Bar-staff / club-staff..... Do they hate us all?

• 01-05-2012 09:48PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I've often wondered if the staff serving hundreds of tipsy / drunk / LOCKED customers in clubs and bars until 2.30am every night are mentally stabbing every single customer in the eye with a hot, sharp piece of metal.

To all the bar-staff and club staff out there, do you hate the drunks you spend hours serving?

Or do you like your jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Like all people that work with the public anywhere, yes, every single one of them hate the people they have to deal with with the intensity of a hundred thousand suns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

As a barman in a previous incarnation all I can say is..........

Closing time is easy pickings for a sober man who has access to unlimited booze :)

Drunk sluts

YEE Haw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

whirlpool wrote: »
    I've often wondered if the staff serving hundreds of tipsy / drunk / LOCKED customers in clubs and bars until 2.30am every night are mentally stabbing every single customer in the eye with a hot, sharp piece of metal.

I would be, if I worked in a bar or club. Thankfully I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

I'd nearly prefer to deal with drunks, because you could almost forgive their idiocy for, you know, being drunk. For those working with the general public in a customer service role in the cold light of day, well i salute each and every one of you for not going all Michael Douglas a lá 'Falling Down' on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Everyone who has to encounter them in a sober professional capacity hates drunk people. They're all completely useless and completely unfunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I'm sure if I worked in a bar I'd slowly start to hate the human population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I only worked in a pub for six months, in London, but when we had lots of drunk people in, we were too busy to have any kind of emotional response. You all sort of blended in to this amorphous mass of stupid people, but as long as you kept shovelling the cash over the bar, it didn't matter. You'd need to do something really, really stupid to be remembered at all. :rolleyes:

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I hate you all. Every time I see a new customer walk through the door I swear a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The DJ hates you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Yes, hate everyone

I'm not a sheepdog, don't whistle at me
    And I'm not a French waiter, don't click your fingers at me :mad:
    And why do you order a large round..........oh and a pint of Guinness??

OP, get over to Ranting and Raving forum and Cries of Retails thread
    Best thread on boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

The DJ hates you too.

Don't think anyone cares about a Dj tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The DJ hates you too.

nightclub djs are just human shuffle modes on ipods to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Sparks43

As an Ex Barman i have this to say

You are all arseholes i hope you go to hell!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I'll put it this way: I never had the need to hit someone before I started working in a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭chimmy chonga

Everyone who has to encounter them in a sober professional capacity hates drunk people. They're all completely useless and completely unfunny.
    ....and so easy to give them the wrong change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭branbee

I remember being under the influence of something that wasn't drink- not my proudest moment i will admit!- and i kept apologizing to the poor bar man for ordering water instead of buying alcohol! He kept saying its grand but i was nearly crying with guilt every time i went up to the bar and kept saying sorry! Fair play to him he was lovely! still feel bad now!
    God love bar/club staff putting up with **** like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Organic Cavity

Yep, but it's a tough ass job watching people have the craic and get pissed when your working behind the bar for fúck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭ArtyC

....and so easy to give them the wrong change!

Oh ffs
    This is what makes life so difficult!!!!!!!!! We just want to get through our shift. I have no need to rob your stupid change- also nightclubs are so heavily CCTV-ed it would be impossible even if someone wanted to. Please, thank you and common courtesy for staff and other customers make working in a nightclub good Craic but that's becoming less and less common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

It's a pretty tough job physically too which alot of people don't realise - having to lug kegs and drink crates around. Also spending hours upon hours on your feet is no fun. Plenty of times i used to wake up in the morning unable to walk after a long weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

I used to work in Havanas Browns in Cork as a young man and actually punched a customer in the face at closing time who was wrecking my head.

The second it happened I roared over to a bouncer to tell them said customer had hit me first and he got hauled out screaming that I had hit him, whilst I just stood there shaking my head trying to look traumatised. Fucking Cork people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭touchwood

Eye drops are great for annoying drunks!!!!!
    :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

I done it though college. Still do the odd shift when the owner gives me a call for the craic.

I loved it. Young persons bar, I looked after the tunes etc. People used to wait to get served by me. Fecking ice down girls tops who propped their tits up to get served etc. Mental craic.

Definitely miss the buzz.

First they came for the socialists...

I work in a hotel bar. In the residents bar and a busy cocktail bar. What annoys me the most to be honest is Americans talking shite. You kind of blank out the annoying drunk people after a few years!

No, I did not water down your pint

Why do people say this?
    How would I do it anyway? Inject water under pressure somehow into the pipes?
    Sounds awful complicated

So stop telling me I watered down your pint
    It's a myth, it doesn't happen

Probably because you're drinking Bud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

mikemac1 wrote: »

Why do people say this?
    How would I do it anyway? Inject water under pressure somehow into the pipes?
    Sounds awful complicated

So stop telling me I watered down your pint
    It's a myth, it doesn't happen

Probably because you're drinking Bud

Put water into the bottom of the glass before pouring. Ive seen it done. Not in Ireland i hasten to add

mikemac1 wrote: »

Why do people say this?

Maybe you're just shit at pulling pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Especially when they order some complicated, time-consuming shíte... read: Latté, Cappuccino, cocktails, et al. I swear, most people only order this kinda shíte to appear 'sophisticated' and posh in front of their snooty friends. I've never actually had someone come in on their own (ie. without an audience) and order some of this stuff. It's just a sin how often a whole table of people will come in and order this kinda crap. Crap that they would never order under normal circumstances, ffs.

Or just posh, stuck-up, middle-aged women in general and their expectations to be treated like freakin' royalty by the one member of staff who's on. Sorry, luv... But when I've a rake of other tables to serve (with people on them who are more likely to give me a nice tip), and you've "THAT" face on you all the time... haha, not a hope. G'luck... Get a clue, people...

Drunks I can actually handle. Just nod and say "Ah yeah, sure it's all good!" at regular intervals.

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Maybe you're just shit at pulling pints.

Yes, the sober barman is wrong

The roaring drunk is right I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

touchwood wrote: »
    Eye drops are great for annoying drunks!!!!!
    :):)

Only if you don't clean the toilets too;)