Who else has crap parents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Thread reminds me of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Peetrik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭decembersun77

Musefan wrote: »
    My father drank himself into having brain damage last week and now has severe memory loss, doesn't recognize his own family, threatened to choke me when I challenged the fact he is making up stories and now will most likely be dependent for the rest of his life. The nurse said he was the most manipulative and evasive man she had ever met, even with an Iq now bordering on moderate mental retardation. Once when he was sober, I was staying with him and we were coming home late after a family visit. His neighbors saw him from afar entering into his house with a young woman (me) and began wolfwhistling and catcalling at him because it looked like he had someone back for the night. He gave them a thumbs up and walked inside. He was too conscious of his reputation than to think how totally disgusted I was.

My mother, after being abused by him for 20 years, and separated from him for 10, and despite hating the man, went to his apartment, scrubbed everything clean after all the filth he had left, carted all his clothes two hours to home, and cleaned them all. She has stocked his freezer for when he gets home. She has also invited him for christmas dinner every year since they divorced, and on the day of her divorce she allowed him sober up at her house. She is absolutely amazing.

Im sorry to hear about your father. He had some serious issues so he did. Your mother is a great person.

I think my parents should have never have gotten married but then me and my brothers wouldn't of been born. I don't know maybe it was meant to be by some twist of fate. Anyways our basic needs were met and some of our social needs were met too but that was about it. I have learned not to need my parents and I don't need a family either, although I love them and care about them. I have always depended on myself because I know I won't let myself down. It can get upsetting sometimes because there are people that talk about their families and seemed to have a good relationship and fun with their families/parents. I don't know why people talk about things when you don't even need to know and you didn't ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

My therapist says I blanked out a whole bunch, so I don't remember a lot of my childhood. I do know that apparently my Pop was a demon, but my Mom was and is infinitely worse. Dad is a really good guy, now, really supporting of all my stupid ideas and is even helping me make a robot suit. My Mom is a manipulative bitch I haven't spoken to in years. I'm two teeth down because of her. We ended up in her custody because she kidnapped us after going missing for something like two years, and for some reason the courts decided we were better off being with her than with him, despite him having a career, a decent enough family (Grandparents were the absolute best), so on. I blame the fucked up court system over here for the Hell my Sisters and I went through just as much as I blame my Mom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

This thread is depressing for a Friday afternoon on a bank holiday :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I genuinely couldn't have hoped for better parents. I'll always respect the things they've done for us, particularly during their separation, when our happiness and well being was placed before their own problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Has anyone ever tried to talk to a parent about how much of a crap parent they were its hilarious ah no shure that was your [other parent]'s fault *continues doing what they were doing - pause* shure I brought you to the beach that time, remember that, that was great you had a grand childhood so you did what are you talking about?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

naysayer wrote: »
    I think that was one of the best posts I've ever read.

You do realise the poster 'borrowed' this, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

My mother is amazing, don't have a bad word to say about her. She always put the family before herself. A truly incredible woman.

My parents separated when I was a toddler so I don't remember living with my dad. My older siblings have told me it wasn't good. My mother has told me lots of bad things about him. He has a lot of problems and wasn't able to deal with them.

In the few times I've met him in my life, I've found him to be a detestable character: manipulative, antagonistic, insensitive, I could go on and on. In some ways, I'm glad he didn't raise me as I imagine it wouldn't have been nice. My family life was happy as a kid so I'm glad that wasn't damaged by having an unhappy influence added to the mix.

I always wonder how my mother ended up with him. My mother remarried and her new husband is also a gob****e, though he parades as a nice guy. I don't know how she picks them.

summerskin wrote: »

Well there's at least one poster who didn't know, and the lack of quotes suggests someone trying to take credit for someone elses creativity. No doubt you plagarised the picture also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

My parents used to go out most nights and get píssed. My father took so much sick leave from work, it was unreal. They would then ring me at 2 or 3am to go out and pick them up and on the way home they would proceed to have a row which sometimes involved physical violence. Things would really kick off when they got home. I would be falling asleep at school the next day.

