In defence of cyclists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Ares wrote: »
    Cyclists in Ireland often get treated like absolute dirt by some vehicle drivers on Irish roads.

I've been witness to cyclists suffering intimidation who were forced off the road by a maniac car driver.

Cycle lanes in Ireland are nothing short of a joke, often going through car parking spaces and with many, many obstructions.

Then there is the whole "Hurr Durr, I pay road tax, Hurr Durr!" line of thinking. That should say spasticated line of thinking. No such thing as road tax, its motor emissons tax which cyclists of course don't have to pay due to the self propelling nature of bicycles.

A lot of motorists take absolutely no precautions towards cyclists and fail to treat a fellow road user as they would someone driving a car.

I've seen some motorists get ever so slightly delayed from following a bike and fly off a fit of rage, and harassing the cyclist, running close to them and generally behaving in an intimadatory manner.

Anyway its high time cyclists were treated with a bit of respect and understanding in Ireland.

I am both a motorist and a cyclist, I agree to an extent about some motorists, they have to realise a cyclist is also a part of the traffic and he is very vulnerable being perched on 2 wheels at a height and balancing. I have never gotten road rage but by heavens i have gotten bike rage.

But I have to criticise us there are a lot of irresponsible cyclists out there, breaking lights going down 1 way streets and mounting footpaths, I can be one myself and I should know better being a driver.

I strongly disagree about our cycling network, it is by noway perfect, but credit were credit is due and Dublin corpo have done a splendid job so far and it is still improving, we were recently placed in the top 10 cities to cycle in the world and considering the network is only about 10 years old, that is pretty good. But more needs to be done, especially the pot holes in some of the lanes.

I am lucky in that some of my commute is along the Grand canal and that is a morning pleasure, I have a cycling dream, if they could somehow link the 2 canals with a separate dedicated cycle lane you would have a kind of m50 for cyclists. That would keep us out of the traffic for a lot of our journeys plus it would be a good tourist attraction.

I only took up cycling since the bike to work scheme was introduced, I can't believe how much I am into it, for those who think they would not like it, try it for a while. The benefits in fitness, weight loss, mood lifting, money saving are enormous.

Its coming into the summer now, time to park up the car again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Ugh a few of these posts are ridiculous - I saw this one cyclist this one time do something there for all cyclist are bad mkay, it would be like me saying I once saw this driver break this one rule therefore no one should drive. But hey a bit of profiling can be done there are good and bad road users and from what Ive seen there are two types of cyclists I see riding side by side and going through red lights and thats Dublin bike cyclists and the douchebags on a bike you know the ones who obviously are taking cycling so seriously that they cannot slow down for a mere red light.

Now I really can't understand the casual commuter cyclist who doesnt stop for red lights., you shouldnt be so arrogant and you should know better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

o look, its friday!

A tip for your cycling safety, a handle bar mirror has done a lot for my confidence on the road. I highly reccomend you get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

saa wrote: »
    from what Ive seen there are two types of cyclists I see riding side by side

While the rest of your post is quiet reasonable and non-retarded, at this I just have to say 'facepalm.'

Why I have seen that to, it does hold up traffic and force cars to dangerously overtake. You see it a lot with cycling clubs on main roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

I'm a pedestrian, and I've only ever been hit by a cyclist.

Not surprising. Most people who get hit by cars end up too dead to post on Boards about the reckless jerk that hit them.

I cycle. I stop on red. I obey the rules of the road. I'd appreciate if people could manage not to assume all cyclists are the same.

Also: the level of ignorance of the rules of the road exhibited by some people who give out about cyclists is genuinely scary. Cycling two abreast is legal and the safest option in a lot of cases. And cyclists have exactly the same level of entitlement to use the road as drivers do.

Not surprising. Most people who get hit by cars end up too dead to post on Boards about the reckless jerk that hit them.

I cycle. I stop on red. I obey the rules of the road. I'd appreciate if people could manage not to assume all cyclists are the same.

