Travellers street racing with horses, Gardai involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

hondasam wrote: »
    You expect them to jump onto the horse and pepper spray them?

No, but it sprays a god few feet. They could pull up beside them and give it a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

They should've shot at the horse's hooves to deflate them so they'd go down to rims and slow down.

I'm sure it would work................maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

No, but it sprays a god few feet. They could pull up beside them and give it a try.

LMFAO Are you serious? have you any idea the speed these go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Duggy747 wrote: »
    They should've shot at the horse's hooves to deflate them so they'd go down to rims and slow down.

Only after they set up a road block up the way with those spikes. Also there needed to be an oil tanker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

What, so you're saying they should have temporarily blinded someone who's already acting in a dangerous manner. That's madness, if they'd done that and there had been an accident, you could guarantee it wouldn't be the traveller held responsible.

what county is this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,773 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Duggy747 wrote: »

Shooting out the horse hooves to deflate them. I've seen stupid things on AH before but this is the worst.

Everyone know that travellers horses use run-flat hooves :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

chin_grin wrote: »
    Only after they set up a road block up the way with those spikes. Also there needed to be an oil tanker!

Beside said oil tanker there should be a ramp to which the horse & cart will fly over the inevitable explosion in slow-motion (guitar solo squeal optional) while the Gardaì cars smash aimlessly into each other.

A garda should then crawl out of one of the wrecked cars, dust himself down and mutter "I'm too old for this shìt!"

*Lethal Weapon sax solo*

what county is this ?

Few C reg'd cars, but sure it could be anywhere.

what county is this ?

Cork maybe going on the accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Only in Ireland would you see these muppets doing this, absolute disgrace with no respect for others :mad:

Dirtbags nothing more nothing less.

A blight on society and Ireland in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

mmcn90 wrote: »
    What, so you're saying they should have temporarily blinded someone who's already acting in a dangerous manner. That's madness, if they'd done that and there had been an accident, you could guarantee it wouldn't be the traveller held responsible.

With that attitude, chasing them at all could be considered provocative, and could impact their safety. The fact is that they're on the wrong side of a road, putting others lives at risk. The cops in the US don't sit there and let themselves be made fools of. They end the dangerous situation, in the fastest way possible to reduce risk to the rest of the public.

Harsh, I agree, but they clearly don't understand anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Cork maybe going on the accent.
    It is on the Mallow road here in Beautiful Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭NiallFH

Time to get a few American cops over for some pit maneuver's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

Dammit -I bet all my money on the bob tailed nag, my friend bet on the grey.

Show Time wrote: »
    It is on the Mallow road here in Beautiful Cork.

Did you watch the video? :pac:

With that attitude, chasing them at all could be considered provocative, and could impact their safety. The fact is that they're on the wrong side of a road, putting others lives at risk. The cops in the US don't sit there and let themselves be made fools of. They end the dangerous situation, in the fastest way possible to reduce risk to the rest of the public.

Harsh, I agree, but they clearly don't understand anything else.

This is not the US.
    Making a dangerous situation worse is not the answer, they were going to stop eventually.
    There is no way the guards could stop them on that road with the amount of traffic on it without causing an accident, probably to an innocent motorist.
    NiallFH wrote: »
    Time to get a few American cops over for some pit maneuver's

They would just shoot the horses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Only in Ireland would the Gardai hammer seven shades of sh1te out of innocent honest law-abiding students yet allow the likes of these detritus of society run amok on the public roads.

The Gardai have their priorities all wrong and how I'd like to see them baton charge these scumbags and hammer them senseless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Stinicker wrote: »
    Only in Ireland would the Gardai hammer seven shades of sh1te out of innocent honest law-abiding students yet allow the likes of these detritus of society run amok on the public roads.

The Gardai have their priorities all wrong and how I'd like to see them baton charge these scumbags and hammer them senseless.

Yeah..... It's still funnier watching them baton charge the innocent honest law-abiding students though.

Stinicker wrote: »

Hardly the same thing tbf. Some law-abiding students but not all law-abiding.

If the gardai hammered the travellers in the clip everyone would applaud them, I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Fair play to them for providing 10 mins entertainment for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

If you ignored a police car like that in most other countries in Europe, you'd be opening yourself up to serious consequences.

If you tried that in France for example, you could be 100% assured that the police would :

1) Absolutely bring the situation under control (with serious physical force)
    2) The horses would have been impounded / confiscated.
    3) Everyone involved would have been arrested, if necessary with the riot police involved - tear gas etc.
    4) YouTube footage would have been used to bring prosecutions.

The US police would probably have just opened fire!

This isn't funny, it's just total lawlessness and it put hundreds of road users in danger, not to mention that it's extremely cruel to the horses.

Given that this is on YouTube, there are plenty of images of regs etc, the entire traffic law book should be thrown at them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

The arseholes in the "camera car" were more dangerous than the horses. And surely the cops could ID the riders from this video alone?

NB. Needs subtitles. I couldn't understand a word.

Solair wrote: »

This isn't funny, it's just total lawlessness and it put hundreds of road users in danger, not to mention that it's extremely cruel to the horses.

Given that this is on YouTube, there are plenty of images of regs etc, the entire traffic law book should be thrown at them!

Are you assuming the guards did nothing? I would assume they will be charged with lots of things.

Well, based on that video, it looks like nothing happened and I've heard nothing on the news (and that would get coverage).

You've heard nothing on the government-approved news station(s)? Fancy that! <puts on tin foil hat>

chin_grin wrote: »
    You've heard nothing on the government-approved news station(s)? Fancy that! <puts on tin foil hat>

Eh, we've a LOT more than "government approved" news outlets...
    Do you think you live in China or something?

Eh, we've a LOT more than "government approved" news outlets...
    Do you think you live in China or something?

I was just making a sarcastic point that some (most) local occurrences are conveniently omitted from reports. No need to be jumping down my throat.

Are you serious, you think every time the guards summon people it should be on the news. You can be sure they threw the book at them.

I didn't see it being thrown in the vid. Good tactic though, confuse them with words.

/sarcasm.