Bleedin Moochers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

davet82 wrote: »
    thats a bigger fib than the OP ;)

I'm afraid if you think there aren't solicitors out there in dire circumstances then you are woefully misinformed. No business has been hit as badly in the last five years (restaurant, possible exception) as the conveyancing business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

I'm afraid if you think there aren't solicitors out there in dire circumstances then you are woefully misinformed. No business has been hit as badly in the last five years (restaurant, possible exception) as the conveyancing business.

so there is justice in the world... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Do many farmers frequent the centre?

I bet they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Earnings have dropped off for sole practitioners, a drop of 70% per annum in some cases. I know plenty of solicitors who are unemployed, even law graduates with the FE1s are finding very difficult to secure an apprenticeship.

Guards likewise have suffered big pay cuts. A lot are young people with families mortgages etc and they're clearly struggling. So it is feasible that some of these people may genuinely need charitable assistance.

Earnings have dropped off for sole practitioners, a drop of 70% per annum in some cases. I know plenty of solicitors who are unemployed, even law graduates with the FE1s are finding very difficult to secure an apprenticeship.

Guards likewise have suffered big pay cuts. A lot are young people with families mortgages etc and they're clearly struggling. So it is feasible that some of these people may genuinely need charitable assistance.

Exactly. Couple this with the fact that a huge percentage of people meet their partners through college/work you could easily be talking about families who have suffered two paycuts/ redundancies and have a mortgage based on two incomes.

They also may be on a variable rate mortgage which would have decimated their disposable income. Could have young kids etc.

In some cases, basically, a perfect storm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭OneIdea

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned that maybe these guards etc... are volunteers themselves in some form or other, would the OP begrudge them a meal for the work they may have done in the area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Disappointing lack of OP indignation the past few pages. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

I think the OP has a point. For many homeless folks, that lunchtime meal is the only one they get all day.

I understand that solicitors, gardai, court clerks etc. may have faced pay cuts, but saying that they need to resort to homeless shelters for a meal is a serious stretch. And if the OP recognised several of each, then there are probably several more of each that he did not know. If significant numbers were that badly off, then it would be all over the news.

I can understand the OP is particularly ticked off because these were the very same people who were instrumental in passing judgement on him, and now that he is apparently serving his punishment, he sees them effectively stealing from the homeless who really need these meals.

I remember in college it was a cool thing among the hippie / pothead crew to go to Cork Penny Dinners for lunchtime, and then head home after college in Daddy's merc. Never really thought much about it at the time, but now it kind of ticks me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Well done OP,those guards were undercover and now you have blown it for them!

Happy Now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Says a lot for the quality of the nosh. What's eh.. the exact address again?

Gandhi wrote: »
    I think the OP has a point. For many homeless folks, that lunchtime meal is the only one they get all day.

I understand that solicitors, gardai, court clerks etc. may have faced pay cuts, but saying that they need to resort to homeless shelters for a meal is a serious stretch. And if the OP recognised several of each, then there are probably several more of each that he did not know. If significant numbers were that badly off, then it would be all over the news.

I can understand the OP is particularly ticked off because these were the very same people who were instrumental in passing judgement on him, and now that he is apparently serving his punishment, he sees them effectively stealing from the homeless who really need these meals.

I remember in college it was a cool thing among the hippie / pothead crew to go to Cork Penny Dinners for lunchtime, and then head home after college in Daddy's merc. Never really thought much about it at the time, but now it kind of ticks me off.

Oh, I've no doubt that there are people out there who take advantage, but it really isn't a stretch to believe that there are significant numbers who are barely getting by, in arrears, etc.

And, as for the news, there's barely been anything else on it for the last three years.:confused:

Br. Kevin's been on it himself, together with representatives of the St. V de P, talking about the huge increase in numbers applying for help, and the new social demograph making up the working poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

IF this is true its a disgrace (Joe ;) ) and why the OP is there has no bearing on that. If you give money to the day center you want it to go to feeding the genuinely in need, that center is there to help people in dire straights, a garda with a paycut or a solicitor (who would be working if their at the four courts) is not in need of free food, the homeless guy with the severe substance abuse problem or the foreign national that can;t access the benefits system is no matter if their problems are self inflicted or not.

Oh, I've no doubt that there are people out there who take advantage, but it really isn't a stretch to believe that there are significant numbers who are barely getting by, in arrears, etc.