When I was sixteen, I was going through a really rough time and one evening asked my "dad" could I talk to him - his response was before he grabbed his jacket and fúcked off out drinking was "talk to me when Im drunk" which he thought was hilarious. My mother worked all the hours that god sent when she wasn't drinking but he would do anything he could to avoid work. He insisted I go to college so as he said himself "I would get a big job and look after him."

To my father, my siblings and I were just byproducts of something he liked doing. He never spent time with us or did any of the normal things that a dad does with their children. He hoped to use us when we got older and started earning to provide for him! He eventually got fired from his job and has lived off my mother ever since. He is still the same, if there is any work to be done he will run a mile. We hardly speak now, but I have managed to have a kind of normal relationship with my mother (she doesn't drink as much now).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yep my ma was f*cking horrible.

I was playing basketball one day when a couple of guys who were up to no good started trouble, I ended up in one fight and she sent me off to live with my aunt and uncle who live miles away (forced me to take a cab and pay with my own money) she said she was scared or something (bullsh*t she just didn't want to look after me). Jokes on her though, my Aunt and Uncle are loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭AnnaVanilla

This thread makes me want to give a lot of hugs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Crikey after reading some of the replies i have to be thankful for the brilliant parents i had (my dad died 12yrs ago, my mum is still alive) I couldnt say one bad thing about them, i love them both to bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

CJC999 wrote: »
    Crikey after reading some of the replies i have to be thankful for the brilliant parents i had (my dad died 12yrs ago, my mum is still alive) I couldnt say one bad thing about them, i love them both to bits.

Lucky you! As they say you can choose your friends but not your family.

juan.kerr wrote: »

Well there's at least one poster who didn't know, and the lack of quotes suggests someone trying to take credit for someone elses creativity. No doubt you plagarised the picture also.

http://www.troll.me/images/creepy-willy-wonka/you-must-be-new-here-thumb.jpg

Looking forward to something original from you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

CJC999 wrote: »
    Crikey after reading some of the replies i have to be thankful for the brilliant parents i had.
    I think I should get the parachute because I'm great. In fact, I think I should get both the parachutes, in case one of them doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My dad has always been great, he's always supported me in anything I was doing and never judged me if I fcuked up.

My Mam was really hard on us when we were small, I in particular was beaten quite badly even been knocked unconscious on one occasion. She mellowed out as the years went on and really was a great mother in other ways doing a lot for us all. I don't blame her for the violence, she was only 21 when I was born and suffered an awful double tragedy in the same year with both her sister and father dying weeks apart, I don't think she ever really recovered from that. She's apologised profusely to me and I know she really regrets what happened in those early years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

All this talk of therapists reminds me of America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

my dad is lovely but was never really around - always working, at gaa matches, legion of mary or whatever other committee needed him. He's a nice mild mannered man though. I got some help financially when I was at college and overall I cant complain but its never been a close relationship - i could go months wothout speaking to him.

my mum was always sore on me - i always felt like a burden - i remember being told at five years of age that she wished she'd never had me - my crime was to dirty the knee of a new pair of trousers. i wasnt beaten, i was fed and generally looked after but i remember being on my own a lot - i was the youngest of six and there was a gap between us.

i've never really had a birthday party, my communion and confirmation were like any other day. my graduation was no biggie either. I was buillied at school and my parents didnt help. i was always afraid of the dark and my mum would never let me into their bedroom at night for comfort - i remember spending whole nights paralysed with fear!

I have no sense of ever really mattering or being loved by them. I get on great with all my siblings except my one sister - although we both agree that my mum much favoured the boys.

I get on ok with mum and dad now - i visit regularly and phone weekly but i look after myself - i have and always will suffer with low self esteem and am envious of friends etc who have had loving childhoods and close relationships with parents.

phew - this thread hurts!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

My mother just done everything she could to break my spirit, She wanted me to be a catholic Fianna Fáil style nerd. When I started to show interest in girls I was treated like a pervert !! Pure old school type women she is but she was brought up like that, Her humour was always sour, Just because I had a high IQ and was considered highly intelligent by my teachers she presumed I was lazy because I had bad concentration (who wouldn't when they are depressed as a child) so my homework always consisted of her standing over me with a wooden spoon. She would even sit there staring at you eat, She didn't even realise how rotten she is, She claims to hate violence yet loved beating on me, Hypocrite, Once I turned 17 I just hit her back. She thinks everybody else is rotten and of course she still loves the church, Ha it must have broke her heart when I went off the rails and ended up in court and prison. Just as well she never drank alcohol or she would be ten times worse.

