Bar-staff / club-staff..... Do they hate us all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Maybe you're just shit at pulling pints.

I've had loads of pints of stout pulled in loads of different ways, and regardless of what diehard stout drinkers will say, there is no difference except perhaps in appearance. Even a pint pulled dirty won't taste much different.

The only way there will be a difference is if it's a bad batch (not gonna really happen) or the taps are used very infrequently.

^ I was joking. My Father has a bar and I've worked in one for years.

The only way there will be a difference is if it's a bad batch (not gonna really happen) or the taps are used very infrequently.

Or if the kegs are miles away from the bar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Yes, hate everyone

I'm not a sheepdog, don't whistle at me
    And I'm not a French waiter, don't click your fingers at me :mad:
    And why do you order a large round..........oh and a pint of Guinness??

OP, get over to Ranting and Raving forum and Cries of Retails thread
    Best thread on boards

This! 1,000 times this! Those three things are by far in a way the most annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Fucking Cork people.

I hear yaaaa boyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

Work as a barman myself part-time while in college.

Anyone here who works as a barman will know the frustration of taking an order one by one when the place is heaving with people. i.e

Customer :"Pint of Carslberg"

Me :"Grand" *Pulls pint, brings to customer* "5 euro please:)"

Customer :"oh and a pint of Budweiser"

Me :"Riteo" *repeats same process as above* "Now, tenner when yer ready"

Customer :"...and a G&T with a brandy and ginger ale."

Me : "Ok..." *walking away* "...anything else?"

Customer :"No, I think I know what I need, I don't need you asking"

Me: "Ok :confused:" *Brings drinks over* "Right, all together that will be-"

Customer :"...and a pint of Guinness"

Me : :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I have to admit OP I'm starting to hate you a bit too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

Only fella I remember ever serving out of 10 years of serving is the 1 guy who swung at me because I told him he'd had enough - I Radio'd security - I actually feel sorry for that guy sometimes - he got f**king murdered that night!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Croke park, league final day, dozens of people queueing at bar - one guy kept ordering massive rounds and getting pissed off with me because I was too 'slow' ummmm 7 staff, 5 taps and dozens of yee and you're ordering about 10 drinks?!

Last time I worked behind a bar. 7 years ago. Would rather live on the street than work behind a bar again.

He kept walking off without his change though because 7 staff + 2 tills didn't make things fast.

krudler wrote: »
    nightclub djs are just human shuffle modes on ipods to be fair

this is just not true my ipod never plays feckin one direction

Yes, hate everyone

Best thread on boards

where is this cant find it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

DazMarz wrote: »
    Especially when they order some complicated, time-consuming shíte... read: Latté, Cappuccino, cocktails, et al. I swear, most people only order this kinda shíte to appear 'sophisticated' and posh in front of their snooty friends. I've never actually had someone come in on their own (ie. without an audience) and order some of this stuff. It's just a sin how often a whole table of people will come in and order this kinda crap. Crap that they would never order under normal circumstances, ffs.

Or just posh, stuck-up, middle-aged women in general and their expectations to be treated like freakin' royalty by the one member of staff who's on. Sorry, luv... But when I've a rake of other tables to serve (with people on them who are more likely to give me a nice tip), and you've "THAT" face on you all the time... haha, not a hope. G'luck... Get a clue, people...

Drunks I can actually handle. Just nod and say "Ah yeah, sure it's all good!" at regular intervals.

Wha..?

I'm neither a professional barman nor a coffee maker type person and I would have no problem making a Latte, Cappuccino, or most cocktails... A Latte is just espresso and steamed milk for fuck sake... cocktails are complicated? "Ohh wow... you mean... you... you want me to put more than one kind of liquid into a glass!? What am I a fucking chemist!?!"

Sorry man, if you're a professional barman or a barista, or even just work part time in a cafe/bar somewhere and think of making a mojito or long island iced tea, a latte or cappuccino as 'complicated' then this is one of the times that yes you are completely in the wrong and the customer is in the right.

You really think anyone that doesn't only ever order a plain black coffee or a pint of lager are just being pretentious? I think I just broke my favourite monocle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

One thing I find people do quite often is say,

Customer :"Budweiser"
    Me :"Pint or a bottle?"
    Customer :"Pint, obviously :rolleyes:"
    Me : :confused:

No, it is not that obvious.

strobe wrote: »
    Wha..?

