Ombudsman says one Garda should face diciplinary action over Corrib comments.

• 24-04-2012 11:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭

Anybody any opinions on the above story where a member of the Gardai made a joke about rape with his colleagues without knowing that the conversation was being taped?

Should he face disciplinary action?

My own personal view was that it was a private conversation between colleagues and in fairness, the comment can clearly be seen to be a joke, and not a threat to the woman in question, so no, I don't think disciplinary action should be taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Don't tell me it's happened again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

An odd thing to joke about....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

It was at worst a crass joke but it shows the disdain that some Gardai hold for the public, as they protect the wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

BattleCorp wrote: »
    My own personal view was that it was a private conversation between colleagues and in fairness, the comment can clearly be seen to be a joke, and not a threat to the woman in question, so no, I don't think disciplinary action should be taken.

Unprofessional on the job. Yes he should be disciplined. Should he lose his job? No. It's not at that level. Slap on the wrist.

However before people get the wrong idea, the joke about 'rape' IIRC was because one of the women involved had made accusations against gardaí prior to that incident...it wasn't a case that they just picked rape out of the blue to joke about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

eviltwin wrote: »
    An odd thing to joke about....

It might be an odd thing to joke about but hey, bad taste isn't a crime as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

It was a joke in bad taste, not a dosciplinary matter IMO!

prinz wrote: »
    However before people get the wrong idea, the joke about 'rape' IIRC was because one of the women involved had made accusations against gardaí prior to that incidence...it wasn't a case that they just picked rape out of the blue to joke about.

Any details on this?

I mean, if the rape allegation had been upheld, then that makes it even worse taste!

If she'd been spoofing and it was a false allegation, then f*ck her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Oh cool my time machine works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It might be an odd thing to joke about but hey, bad taste isn't a crime as far as I know.

Never said it was. A bit more sensitivity from the fellas involved wouldn't go amiss though. Can you imagine hearing nurses in a hospice joking about cancer? They would be read the riot act. Agree he shouldn't be sacked.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Any details on this?

I mean, if the rape allegation had been upheld, then that makes it even worse taste!

Yep, there's a recording of the conversation so the cop did say what he is accused of saying. He made a sh1te joke about raping a protester. And after listening to the conversation, it's clear that it was a joke and never meant as an actual threat to rape the woman.

Any details on this?
    I mean, if the rape allegation had been upheld, then that makes it even worse taste! If she'd been spoofing and it was a false allegation, then f*ck her!

IIRC there was a video of the time the gardaí involved had cut this woman off a tractor I think it was and as they were removing her she was screaming and moaning about being assaulted, abused, police brutality etc. Then when some of the gardaí got back in their car they were joking about her dramatics and hyperbole. One said something like 'give me your name and address or I'll deport you' as a pisstake of what she had been saying, the next garda said IIRC like 'no, no give me your name or I'll rape ya!'.. just one upmanship on the joke and mocked the way the woman herself had over-reacted. Ah here it is..

http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-claim-corrib-protesters-discussed-rape-prior-to-taped-remarks-188744-Jul2011/

AFAIK there is a video out there of the one protestor screaming... she's not safe with ye all that stuff... and that's what kicked off the joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

The Guardai got Maynooth students to delete some content of the camera before handing it back to the girl.
    That guard should have his pension seriously reduced but thats not going to happen. They are as crooked as the politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Are we doing this again?

Or do you have a link to this new story on it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm mad for the odd joke I am but the last people to be making jokes about rape are the guards.

Hah, apt sig from me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

So eh why start a thread on it?

IIRC there was a video of the time the gardaí involved had cut this woman off a tractor I think it was and as they were removing her she was screaming and moaning about being assaulted, abused, police brutality etc. Then when some of the gardaí got back in their car they were joking about her dramatics and hyperbole. One said something like 'give me your name and address or I'll deport you' as a pisstake of what she had been saying, the next garda said IIRC like 'no, no give me your name or I'll rape ya!'.. just one upmanship on the joke and mocked the way the woman herself had over-reacted. Ah here it is..

http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-claim-corrib-protesters-discussed-rape-prior-to-taped-remarks-188744-Jul2011/

Ah, I think I remember the incident actually! Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Difference Engine

However before people get the wrong idea, the joke about 'rape' IIRC was because one of the women involved had made accusations against gardaí prior to that incidence...it wasn't a case that they just picked rape out of the blue to joke about.

