The Official After Hours Eurovision Final MegaThread [Sweden Wins]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

Jedward were always going to qualify, everyone in Europe knows them at this stage and most probably voted for them and would even have voted for them if they had sung the Irish national anthem in Greek.

That's why they were left with the 'golden ticket'. Pure television! They knew they'd get a reaction from them.

I could see them winning this time.

They still can't sing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The fashion of rabidly defending Jedward because "they're just having a bit of craic" and are Irish (their headwrecking accents certainly don't sound it) is extremely boring by now. Some people think they're awful, get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

I.. did watch the results; right before Ladyboys didn't get the 'win' I wanted but least they got pissed on n fell flat, teh hair pair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Dudess wrote: »
    The fashion of rabidly defending Jedward because "they're just having a bit of craic" and are Irish (their headwrecking accents certainly don't sound it) is extremely boring by now. Some people think they're awful, get over it.

Party pooper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Can anyone think of what that song is a rip off? It's doing my head in
    Ahava wrote: »
    Possibly "Crazy" by Alanis Morisette

Now now, it was written by Seal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

In fairness I don't utterly despise them or wish them harm, but their music has no redeemable qualities IMO - yeah it's fun and whatever but I personally have to like the tune, and this is just beyond bland IMO. They're also really annoying and weird IMO, even if kinda sweet and innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

have to say well done to John and Edward (together they are... JEDWARD) I liked their song from last year more, but wish them well... and the crazy cartwheels was just funny, though as another poster said: they were presented last to get that reaction. I liked the romanian song - its a typical spanish "cancion de verano" (summer song) and the girl that presented the finalists, in the red dress mmmmmmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I only seen Jedward's performance so can't say how I think they will do. But, I think last years song was better. It was much catchier than this years. Hopefully they do well, but I'll be very surprised if they win, or even finish in the top five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

the real question is...were any of the hosts or acts good looking lasses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

nice_very wrote: »
    and the crazy cartwheels was just funny, though as another poster said: they were presented last to get that reaction.

noooo don't spoil for the eurovision fans it was "completely random". Marty Whelan insists.. just like insisted he wouldn't chat up yer daughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah, the presenter in the black dress was hot. Sexy accent she had as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Im thinking of doing a eurovision party....:pac:

Delighted to see the lads getting through.
    The eurovision is a pile of shiite and theyre two knobs, but theyre not the worst n the world n fairness to them.

The song is crap though. It never really gets going or something.

In fairness I don't utterly despise them or wish them harm, but their music has no redeemable qualities IMO - yeah it's fun and whatever but I personally have to like the tune, and this is just beyond bland IMO. They're also really annoying and weird IMO, even if kinda sweet and innocent.

Of course there are people who are going to hate their music, if that's what you can even call it, but calling a couple of harmless young fellas who are just having a laugh and "living the dream", retards and other such names, is utterly pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Did the russian grannies get into the final ? Best song by far I can imagine being at a wedding and the DJ plays the tune party time. Get out of my way I'm hitting the dance floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

There so retarded, they have to be called retatded ;)

Fail, twice. :pac:

There's a word for that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

crusher000 wrote: »
    Did the russian grannies get into the final ? Best song by far I can imagine being at a wedding and the DJ plays the tune party time. Get out of my way I'm hitting the dance floor.

Yep, them and their bread got through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

crusher000 wrote: »

Yes. I think they'll win. :D The wife (and Stephen Fry) thought that they all fitted inside each other.

There were some real hotties there last night, but none hotter than the русский бабушки.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭cazzak79

Think the backing singers help them a lot they include Leeanne Moore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

If ya don't like it, don't watch it ... cranky! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i hate the eurovision.

awful music, awful tv presenters, awful waste of tax payer's money when we could be using it to keep hospital wards open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭dmcronin

Would Jedward be so big if there was only one of them?
    Is it the twin slightly freakshow thing that's setting them apart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭missbelle

dmcronin wrote: »

Yes, def think the twin thing is a novelty...ah sure look as long as they're happy, they make me smile :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I'm actually delighted for the lads that they got through. They're entertaining to watch.

I don't honestly understand why people would begrudge two young lads the chance to do something they clearly love and represent their country while doing it.

Have we really become so bitter and cynical in this country that we cannot allow ourselves to loosen up and enjoy a bit of entertainment?

Who cares what they sound like...some of musics biggest icons hadn't a note between them eg Bob Dylan, David Bowie.

I really think people need to lighten up and stop taking Jedward and the Eurovision so seriously...it's just a bit of fun and god knows this country could do with enjoying itself and smiling for once.

dmcronin wrote: »

No! They would be exactly* half as big.

*Well, not exactly half.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭missyb

I'm actually delighted for the lads that they got through. They're entertaining to watch.

I don't honestly understand why people would begrudge two young lads the chance to do something they clearly love and represent their country while doing it.

Have we really become so bitter and cynical in this country that we cannot allow ourselves to loosen up and enjoy a bit of entertainment?

Who cares what they sound like...some of musics biggest icons hadn't a note between them eg Bob Dylan, David Bowie.

I really think people need to lighten up and stop taking Jedward and the Eurovision so seriously...it's just a bit of fun and god knows this country could do with enjoying itself and smiling for once.

Really agree with this, I cant believe people worry about being embarrassed at the bloody eurovision, are we that insecure?!Eurovision has always been a bit mental, thats why its great fun, its only entertainment, C'mon Jedward, the madder the better!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Audrey take that back,You can't say that about Bob Dylan. Bowie ya I don't like him.

Jedward are great, making the most of what they have for the little time it will last, good luck to them. They are harmless tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I said last year, it was an okay song but that the cheorographer needed to be taken out and shot. I see this hasn't happened.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

hondasam wrote: »

Audrey take that back,You can't say that about Bob Dylan. Bowie ya I don't like him.

Jedward are great, making the most of what they have for the little time it will last, good luck to them. They are harmless tbh.
    Noticing that anyone remotely complimentary of j is a female. But on the plus side this is probably the best ratio us dudes are ever gonna get in ah.

The pleasure pain theory