I'm neither a professional barman nor a coffee maker type person and I would have no problem making a Latte, Cappuccino, or most cocktails... A Latte is just espresso and steamed milk for fuck sake... cocktails are complicated? "Ohh wow... you mean... you... you want me to put more than one kind of liquid into a glass!? What am I a fucking chemist!?!"

Sorry man, if you're a professional barman or a barista, or even just work part time in a cafe/bar somewhere and think of making a mojito or long island iced tea, a latte or cappuccino as 'complicated' then this is one of the times that yes you are completely in the wrong and the customer is in the right.

You really think anyone that doesn't only ever order a plain black coffee or a pint of lager are just being pretentious? I think I just broke my favourite monocle!

amen brother if you feel this way dazmarz just dont work in a bar or cafe its not for you insinuating people are pretentious for asking for a latte is silly as it tastes a lot different to a black coffee

little bit off topic but id like to take this chance to abuse bbs never had a good coffee there (demarzs place of buisness perhaps)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 sheindlin

I used to work part-time on the door of a nite club. Drunk people were easier to deal with than the people with the God complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Yes, hate everyone

Best thread on boards

where is this cant find it

Ranting and raving is private, you need to request access. There was a thread in the feedback forum to do so, if you can't find it then just search for one there. Well worth it for that thread alone.

mite grab it worked in retail while in college biggest issue for me was people looking down on you

had a friend that worked in mcdonalds while doing a post grad (she has a doctorate now) and people treated her like an idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

I've had loads of pints of stout pulled in loads of different ways, and regardless of what diehard stout drinkers will say, there is no difference except perhaps in appearance. Even a pint pulled dirty won't taste much different.

depends where you work in fairness, i had a pint of guiness in the gypsey rose and their was lumps in it ( in a british style pint glass to boot :rolleyes: ) but at the same time, ive been at bars had my 7-8 pints, big smile on my face where as a sober lad came in, done a shot of jager and puked his lungs up....

Suppose its not where you are its who's serving you... I shouldn't be forced to drink bottles... etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

ugh, it's actually not worth it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I'm the worst type of customer and thus me and my ilk are in no small way responsible for the negative assumptions that staff make about customers on occasion. I have a god complex. If you don't follow my condescendingly spoken instructions to the letter (often uttered during intermittent breaks in an ongoing phone call) then I will shout and complain, often offering an unsolicited review of their competence. I will then stand there goading them as they attempt to complete the task, adding patronising remarks along the way and finishing up with the finger and a big "fuçk you" as I don my sunglasses and walk on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Whist in college another life time ago I worked in a very famous city centre pub. The regular cliental were absolute arseholes… To gain my attention most of them thought it was acceptable to snap their fingers or whistle at me. The one that really ground my gears though was when certain individuals would shout boy at me, and this was at lunch time!!. The amount of times I heard “do you know who I am!!”.

On Rugby weekends when the place was heaving they used to tap the Guinness taps with Murphy’s……. zero complaints… Fact.

God I still shudder when I think of that place, although the bar card came in useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Special Agent Oso

Every bar has regulars who are just assholes, it seems to be a way of life. I worked as a barman for around a year and i could handle that, you got to know who the assholes were and how to treat them. The one i had the problem with were the ones that wouldn't say boo! to you during the week out of fear but at the weekend when they have drunk 3 pints of Magners or a couple of bottles of WKD they turn into these mouth piece twats and when you tell them to settle down they want to argue or fight with you then? but not all drunks are as*holes, some are just eejets and are easy enough to deal with and women are worse drunks than men - sorry ladies....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I worked in a few different pubs and clubs.
    The clubs I didn't mind because the music plus the earplugs mean I can pretend not to hear the innane ramblings of the customer and ignore them when they try to chat to me. Cue lots of pointing at ears mouthing "I can't hear you" and the drunk not realising it's strange I can hear his order but not his "witty banter".
    I always got a buzz out of being in the bar of a busy club and had great craic with the other staff so I didn't hate it.