My father is sound though, He just stayed out of it as much as he could, He must have hated her too..The most mismatched couple you could ever have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I can't complain. My mother can be a bit nasty to me for no good reason, but I know better than let her get to me. Shes quite prudish and also imaptient. I adore my Dad, I can't fault him in any way, great sense of humour. They aren't really a good match IMO. She's really straight laced, he enjoys a few and a bit of craic. She won't have more than one or two and she's off to bed leaving himself on his own. She doesn't really have a discussion with him without it turning into a nag, so I'd say he's delighted when she fcuks off to bed. I don't think I could be in a marriage like that, but they tolerate each other somehow.

Oh, and she keeps a weapon beside the bed just in case he tries anything funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cliffandclare

My mother is fantastic she is the nicest person i know . A truly lovely woman . My dad is a hard man to describe, an awful temper , very strict , but aside from that is a good man underneath it all. A very good living man very religious .For all his shouting and roaring if anything goes wrong he is always there . Lecturing i know but he does try to help , now you couldnt be emotional with him .He would think you were dying if you said you loved him , but if your car breaks down he is the first on to help.

Now my mother in law is evil personified. The childhood my poor husband had was like something from a barnados add , he actually cant belive how good my parents are . How much time they have for us and their grandkids etc .Iwould like to tell her what a nasty bitch she is but i try to keep the peace. My husband HATES her. she would dissapear to the pub for days at a time leaving them all alone , she would be spaced out on pills most of the time. Never cooked for them or anything, they lived on chips but they all overcame it, they all got out into the world and did well, in spite of their appalling childhoods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Can't complain either. Have always been really good to us, and made sacrifices and disciplined us when needed. Happy and lucky I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I had a good childhood. My Dad worked all his life. Our Dad helped us with our homework and read to us almost every night and brought us for walks to the local woods on sunny weekends (and other kids who's folks weren't as interested, lol). We went to the beach as a family most summer weekends.

My Ma was always around the house cooking and baking (she did a bit of work when we were in school). We always got a good dinner and really didn't want for anything. We got slapped the odd time but nothing out of the ordinary for those times.

I grew up in the north and I have to commend my Catholic folks for trying to insulate us from sectarianism. I remember having to ask them what 'a fenian' (bastard) was when another kid called me it. They even bought us sweets, crisps* and lemonade for the 12th of July 'parades' (we thought it was fantastic with all the drums and colours and noise).

I feel quite lucky I must say.

*Taytos (for those who don't know what crisps are) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Mother was perfect, started of as a mother and then like an older sister and as we both got older we became really good close friends and still are.

My old man had a very very tough childhood but turned out ok. He worked every hour he could to keep us in a good standard of living and his free time was spent in the pub and bookies spending his pocket money that my mother gave after all the bills were paid.

A bit of violence throughout the years due to me and him being drunk but my mother always made sure it was sorted the next day and then it was always forgotten. A good skin in fairness he still bringing me to Old Trafford 20 odd years.

As a couple they never really suited but married for over 30 years so it couldn't of been all bad.

Welling up here, going to go and look at porn or something make sure my balls are still there.

Actually reading thread this makes me feel very ****ing lucky I remember in school a kid who had obvious family problems came in to school with very old and torn football boots because his parents couldn't afford shoes and we all know how horrible kids can be to each other..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

I could sit here and list the many character flaws of my parents, but at the end of the day they provided me with everything I needed and lots of what I wanted. When they separated, both became a bit selfish for a while, but now that I'm a bit older I can see why. I'm not going to lie, if my mother wasn't my mother, I probably wouldn't like her very much as a person, but I love her for everything she has done for me.