Words that you rarely hear any more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Accepting CV's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Lighted.
    Fustigation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

superfragilisticexpialidocious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

Not exactly archaic but "shall" has never really been popular in this country but these days it's almost extinct except in comedic poncy type proclamations.

Which is kind of a good thing in my book - never liked the little sh1tty b@stard of a word. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

mikemac1 wrote: »
    parlor
    scullery

The grandparents had these rooms, I bet your grandparents did too

Now I'd call them a living room and a utility room, probably American influence

The parlor was an important room and young whippersnappers weren't allowed in there
    That was for important visitors

Adding to that vocabularly: the haggard.

Suppose it would be called a back yard now.

And a word you'd only really hear from an auld lad at a hurling match these days but was a threat back in the day: "skelp"
    i.e "stop acting the eejit before I hit ya a skelp"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Never hear kids sayin let's play kick the can

Awww - that sounds really sad and nostalgic at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Ride me sideways was another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Rounders (pre Celtic tiger field game)

Have they stopped playing this in schools?

I used to love playing rounders in primary school. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

codswallop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

wankstain

Get up the yard, the smell of bengy off ya!

<something> is da solid finehist
    Not heard that in a long time

mikemac1 wrote: »
    bengy

Right that's it - for the first time in this thread I haven't a clue??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Never used the expression myself but oldies used to 'spend a penny' whereas my generation used to 'have a slash' both seemed to have died out.

Ruralyoke wrote: »
    Right that's it - for the first time in this thread I haven't a clue??

Do you remember Glenroe?
    Before that were was Bracken, a very young Gabriel Byrne was in it ;)
    Before Bracken there was The Riordans

'Get up the yard, there's a smell of Benjy off you!' came from that and became widely know, even decades later

Showing my age :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

"Gurrier" describing a little scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭nick 56

I learnt that wellington boots were called cossacks, I got out of a car by the GPO and got whoo hard by some guttersnipes as in "look at your man in his cossacks" -- much joy and laughter.

Geezer (for a cat)

cuddly sack (a cul-de- sac)

I will in me bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Maybe this is just a kilkenny thing but back in the 90's people used to say weapon as a means to describe something great. Then the cool kids shortened it to wep.

Interchangable with 'awesome' now I suppose. Feckin yanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

Seventy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 ruskey!

spend a penny - thats when it was affordable pre celtic tiger !!!!
    we're talking euro now......... so you gotta spend in style !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Izzy j

Vexed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭Archeron

Ragamuffin
    Tinker
    Whirligig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 ruskey!

did anyone ever hear of a Honda 50 being described as a "japanese sewing machine!! Ha! Ha! I'm enjoying the memories:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Phonebox is another word that's going out of fashion very quick . I like this thread it's bringing me back to my younger days:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭some random drunk

words my Mam uses that no one of my generation does:

jaded
    pup - to describe someone bad eg, "That fella's a right little pup, he is"
    "tins of 7up"
    diamond - to mean something good
    blackguard
    gurrier
    "out gallivanting"
    "sally forth"
    queer - to mean something strange
    "golly!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

"I Love You"....haven't heard that in a long time.

*Sob's uncontrollably*

supercan

Bring these back I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I must be living back in time, I would still use a lot of those words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭pipelaser

"Get outa that Garden!" if you're a Dub

Also Calling things Moon, if you're from Navan.

Seeing something great "Thats Moon!"
    Describing someone Crazy "Hes Moon in the Head!"