Is this abuse of the Irish Passport?

• 02-05-2012 12:36AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

How do you feel about people from Northern Ireland who do not identify as Irish using our Passport just to get free fees in Scotland.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-17900220

I'm a little uncomfortable with it. If they wanted an Irish passport because they are happy to identify as Irish than fine. But not if its just a ticket to free fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I couldn't give a bollox. You can't legislate on nationalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭MagicRon

woodoo wrote: »
    How do you feel about people from Northern Ireland who do not identify as Irish using our Passport just to get free fees in Scotland.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-17900220

I'm a little uncomfortable with it. If they wanted an Irish passport because they are happy to identify as Irish than fine. But not if its just a ticket to free fees.

Fair play to them, smart thinkers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

BRB moving to Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

A lot of people in the north have both British and Irish passports.

Don't really see the big deal, if it removes a barrier to education then that's only a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

They could be at a 12th bonfire cheering on the burning of the Irish flag one day and then off to University in Glasgow with an Irish passport the next to get free fees.

They should have to have the passport for years before hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

my father is entitled to a british passport, as he was born in ireland before nineteen-dikity-four

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

Not really an issue, people obtain passports (of all nations) for pragmatism all the time.

What is highlighted however is another clear example of the Scottish government's Anti-England (and in turn rest of the UK) bigotry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Most of the NI students who go to Scottish universities are from the Protestant community. I am delighted to see that they are realising what benefits can be obtained from embracing their Irish nationality wholeheartedly, and hope to see more of this in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Just you wait until they get a load of Israelis on Irish passports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ran out of toilet paper while on holidays once.

Ended up wiping my arse with my passport.

Now THAT'S abuse of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

It doesnt bother me in the slightest but Ill be interested to see how cognitive dissonance some of them use to claim northern ireland is totally seperate from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Couldn't care less, but it would be funny to make swearing loyalty to the Irish constitution on camera a condition just to wind them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

Most of the NI students who go to Scottish universities are from the Protestant community. I am delighted to see that they are realising what benefits can be obtained from embracing their Irish nationality wholeheartedly, and hope to see more of this in future.

there are a lot of protestants in ni..who are proud to be irish......

Indeed, Ian Paisley among them. But as a people they remain largely divorced by the border and history of partition from their Irish heritage and roots, which they have erroneously associated with their Catholic neighbours only. If accepting a passport makes them think about their being Irish a bit more, I'm extremely in favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭GTE

It is a loophole that in every one of us would jump on if we needed to. The UK system of fees is getting crazy and if a human being wants to further their education and can save up to 9 grand sterling by doing so, let them have it.

They are in a special situation regarding the double passport here but there are a hell of a lot other people eligible for EU passports who can avail of this loophole so let them do it.

The thought of people having problems with this on any other level than the fact that the UK fees system is pricing students out of the market damn near disgusts me.

bbk wrote: »
    It is a loophole that in every one of us would jump on if we needed to. The UK system of fees is getting crazy and if a human being wants to further their education and can save up to 9 grand sterling by doing so, let them have it.

They are in a special situation regarding the double passport here but there are a hell of a lot other people eligible for EU passports who can avail of this loophole so let them do it.

The thought of people having problems with this on any other level than the fact that the UK fees system is pricing students out of the market damn near disgusts me.

those fees don't have to be paid up front......and are only paid back when the student reaches a certain level of earnings......

the drop out rate, when students paid no fees,,,was nearly fifty percent......disgracefull really...also nine thousand is the higher end..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Bollix. They will be back in their hovels on the 12th, celebrating bonfires laden with Irish flags with KAT written on them. Hell, once they graduate, they will probably lob them into the bonfire.

Embrace their Irishness me hole. They are obtaining an Irish passport for their own financial gain.

those fees don't have to be paid up front......and are only paid back when the student reaches a certain level of earnings......

the drop out rate, when students paid no fees,,,was nearly fifty percent......disgracefull really...also nine thousand is the higher end..

I know, understand and have to experience all of what you said in one way or another and considered that while making my post.

last year...there was jobs in the uk, for 38 thousand engineering graduates....

only 22 thousand english students graduated....leaving a shortfall of 16 thousand...to be filled by immigration..

damn near disgusts me.

Disgust yourself away.