Also: the level of ignorance of the rules of the road exhibited by some people who give out about cyclists is genuinely scary. Cycling two abreast is legal and the safest option in a lot of cases. And cyclists have exactly the same level of entitlement to use the road as drivers do.

I don't know about it being the safest option and I am a cyclist, also it shows inconsideration to the motorist. You are right non of us own the roads, we share them, and we should also be considerate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Here's an example of a suicidal cyclist

and another who nearly fell over the Luas tracks but I was driving behind him so gave him enough time to compose himself to get over the shock. I'm a cyclist and motorist by the way so know whats it like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 mooeygooey

I have no problem with cyclists but it really boggles the mind when I see cyclists on the road when there's a perfectly good cycle lane right beside them. I mean, if it's there, why not use it and protect yourself and potentially not block traffic?

gurramok wrote: »
    Here's an example of a suicidal cyclist

and another who nearly fell over the Luas tracks but I was driving behind him so gave him enough time to compose himself to get over the shock. I'm a cyclist and motorist by the way so know whats it like.

Bloody hell, I also see cyclist dressed like Ninjas and no lights at night, suicidal behaviour, the high vis tops are so cheap now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I think the worst cyclists are the ones using dublinbikes. They have no concept of road safety or the rules of the road. I rarely see one wearing a helmet or safety gear. They are a danger to themselves, pedestrians and other road users.
    why a helmet and safety gear ?

a bicycle helmet will offer negligible impact protection in a collision at 50kph as they are only designed for 20kph cyclist only incidents

unless a cyclist is wearing a motorcycle helmet they might as well be wearing a tea cosy for all the good it would do if hit by a car

when motorists are forced to wear crash helmets for their own protection
    or when the drivers air bag is replaced by a harpoon for the protection of other road users then maybe the helmet debate will mean something other than motorists trying to shift blame on to cyclists.

cycling is intrinsically safe
    very few people die from cycling

lots die because of collisions with motorists, and it's usually the motorists fault.

cars in the city centre shouldn't be travelling that fast anyway - even if the 30Kph zone is not respected.

cycle helmets are like mobile phones, despite the numbers using them there is no clear cut evidence that they save lives / cause cancer.

wearing a blond wig is far more effective at preventing you getting hit by a car in the first place and so would be more useful that a helmet.

a bicycle helmet will offer negligible impact protection in a collision at 50kph as they are only designed for 20kph cyclist only incidents

unless a cyclist is wearing a motorcycle helmet they might as well be wearing a tea cosy for all the good it would do if hit by a car

or when the drivers air bag is replaced by a harpoon for the protection of other road users then maybe the helmet debate will mean something other than motorists trying to shift blame on to cyclists.

lots die because of collisions with motorists, and it's usually the motorists fault.

cars in the city centre shouldn't be travelling that fast anyway - even if the 30Kph zone is not respected.

cycle helmets are like mobile phones, despite the numbers using them there is no clear cut evidence that they save lives / cause cancer.

wearing a blond wig is far more effective at preventing you getting hit by a car in the first place and so would be more useful that a helmet.

I agree but they look good and it is the advertised norm, it gives our loved ones peace of mind.

My cycling Helmut versus a bus, my polysterinen plastic helmet would so obviously win, but you have to feel sorry for the poor bus folk who would be tossed through the windows on impact.

For them we shouldn't wear one, but who will think off the loved ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Way to selective quote, you get a banana sticker for competency in your chosen field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

mooeygooey wrote: »
    I have no problem with cyclists but it really boggles the mind when I see cyclists on the road when there's a perfectly good cycle lane right beside them. I mean, if it's there, why not use it and protect yourself and potentially not block traffic?

because most are ****e and are actually more dangerous than being on the road. alot of cycle lanes here are an afterthought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Judging by the rants in this thread, no-one ever sees the huge number of pedestrians who are happy enough to stroll across the road while the red man signal is on nor has anyone seen the huge number of cars who enjoy speeding up and going through the lights once they see it hit orange. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

i think i agree with the OP, i have been knocked down, had a glass bottle thrown at me, an ash tray thrown at me, drivers spitting at me and other sorts of general ****e. i know some cyclists dont always obey the rules but dont paint us all with the same brush, just a bit of common decency would go a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

I think the worst cyclists are the ones using dublinbikes. They have no concept of road safety or the rules of the road. I rarely see one wearing a helmet or safety gear. They are a danger to themselves, pedestrians and other road users.

