Are you a better or worse person when you're drunk?

• 28-04-2012 06:59PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Was tippin' home last night, when I came across a couple of lads who had obviously been playing petrol bingo. They had run out of juice about a hundred yards from home.One was half-in half-out of the car, trying to steer while the other lad was pushing.

I downed tools (6 cans:pac:) and gave them a hand pushing the car home.

I woke up this morning and it got me wondering. Had I not have had a couple of ales on board, would I have bothered stopping to lend a hand?

I'd like to think I would have, but honestly, I couldn't be sure.

So AHers, as the thread title asks, are you a better or worse person when you're drunk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Depends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

never ever help a distressed woman and a car stand there and record it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭DitzyPoo92

I get very generous when I'm drunk and start buying people drinks, giving away my cigs like they were sweets and compliment everyone on anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

youre drunk after 2 beers :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I'm lovely and a great conservationist when drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭mummymoo

im too nice when im drinking, buying people shots etc and going out of my way to sort someones problem (aka a broken nail or a fake eye lash falling off :L) i could also talk for ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I downed tools (6 cans:pac:) and gave them a hand pushing the car home.

You downed 6 cans, as in necked them one after another?

Just as well you were coming from Tesco with the weeks shopping, imagine the dump you'd have to be taking around now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

I'm not very pleasant company, worse when I'm drunk :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

no, not really. One or two is enough after that it's car crash time. Not so bad if I have a smoke though I prefer mellow to loud and noisy which is how I get when I'm drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

nah, i am much nicer sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Depends on how drunk I am. But tbh if they asked me for help and I was hammered I would probably lean against the car, get sick, fall over and pass out on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

i'm better up to a point, then things go downhill. . .we don't go to that point anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭wivy

Will always help those in need when I'm drunk doesn't matter who they are.
    Guilty of looking for a bit of divilment when I'm drunk though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

44leto wrote: »
    I'm lovely and a great conservationist when drunk.

Save the Whales!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Are you a better or worse person when you're drunk?

Cant remember ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Ya see the shy people can put on a big ol smile and say Oh hai! much easier with drink on but its the ones who can already do that no bother (erm I mean slightly arrogant) while sober that have to up their game to douchebag when drunk.

Everyone goes up one level, if someones a minor bitch sober yeah major bitch drunk because they don't care what others think as much.

So drink only makes you a better or worse person depending on whats already in there, drink just brings it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

IM0 wrote: »
    youre drunk after 2 beers :confused:

Yup. The 13th and 14th.:pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

iv a split personality with drink. I can either be aggressive and rowdy or just the complete opposite where im friendly and talkative, basically just wear the owl heart on the sleave with drink.

i dont drink much mainly due to this, once every month or two would do me.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

I'm very good looking when I'm drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

3rdDegree wrote: »
    I'm very good looking when I'm drunk.
    I have this problem too, I think everyone is good looking when I'm drunk. for shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

theteal wrote: »
    i'm better up to a point, then things go downhill. . .we don't go to that point anymore

Probably the case with most people id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

iv a split personality with drink. I can either be aggressive and rowdy or just the complete opposite where im friendly and talkative, basically just wear the owl heart on the sleave with drink.

i dont drink much mainly due to this, once every month or two would do me.:D

Likewise. It depends on my mood. If I'm in good form, I'll yap to anyone and have great craic. I get horny as fook too! :pac: But if I'm in bad form, I'd pick up the nearest stool and smash it over someone I didn't like. Hence the reason I don't go out any more. From time to time I'll have a few cans in front of the TV with herself instead now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I'm just more annoying but I get on really well with strangers who are also drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Depends how much I've drank. If I'm a bit tipsy or on my way to being properly drunk, I think I'm pretty good company. Once I get to sh*tfaced, I become a complete dickhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

A better person! I start telling everyone how great they are and start hugging everyone I see( don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing for the people I'm hugging though!:o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I leave a trail of distruction when I'm drunk texts emails messages :o

can be kinda embarrassing but hey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Much more talkative and friendly, it opens me up a lot. I'm naturally a bit introverted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

I'm probably a better person when drunk, I don't really remember tbh. From my own experiences of being drunk, I find it hard to see how people are violent/aggressive after a few drinks.

My friends have told me to that I always "try to save the world" when I'm drunk. I'm a pretty nice drunk. I laugh even more than usual which is always good and I talk alot to strangers which is mostly good :D

no change