Live amongst these people for a year or ten and come back to me.:rolleyes:

IrishAm wrote: »
    Bollix. They will be back in their hovels on the 12th, celebrating bonfires laden with Irish flags with KAT written on them. Hell, once they graduate, they will probably lob them into the bonfire.

Embrace their Irishness me hole. They are obtaining an Irish passport for their own financial gain.

I am saddened by your bigotry towards your fellow Irishmen. It seems you would prefer to discriminate against your Irish brethren trapped on the wrong side of partition by insisting that they should not be entitled to the citizenship rights enshrined in the Good Friday Agreement by a referendum supported throughout our island.
    You should be ashamed of your partitionist mindset.

Disgust yourself away.

How does 2 years sound? What am I saying! I am sure you will push for the 10 year option given I said this. Should have said 10 and seen what you would have done. hehehehehe ":rolleyes:"

I feel better knowing that you are among a minority giving about a minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

bwatson wrote: »
    What is highlighted however is another clear example of the Scottish government's Anti-England (and in turn rest of the UK) bigotry.
    How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

Disgust yourself away.

Who?

British university students?

I am saddened by your bigotry towards your fellow Irishmen. It seems you would prefer to discriminate against your Irish brethren trapped on the wrong side of partition by insisting that they should not be entitled to the citizenship rights enshrined in the Good Friday Agreement by a referendum supported throughout our island.
    You should be ashamed of your partitionist mindset.

Bigotry? Bigotry? Get a grip.

You have no clue what the loyalists/unionists put my family through.

I am a Dub. Me ma got a promotion and because me da was a hard worker, but useless, she had to accept it. Me and her went to Belfast whilst me da and my siblings stayed at home, in Dublin.

I know the hun. I was tortured by them for two years.

When they start behaving like my fellow Irish men, I will treat them as such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

woodoo wrote: »

Financial gain will usually win over principles.

Dudess wrote: »
    How?

Indeed, I was under the impression it was an EU requirement for EU member states not to charge EU students the full fees on grounds of discrimination. It is in the BBC article posted anyway.

What has happened is that the countries that make up the UK are not bound by this when accepting other UK students into their educational institutions because they are a UK student before they are an EU student when they are being educated in their home country.

This is the same as me being considered an Irish student to the Irish educational grant system but EU to anywhere else in the EU.

Bigotry? Bigotry? Get a grip.
    You have no clue what the loyalists/unionists put my family through.
    I am a Dub. Me ma got a promotion and because me da was a hard worker, but useless, she had to accept it. Me and her went to Belfast whilst me da and my siblings stayed at home, in Dublin.
    I know the hun. I was tortured by them for two years.
    When they start behaving like my fellow Irish men, I will treat them as such.

You lived in the Nationalist-Republican enclave of West Belfast for 2 years and you're crying to me? I lived in North Belfast for decades and still have a house there, mate. I've been through more than you could possibly imagine, living through the entirety of the troubles on a murder mile.
    Despite that, I have no problem with my Irish Protestant neighbours, am no bigot, and consider it a fantastic development that more and more are accepting Irish nationality and seeing real tangible benefits from it.
    I find your post a classic example of MOPEry.

Indeed, I was under the impression it was an EU requirement for EU member states not to charge EU students the full fees on grounds of discrimination. It is in the BBC article posted anyway.

What has happened is that the countries that make up the UK are not bound by this when accepting other UK students into their educational institutions because they are a UK student before they are an EU student when they are being educated in their home country.

This is the same as me being considered an Irish student to the Irish educational grant system but EU to anywhere else in the EU.

the uk makes it's on decisions....is there anything wrong with that.....

i think it is one of the best ideas i have heard in years........wasting money on wastefull students...that is madness...

Boo-hoo. You lived in the Nationalist-Republican enclave of West Belfast for 2 years and you're crying to me? I lived in North Belfast for decades and still have a house there, mate. I've been through more than you could possibly imagine, living through the entirety of the troubles on a murder mile.
    Despite that, I have no problem with my Irish Protestant neighbours, am no bigot, and consider it a fantastic development that more and more are accepting Irish nationality and seeing real tangible benefits from it.
    I find your post a classic example of MOPEry.

And with the greatest respect to the post you have linked to, I am spending my third year in Belfast and the most trouble I have had on the island of Ireland was in County Kildare for walking down the main street minding my own business.

That doesn't mean that everyone in County Kildare are out to beat people up for walkin on their streets now does it? (not directed at the quoted poster btw.)