i tripped him. He fell in a heap at the door and the fella from behind the counter came out and jumped on him. Another scum bag came along and tried to get the shop assistant of him and i grabbed him around the neck and fúcked him on to his back as hard as i could. I seen two guards coming walking along and walked over to them and told them that i think the shop owner was in bother and simply walked away into the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Enkidu

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Personally I think I'd risk my life as long as I was sure I wouldnt embarrass myself. Nothing worse than making a show of yourself in public. So I wouldnt be chasing anyone but may or may not jump in front of a bus to save a pretty lady.
    :confused::eek: I think risking my life would be worse than public embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

CJC999 wrote: »
    I'd judge it on the size of the scumbag, if i thought i could take him then yes i'd go after him but if he was much bigger than i am i probably wouldnt risk it.

I once was in freebird records at the back of the central bank and a scum bag came in and started arranging t-shirts into a neat pile, i seen what he and walked outside the door and stood partially blocking it, next thing he came running out and i tripped him. He fell in a heap at the door and the fella from behind the counter came out and jumped on him. Another scum bag came along and tried to get the shop assistant of him and i grabbed him around the neck and fúcked him on to his back as hard as i could. I seen two guards coming walking along and walked over to them and told them that i think the shop owner was in bother and simply walked away into the crowd.

Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Probably wouldn't get involved (I can't run for shít would probably be the main excuse).

However I could be of service with the after incident commentry between bystanders and a victim. I can "tut" at the rate of six per second so could be very beneficial with my verbal inputs.

Combining "thats disgraceful", "fecking scumbags these days" and "thieving bastárds" with my 6 TPS, I think would be more of a help than getting stabbed for a Penneys purse whilst hyperventilating from running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Plazaman wrote: »

I can "tut" at the rate of six per second so could be very beneficial with my verbal inputs.

soundcloud link or gtfo :D