Things you hate about TV shows

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ugly people.

Thankfully I have never come across that situation personally. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Biggins wrote: »
    Just on that...

They go to bed - have sex (or at least its clearly hinted that what is just about to happen), then they wake up and they are wearing their underwear again...

WTF?

Who strips off, makes love to a partner, gets out, part-dresses again and gets back into bed?

That's so that their partner can't see the oozing genital scabs when it gets light in the mornings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

I hate a load of things. I hate bad TV generally and there is a lot of that around but one thing that really gets to me and it probably sounds a bit silly but have you noticed how people ringing doorbells or knocking on doors in soaps/dramas are THE MOST IMPATIENT PEOPLE IN THE WORLD?

Seriously, they'll ring/knock once and leave it, what 3 seconds? and they're at it again!!

I realise a delay is dead time etc in TV land but jesus let's have some attempt at realism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

How in soapland every second person is a murderer but no-one curses........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

When theyre having sex they both cum at the same time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Paddysboys

The way no one has to run home to watch a soap on there tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭The Davestator

mikemac1 wrote: »
    When you know your favourite show may get the axe for no good reason at all
    You invest time in it, realy enjoy and boom, taken away

Fox seem happy to drag out The Simpsons long past their sell by date

But cancel :mad: Chicago Code :mad: after just one season!!

Was a brilliant show, even had the best intro song ever

Brutal show. Charecters had no depth - either good or bad. The main woman in it was whiter than white with no charecter flaws.

GREAT theme tune though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

TV forensics guy: 'So, I'll just swab the victim's fingernails and... hello... Inspector, from the look of this millimetre square patch of dust, I'd say you'll find that the attacker is a 6ft redhead with a penchant for classical music...'
    Real-life forensics guy: '... ' *shuts up while getting on with job*

Oh, also - the way CCTV footage can always be 'analysed' to the point where you can practically read the time on someone's watch.

Grr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭grindle

Oh, also - the way CCTV footage can always be 'analysed' to the point where you can practically read the time on someone's watch.

Aaaaarrrrrgh!!!

Detective #1, to image-zoom technician
    "Could you zoom in there?...again... Left...zoom in again... into his mouth... Flip that image... Sharpen it up?
    A poppy seed... lodged behind his top front-teeth..."

Detective #2
    "He guys, forensics found the weirdest thing in her vagina..."

"A poppy seed?"

"How did you...?"

"Let's just say our unsub... Is more than familiar with Subs, himself."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Nobody in Home and Away or Neighbours or pretty much any other soap ever ever had to take a sh1t or a p1ss.

I've never heard "Hang on, I'm in the jacks".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I've never heard "Hang on, I'm in the jacks".

Or 'Hang on til I empty my colostomy bag'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

In soaps, transactions such as selling homes or businesses are completed within a few hours of the initial decision being made.

Contraception is never an issue right before sex, unless one character is supposed to get pregnant/an STD.

In that crappy TV3 Titanic programme, you couldn't see people's breath in the air when they were in the lifeboats, even though it was an April night in the north Atlantic :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

that sh1te like Take Me Out and X-Factor gets massive ratings and most people wont watch something like The Wire. cant be thinking while watching tv sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You can call a taxi and he'll wait for you no bother for ages

Want another cup of tea in the house?
    Fancy another pint in the pub?

No problem, the taximan will wait for you and not be angry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

i still think were all like zombies, were made to work all day then come home and watch people hate each other and argue, feck the tv , get a dog and get out and walk it and listen to music that isnt in the charts by inspirational people, learn a music instrument, get on boards.ie and go to the prison thread if after all this you still want to see people grovel and argue!!!!! yyeeehhhhh live life people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

In soaps everybody seems to work within walking distance of their homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

marozz wrote: »
    In soaps everybody seems to work within walking distance of their homes.

They just don't not walk home - they drink a stone's throw, the entire center of their universe is not even a bus ride......Grrrrrr...........no buses nothing.....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The shows that are on for an hour, have 20 minutes of breaks and spend 10 minutes recapping what happened before the break! :eek:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

mikemac1 wrote: »
    When you know your favourite show may get the axe for no good reason at all
    You invest time in it, realy enjoy and boom, taken away

Fox seem happy to drag out The Simpsons long past their sell by date

But cancel :mad: Chicago Code :mad: after just one season!!

Was a brilliant show, even had the best intro song

same but instead of Chicago code , i miss the sopranos even though it did have 5 or 6 seasons , it just shouldnt have ended , it was far from stale or boring and at least had another three or four seasons left :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

The way everyone on Winning Streak has friends and a family supporting them. Surely by now, one person who has fallen out with his family and friends would have sent in three stars and got selected - but yet we never see them. Why, damn it!

If I ever get through, even though I have lots of family and friends (he lies) I'm gonna pretend I don't and in homage to all loners and hermits of the world, I'll tell Marty I came alone and point them to the empty row of seats in the audience!

If I spin the wheel and hit big, I'm gonna wear the face of Kathryn Thomas and .. and .. well, that's all I've thought about so far, but more crazy tomfoolery would befall them, be damn sure of that. Let the loners of the world unite be solitary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

It drives me spastic when a character lights a cigarette, takes one or two pulls, and then puts it out in the ashtray.

WTF? If you were a proper smoker you'd want to finish that and you wouldn't be so wasteful.

You can walk into any bar and tell the barman "beer"

He will always know your brand, you never have to say

Poor Yanks, they need some more choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

They all go to launderette. Have the producers not heard of hotpoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

one thing that did bug me was characters never wore the same clothes, The Big Bang Theory actually has them wearing the same tshirts a lot, its a nice change.

Vicious murderer in your house?

First make sure you are in skimpy underwear
    Next back up to a bedroom or some room you can't get out off
    Now most importantly, never ever look behind you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

How TV shows seem to be dumbing down history ,even worse is how the majority of modern "historical" documentarys seem to be trying to rehabilitate historical "villans" .

Or those "exclusive" documentarys about the discovery of a long lost city or revealing an ancient mystery and then do no such thing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

2 broke girls has some of the worst writing in the history of T.V.
    but its not as bad as all the mucking TV show about some of the scummiest people in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

You never see them at a computer typing away on a keyboard or at the cinema/gigs. Tho I remember in fair city Kay had a computer in the room above the bar, it never had any scenes with Malachy lookin at porn or on priest chat websites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

That whenever someone has to look anything up online, they just open their laptop and it's already on and loaded! No turning it on, no password, no waiting a few minutes to load and connect to the Internet, nope, I'll just open it up and the website I want will already be open on it!

If I close over my laptop while it's still on, it automatically goes into standby. Where can I get one of these magical TV ones? :P