Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's All This? No Drink?!

• 29-11-2007 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks,

So as to avoid being labelled "dry-sh*tes" and "c*nts" :D, I should probs put up a little note to explain what this forum is all about.

What's the idea?
    The basic idea was that, far too many social events in Ireland take place around booze (eg. boards beers!). Not everyone drinks, and so a pub is not necessarily a natural place to go for fun and socialising! What's more, there *ARE* fun things to do besides drink! :D I know, I was as shocked as you! So the admins have kindly given us this forum, and in it we plan to organise social events and days out that are not drink-oriented.

So what ye gonna be doin?
    Well we're still gathering ideas, but a few so far: bowling, hiking, camping, football, cinema, go-karting, paintball...
    There's no shortage of things to do! Sounds like fun, right?

Can I go? *hides can*
    NO! Okay just kidding :o The trips are not specifically limited to non-drinkers, it's just that the activities chosen will not revolve around drink like pubs do. Anybody can come along, the more the merrier! But no merriment! :mad:

Any questions or suggestions, post away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

whopper Idea!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

This is a really cool idea. I've often toyed with the concept of a non-drinking club, but never really knew where it could be set up. But boards is the perfect medium :)

So where are most people from, and I wonder are there many of us out here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭JennyG73

I am hoping to meet new people possibly away from the pub. Did anyone get together and if so where do you meet up in waterford?

If anyone from Waterford is reading this please say hi know very few people here and feeling lost and lonely since returning from long stay in England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 ballymary

hey-thats a great idea, ive been living abroad for 2 yrs in a country where drink is not the be all and end all-imagine!! my friends here are amazed at how irish people behave and the fact that guys cant chat up a girl without 20 pints inside them!! well done for starting the revolution!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Molly007

Hi Jenny Im not from Waterford but I feel for you being lonely down there. I know there is at least one hill walking club who go up the Comeragh Mountains from Waterford on Sundays (the loneliest day of the week) and its a great way to get out and be with a group of friendly people and put in the day. Try http://www.dungarvanhillwalking.org/ and Comeraghs Club at http://homepage.tinet.ie/~seanjoanfogarty/ Good Luck!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Well I don't not drink, but I would be happy to toddle along to a non-drinking event :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

Hey yeah... great idea... will certainly be checking back here for meet ups etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Firnheledien

FINALLY!

I'm Asian, so I have a poor alcohol tolerance. Plus, nights out with drinks are too expensive for a poor student like me to afford. T_T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sockpuppet

mod edit:

sockpuppet, no more spam sh*te please. If you're not interested in this, then why are you browsing the forum?

P*ss off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 flyhigh

Im new to this site & just browsing through events & activities and alot of them are dated 2007. Just wondering is the site still active?
    Im really interested in alot of the suggestions that have being listed. My email address is: freespirit.keogh@hotmail.com

Would love some feedback if possible!!

Thanks & kind regards
    Claire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 KleenezeKing

What next? Have you all gone beserk? :eek: A non-drinking club. Look if it takes off I'll drink to that. And if it doesn't I'll still drink to it. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

What next? Have you all gone beserk? :eek: A non-drinking club. Look if it takes off I'll drink to that. And if it doesn't I'll still drink to it. :eek:

Beserk? Emm, no, not quiet, not just yet anyway! :pac:

Looks like it has taken off, so back to the drink you go! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭GodOfRadio

far too many social events in Ireland take place around booze

Not just there--its EVERYWHERE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 michellemy

I don't drink...never was a drinker...it smells like rubbing alcohol. If i'm gonna socialize with drinkers I might as well socialize with donkeys. I'd love to go on those trips. But I live nowhere near Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Bit unnecessary calling drinkers "donkeys"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 coolout

Nice to see there are others out there who can have a good time without getting blotto. I'm a student, and nearly all of the social events available to me revolve around drink. Is it just me or is this extremely immature?
    I'd like to think I'm not a dry sh**e and I don't have a problem with anyone having a drink or two. I just don't understand people going out with the sole purpose of getting drunk. Some of us don't live to boast about how sick/ sore we are the morning after a "great night out".
    I love sport, music and comedy. Really, anything that's a bit of fun. So are there opportunities out there to meet like-minded individuals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

I don't drink myself, have no tolerance for the stuff. The most annoying thing about not drinking is the cost of minerals in clubs! I mean 2.80 for an orange! If they lowered the price I'm sure more non drinkers would go out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭A quiet one

Best of luck with this, even though I'm not in Ireland.
    It is nice to go out with people you don't have to 'look after' when they're drunk.
    You don't have to move their slumped bodies away from the official "Exit" points, or when they're blocking others, or when they start bothering others, or their coins fall out of their pockets, and then argue them out of doing the driving, or have to explain to concerned passers by that they're just drunk and hope they passers by don't think it's a reflection on you that you keep the company of such losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

maybe we could all buy models railways and meet up and stuff :rolleyes:

eh no..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Lisa8786

Hey great idea for setting this up Thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