The pubs were a bit more trying because you'd get the maudlin drunk at the bar telling his life story. Or the muppets who didn't think a woman knew anything about serving drink. One such chap asked me to ask one of the barmen for a cure for heartburn. I said "peppermint cordial or a glass of milk". He laughed and asked me to get one of the barMEN who would know. I pointed out I was 6 months pregnant and of everyone in that bar I would know the most about heartburn but he was welcome to go to another bar and ask one of the men.
    I saw him return later with a glass of peppermint cordial :rolleyes: (I had antacids behind the bar for myself but he was a c*nt so I didn't share)

The worst though was in relation to food or coffee. I hated dealing with that.

2002 - World cup. Spain vs Ireland. We were open early and serving food and coffee. Penalty time and we're all glued to the screen and in walk two Americans and are standing at the front bar while hundreds of silent people stand down the back around the tv, hands clasped over their mouths in nervous anticipation. It would be obvious to the town simpleton that something BIG was happening. We ignored them. Then "excuse me, excuuuuuuuuuuse meeeeeeeee, EXCUUUUUUUUUUUSE ME......."
    "WHAT????"
    "Can I order a latte and a mocha. If you could make it quick 'cos we've a train to catch that would be awwwesooome"

Those were the only people I ever truly wished dead in all my days behind the bar.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

ash23 wrote: »

2002 - World cup. Spain vs Ireland. We were open early and serving food and coffee. Penalty time and we're all glued to the screen and in walk two Americans and are standing at the front bar while hundreds of silent people stand down the back around the tv, hands clasped over their mouths in nervous anticipation. It would be obvious to the town simpleton that something BIG was happening. We ignored them. Then "excuse me, excuuuuuuuuuuse meeeeeeeee, EXCUUUUUUUUUUUSE ME......."
    "WHAT????"
    "Can I order a latte and a mocha. If you could make it quick 'cos we've a train to catch that would be awwwesooome"

Those were the only people I ever truly wished dead in all my days behind the bar.
    :mad:

Not to be bad.... but to someone who probably doesn't understand what the World Cup is or its significance, they probably didn't care. To them you were just a staff member ignoring customers to watch sport on TV while you were working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 sheindlin

I'm the worst type of customer and thus me and my ilk are in no small way responsible for the negative assumptions that staff make about customers on occasion. I have a god complex. If you don't follow my condescendingly spoken instructions to the letter (often uttered during intermittent breaks in an ongoing phone call) then I will shout and complain, often offering an unsolicited review of their competence. I will then stand there goading them as they attempt to complete the task, adding patronising remarks along the way and finishing up with the finger and a big "fuçk you" as I don my sunglasses and walk on.

Sounds like you know the person I am talking about. He got a membership card by annoying the bejesus out of an assistant manager, much to the annoyance of the manager, staff and bouncers.

When he got the card his card (not only was he told that he had to produce the card, it was also clearly stated on the card that he would have to produce the card at the door). When I asked him for his card he started waving his hands in the air shouting "do you not know who I am, just look up my name on your little computer thing there". Then he told me his card was in his wallet but that I had my little computer thing in front of me and his details would be on that, all the time waving his hand at me. This happenend every single time he came to the club.

I have to say apart from this guy, I loved the job, I met loads of lovely and funny people.

Not to be bad.... but to someone who probably doesn't understand what the World Cup is or its significance, they probably didn't care. To them you were just a staff member ignoring customers to watch sport on TV while you were working.

And? I'm not saying they were wrong. I'm just saying I hated their guts for choosing that exact moment to come in and start ordering stupid coffees.
    We thought if we ignored them then they'd (rightly) think the service was sh*te and they'd leave but they didn't get the hint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I hate myself on behalf of the barstaff just to make their nights a bit more bareable.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

ash23 wrote: »
    And? I'm not saying they were wrong. I'm just saying I hated their guts for choosing that exact moment to come in and start ordering stupid coffees.
    We thought if we ignored them then they'd (rightly) think the service was sh*te and they'd leave but they didn't get the hint.

Fair enough :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Cokeistan

Let's not forget bouncers for these pubs and clubs, they hate everyone...unless you're a young good looking girl wearing a short skirt or low top!

Fair enough :D

Customer service was key :D