Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terenure 5 mile 13/5/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Here's a rough Garmin course (it's slightly less than 5 miles because it's following the map data)
    http://connect.garmin.com/course/1189185

The elevation graph is a bit off-putting because the scale is so small. The difference is only 8.5 metres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Just so the slowmo's are represented I'll add myself, did 44:39 in '10, 42:32 in'11 so would be happy to knock anything off that. McMillan calculator says not based on my 5k & 10k times but we'll see.

RayCun 30.59
    Belcarra 33:59 a long way behind woddle :D
    Woddle 32:50
    Seamus 37:59
    Dotcomdolly 41:59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭SnailsPace

RayCun wrote: »
    nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Anyone got a garmin link? Looks like a fast course.

No Garmin, but a mapmyrun on the website. It's very flat. Might be a bit of wind on Fortfield Road.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/169585734

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Woddle wrote: »
    I'm going to run the route on Saturday morning if anyone is interested, about 12 and then as far as I know you can collect your number from 1 in Terenure college.

If you run it after collecting your number (about 1.15-1.30) i can join you for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

menoscemo wrote: »
    If you run it after collecting your number (about 1.15-1.30) i can join you for that?

Suppose to be coaching a few of the kids in Marlay at 2:30 but I'll see if I can change the time around and get back to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Woddle wrote: »
    Suppose to be coaching a few of the kids in Marlay at 2:30 but I'll see if I can change the time around and get back to you.

If we start at 1.15 we'll be done before 2 and you'll be in marlay in plenty of time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 FeargO

Can anyone tell me if the route is prone to runners cutting corners. Would prefer if the bigger races like Raheny, Rathfarnham & Sportsworld would look at cordoning off the corners.

Starting to get fed up of losing places by sticking to the proper route !

FeargO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

FeargO wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me if the route is prone to runners cutting corners. Would prefer if the bigger races like Raheny, Rathfarnham & Sportsworld would look at cordoning off the corners.

Starting to get fed up of losing places by sticking to the proper route !

FeargO

There are a few small corners on the course, nothing that's going to shave 10 seconds. Most will be cordoned off with stewards.

It's natural instinct to find the quickest way from A-B and most people don't realise how frustrating it can be to see someone cut a whole section of the course out. i can raise this again so there is a good awareness by the stewards who are all club memebers.

Prizes for the race on Saturday are as follows. The top five men and women will receives as follows.

Individual Senior

1st – €400
    2nd – €250
    3rd – €150
    4th – €100
    5th – €50

Team Prizes (Four to score for men and women)
    1st – €200
    2nd – €100

Age Categories (1st and 2nd men and women)

Awards for O40, O45, O50, O55, O60, O65

Juniors:

1st and 2nd Boy and Girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭doledude86

Im number 821 just collected my number

RayCun 30.59
    Belcarra 33:59 a long way behind woddle biggrin.gif
    doledude86 37.59

so ill be looking for you there Seamus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭SnailsPace

RayCun 30.59
    doledude86 37.59
    SnailsPace 39:58

RayCun 30.59
    doledude86 37.59
    SnailsPace 39:58
    gmurran 26:30 ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭gnu

Impressive times folks - best of luck tomorrow! My goal is just to finish, hopefully with a smile on my face!

gmurran I was wondering what tshirt availability is like, are any sizes running out? I couldn't make it to pick up my pack today as I'd hoped but hopefully there'll still be some tomorrow.

gnu wrote: »
    Impressive times folks - best of luck tomorrow! My goal is just to finish, hopefully with a smile on my face!

gmurran I was wondering what tshirt availability is like, are any sizes running out? I couldn't make it to pick up my pack today as I'd hoped but hopefully there'll still be some tomorrow.

Small has been popular but there was plenty left when I left the hall at 4 today. Get there early enough tomorrow and you should be fine.

I got a small one myself so sizes are decent.

gmurran wrote: »
    Small has been popular but there was plenty left when I left the hall at 4 today. Get there early enough tomorrow and you should be fine.

I got a small one myself so sizes are decent.
    Thanks, small is what I'm after - how early do you think I should get there? Don't want to arrive too early or I've too much time get nervous!

gnu wrote: »
    Thanks, small is what I'm after - how early do you think I should get there? Don't want to arrive too early or I've too much time get nervous!

Ha Ha lol! I'm going to be out putting signs up so I wont be able to put one aside but 9.15-9.30 ish and you should be good. Cheers

gmurran wrote: »
    Ha Ha lol! I'm going to be out putting signs up so I wont be able to put one aside but 9.15-9.30 ish and you should be good. Cheers

Thanks a mill, will aim for around then. BTW there's a great sign for the race by Nutgrove shopping centre - looks good and keeps catching my eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Was running down the Khyber pass in the park on tuesday evening and a lad from sportsworld stopped and asked if I wanted to part-take in this race. What's the craic with registering on the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Was running down the Khyber pass in the park on tuesday evening and a lad from sportsworld stopped and asked if I wanted to part-take in this race. What's the craic with registering on the day?

What an original pick-up line :D

You can register in the morning at Terenure College from 8.30-10.30. Well over 1000 registered so it will be a good run.

There is an extra €5 (€25 total) charge for registration on the day. sorry don't make the rules :) But I'm happy to say at least €10 will go to Special Olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

What an original pick-up line :D

hahaha - it was about 9.30pm, lone female running down there at dusk, scared the crap out of me :pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

My 2nd official run ever tomorrow (won't even call it a race as that will just put me off). :) First run was last weekend's 4km in Summerhill. Have been doing 6km/7km training runs so hopefully will finish this 8km ok.

As for time - would be delighted with anything under 50m, preferably around 47/48m or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Very windy out here this morning...pbs may be hard to come by....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

34:45 according to my watch. The nailbiting begins to see if chiptime puts me one up vs Claralara in our 2 race battle today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

37 mins even by my watch. Stopped it at the first mat :rolleyes: so probably a second or two off the chip. No matter, very happy with that anyway.

Wind was tough enough on Wainsfort road as expected but also made the last few hundred metres before KCR quite tough in the last mile. Though my knee started giving out exactly at 4 miles so I gave up my plan of hammering the last mile home.

5.04miles in 38mins 16secs according to my forerunner!! Its over to the offical time now to see if im sub38

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

belcarra wrote: »
    34:45 according to my watch. The nailbiting begins to see if chiptime puts me one up vs Claralara in our 2 race battle today!

Well done, I was running behind you for the first 2 miles before I bailed and added yet another dnf to my career (nicknamed the Cragg :D
    I woke up at 6 this morning thanks to the baby and just felt like crap, went back to bed for an hour at 9 and it didn't help. I only started the race because I got a free number and thought it bad form not to turn up.
    6:35 for the first mile but I was dead on my feet and the pace was dropping the whole time.

Really good turnout and if the wind had of fceked off it'd be a fast course.
    Only negative was that the girl on the mic (who was good with her banter) was too loud, you couldn't cheer people up the finish as you were drowned out by her.

Well done sportsworld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭doughef

Great race,..

Great organisation. Easy registration yesterday, loads of room at the start and a lovely course

Well done Sportsworld :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Nice race today, and a good turnout, about 1100 people I think.
    31.23 on my watch, about the same as RTE last week. Not what I wanted but it was pretty windy out there so I'm happy enough.

Chip time 38:36 so im happy with that first race since DCM09..congrats raycun