Looking forward to my trip back to Ireland after 11 yrs away and I will definitely be bookmarking this forum. Nearly 8 yrs without a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Agree. I was in Morocco on my travels and its a totally different culture. Very few bars. That said the best pint of Guinness I ever had was in a pub in Agadir.
    But again you have to travel abroad to appreciate the difference when it comes to drinking.
    It was mentioned in SINDO at the weekend that we and now the English treat is as a past time in terms of outdoing each other in terms of alcohol consumption.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 beadygirl

Yes, great idea to have this forum, gave up drinking about 8 years ago as it never really agreed with me, best decision i ever made but sometimes feel like a minority group!

• Registered Users Posts: 13 frecklesgalore

I've been on and off drink for the last 8 months - currently haven't touched a drop in exactly 3 months today.

I've had 'friends' that have openly told me they prefer me when I drink (probably cause I'll do anything when I am, so fun at my expense?) I've had others say they don't trust someone who doesn't drink.

On the plus side I've friends who don't even notice I don't drink. I've often gone out and just drank tap water and got on fine. Coming home with notes in my pockets rather than shrapnel. Plus I save my friends tonnes of euros instead of us paying for taxis.

I will totally agree that money for fizzy drinks are crazy. I paid a fiver for a pint of coke here in Ireland when my friends were getting beers for eighty cent less.

One again I think it's down to government legislation. There should be an incentive for those who can enter a pub without the curse of drink plauging the lips because the price of a non-alcoholic drink rapes their pocket.

I lived in the UK for two years, the drinking culture was pretty similar to here - if not worse. Drink was just far too cheap (3 bottles of wine 4 £10, 4 bottles of alcopops for a £5 and litre bottles of Smirnoff vodka for £10).

Ireland has long been a drinking nation, and sadly to say that is a view held by many abroad. Stereotypical - yes! So we need to do something to drastically change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Wingman2010

The prices of soft drinks are crazy! I'm just back from diceys. My fantas were €3.30 and I bought a few pints for my mates but these were €3... I'm not surprised as we all know how greedy Irish publicians are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭NeuroticMonkey

Hey, new to Boards. Just wondering if this is still active? I'm not a non-drinker per se....just not particularly fond of the stuff. Just out of four years of college and fed up of everything being centred round beer. Plus, hate meeting people off their face tryin to chat you up! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 grace1959

I used to drink and thought that I could only enjoy myself when I had a few bevvies onboard. Haven't had a single drop for a year now (by choice). Don't miss it, don't miss the people I used to do it with. My persective on life has completely changed, there is a fantastic World out there and I am loving it. I'm in.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 24 Broken Amps

hey iv recently giving up alcohol 4 months now, and I saw this the other day looks class, www.facebook.com/sobersaturdays

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Suburbanite

hey iv recently giving up alcohol 4 months now, and I saw this the other day looks class, www.facebook.com/sobersaturdays

Oh yes this looks great might give this a blast!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Balbriggan mechanic

Hi all, I'm liking the idea of this. Been sober 18 months now with no slips. Would love to get together with like minded people and not feel like the only sober man at the party.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭billybenner

they changed the name of Sober Saturdays to ''The Red Monkey Tea PArty'' its great night!!

heres the link, www.facebook.com/theredmonkeyteaparty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Infamous E

This section is beautiful :)

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

I'm almost 17 and I've never ever had a single drop of alcohol and never will!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭NeuroticMonkey

I'm almost 17 and I've never ever had a single drop of alcohol and never will!

Fair play mate. In my experience, college is freakin hard though! As OP said, if there is anywhere you're gonna be considered a drysh*te for non-drinky ways, it's there!

Good luck. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Hi all, Im knocking the drink on the head for the foreseeable future. Whenever I drink I seem to go on a complete bender, becoming a danger to myself, and others around me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Varkov get yourself a plan, a something to do list that will help you keep occupied, it maybe old hobbies,exercise or just whatever you are happy with doing,goodluck its not easy but it can be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭toothie

I've only just discovered this section. Great idea.
    I'm 26, have never had a drink, and never will. It just doesn't appeal to me at all, however I find that it creates a distance between my friends and I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Same as me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 flyhigh

It must be about 2years now since I put this forum up about not drinking. Since then I went back on the drink as like so many others I found on the weekends there was nothing else to do. Clubs/pubs the same old all the time but it was the only way for me to get out and socialise which is sad really.

