Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭campo

So basically he has not resigned and he also has not been sacked and seems to me that he will be still manager next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭flanzer

Well it seems Dalglish came back from Boston this morning employed by LFC and is still employed with LFC and all the rumours were complete bullshít

That's it. I'm turning off the internet until August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

No change in manager Kenny stays.

Tony Barrett ‏ @TonyBarretTimes
    Kenny Dalglish has returned to Merseyside following talks with Liverpool’s owner, Fenway Sports Group (FSG), in Boston.

The Liverpool manager travelled to Massachusetts yesterday along with Steve Clarke, his assistant, and met with John W Henry and Tom Werner, the club’s principal owners, as part of an ongoing review into Liverpool’s performance last season.

As planned, Dalglish flew back to Heathrow after the meeting had ended, while Clarke remained in Boston where he accompanied Henry and Werner to Fenway Park to watch the Boston Red Sox record a comfortable 6-1 win over the Seattle Mariners.

Contrary to speculation that surfaced following the summit, Dalglish did not resign and nor was he sacked with the outcome of the talks being a mundane acceptance from all parties that the process of reviewing the season will continue.

Henry and Werner are seeking an explanation for Liverpool’s shortcomings during a disappointing campaign which culminated with them finishing in eighth place in the Premier League. The duo are also looking to Dalglish and Clarke to provide a vision of how they will revitalise the club’s fortunes.

Having already dismissed Damien Comolli from his role as director of football and a number of other senior executives, FSG have demonstrated that they will not shirk at making big decisions but they will know that removing Dalglish, a hugely popular figure amongst Liverpool’s support, would be another matter entirely.

For his part, Dalglish continues to plan for the future by scouting and targeting the players who he believes will help spark the kind of improvement that Liverpool’s owners are looking for. But until the review is concluded it is impossible to say with any great certainty that Dalglish will be in a position to put those plans into practice.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭Sappy404

campo wrote: »
    So basically he has not resigned and he also has not been sacked and seems to me that he will be still manager next season

Considering the more-or-less unfounded rumour was that he'd resigned, and with respectable people now saying he very much hasn't, I think it's fair to say the whole thing was a load of b0llocks.

I suppose it was inevitable given his trip to the US yesterday and him coming home so soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Morzadec wrote: »
    I don't agree with the fact that just because a manager has never managed a top team that he will automatically be a failure. But it is certainly a risk. For that reason I'd be against Martinez, but if he were to be appointed I'd give him every chance to succeed and I'd be far from sure that it would be a definite failure.

If we were going to take a risk I'd prefer us to go for Lambert though, his achievements with Norwich are phenomenal and far outstrip Martinez's. He has experience playing at the top level of football in the modern era also.

Don't think it's wise to judge managers based on a good spell of results, better to judge a consistent manager.

Some managers are really good at putting together a good spell at the end of the season and people tend to remember that patch more than a rubbish first 6 months of the season because its during the summer that managers are usually hired and fired.

Dalglish had a good spell at the start of the season but now all people remember is the rubbish few months at the end.

For the majority of the season Martinez and Wigan were clueless and people are saying (not necessarily here but in England) that Martinez is a great manager, ready for a big club and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

So FSG still haven't decided what to do, I hope they hurry up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Well, I'm one of those that wanted to see him replaced. However, the fact that FSG have made this decision so early is a big boost. Players and staff will all know exactly where they stand and the pretty major rebuilding job that's needed can begin in earnest with everyone knowing exactly how things stand.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

So FSG still haven't decided what to do, I hope they hurry up.

I think they have decided, and I think they've decided to stick with Kenny.

The decision would have been in play for months if the writing was on the wall, and they would have executed it by now/yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Kess73 wrote: »
    There were only 3 first team signing at Chelsea during his reign. Mata, Cahill, and Meireles. The other 9 were all 20 or under and a fair chunk of them went out on loans nearly straight away afaik.

Of the 9, a few look to be potential gems like the Belgian trio of Lukaku, Courtois, and De Bruyne.

Piazon, and Romeu look to have stacks of potential as well as most likely having a good resale value, plus they got Bamford for 1.5m.

They got all 12 players for close to what we paid for 3 english players and I would bet that if they sold all 12 in the morning they would get far more for them than if we sold our three.

Bear in mind also he got Lukaku and De Bruyne signed for him by Roman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭PFL

Jaysus what a pile of sh*ite - twitter should be taking apart piece by piece and put out for recycling, how will we last three months of this ITK b*ollocks - In Kenny We Trust (For Now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I wonder who's next on the made-up-rumour roundabout?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Honestly this would have been a non story a couple of years ago .

That fecking Twitter machine has a lot to answer for :mad:

Bring back good oul CEEFAX . slow as fook but full of facts .

Leiva wrote: »
    Honestly this would have been a non story a couple of years ago .

That fecking Twitter machine has a lot to answer for :mad:

Bring back good oul CEEFAX . slow as fook but full of facts .