I can't post a link as I'm on my phone but take a look at the RSA website they recommend helmets and hi viz jackets. If they are so useless why recommend them.

The dublinbikes website also tell users to check the RSA website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Ares wrote: »
    Cyclists in Ireland often get treated like absolute dirt by some vehicle drivers on Irish roads.

I've been witness to cyclists suffering intimidation who were forced off the road by a maniac car driver.

Cycle lanes in Ireland are nothing short of a joke, often going through car parking spaces and with many, many obstructions.

Then there is the whole "Hurr Durr, I pay road tax, Hurr Durr!" line of thinking. That should say spasticated line of thinking. No such thing as road tax, its motor emissons tax which cyclists of course don't have to pay due to the self propelling nature of bicycles.

A lot of motorists take absolutely no precautions towards cyclists and fail to treat a fellow road user as they would someone driving a car.

I've seen some motorists get ever so slightly delayed from following a bike and fly off a fit of rage, and harassing the cyclist, running close to them and generally behaving in an intimadatory manner.

Anyway its high time cyclists were treated with a bit of respect and understanding in Ireland.
    Should rename the thread "An attack on non cyclists"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Scawgeen

Do cyclists pay road tax and insurance for their bicycles?

Bicycle licence
    Cat licence
    Computer licence
    Pet rabbit licence
    Hurl, tennis racquet and golf club licence.

Enda is doing his sums as we speak :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Oh goodie, a chance to express some of the stuff that irritates me every day as I cycle to work.

Sadly, there's no getting away from the truth, and that is that there are some seriously selfish cyclists out there. It most definitely isn't ALL cyclists though.

I totally agree with the comments about Dublin Bikes cyclists; they're (mostly) as disrespectful as cycle couriers, but they don't possess even a fraction of their cycling skills. I'm not saying being skilfully selfish would make it OK, but it might make the roads (and paths) a tad safer if they weren't a lethal mixture of selfish AND inept.

I see more Dublin Bikes cyclists plough through pedestrians/pedestrian lights than any other cyclist - it's amazing what one sees while waiting for the lights to change from red to green.

Not that motorists never break the lights - the pedestrian lights at the junction of Dame Street/George's Street can be really dodgy. I've often counted five cars driving through the red lights (while the green man is lit) as well as a few cyclists.

I've been cycling since I was a teenager (many years ago now) and the only accidents I've been involved in were while cycling in a cycling lane. On both occasions, a taxi driver allowed the passenger to open the passenger door without checking for cyclists first. The first time it happened, I didn't come off the bike and was just a bit shaken. The second time I did come off the bike, and the taxi driver drove off without checking if I was alive or dead. Now I'm quite nervous of cycling on a cycle lane that's just a strip of red (often faded) beside cars, especially if the cars have stopped. I have to slow down to check for taxis with passengers that might jump out all of a sudden - which in turn irritates any cyclists behind me because I'm not moving fast enough for them.

To be fair, I find most motorists to be respectful of me as I cycle, and I'm respectful of the rules of the road but the conditions for cyclists are dreadful in this country. Having spent a number of years living in the Netherlands, I admit my wish-list is probably a bit beyond Dublin's capabilities, but to not have to choose between a combination of convex and concave road anomalies that a bike isn't built for cycling over, or having an irate driver beep you back into the innermost edge of the road (where those convex and concave anomalies are waiting to knock you off your bike - or at least all the stuff in the basket out onto the road) would be nice.