Now nearly all of my friends are married and have kids so my social life is gone really. Im not bothered about drinking, especially clubbing as the older im getting I want for different things. I love a few glasses of wine with food and good chat, maybe go see a band etc but ive nobody to do these things with so what I did was join Yoga and Cookery classes during the week so im kept busy and when the weekend comes around im not so bothered about not going out and I do alot of things on my own but it would be nice to meet people who like doing different things as it seems to be very rare in Dublin :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭gypsygirl

Hi guys
    I too am off the booze and have started joining various clubs, (knitting, creativity classes, etc) my 30yr old nephew is also off the booze and staying with myself and my hubby, problem is, he has very little confidence and we can't seem to find anything to occupy his time, I'm scared that if we can't build him up and get him some non-drinking activities the booze will reclaim him, we live in the Dublin 24 area but still most things for blokes seem to revolve around Pubs etc, anyone got any tips on how to help him? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

gypsygirl wrote: »
    Hi guys
    I too am off the booze and have started joining various clubs, (knitting, creativity classes, etc) my 30yr old nephew is also off the booze and staying with myself and my hubby, problem is, he has very little confidence and we can't seem to find anything to occupy his time, I'm scared that if we can't build him up and get him some non-drinking activities the booze will reclaim him, we live in the Dublin 24 area but still most things for blokes seem to revolve around Pubs etc, anyone got any tips on how to help him? Thanks

It depends on what your nephew is in to. There are football teams, astroparks have 5-aside leagues, pitch & putt, go-karting, tennis, badminton, table tennis, snooker, pool, photographic clubs + many others. These have been suggested by my (drinker) son for your nephew. Other than the karting all the rest are in D24. Unfortunately at some stage when people get together they tend to go to the pub after a group meeting which is the main problem. There are lots of evening courses from September. Depends whether he is sporty or academic or into art, check out the library for groups and workshops. I don't know if you have any interest in church activities, like choirs - they usually are booze free, or at least, they ought to be! There really should be non-drinking groups in every area and they should have a high profile. I think sometimes non-drinkers are made to feel almost ashamed of their sobriety!! Hope your nephew finds something interesting soon. :)

Just for the record, I don't drink. I tried it in my teens, decades ago, didn't take to it, but always found it difficult to socialise because everyone went to the pub and I didn't enjoy that very much, but I go to evening courses and I have a few interests and hobbies and they keep me sane.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 fraggle1

I am the same myself. I stopped drinking recently. I work and study part-time. Its quite a demanding course and I found that although I didn't drink often..when I did, I drank far too much,almost as stress relief. My family love to get together over a few drinks. So i thought it would be very difficult to adjust but it has been a little easier than I thought. I think this is because they have accepted it and realise that I needed to take better care of myself.
    I exercise but apart from that, i don't have any time for hobbies.

I will say it is difficult being single and a non-drinker. The main place to meet someone seems to be in pubs. :(

Can't see this anymore - anyone know where its gone?

• Registered Users Posts: 33 realtabeag00

I am a non drinker, I don't like the taste or the horrible effects it has on my stomach. Sometimes I am jealous of people who claim to enjoy it. I see them having a laugh, dancing, talking to everyone and anyone. I am jealous of their confidence. I know it's not real but it's got to be better than sitting there, bored out of your tree cause the music's too loud to talk to anyone and you're too self conscious to dance. But yet, for me, the negative side of alcohol is not worth it. It's so frustrating!!!!! It's impossible for me to make friends. I feel totally out of the loop. The world to me is like a completed jigsaw puzzle and I'm a jigsaw piece that doesn't fit. Are there any other jigsaw pieces like me out there? Any advice on how to meet like minded people?

I think for us non-drinkers the first step is to accept yourself, and then hopefully those around you will also come to accept you. I get involved in church activities and there is never any alcohol involved in the clubs and groups, sometimes at social gathering there may be a little wine on offer but never offered to those driving so that works for me very well.

Years ago in one of my jobs my boss used to say he couldn't do business with anyone who didn't drink, those were the bad old days. There are a lot of people who don't drink these days but unfortunately it is the drinkers who try to make us feel bad about ourselves. You need guts to face that shower at times but just keep it up and eventually they'll stop about slagging you off. Don't be a pushover for them!

Non-drinkers may be interested in these sites I came across today:
    http://www.meetup.com/Walking-Club/

http://www.meetup.com/A-sober-slice-of-Dublin/

And this one is a Christian group if that's of interest, I'm not a member but just passing it on for others.

http://www.meetup.com/Connectdublin/

• Registered Users Posts: 32 paddy1977

Hey lads i just found this trend, very good idea, haven't drank in years, ive got into other hobbie's instead, Astronomy is a good way to pass a Saturday nite and the sky is free, once a telescope is bought off course, but id defo be up into doing other activities with other non drinkers, im in Waterford!!

Have you tried astronomy, i find it great and its always at nite, alot of clubs around too!!

gypsygirl wrote: »
    Hi guys

I found astronomy to be great, alot of clubs around and its all at nite, weekends are even more popular, and i was never into outer space, now i can get enough of it and im getting into astrophotograpy, get a telescope and give it a try :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Emma_999

I love this, such a breath of fresh air! excellent idea!