Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Yes he has. Skrtel & Agger have been first choice throughout the season regardless of Carra's fitness. Carra himself has come out and says he knows he's not first choice anymore.

The cup semi final was an exception rather than the rule this season due to a very particular set of circumstances covered in this & the match thread at the time (Enrique's form, Jones in goal who's poor coming for crosses) & that decision was vindicated that day.

The decision was vindicated just because you won the match, really?

Agger was out of place all game at left back, he was drifting into his natural position which resulted in a fuck up for the Everton goal and was clueless out on the left when he had the ball in advanced positions.

It was a terrible decision from Dalglish to play him there to accommodate Carragher.

And there was no sane reason for Dalglish to play Carragher that day, whatever you say. The man is past it and has been for a while now. He should drop down a division or retire, there's no way he should be playing at the top level anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

We're in the FA Cup Final.

I gave you a chance and hoped that you had some other flawed reason but that is just beyond terrible.
    I may not read any of your future posts because of it (and I don't dislike you fwiw).

It is among the worst posts/rational I have ever read.

With regret, this is for you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hfYJsQAhl0

We should re-sign Traore considering he is a champions league winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Gerty

that decision was vindicated that day.
    Can you explain the bolded bit please.

CarlingCup_2724704.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

We're talking about a different match Gerty. Great picture though :)

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Gerty

So you were..but i was posting it because i thought Suarez was pole-dancing for a second there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

opr wrote: »
    We're talking about a different match Gerty. Great picture though :)

Opr

Biggest piss-spray EVER :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its a bit like the drunk who gets home in one piece and thus declares himself a good driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Kenny is at the Toulouse v Montpellier game tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭Glico Man

amiable wrote: »
    Kenny is at the Toulouse v Montpellier game tonight.

5 players I hope he's looking at; Sissoko, Capoue, Mbiwa, Giroud, Belhanda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

aaronh007 wrote: »
    5 players I hope he's looking at; Sissoko, Capoue, Mbiwa, Giroud, Belhanda.

Was thinking the same myself that it could be any one of several players.

Giroud gets all the praise for Montpellier usually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Blatter wrote: »

Agger was out of place all game at left back, he was drifting into his natural position which resulted in a fuck up for the Everton goal

if only distin and glen johnson last week had that excuse ;)

the everton goal was loss of concentration by agger plain and simple and its happened before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Agger was selected at left back for 1 main reason IMO, to solidify that side & protect Jones from them bombarding balls into our box, something that Enrique's recent form couldn't assure us of. Kenny also likes to have the local lads in the team for Derby matches (we've won 3 out of 3 this season, the first time ever).

The fact that people are STILL moaning about it sums up the exact point I'm trying to make. People will never be happy, this is the anti-fan culture that's crept into our fanbase the last few years.

We may have won inspite of it, or we may have lost 4-0 if we'd gone with Enrique at LB, no one knows. All we know is Kenny was tasked with picking a team to get us to the final & he did that.

Anything else is idle speculation driven by people's desire to piss & moan.

Agger was selected at left back for 1 main reason IMO, to solidify that side & protect Jones from them bombarding balls into our box, something that Enrique's recent form couldn't assure us of. Kenny also likes to have the local lads in the team for Derby matches (we've won 3 out of 3 this season, the first time ever).

The fact that people are STILL moaning about it sums up the exact point I'm trying to make. People will never be happy, this is the anti-fan culture that's crept into our fanbase the last few years.

We may have won inspite of it, or we may have lost 4-0 if we'd gone with Enrique at LB, no one knows. All we know is Kenny was tasked with picking a team to get us to the final & he did that.

Anyone who disagrees with you (no matter how utterly retarded your viewpoint) is an anti fan? Or I am an 'anti fan' because I highlighted one of the most retarded posts and pieces of flawed thought I have had the displeasure of reading anywhere ever.

An utterly pathetic and false accusation, GTFO.

You're just wrong, deal with that rather than slinging silly accusations that other people aren't real fans.

No, anyone who looks for something to moan constantly about is an anti fan. The same type who were slating Rafa when we were involved in the title race we all craved, the same people giving out about the team selection in a semi final we won, the same people who were criticising Rafa's impersonal management style, who now criticise Kennys 'pally' management style. The same people moaning saying our manager (our clubs greatest ever servant) can go **** himself based on something tweet from some fool about what he may or may not be considering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

No, anyone who looks for something to moan constantly about is an anti fan. The same type who were slating Rafa when we were involved in the title race we all craved, the same people giving out about the team selection in a semi final we won, the same people who were criticising Rafa's impersonal management style, who now criticise Kennys 'pally' management style. The same people moaning saying our manager (our clubs greatest ever servant) can go **** himself based on something tweet from some fool about what he may or may not be considering.

I doubt very few, if any complained about all of those things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Carragher was first choice at the start of the season until he got injured, so to say Agger and Sktrel were first choice throughout the season is also wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Kess73 wrote: »
    I agree that the price is not the player's fault, but it is the club's problem. I do think that he has been somewhat unlucky at times because he has put in a good number of balls into the box this season that a proper finisher may have put away. But then again the club spent 35m on a player who is not a proper finisher and 20m on a player who does not seen to be able to link up very well with the more clever players when he sees his crosses not being met by the not finishing striker.