Any details on this?

IIRC a couple of protesters were on top of a truck or tractor to stop it moving. They refused to come down and the gardai removed them by force. As one was being taken down she started calling out "rape". I am open to correction on the details though.

It was more a case of a silly throwaway comment rather than a serious allegation against anyone.

Edit: prinz beat me to it, with a link and details and everything.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    So eh why start a thread on it?

Just to get a few different opinions on it because me and the missus had different views on it.

I thought it was just a joke, end of story. She thought the cop should be disciplined (not fired though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

You would hear worse from a bunch of female gardai on a Saturday night.

IIRC a couple of protesters were on top of a truck or tractor to stop it moving. They refused to come down and the gardai removed them by force. As one was being taken down she started calling out "rape". I am open to correction on the details though.

It was more a case of a silly throwaway comment rather than a serious allegation against anyone.

If this was the case, then the "joke" in question here in fact isn't in bad taste at all. It's a direct reference to an ridiculous over reaction by some silly bint.

The Guardai got Maynooth students to delete some content of the camera before handing it back to the girl. .

It went to Maynooth because it belonged to Maynooth...
    According to the report, there was a difficulty in taking possession of the device in the days following the alleged conversation. First, it was held by a solicitor for Ms A and then it was taken back by Maynooth University, which owns the recorder. Forensic attempts were successful in retrieving deleted files from the device when it was eventually obtained by the GSOC on 14 April. However, some overwritten files could not be saved in a viewable format. On accessing the camera, the Ombudsman discovered that the files were deleted by academic staff at NUI Maynooth. One member of staff was interviewed as a result but it yielded “no information of significant evidential value”.

If this was the case, then the "joke" in question here in fact isn't in bad taste at all. It's a direct reference to an ridiculous over reaction by some silly bint.

Yep, here it is....

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rape-claims-were-hurled-at-gardai-by-protesters-2800104.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Why doesn't he just fine them €450 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

The Guardai got Maynooth students to delete some content of the camera before handing it back to the girl.
    That guard should have his pension seriously reduced but thats not going to happen. They are as crooked as the politicians.
    It wasn't the Gardai who got the footage deleted. It was the protestors who wanted to hide evidence, then published an edited version of the video on Indymedia. When the matter was brought to the publics attention, the gardai and the ombudsmand asked for the original tape, only to find huge sections of it missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

Probably needs some sort of diciplinary action as it is not the kind of behaviour expected of a guard. I feel sorry for the Sergant that probably was forced to resign.

I also feel the shell to sea crowd shot themselves in the foot by releasing the tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

So these Corrib Gas 'protestors' can torment Gardaí endlessly, but when they make a joke they need to be disciplined? Hopefully that means a 'documented meeting' and nothing more.

When are these people going to get the fact that no one cares about their protest and clear off back to doing whatever they used to do before this like the rest of the Dam Street **** and those mindless idiots who essentially vandalised a memorial outside Electric in Cork city? Are any of these people working? How do they get money? Do they get JSA? They're clearly not looking for work when they are out here protesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

That's a lie. These 'protestors' handed a hugely edited tape back to the Gardaí when asked for the unedited version.

And FFS if you're going to criticise something at least learn to spell what you're criticising. It's Gardaí! Crooked politicians, crooked Gardaí, coming from someone who just levelled a false allegation at the Gardaí. Bit of irony there eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

humanji wrote: »
    It wasn't the Gardai who got the footage deleted. It was the protestors who wanted to hide evidence, then published an edited version of the video on Indymedia. When the matter was brought to the publics attention, the gardai and the ombudsmand asked for the original tape, only to find huge sections of it missing.

You're not suggesting that Indymedia or Shell To Sea edit videos to show Gardai in a bad light! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If the Garda who made the joke about rape in the car is disiplined, the female protesters who shout "rape" as soon as a male garda touches them should be charged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

.Edited video or not, what on earth are the Gardai doing joking about raping a citizen? would it have been funnier if the citizen was a child?

It shows some members contempt for the public. The only things the Gardai involved in this are sorry for, is that their real feelings got in to the public domain.