Dublin could be a dream to cycle in, it has great potential, but when O' Connell Street was revamped and cycling lanes weren't part of that revamp, I realised that potential isn't going to be recognised for a long long time, if ever at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I've said it before and I'll say it again - how can you expect motorists to respect cyclists when the majority of them (in Dublin anyway) do not respect the rules of the road! I don't drive and I cycle through Dublin city every day of the week, and I can say, without fear of contradiction, that most cyclists run red lights.

It pisses me off as a cyclist, so no wonder motorists hate cyclists. There are some real gobshite drivers too - mostly bus drivers for some reason - who are more than happy to squish a cyclist onto the path. But cyclists are in no way blameless for the treatment that they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Do cyclists pay road tax

No. Either do you. It's motor tax. And I pay for the roads as you do from my taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Cyclists are fine when they obey the rules of the road. Or, y'know, cycle in SINGLE FILE when there's more than one of them.

There's a woman who frequently cycles the road I drive every morning with her daughter (teen). They cycle beside each other, on a road hit with traffic from 3 schools coming up to 9am every morning.

Height of ignorance :mad:

Maybe you should brush up on the ROTR. Cyclists are allowed ride two abreast in a group. I'll always exercise common sense and coutesy though, and let a car pass, like on a Sunday morning at 9am when it looks really urgent:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Cianos wrote: »

Helmets are not required by law, and rightly so. Dublin bikes are all equipped with front and back lights which is enough as regards safety. I have seen a lot of crazy maneuvers by people riding them though.
    Helmets should be required by law. Why do you think it's right that they are not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

As both a cyclist, and a driver, there are good and bad in both.
    If they want to be treated with respect then stop cycling in the middle of the road and get out of the fucking way!

Main reason why cyclists hold the road is down to defenceve cycling, cycle to close to the kerb and your more likely to get squezzed againt the kerb or railings by other drivers passing you in the lane.
    Cyclists are fine when they obey the rules of the road. Or, y'know, cycle in SINGLE FILE when there's more than one of them.

There's a woman who frequently cycles the road I drive every morning with her daughter (teen). They cycle beside each other, on a road hit with traffic from 3 schools coming up to 9am every morning.

Height of ignorance :mad:

Re check your rules of the road, two cyclists are perfectly intitled to, and allowed to cycle two abreast.

Absolutly agree 100%. Most cyclists who use dublin bikes are not actually cyclists, but POBS, pedestrians on bikes, with no regular experience of cycling in citys.
    mooeygooey wrote: »

Try cycling in them, most a useless and full of traffic debries, broken glass, stones, and other items, parked cars, pedestrians (on the ones painted on the pavement), and an array of things that makes it just as safe for cyclists to use the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I have had my fill of cyclists, too many times have they crossed my path with unnecessary aggressive behaviour.

Yesterday there was a guy cycling on a road with a line of cars behind him. There was a cycle lane on the footpath that he wouldn't use, the traffic behind him was going mental and he was loving it.

I have lots of accounts of cyclists being ignorant jumped up little pricks but I won't go into them here, I'm saving them for my book that will explore the waste of brake disk dust on cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭not even wrong

People killed by motorists last year: ~250
    People killed by cyclists last year: 0

Yes clearly the real problem here is cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

**** the cyclists, stone them also :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I was heading in to work one morning I was sat at a red light with a Garda car in the lane beside me. Not an unmarked car just to let you know it was a squad car. Multiple cyclists went through the red light not around the corner but straight across 4 or 5 lanes of traffic (the coast road - howth road junction) The Gards did nothing.

My main problem is that when they get to a red light and stop they don't stay in the cycle lane or side of the road. They stop ahead of all the cars vans trucks etc but they plant themselves in the middle of the lane so they're blocking you and any other traffic when the light goes green.

Cyclists aren't pedestrians, and there's not enough room on footpaths for bikes.

There's not enough room on the roads either.