But if you look at garda salaries including allowances if they have debts high enough to prevent them feeding themselves they shoud be considering bankruptcy or handing back the keys, the working poor aren;t garda etc, its the cleaner earning 8.65 an hour or the guy holding up a sign or leafleting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

But if you look at garda salaries including allowances if they have debts high enough to prevent them feeding themselves they shoud be considering bankruptcy or handing back the keys, the working poor aren;t garda etc, its the cleaner earning 8.65 an hour or the guy holding up a sign or leafleting

Not necessarily these people could be getting some SW allowances with their pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

four18 wrote: »
    In the last week I have seen solicitors, 2 garda, 2 court clerks and a few others from well paid jobs coming in wearing an anorak or hoodie

you know solicitors, 2 garda and court clerks... well thats the story i want to hear....

hondasam wrote: »
    Not necessarily these people could be getting some SW allowances with their pay.

True, in some cases a low paid job and benefits can actually be a pretty decent living wage, however these benefits could also be accessed by the professions mentioned earlier if there was genuine need (arising from limited income, not huge debts which is why i mentioned bankruptcy)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

True, in some cases a low paid job and benefits can actually be a pretty decent living wage, however these benefits could also be accessed by the professions mentioned earlier if there was genuine need (arising from limited income, not huge debts which is why i mentioned bankruptcy)

I don't think a guard can keep his/her job if they are declared bankrupt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

hondasam wrote: »
    I don't think a guard can keep his/her job if they are declared bankrupt.

Really? I though that just applied to TDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

A convicted criminal begrudging Gardaí grabbing some free munch :pac: You do realise that your court costs alone, the judge, the solicitors, whatever crime you did, probably cost more than all the free dinners they'll eat for the next 5 years? Plus, they're aren't stealing the food from anyone. I doubt very much that there's not a surplus at the end of every day.

Mmh I think your right after quick internet search, TBH though in Dublin during the boom the country Garda landlord is a stereotype with an element of truth so it doesn't suprise me if some members now have massive negative equity due to greed (not saying all cases!).

token101 wrote: »
    A convicted criminal begrudging Gardaí grabbing some free munch :pac: You do realise that your court costs alone, the judge, the solicitors, whatever crime you did, probably cost more than all the free dinners they'll eat for the next 5 years? Plus, they're aren't stealing the food from anyone. I doubt very much that there's not a surplus at the end of every day.

And he got punished for it.

Thats bull**** when my OH and myself donated money to the cappachuns we had limited means ourselves but it was done to help people who were worse off than ourselves not some freeloader, if you've walked past cork street you can see the majority of the people outside really are on the bottom rung of society, the food and time that those 'free muchers' take up could be have been used to help somebody really in need by a service that i'm sure is struggling with the increases in poverty over the last number of years/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I haven't been in a major city in a while. Is there a real problem with homelessness and hunger in Dublin these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

OP you should stop looking around you and serve those dinners faster. I was over 30 minutes waiting today before I got served. I was nearly late back for work:mad:

Suggestion: set up an express queue for people in a hurry to get back to work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

micropig wrote: »
    OP you should stop looking around you and serve those dinners faster. I was over 30 minutes waiting today before I got served. I was nearly late back for work:mad:

Suggestion: set up an express queue for people in a hurry to get back to work
    Express queue me hole, get a bike OP and start doing workplace deliveries, use your bleedin initiative. That would also solve the problem of moochers in the queue - they could just phone in their order.Non sarcy answer - after reading the "things stingy people do" thread, nothing would surprise me OP, there's plenty of folk who's love for a free meal would outweigh their embarasment at free-loading, if they have any embarrasment in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

OP why don't you tell us all how you have not had as much as one chip from the place you are doing the CS, and you can stay up on your high horse.

A lot of professional people out there about to lose their house if they miss one more mortgage payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Amalgam

bluewolf wrote: »
    you post complaining about moochers and use the chance to get free advertising for the place you work for

They're not 'turning' a profit.. what's your beef exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Amalgam

More than one place in Dublin does this, some linked to a religious order, some not. Great work done.

Can't mention any (small) charity names on boards though, one of its little 'quirks'..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Amalgam wrote: »
    More than one place in Dublin does this, some linked to a religious order, some not. Great work done.

Can't mention any (small) charity names on boards though, one of its little 'quirks'..
    so now the Clergy and hangers-on are mooching free meals! Outrageous. The fact you are praising the queue-mooching God botherers is just too much. They should be ashamed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 460 ✭✭four18

Just miserable more like, not homeless just mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

How do you know that they're solicitors/garda/clerics/etc? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

How do you know that they're solicitors/garda/clerics/etc? :confused:

Clerks Jen, not clerics.