Comolli it would seem has already paid the price for his involvement in buying players for big money that simply have not done what they were got for. I suppose the question is what do the owners think has to happen this summer in order to get players to do what last summer's crop was meant to do.

Same manager and new players or new manager and new players?

Either way we won't have to wait too long now to get some kind of idea as to what the owners think on that given how close we are to the end of the season.

I think you have to go with the same manager for next season. At the end of the day the squad has improved, in that the players that came in replaced Jovanovic/Poulsen etc. IMO, a manager is the only person that can determine 'value' in the market, leave it up to people who talk a good game and you spend 20mil on Keane or overpay like we did last year. The relationship has to be a good one between manager and DOF, ive always been sceptical of Comolli personally. I think Kenny wanted the players but had very little say in how far expenditure went.

From the owners point of view, they got Comolli to do the money side, i dont think anyone can argue that the squad is a better group of 18-20 players than it was 18 months ago, the problem is value.

Our participation in both cups to a late stage has been both a blessing and a curse. I can see the owners looking at Newcastle and totting up what was spent on that squad and then looking at the 'value' Comolli got. John Henry wants to be where Newcastle are and i think the 'driven' players in our squad would swap it right now for both cups. The other half, or more, of the squad have got the furthest they have ever got in a cup and perhaps slacked off in the league.

A team like Newcastle have been great this year but have definitely benefitted by being out of both cups by January. Im not making excuses for anything, just pointing out a fact. If Newcastle have to play a dozen more midweek games next year it will take its toll.

Basically the crux of what my opinion is, if you want 4th, you make that priority and you make sure the manager and players know it. I think Newcastle ran into a bit of luck this season, they have played well but they havent had anything else to play for for half a season. Imo, thats the only way this current squad has a chance of 4th.

With any luck a section of the squad will have had its thirst for a medal quenched this season and they have to make a far better shot at 4th next year or heads roll, simple as and no excuses. I hope to see more Coates and less Carragher next year, and also Robinson to put a rocket up Enrique, he could use the competition. As for new players, will have to judge that Sep 1st .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Carragher was first choice at the start of the season until he got injured, so to say Agger and Sktrel were first choice throughout the season is also wrong.

Agger and Skrtel have been the 1st choice cbs for the majority of the season to say otherwise is just rediculous

Turtyturd wrote: »
    I doubt very few, if any complained about all of those things.

Are you actually joking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

rossie1977 wrote: »
    if only distin and glen johnson last week had that excuse ;)

the everton goal was loss of concentration by agger plain and simple and its happened before

I remember that game like it was yesterday. That was Agger's first game back in a long time, months i believe. What that video doesnt show, is that straight after that mistake at the start of the game he took the ball 60 yards down the left wing playing a one/two with someone, went past a defender, into the Wigan box and crossed it for an equaliser. He knew he fked up and even after months out he could manage something Carra only dreams of.

Are you actually joking?

Are you a real person?

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Agger and Skrtel have been the 1st choice cbs for the majority of the season to say otherwise is just rediculous

Carragher was first choice at the start of the season and chances are he wouldn't have lost his place if he didn't get injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

I take issue with you calling Duncan Jenkins a fool, when his tweets about the LFC team have been consistently reliable.

Are you a real person?

Did you used to post under a different name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Carragher was first choice at the start of the season and chances are he wouldn't have lost his place if he didn't get injured.

if my aunty had balls

he did lose his place and agger and skrtel have been the 1st choice cb pairing this season

redzerdrog wrote: »
    if my aunty had balls

he did lose his place and agger and skrtel have been the 1st choice cb pairing this season

No they haven't. If Agger and Skrtel had been 1st choice cb pairing this season then they would have been first choice at the start of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Mikel Arteta wasn't first choice for Arsenal right at the start of the season. These things do change over the course of a season. You have Evans, Kalou, Cisse, Allen, Holt, McClean, and many more.

Yes, Carra was 1st choice right at the start, but since his injury he's clearly been a bench choice, except in the derby for whatever reason.

G.K. wrote: »
    I take issue with you calling Duncan Jenkins a fool, when his tweets about the LFC team have been consistently reliable.

A quick read of his blog & tweets confirm my original assumption was correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

It was me who brought the word "pally" into a discussion about Kennys managerial style, but that doesn't make me anti-fan.

It was a discussion about the absolute dismall display, lack of commitment and down right disrespect by the players to Kenny during our last game that I brought into question Kennys pally (too close) relationship with the players who quite frankly took the piss, and how I would like him to be more of a gaffer than a mate.

That was all - I wasn't being a anti fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Carragher sending Coates on loan I guess, good choice boss.

I reckon Carra is more content to be a sub these days than he used to be.

Ever since he got that nice little cushion to relax on, his new deal to the tune of 90-100k per week (3 years) a couple of days before H+G were ousted. When it was quite clear he was past it. No chance Henry and Co. would offer such a scandalous deal for someone so far over the hill he can't even see it anymore.

I'd imagine Carra was a go to guy for Purslow, so he was well looked after there.