And class for porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

So, Belhanda....Do we have a chance of signing him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

spockety wrote: »

The decision would have been in play for months if the writing was on the wall, and they would have executed it by now/yesterday.

Not necessarily, they may have been hoping that Dalglish would take it upon himself to step down (a lot on here were sure that Dalglish would resign if it didn't work out, and wouldn't force the club to sack him) and maybe the fact that he hasn't has thrown them a bit. If that is the situation, they have a potential mess on their hands and have to go about removing Dalglish in the best way possible to keep the fans happy.

imo

NO

spockety wrote: »

I'd have expected some kind of PR release about it if that were the case, I'm sure it will be announced when they come to their decision.

Only if City get Hazard I s'pose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,904 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

PFL wrote: »
    I know it's the Mirror but......

Liverpool latest: Dalglish enters showdown talks with Henry as sack rumours swirl

Liverpool's uncertain managerial situation expected to become clear by 4pm

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/kenny-dalglish-sacked-rumours-liverpool-833821

The ****ing Mirror ladies and gentlemen...

Seriously, people who buy into the modern media / twitter sphere as sources of reliable football info are retards.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Blatter wrote: »
    Not necessarily, they may have been hoping that Dalglish would take it upon himself to step down (a lot on here were sure that Dalglish would resign if it didn't work out, and wouldn't force the club to sack him) and maybe the fact that he hasn't has thrown them a bit. If that is the situation, they have a potential mess on their hands and have to go about removing Dalglish in the best way possible to keep the fans happy.

These guys would not be "thrown" by that type of scenario. They would have all the eventualities and scenarios planned to a tee.

If they wanted him gone, he would be gone whether he decided to go or not.

"Hmm, ****, he said he won't go? What do we do now?" .. I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

I'd have expected some kind of PR release about it if that were the case, I'm sure it will be announced when they come to their decision.

Do you expect a club statement every time a few fkin eegits talk sh1te on twitter?.

Load a bollox the last 24 hours have been. A pre planned meeting took place, thats the news, thats where it ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,904 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

lol at the idea of John Henry and Tom Werner banking on Dalglish to resign and not having a clue what to do when he didn't...

lol at the idea that the club should release a statement periodically confirming that there has been no change to staff lists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭PFL

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    The ****ing Mirror ladies and gentlemen...

Seriously, people who buy into the modern media / twitter sphere as sources of reliable football info are retards.

HEY - Don't shoot the messenger, I just posted the link even gave a preamble
    I know it's the Mirror but......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

lol at the idea of John Henry and Tom Werner banking on Dalglish to resign and not having a clue what to do when he didn't...

lol at the idea that the club should release a statement periodically confirming that there has been no change to staff lists...

Do you really believe Henry and Werner were expecting him to fly in to resign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Only if City get Hazard I s'pose.

And United get Kagawa, and if Arsenal or Chelsea don't decide they're interested in him either. And thats not even including the money boys of PSG and Malaga.

Gone are they days where I felt bullish about our chances of signing near the top end of the market despite the competition.

Three seasons languishing between 6th and 8th has had a serious negative impact on our repuation abroad I would imagine. Honestly, thank fcuk for Suarez, I'd have very little hope of signing a player of Belhanda's quality otherwise.

I honestly think the next 3 months are crucial to our club's future and if Kenny is staying on then I hope it truly was Commoli who was responsible for last summer's transfer window. We need to be smart and stop leaving good players go by without even trying to sign them. Yeah, I'm thinking Arda Turan, Cisse, Sow, Toulalan, Vidal and the likes.

How many players of that quality and value, willing to sign for a team outisde of CL footy will be available this year I do not know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

amiable wrote: »
    Yes

I'm gonna pick your answer.

We need a bit of hope and good news round here.

daithijjj wrote: »
    Do you expect a club statement every time a few fkin eegits talk sh1te on twitter?.

Load a bollox the last 24 hours have been. A pre planned meeting took place, thats the news, thats where it ends.

When nearly every top level employee at Liverpool has been sacked/regisned in the last number of months over the last few weeks than I do expect the owners to release a statement if they plan on backing their manager or not after they've held their end of season review. I'll be shocked if a statement isn't released at some stage along the lines of "we look forward to kenny working hard during the summer in signing players who will help in his quest to challenge for 4th blah blah".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

plasmaguy wrote: »
    My point is he strung together a few very good results, but for 7 months of the season Wigan were awful.

Ah I don't think anyone said he was world class to be fair, slightly exagerated that bit.

It's more the usual hype merchants in the English media and the British analysts, linking him with this club and that club.

He's been at Wigan a few years now and they've never done much good under him, always been in or around the relegation zone.

You know how the English media are, a player lets call him Sandy Corral for the sake of argument, has a purple patch and scores a few goals in a few games and suddenly he's world class and then someone goes and splashes out the big bucks based on Sandy Corral's reputation in the British media.

Seriously if you want proper analysis of the game, ignore the English media altogether.

Are you in a position to criticize anyone's analysis of the game after Sunday?:pac:

It has happened again. I just totally forgot about Charlie Adam .